We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful boutique hotel!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Le Priori

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Le Priori
Ranked #6 of 101 Hotels in Quebec City
Certificate of Excellence
Manhasset, New York
Level Contributor
35 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Wonderful boutique hotel!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2013

We just spent three nights (Friday through Sunday) at the “The Le Priori Hotel” at 15, Rue Sault-Au-Latelot, Québec. It was a delightful experience from the moment we stepped into the hotel to check in, till the moment we waved good-bye to Florence who was at reception upon departure. Kimberley, who was at the front desk all weekend, was extremely helpful in providing choices, guidance and securing reservations as Québec has many wonderful restaurant choices. We particularly liked Mattō (opposite the hotel), nearby Café Du Monde at the Vieux-Port and Echaudé just down the street from the hotel. Kimberley also arranged VIP tickets for the Cirque Du Soleil’s premiere performance nearby. Our room was compact, but well designed and comfortable (the AC was divine!). What the standard rooms lack is drawer space. We hung up what we could in the closet, and then lived out of our suitcases. A solution that the hotel might consider is to provide a 3 foot high piece of furniture that luggage could be placed atop and that has two drawers below (we have seen this at other hotels).
Upon our request, Kimberley allowed us a peek at a few of the beautiful suites in the hotel’s adjacent building and we are definitely upgrading to one of them on our next visit. Breakfast was good, especially the café au lait and the pleasant service provided by Aliosha. We highly recommend this hotel as it has an excellent location, accommodations and professional and warm staff.
A couple of additional comments on location… The Musée de la Civilisation is a block away (we saw an excellent exhibit about Paris in the Belle Epoque), and for foodies, the Marché du Vieux-Port (fresh market) is a short walk away. For art lovers, this area has an abundance of excellent art galleries. Le Priori is in the old port with all its quaintness, but only a 3 minute walk from the hustle and bustle of the more highly touristic area. You have the location, but not the noise or crowds of people traipsing by your windows.

Room Tip: Consider upgrading to a junior suite, which are fairly priced.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Artfans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erwan F, General Manager at Hotel Le Priori, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
Dear Artfans,

Thank you very much for posting this exhaustive review on Trip Advisor!

We are very happy to read our front desk staff helped you to take the most of Québec City. We do all love our city and it is always a pleasure to share information on activities to do! We are very lucky to be located in the Old Port: great free summer shows as Le Cirque du Soleil and the Image Mill are very close by!

The Old Port is definitely one of the best area in town for food lovers! We are lucky to have a wide range of restaurants, from the gourmet sandwiches to the Relais et Chateau restaurant within our reach.

Thank you very much for your nice suggestion to improve storage space in our regular rooms. This is a great idea that would not compromise space and enhance our luggage holder! We will definitely take it into consideration.

Your nice comments about our complimentary breakfast are very appreciated as it is very important to us our guests enjoy their first meal of the day!

Your recommendation is the best reward our team can get, merci beaucoup!

We will be very happy to welcome you back in one of our suites!

Best Regards,

Erwan Franchet
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,028 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    770
    215
    34
    4
    5
See reviews for
101
701
34
45
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (199)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
71 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2013

Do yourself a favour and stay here! Sensational location in the Old Quebec precinct. The hotel is a historic building and impeccably restored. Eateries within walking distance. Rue Champlain tourist shopping and eating is handy. Funicular lift to top of hill is handy. We loved Quebec City as a tourist destination and loved our stay in this hotel. The waterfront is also handy for a marvellous tourist boat ride we went on. And the waterfront market was also walking distance. The hotel contributed to making our stay an unforgettable experience.

The breakfast was of a very high standard.

One note to be aware of is that the in house restaurant called "Toast" is haute cuisine, and should be reserved for an exclusive dining experience only.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DAMMC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erwan F, General Manager at Hotel Le Priori, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Dear DAMMC,

Thank you very much for taking of your time to review us on Trip Advisor!

All our staff is delighted to read you had a great stay with us at Le Priori and enjoyed our ideal location in the Old Port. The best way to discover our city is by walking and our strategic position makes it easier!

Thank you for your positive input about our complimentary buffet. We want to make sure every guest enjoys a great hot and cold breakfast to start the day.

We will be happy to welcome you back if you plan another trip to our beautiful city!

Best Regards,

Erwan Franchet
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pickering, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2013

Having never been to Quebec City before we had no idea what to expect and were wonderfully surprised when we arrived. Due to weather and traffic we arrived after 9:00 and the front desk made arrangements for us to have something to eat at the adjoining restaurant (Toast). The room was small but we did not spend much time in the room as we were there to see the sights of the town. Front desk was extremely helpful with everything. Breakfast was excellent and missed it when we left. Would highly recommend this hotel to anyone

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Notnow1313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erwan F, General Manager at Hotel Le Priori, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Dear Notnow1313,

Thank you very much for posting a review on Trip Advisor!

We were happy to welcome you for your first visit to Québec City! I am glad to read you liked our breakfast. We want all our guests to start the day on a great note, taking as much energy as they wish to walk in our lovely city!

As our hotel has been classified as a historic building and has 30 inches thick stonewalls, we did our best to optimize the size of our rooms with these legal and technical restrictions. We always think about ideas to improve storage spaces.

Thank you for your positive comments about our Front desk staff! We are passionate about our town and we are here to make our guests feel at home!

Thank you very much for your recommendation, we hope to have the pleasure to welcome you soon!

Best Regards,

Erwan Franchet
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana, United States
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2013

Gold star for location, staff, cleanliness, comfort and breakfast! Food was delicious ... cannot believe it was complimentary! Staff was super friendly, courteous, helpful and pleasant. Felt like a queen staying at le priori!!! Had a lovely, modern, luxurious, spacious suite for a great price. Love the spa tub especially. Room was clean and bed was extremely cozy. As great as the hotel was, the location could not be beat. In the heart of old town close to great restaurants restaurants and shops. Would highly recommended booking a room ... you won't be disappointed!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hillery G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erwan F, General Manager at Hotel Le Priori, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Dear Hillary G,

Thank you very much for reviewing Hotel Le Priori on Trip Advisor!

We are glad to read you had a great time with us in one of our Junior Suites! We have opened them for a little bit more than a year now and we are happy to receive such a nice feedback about them! Thank you for highlighting our ideal location and our tasty breakfast. We strive to ensure a reasonable price all year long and our American breakfast is always complimentary.

Your kind words about our staff will surely be passed on! Our team is dedicated to make sure all our guests have a memorable stay at Le Priori!

Your recommendation is very valuable to us, we will be very happy to welcome you again for your next stay in Québec City!

Best Regards,

Erwan Franchet
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
34 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2013

Well positioned hotel in the heart of the old city and on a generally quiet street. Abundance of restaurants in close proximity. Cosy with character and loft like detail. Smallish room, oddly bathroom sink in main room. Consider upgrade from standard room if more than one traveller. Quiet during my stay; very attentive staff - suitable breakfast. I find that hotels in QC have good character all around and this is no different. A definite recommendation.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank tdottony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erwan F, General Manager at Hotel Le Priori, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
Dear Tdottony,

Thank you for posting a review of your stay on Trip Advisor!

All our staff is glad to read you had a great business trip with us! Our location is definetly very interesting for our guests as we are a stone’s throw from the action but in a quiet area of the Old City. The Old Port is a great destination for foodies: the presence of haute cuisine restaurants, bistros and local food can satisfy a lot of different palates!

Thank you very much for your positive feedback about our staff, it is vital to us that every guest experiences a great service.

Your recommendation is a great reward for all our team, merci beaucoup!

We hope to have the pleasure to welcome you again!

Best Regards,

Erwan Franchet
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camden, Maine, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2013

I loved the hotel and especially loved the friendly staff. Had a wonderful meal in the restaurant as well!! We had the large bedroom with the tub in the room which was really lovely. The hotel is in the perfect place. We left our car in the parking lot and walked everywhere the whole weekend.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kat2029
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erwan F, General Manager at Hotel Le Priori, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
Dear Kat2029,

Thank you very much for sharing your experience with us on Trip Advisor!

We are delighted to read you had a great time at Hotel Le Priori! Our staff is always here to help our guests to enjoy our beautiful city and make them feel at home. Thank you for your kind words about our location: once the car parked on Dalhousie Street, it is very easy to walk around the city and discover its treasures!

Thank you for your kind words about our spacious rooms. I am happy to read you have enjoyed our vintage bath tub in the room!

We hope to have the pleasure to welcome you back when you return to Québec City!

Best Regards,

Erwan Franchet
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
143 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2013

Stayed 3 nights in May. Were upgraded to the Junior Suite for 1 night, would definitely recommend this- huge suite (room 302), awesome bathroom, shower and hot tub, small study nook and kitchen facilites. Not sure if it would be noisy once Toast restaurant starts operating its outdoor terrace in Summer. The other 2 nights were in the old section. Room 24 was very adequate, very quiet even though it faced the street. Bathroom was small but adequate, sink was in the bedroom. The manager intervened when we had a small issue and sent up a bottle of sparling wine which was a great gesture. Be aware room 21 is right next to the elevator and the drinks machine so could be a problem with respect to noise. Also in both rooms you could hear the guests walking around in the rooms above. Breakfast was disappointing- alot of choices available but the quality was low, the scambled eggs were nearly inedible. Would recommend for location and rooms plus proximity to great restaurants- namely Matto across the street and Echaude very close by. Very helpful staff and parking close by.

Room Tip: Room 24 was good for a cheaper option to the suite, suite 302 was great but ask re noise from the re...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SkippyTravellerChick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erwan F, General Manager at Hotel Le Priori, responded to this review, June 13, 2013
Dear SkippyTravellerChick,

Thank you for reviewing us on Trip Advisor!

We are very happy to read you had a great time with us during your stay! We are very proud of our ideal location: we are close to the main attractions of our lovely city but in a quiet neighbourhood. We do have a great selection of restaurants in this part of town.

I am sorry to read you were not satisfied with our complimentary breakfast. We usually receive very good comments on this matter, especially on the creamy scrambled eggs. Toast! restaurant is daily cooking and baking a lot of items to ensure great variety and fresh quality. I will investigate to understand what happened during this weekend and make sure we keep on offering a great complimentary buffet.

Our spacious room #21 is indeed close to the elevator, as all our spacious rooms. The elevator in the main building is not operating from midnight to 6:00am and I am sure this contributes to the quietness of our rooms. Sleep quality is of utmost importance to us and we are proud to receive positive feedbacks on this matter from our guests.

Thank you for your kind comments about our staff! We want all our guests to enjoy a nice trip to Quebec City and are always here to help.

Your recommendation is the best reward our team can get: Merci Beaucoup!

We hope to have the pleasure to welcome you back!


Best Regards,

Erwan Franchet
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Quebec City hotels
0.0 mi away
Auberge Saint-Antoine
Auberge Saint-Antoine
#3 of 101 in Quebec City
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,933 reviews
0.4 mi away
Le Manoir d'Auteuil
Le Manoir d'Auteuil
#2 of 101 in Quebec City
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,064 reviews
0.2 mi away
Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac
Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac
#15 of 101 in Quebec City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,962 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Auberge Place D'Armes
Auberge Place D'Armes
#8 of 101 in Quebec City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,398 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel du Vieux-Quebec
Hotel du Vieux-Quebec
#1 of 101 in Quebec City
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,466 reviews
0.3 mi away
Maison du Fort
Maison du Fort
#4 of 101 in Quebec City
5.0 of 5 bubbles 724 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Le Priori? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Le Priori

Property: Hotel Le Priori
Address: 15 rue Sault-au-Matelot, Quebec City, Quebec G1K 3Y7, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Quebec > Quebec City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Quebec City
#6 Family Hotel in Quebec City
#28 Business Hotel in Quebec City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Le Priori 3.5*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the Old-Port of Quebec, our boutique hotel stands proudly on the oldest street of North America in the house of the architect Jean Baillairgé, founder of our ecclesiastic heritage of Québec city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Cheap Tickets and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Le Priori reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Priori Quebec City
Le Priori Hotel
Hotel Le Priori Quebec/Quebec City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing