We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful experience”
Review of Hotel Le Priori

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Le Priori
Ranked #6 of 102 Hotels in Quebec City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 16, 2008

We were walking around old Quebec and visited different hotels. I fell in love with the "Spacious" room in this hotel. I find this hotel very cute and the service was wonderful. Even though the lobby isn't big, the room is beautiful. I would highly recommend staying at room "Spacious" though. It is only slightly more expensive than the Regular room, but it is much better.

It is a great value!

  • Stayed: August 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Meli_Montreal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,187)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

861 - 867 of 1,187 reviews

Reviewed October 25, 2008

We stayed in room 32 from Oct. 15-18, 2008. This was actually a pretty nice room, all things considered. The square footage of it was a little larger than a standard hotel room. Everything appeared to be new and in good working order. It was classified as a "Standard" room. We had requested ahead of time a view of Old Quebec City and if possible, exposed stone walls. As you can see from the pictures, we got it.
The room was always kept clean, the bath amenities were nice. Only complaint about the bathroom is that it contains a shower and toilet (that's it....the sink is in the bedroom). The shower was a nice slate (dark green) as was the floor in the bath.
All in all, a pretty charming hotel. The two female staff at the front desk are a bit more knowledgeable than the gentleman who works at night. His information contained errors each of the three times we asked a question. He did try to be helpful, however.
If we had to return, I can't say if we would return to this hotel or not (only because we might want to try something different. We had a pleasant stay). We did not dine at Toast, the restaurant (which was packed at night and gets good reviews).

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank LQGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2008

I agree with Stardust Trumpeter's review. The hotel website pictures are very misleading. The suite pictures lead you to believe this hotel is filled with light, warm and cozy. The suite we stayed in was dark and in disrepair. The circuit for the electricity in the bathroom continued to flip off and as a result the spa tub didn't always work properly. The shades in the bathroom were broken and would not lift properly. When brought to the hotel's attention, the solution was to tie them up permanently.

We also had to ask for wood for the fireplace each day and it was slow in getting to our room. At one point we were told by the front desk, no wood was available as they were getting their delivery the next day. This did not turn out to be true but it still took over an hour to honor our request for something that should have been in the room already.

On the plus side, the staff is very helpful and seem to be doing the best they can with the resources they have on hand. This hotel is certainly not worth the high tariff imposed.

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Chtravel1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2008

We booked this place because the apartments looked great on the web site. We booked the Nutone suite.

Be aware:
The apartments are not in the main hotel. They are in a building that backs on to the old city wall.

Our apartment smelled damp. It was in poor repair (kitchen cabinet doors fell off hinges). The plumbing was noisy - sounded like a jack-hammer first thing in the morning.

The room looks out over a terrace with a restaurant. On several nights there were catered functions below our window. We could not open the window because of the noise.

Look elsewhere.

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Stardust_Trumpeter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2008

a delightful hotel in the old port. great location, clean, comfortable, and fabulous restaurant Toast. we stayed two nights and wish we could have stayed longer.

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank emgtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2008

Modern, clean hotel in a architectually-interesting historic buidling. Excellent location surrounded by art galleries and bistros- only about 3 blocks from fundicular and withing easy stroll of several excellent restaurants. Staff courteous and front desk speaks sufficient english to address the needs of the guests. The ultramodern sinks are in the bedroon rather than the bathroom. Only issue with the rooms (we had two rooms) was the stall shower doors. They need replacement. On one occasion, the shower door did not seat properly and swung into the shower, potentially trapping me in an embarassing situation. Guests are given a parking card for a fee for an outdoor lot two short blocks away. Free breakfast is usual continental plus eggs/bacon/sausage. The coffee is simply awful - served tepid and weak on three successive mornings (may have been the same coffee each time). If they improve the coffee and fix the shower doors, would certainly consider staying there again.

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank inotrope
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2008

I stayed at the Priori for business April 2008. I arrived late in the evening and checked out the next morning but I saw enough to say I would stay there again. The service at the front desk and restaurant was excellent. The room was comfortable and functional, the bedding and pillows were very good quality and everything was very clean and well maintained. The only thing I didn`t care for was the decor, everything in my room was grey, black, white or stainless steel, even the bathroom door was painted a dark grey, it was a little sterile looking. Breakfast was great, the best I`ve had in a hotel in a long time. There was a little street noise but I heard nothing from within the hotel, I think I was the only person there!

One hint, the elevator doesn`t work after 23h00, people who can`t manage stairs may not like this place.

Stayed: April 2008
2  Thank ndip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Quebec City hotels
0.4 mi away
Le Manoir d'Auteuil
Le Manoir d'Auteuil
#2 of 102 in Quebec City
1,311 reviews
0.2 mi away
Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac
Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac
#18 of 102 in Quebec City
4,790 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel du Vieux-Quebec
Hotel du Vieux-Quebec
#1 of 102 in Quebec City
1,688 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Auberge Saint-Antoine
Auberge Saint-Antoine
#5 of 102 in Quebec City
2,219 reviews
0.2 mi away
Auberge Place D'Armes
Auberge Place D'Armes
#8 of 102 in Quebec City
1,606 reviews
1.2 mi away
Auberge Aux Deux Lions
Auberge Aux Deux Lions
#4 of 102 in Quebec City
1,002 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Le Priori? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Le Priori

Address: 15 rue Sault-au-Matelot, Quebec City, Quebec G1K 3Y7, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Quebec > Quebec City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Quebec City
#6 Family Hotel in Quebec City
#28 Business Hotel in Quebec City
Price Range: $127 - $264 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Le Priori 3.5*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the Old-Port of Quebec, our boutique hotel stands proudly on the oldest street of North America in the house of the architect Jean Baillairgé, founder of our ecclesiastic heritage of Québec city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotwire, Evoline ltd and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Le Priori reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Priori Quebec City
Le Priori Hotel
Hotel Le Priori Quebec/Quebec City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing