We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful stay at Le Priori”
Review of Hotel Le Priori

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Le Priori
Ranked #6 of 101 Hotels in Quebec City
Certificate of Excellence
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
85 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Wonderful stay at Le Priori”
Reviewed January 21, 2014

We were a small family group staying at Le Priori as my daughter was being married in Quebec. She and her partner live in Montreal and the rest of us were travelling from Australia.
Booking into Le Priori was easy and helpful given that we were booking a number of rooms and some needed to be suites. The staff were always helpful both in email and in person when we arrived. Le Priori is situated in the lower area of old Quebec. It is close to a number of shops and cafes within a few blocks. We had quite extreme weather conditions and it was colder than expected in Quebec which meant going out was a challenge. One of the negative points of staying at Le Priori is that there is no lounge/lobby area to sit in. There is a very small area to meet up with others in the foyer but no where to relax and sit other than in your room.
Also it is important to note that if you are in a suite, they are in a different building than the main part of the hotel so in winter you have to don your coat and gloves to go over to the suites.
The small restaurant connected to Le Priori (Toast) provides for a pleasant breakfast in the morning which is included in the price.
Beds are comfortable and the spacious room that I had was very nice and looked out onto the inner courtyard so it was quiet. Rooms at the front tended to get a bit of street noise. The rooms are quaint, bathrooms are very small and the bath is in the main area of the bedroom. The lighting in the room is a bit dark but they have done well in providing facilities within an old building.
The outside of the building was very pretty around Christmastime with all its decorations.
I found Quebec a magical city and would very much like to visit again.
While I had a lovely time at Le Priori and they were very helpful with our group of family, I would probably prefer something that offered larger public spaces to sit and relax in if I was to visit again for any length of time.

Room Tip: The spacious rooms are worth the extra. The suites were fabulous with working fireplaces and living...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Heather M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erwan F, General Manager at Hotel Le Priori, responded to this review, January 24, 2014
Dear Heather M,

Thank you very much for sharing this exhaustive review of your stay on Trip Advisor!

It was a real pleasure for our entire staff to welcome your family for this special occasion. Your kind words towards our team are greatly appreciated and will be passed on to our staff! Our location is very convenient to explore the Old Quebec as many point of interests are at a stone’s throw from us.

As you kindly mention, Le Priori is a small boutique hotel and we wish we had more space to offer to our guests a lounge and a bar to relax. Space is a prized commodity in the Old Quebec and we cannot expand more our property due to municipal regulations.

We are glad to read you have enjoyed your stay with us and that you have enjoyed Québec City under the snow!

Best Regards,

Erwan Franchet
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,051 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    788
    219
    35
    4
    5
See reviews for
103
721
35
45
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (205)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 16, 2014

We spent 3 nights at Hotel Le Priori just prior to Christmas in 2013. We had a suites room which I would highly recommend. The room was fantastic.....large, spacious, loft like accommodation. We had a fireplace at one end where we could relax after a walk in the snow. Our bed was not isolated from the rest of the suite, but, no matter......the room was large and long enough that you could spread out. Breakfast was included.....standard eggs/bacon fare, but, plentiful and well prepared. Service was friendly and attentive. Perfect location in the old City walking distance to everything we wanted to see. Would highly recommend Hotel Le Priori.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Spincentury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erwan F, General Manager at Hotel Le Priori, responded to this review, January 17, 2014
Dear Spincentury,

Thank you very much for sharing your experience with us on Trip Advisor!

The Newtone suite is very spacious and ideal for a couple as it has a great king bed and a great living area! We want all our guests to spend a nice time with us and it is very rewarding to read such a positive comment about our hotel, thank you very much!

Thank you for your kind words about our breakfast, we want all our guests to take as much energy as they need before starting the day! Your positive input about our staff is greatly appreciated!

Your recommendation is the best reward our team can get, merci beaucoup!

We hope to have the pleasure to welcome you again at Le Priori!

Best Regards,

Erwan Franchet
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario
Level Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2014

We stayed here for our honeymoon and we can not wait to come back. The room with the private hot tub is incredible , probably the best hotel room in quebec city . We did a ton of research on hotels and this one is for sure the best hotel in quebec city! The full breakfast buffet is awesome for a good start to your day, gorgeous rooms, perfect location in old quebec city, and nespresso machines in the rooms !

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lovebug87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erwan F, General Manager at Hotel Le Priori, responded to this review, January 9, 2014
Dear Lovebug87,

Thank you very much for taking the time to review us on Trip Advisor!

We are delighted to read you have enjoyed our Junior Suite with Spa which is for sure one of the most original rooms in the Old Town! Its spectacular view on Notre Dame des Victoires and Place Royale makes it an unique accommodation for a couple!

We are very proud of your compliment about our property, merci beaucoup!

We will be definitely happy to welcome you again, maybe for your first anniversary?

Best Regards,

Erwan Franchet
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
151 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2014

What a lovely hotel! Small and bijou in the old lower town; beautifully renovated rooms within a solid ancient building. We had the small suite with the hot-tub on the deck - which we used despite it being -18deg C outside! - the room itself was simply and tastefully decorated with a comfy bed and a fireplace plus a small kitchen area. Nice bathroom with an excellent shower, over the tub, and good heating (needed!). The wardrobe was rather small but adequate.
Staff were all very friendly and room service breakfast a nice treat (basically included but with a $CAD 4 charge which was a bargain).
We did not eat at Toast (had a coffee and liqueur there one night and the staff were again all very nice).
It's a pity there is no real bar area in the hotel in the winter as somewhere to congregate and socialize would be nice. We also didn't like having to walk all the way around to the front door to get in at night from the courtyard (the suites are at the back) as the courtyard door was licked - presumably due to the cold...but it was a nuisance!
apart from that though it's a lovely hotel in a beautiful town!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank slhguys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erwan F, General Manager at Hotel Le Priori, responded to this review, January 7, 2014
Dear Slhguys,

Thank you very much for your feedback on Trip Advisor!

We are delighted to read you have enjoyed our Junior Suite with Spa! This suite is definitely one of our most exciting rooms. Its private spa on a balcony with a tremendous view on Place Royale is unique in Quebec City!

Thank you for your nice words about our staff .We are all dedicated to offer a great experience to our guests!

We would love to have a bar section and other amenities but unfortunately space is a prized commodity in Old Quebec and we can not expand more our property.

The extreme cold we faced these last weeks challenged many buildings in Quebec City and unfortunately ours as well. We are sorry to read you experienced some difficulties with our door. We do have two doors to access this building that are checked every night to make sure access is possible.

We hope to have the pleasure to welcome you back!

Best Regards,

Erwan Franchet
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
79 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2014

I visited QC for the first time over the U.S. Thanksgiving holiday. I wanted to get away, relax and explore the city. I also wanted to be sure I had the "right" hotel because we all know the "wrong" hotel can absolutely kill a vacation!

The Priori is a fantastic little hotel right in the heart of the lower city. Walking distance to so much - shopping, restaurant, the funicular. I never had to take a cab and my options were endless.

The service level in this little hotel is outstanding. Certainly 5 stars for that. The front desk was alway happy to help with anything, a constant smile on their faces and a very warm greeting everytime you came & went. They were fantastic with helping me with restaurant choices. They found a massage place for me and a bar that showed American football on Sunday!

The rooms were nice - exactly like the picture on their website. I had one of the spacious rooms and yes, it was spacious. Small bathroom, but that's ok. Everything was very, very clean.

Their breakfasts were nice and it's a great deal to have it included. There were hot eggs and bacon and sausage and pancakes and waffles. There was also fruit, hard boiled eggs, cereals, pastries... the list goes on and on!

There was only one draw-back... the walls between floors (not between rooms) are paper thin so you can hear - and feel - the people above you walking around. I suggest you ask for a room on the top floor so this doesn't happen to you. Was a bit frusterating when I was ready to head to bed and the folks upstairs come in and start jumping around.

All in all, this this is a great place and yes, I will stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TracyZ19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erwan F, General Manager at Hotel Le Priori, responded to this review, January 7, 2014
Dear TracyZ19,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us on Trip Advisor!

It is a real pleasure for us to read that you picked the “right” hotel for your first time to Québec City with us! The Old Port is definitely the best location to explore our beautiful city as we are close to the main attractions of the Old City!
We are always doing our best to make sure our guests feel at home while at Le Priori. It is very rewarding for our staff to read you have enjoyed our hospitality!

Thank you for your kind words about the cleanliness of our rooms. Our housekeeping department is always dedicated to offer nice and comfy rooms!
I am really sorry to read that you were disturbed by your upper floor neighbours. We usually receive positive feedback on the quietness of our hotel and we are always looking for ways to improve it.

Offering the best value possible to our guests is one of our top priorities and it is always nice to receive feedback encouraging us in this way, merci beaucoup!

We hope to have the pleasure to welcome you soon!

Best Regards,

Erwan Franchet
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2014

We were there for Christmas- not expecting 2.5 feet of snow! It curtailed our stay and ability to see a lot of things! But it was so beautiful! The decorations were magical. Too many touristy stores. The people very friendly. VERY EXPENSIVE!!!

Room Tip: Would choose a room in the main hotel. The suite we were in only had 1 bathroom on the second floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AnnieBDS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erwan F, General Manager at Hotel Le Priori, responded to this review, January 9, 2014
Dear Annie BDS,

Thank you for sharing your experience in Québec City on Trip Advisor!

We had indeed a very snowy Christmas as December 2013 set new records for amounts of snow in our region! Our William Suite is very convenient for families as its two beds are located on two different floors. It has a great living room that can welcome four guests and the bathroom has a slate shower and a nice tub. It is only accessible through outdoor stairs and has stairs again inside to access the upper floor.

Thank you very much for your kind words about our staff, it is very much appreciated!

We hope to have the pleasure to welcome you again!

Best Regards,

Erwan Franchet
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AZ
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed December 29, 2013

Hotel Le Priori is perfect in every way! This is our second stay at this charming hotel. The hotel is a lovely combination of old-world charm and chic detail. We began planning our Christmas holiday in September and the fabulous staff assisted in every way. Their recommendations were terrific from dog sledding to walking tours! The room was also divine and spotless. The Quebec Airport was closed on the day we were supposed to arrive. I called the hotel and they told us not to worry. Amazingly we were not charged for that evening. That is an example of the exquisite customer service this hotel provides! On Christmas Eve a delicious box of chocolates appeared as a thank you for "spending the holiday at Hotel Le Priori" yet another example of how this hotel is first-class in every way ! In addition, Toast Restaurant is on the premises providing a scrumptious breakfast. The food and ambiance at dinner are magnificent! We even had the perfect amount of snow making it truly a "White Christmas" in one of the most charming cities in the world!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SBJArizona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erwan F, General Manager at Hotel Le Priori, responded to this review, January 7, 2014
Dear SBJArizona,

We are delighted to read you will remember your White Christmas at Hotel Le Priori! Our staff is very grateful for your nice words about our team! Thank you for highlighting the work of our housekeeping department!

We are glad to know you have enjoyed our Christmas present! We wanted to outline the occasion for all our guests on Christmas Eve!

We hope to have the pleasure to welcome you back for a third visit!

Best Regards,

Erwan Franchet
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Quebec City hotels
0.0 mi away
Auberge Saint-Antoine
Auberge Saint-Antoine
#3 of 101 in Quebec City
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,974 reviews
0.4 mi away
Le Manoir d'Auteuil
Le Manoir d'Auteuil
#2 of 101 in Quebec City
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,084 reviews
0.2 mi away
Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac
Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac
#15 of 101 in Quebec City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,037 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Auberge Place D'Armes
Auberge Place D'Armes
#7 of 101 in Quebec City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,421 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel du Vieux-Quebec
Hotel du Vieux-Quebec
#1 of 101 in Quebec City
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,481 reviews
0.3 mi away
Maison du Fort
Maison du Fort
#4 of 101 in Quebec City
5.0 of 5 bubbles 733 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Le Priori? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Le Priori

Property: Hotel Le Priori
Address: 15 rue Sault-au-Matelot, Quebec City, Quebec G1K 3Y7, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Quebec > Quebec City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Quebec City
#6 Family Hotel in Quebec City
#28 Business Hotel in Quebec City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Le Priori 3.5*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the Old-Port of Quebec, our boutique hotel stands proudly on the oldest street of North America in the house of the architect Jean Baillairgé, founder of our ecclesiastic heritage of Québec city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Agoda, Travelocity, Priceline, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Le Priori reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Priori Quebec City
Le Priori Hotel
Hotel Le Priori Quebec/Quebec City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing