We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Charm and comfort in Old Quebec”
Review of Hotel Le Priori

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Le Priori
Ranked #6 of 101 Hotels in Quebec City
Certificate of Excellence
Almonte, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Charm and comfort in Old Quebec”
Reviewed May 31, 2013

We stayed at LePriori 4 nights in May this year. The Hotel is in a great location in Old Quebec, close to many sights, the waterfront and the Museum of Civilization. The hotel staff where very helpful with directions and recommendations for dining. We ate our first dinner at the TOAST in the Hotel. The meal was delicious. Our rooms, a junior suite, I would recommend as they were verfy spacious and comfortable. We enjoyed walking each day which was made possible by the central location of the hotel. My only suggestion for improvemnt would be some changes to the Breakfast Buffet. It was the same each day.
Compliments to the staff in particular who were very attentive and accomadating.

Room Tip: any of the 4 junior suites
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Stephen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erwan F, General Manager at Hotel Le Priori, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Dear Stephen C,

Thank you very much for sharing your experience with us on Trip Advisor!

We are delighted to read you have enjoyed your stay at Hotel Le Priori! Our location is indeed very convenient to explore Quebec City! The Old Port is always a little bit less crowded than the Upper Town.

Thank you for your nice comments about our staff. It is always a pleasure to help our guests to spend a memorable time in our beautiful city! Your positive feedback about our junior suites is very appreciated: we renovated this part of Le Priori last year and are happy to receive such a positive input!

Your suggestion is very much appreciated too. We have added more hot dishes on our buffet last week: sautéed potatoes, French toast with maple syrup and baked beans. We hope this will help to improve the quality of our complimentary breakfast buffet.

We will be very happy to welcome you again when you return to Québec City!

Best Regards,

Erwan Franchet
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,051 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    788
    219
    35
    4
    5
See reviews for
103
721
35
45
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (205)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
37 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2013

The hotel is in an excellent location on a charming side street with easy walking distance to all attractions in old Quebec City. The Chateau Frontenac is on top of the hill and you would need to walk uphill in order to get there. However, the funicular is also available nearby to transport visitors uphill. It is easy walking distance to commuter ferry on St. Lawrence river. We took the ferry and really enjoyed the ride. Parking is very convenient and staffs are very friendly.

Room: the room is fairly big. One thing I like most is its shower, which is great. The bed is big and comfortable as well. However, the TV is a bit small and the washing tub is also a bit small. But these two minor issues do not matter to us at all.

Breakfast: breakfast is a bit simple. Among the hotels I have visited, the breakfast is basic. However, one thing I like is that hotel provide free bottle water in the lobby and you can take as much as you need. Coffee and tea are also readily available for free.

overall, this hotel is fantastic and we are very glad that we selected this hotel. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Kevin F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erwan F, General Manager at Hotel Le Priori, responded to this review, May 31, 2013
Dear solo_tourist_2000,

Thank you very much for taking the time to post a review on Trip Advisor!

We are very happy to read you have enjoyed our ideal location in the Lower Town of Quebec City! Walk our city is the best way to discover its attractions and feel its special atmosphere!
Your nice comment about our staff is very appreciated; we do want all our guests to feel at home while staying with us!

Thank you for your feedback about our rooms. Sleep quality is very important to us and we are glad to know you found our beds to your taste! Your feedback on our breakfast has been passed on to our team, we have added this week baked beans, French toasts and sautéed potatoes to improve the variety of our buffet.

Your very kind words are very appreciated from all the team and your recommendation is for us very encouraging, thank you very much!

We hope to have the pleasure to welcome back when you return to Quebec City!

Best Regards,

Erwan Franchet
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 12, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for 3 nights in January for our 1 year anniversary. Having only based our decision off of this website, we hoped for the best and were not disappointed in the least. We spent 2 nights in the lowest priced rooms, which are cozy and modern. On our final night we upgraded to the Junior Spa Suite which we highly recommend. It is a wonderful 2-story suite with all the amenities you can ask for. Being in a hot tub in the midst of the blustery winter is a treat!

In addition, we cannot speak highly enough of the staff at Le Priori. They were very warm, polite and helpful in making reservations and recommendations. The breakfast at the attached restaurant was excellent - you must try the croissants! If we return to Quebec City, we will be sure to revisit this charming hotel.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jennifer C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erwan F, General Manager at Hotel Le Priori, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
Dear Jennifer C,

Thank you very much for reviewing Hotel Le Priori on Trip Advisor!

It is always a pleasure for us to host special occasions such as anniversaries and we are happy to read you had a great time with us! Thank you for your kind words about our staff. We want to make sure every guest experiences a memorable stay with us!

The Junior Suite with Spa #401 is definitely a unique room in Quebec City! We are very proud to be the only hotel to offer such a magical accommodation! The hot tub can be enjoyed all year long and offers a great view on Place Royale!

I am glad to read you enjoyed our breakfast. We want all our guests to start the day the best way possible and eat what they need to enjoy our beautiful city!

We will be thrilled to welcome you back!

Best Regards,

Erwan Franchet
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
City Gal
Level Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed May 9, 2013

We stayed in the Junior Spa Suite. The pictures on the website do not do this room justice. It has a kitchen (with a Nespresso machine and a great sized fridge), a great bathroom with an awesome shower, two televisions, a comfortable Queen bed and a comfortable day bed on the upper level, a gorgeous balcony with a fantastic view, a huge outdoor hot tub...need I go on?

We stayed here from Monday to Thursday. There were only a few points that weren't perfection. Some are just minor things that didn't really affect us - doors didn't close very well (bathroom drawer, bathroom door and the front door really needed to pushed shut). There was a lot of outdoor noise from gardening, etc. Some drapes or curtains would be nice in the upper level, both for privacy and to block out the sun. Hooks near the shower would also have been nice (although the hooks near the hot tub are a nice touch).

There was only one time that we thought something slightly subpar happened - we had our "do not disturb" sign on the door, and were sleeping in (it is vacation, after all!). Our room phone rang and it was the front desk telling us that if we wanted our room cleaned, it had to be done soon - it was just past noon, mind you. I don't mind being given cleaning schedules ahead of time, but I didn't appreciate being woken up (esp because our door indicated we didn't want to be disturbed) to accommodate the cleaning staff's schedule.

Besides this one hiccup, everything was fantastic. Breakfast does get boring after a few days, but the food was good. Location was great. Staff all spoke English very well. Bed was very comfortable, the room was cleaned excellently. I would 100% stay in this room again.

Room Tip: Go with the Junior Spa Suite - one of the nicest rooms I've ever stayed at.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank foodiefromupnorth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erwan F, General Manager at Hotel Le Priori, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
Dear foodiefromupnorth,

Thank you very much for sharing your experience with us on Trip Advisor!

We are thrilled to read you had an amazing stay in our beautiful Junior Suite with Spa #401! Your very constructive review is very appreciated as we are always looking for improvements for our rooms. The details your mentioned have been carefully noted and passed on to our maintenance team to make sure doors and hooks will work fine for our next guests!

I am really sorry for the disturbance you experienced with your door sign. Standard procedure is to check the door before making phone calls to rooms to make sure we do not disturb our guests. This has been passed on to the team to avoid repetition.

This is a great reward for us to read this room is in your top list! We went through major renovations last year and this room has been praised for its unique setup!

We hope to have the pleasure to welcome you soon!

Best Regards,

Erwan Franchet
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
91 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
Reviewed May 6, 2013

We have stayed here twice now and been extremely happy both times. Our first visit was during Carnaval this year, and we were so pleased, we made plans to stay here again in spring. And here we are, celebrating our 20th anniversary this weekend.

Le Priori is a lovely boutique hotel in two very old, beautiful buildings. I've seen complaints here about room sizes, but we have reserved a suite both times and been more than happy with the space. You need to keep in mind that this is a historic building, not the Comfort Inn. The old stone walls limit what can be done to the interior. But because of that, you get a hotel that oozes charm and history, and I think they've done a great job of configuring the rooms in the best way possible for the available space.

In the suites, there is a great little kitchenette with A kettle, Keurig-style coffee maker, microwave, fridge, dishes and other amenities. Our suite includes a room safe, a flat-screen TV and DVD player, iron and ironing board, hairdryer, great walk-in shower with a huge square shower head, and a jetted bathtub. Our current suite has a working fireplace. There are also comfy chairs, a VERY comfy bed with ample pillows, a desk, good closet space, and the best lighting I've ever seen in a hotel room. The lighting in this suite is fantastic! Someone put a lot of thought into that, and we really appreciate it.

The location is excellent. On both our trips, we have found the hotel to be very peaceful and quiet, yet we are within walking distance of just about everything you'd care to see around here, and Québec is a great city to walk around.

I've had nothing but good experiences with the front desk staff. We are always greeted with a smile. They are extremely accommodating and helpful, and they are happy to speak to you in French or English, que vous le souhaitez! Some people do seem to get their knickers in a twist when they visit this city and find that not everyone is perfectly bilingual. Come on, people, this is a French city in a French province! It's a bit much to complain that not everyone speaks English fluently. That said, I have yet to meet anyone here involved in the tourism industry who is less than fluent in English. I only wish my French were as fluent as the English spoken by the hotel and restaurant staff here!

The rooms are cleaner than clean, with nice wooden and tile floors. The bathtub literally sparkles. Perhaps the cleanest hotel rooms I've ever seen in my life. And I LOVE having a wall heater in the bathroom.

As for the free breakfast, it's very good. Considering that it comes free with the price of the room, I've been very satisfied. If you want something more exotic, there are plenty of other restaurants around, but Le Priori provides a good array of morning eats: bacon, sausage, scrambled eggs, cheese, rillettes, homemade granola bars and croissants, yogurt, preserves, bagels, English muffins, wholewheat bread, cream cheese, cereal, orange juice, fresh fruit, coffee, tea... did I miss anything? You can fill your stomach, then head out for a day of sightseeing.

We live 3-1/2 hours from Québec City, just across the border in Ontario, and this hotel is fast becoming our little home away from home. It's lovely to come here and relax. Le Priori is one of our favourite hotels anywhere. Long may it continue. Mille mercis pour ce merveilleux séjour!

Room Tip: The suites are worth the extra bucks!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank caberwife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erwan F, General Manager at Hotel Le Priori, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Dear caberwife,

Thank you very much for posting this exhaustive review on Trip Advisor!

What a delight for our team to start summer season with such a glowing review: merci beaucoup! We are honoured to be the hotel you chose to celebrate your 20th anniversary!

This is very encouraging for us to read you have enjoyed your two stays with us. We all put a lot of effort and passion in our job: we love what we do and we love our guests. It is definitely the best reward for us to know that we contributed to the success of a holiday!

We are very happy to read you understood the challenges of working in a historical building. We did our best to offer nice and cosy rooms. Thank you for emphasising the work done on the lighting and on the room configuration!

Your comments about the cleanliness of our rooms have been passed on to our housekeeping staff. They do their best everyday to offer our guests neat and comfortable rooms!

Congratulations for your perfect listing of our breakfast buffet: you did not forget anything! We definitely want to offer our guest the best value possible all year long and offering a delicious breakfast with our rooms is important to us.

We have a nice saying in French that says: “Jamais deux sans trois!”. We can not wait to welcome you back home!

Best Regards,

Erwan Franchet
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City, Mexico
Level Contributor
23 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed April 3, 2013

It worth every cent, i think there's no better option. The location its great, the people at the desk always nice, i enjoy very much my time there. The room its really small, but that really doesn't matter, i travel a lot and this wasn't a problem at all, in comparison to biggest rooms in other hotels.

Room Tip: I stayed 3 days and the breakfast was always the same, maybe you would like to search for near resta...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Mrpeperonil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erwan F, General Manager at Hotel Le Priori, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Dear Mrpeperonil,

Thank you very much for sharing your stay with us on Trip Advisor!

We are very proud to read such positive feedback on the value we are offering to our guests. We work hard to offer the best value possible and it is always nice to receive feedback encouraging us in this way.

As our hotel has been classified as a historic building and has 30 inches thick stonewalls, we did our best to optimize the size of our rooms with these legal and technical restrictions. We always think about ideas to improve storage spaces.

Our location is definitely very convenient as it is walking distance from most of the attractions of our lovely city! We are glad to read you enjoyed it!

We hope to have the pleasure to welcome you back!

Best Regards,

Erwan Franchet
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2013

My boyfriend and I spent two nights at Hotel Le Priori for my birthday weekend and had the most amazing time. The hotel is in a great location - we walked everywhere and the parking is only 2 blocks away from the hotel. The room was well appointed, clean and spacious and we had a view of the river from our room. Breakfast in Toast was fantastic. The best part about the hotel was the staff. Everyone we encountered at the desk and the restaurant was very friendly and helpful. I work in hotels and this is one of the reasons why I chose Hotel Le Priori for our first time in Quebec City. From the moment I made the reservation to the time we departed the hotel, the level of service we received was outstanding. We didn't want to be in a large hotel, but still wanted a place with nice service and great rooms and this was the perfect choice. The staff even acknowledged my birthday and made our stay very special. We enjoyed our stay very much and would definitely stay there agian!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank aroundtheworld00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erwan F, General Manager at Hotel Le Priori, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Dear aroundtheworld00,

Thank you very much for sharing your experience with us on Trip Advisor!

It is a great honour for us to have been chosen for your birthday weekend! All the team is thrilled to read you will remember your stay at Le Priori! Thank you very much for your nice comments about our staff: we are a passionate team and want all our guests to have an unforgettable time with us! This kind of positive feedback from a fellow hospitality worker have been very much appreciated by our staff!

Thank you for highlighting the great job of our housekeeping department. They strive to ensure that all our customers enjoy everyday a neat and comfy room!

We will be delighted to welcome you again!

Best Regards,

Erwan Franchet
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Quebec City hotels
0.0 mi away
Auberge Saint-Antoine
Auberge Saint-Antoine
#3 of 101 in Quebec City
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,981 reviews
0.4 mi away
Le Manoir d'Auteuil
Le Manoir d'Auteuil
#2 of 101 in Quebec City
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,087 reviews
0.2 mi away
Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac
Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac
#15 of 101 in Quebec City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,044 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Auberge Place D'Armes
Auberge Place D'Armes
#7 of 101 in Quebec City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,422 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel du Vieux-Quebec
Hotel du Vieux-Quebec
#1 of 101 in Quebec City
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,481 reviews
0.3 mi away
Maison du Fort
Maison du Fort
#4 of 101 in Quebec City
5.0 of 5 bubbles 733 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Le Priori? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Le Priori

Property: Hotel Le Priori
Address: 15 rue Sault-au-Matelot, Quebec City, Quebec G1K 3Y7, Canada
Location: Canada > Quebec > Quebec City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Quebec City
#6 Family Hotel in Quebec City
#28 Business Hotel in Quebec City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Le Priori 3.5*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the Old-Port of Quebec, our boutique hotel stands proudly on the oldest street of North America in the house of the architect Jean Baillairgé, founder of our ecclesiastic heritage of Québec city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Le Priori reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Priori Quebec City
Le Priori Hotel
Hotel Le Priori Quebec/Quebec City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing