We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Hotel in a great location”
Review of Hotel Le Priori

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Le Priori
Ranked #6 of 100 Hotels in Quebec City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 6, 2013

this is a beautiful hotel in a great spot, especially if you are a food lover. Great restaurants all in the area that are to die for. right across the street which is about 6 steps is an italian place called Il Matto. Great italian food and wine. Great people and service. Very authentic italian food, delicious. We also tried Le 48. This is a great restaurant if you like appetizers. they come with 3 or 4 apps on a plate from different regions of the world. My husband and I had an app each and their homemade soup which was FANTASTIC! Very nice dinner, didn't feel stuffed after. then our last night we went to SSS. All in the same area, 2 minute walk. We had steak, fantastic, again. the Hotel recommended all the restaurants and we loved everyone of them. we also tried a pub called Pub Saint-Alexandre on Rue Saint-jean. Great pub food, the best burgers and fries, service was amazing. Small pub so worth the wait to sit if it is busy. Tried D'Orsay for lunch the next day and the food was cold, service was terrible. I wouldn't recommend this place at all. Looks good from the outside but that's it. the Hotel is located outside of the wall in behind the Chateau Frontenac. Very close to everything, 15min. walk to old town. Close to the water, very beautiful and the hotel rooms are nothing fancy but rustic and cozy. Besides you won't be in the rooms often, Quebec is beautiful and lots to see. I would definately recommend this Hotel and the restaurants. There is a hidden treasure at this Hotel. In behind the hotel they have a garden terrace that is beautiful even in the winter so I would assume it is even more beautiful in the summer. Check that out!

Room Tip: They also have suites in the back of the hotel that are beautiful. High season is February and July...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Michael P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erwan F, General Manager at Hotel Le Priori, responded to this reviewResponded March 7, 2013

Dear Michael P,

Thank you very much for sharing your stay with us on Trip Advisor!

We are delighted to read that you have enjoyed staying at Le Priori during your stay in Quebec City. Thank you for highlighting our great location. The Old Port is definitely one of the best area in town for food lovers! We are lucky to have a wide range of restaurants, from the gourmet sandwiches to the Relais et Chateau restaurant! Our front desk staff is always happy to give restaurant suggestions for our guests and recommends only places tried by our team!

Our terrace is decorated for winter season and we cannot wait for spring as our friends at Toast! restaurant will serve their amazing food outside!

Your recommendation is very valuable to us, thank you very much!

We hope to have the pleasure to welcome you back soon, there are so many restaurants to try!

Best Regards,

Erwan Franchet
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,199)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

700 - 706 of 1,199 reviews

Reviewed February 19, 2013

Our stay at Hotel Le Priori over President's Day week end was fantastic. First of all, the location is ideal, in the middle of the cobblestone streets of the Vieux Port and within a few minutes walking distance of the Petit Champlain. The hotel itself was amazing too. We stayed in a suite (302) in the back of the building, overlooking the courtyard. The suite has stone walls and wood beams, a very modern spa bathroom, a perfect combination of modern and cozy. There is a Nespresso coffee machine in the room for early birds. Breakfast was plenty and of good quality (bacon, eggs, cereals, fresh fruit, homemade jams, peanut butter, etc...), located in the main building's restaurant Toast. Parking is available a couple of blocks from the hotel - they give you a card to access it and charge you at the end of the stay.
But the best feature of the hotel is the staff - they go above and beyond to make sure everything is perfect during the stay, and are incredibly friendly. At the end of our stay we had an issue with one of our dog sledding reservations and even though the reservation was not made through the hotel, Tanya at the front desk spent time trying to fix it, re-booking another reservation for us and letting us go back to our room even though we had already checked out, given that the rebooked reservation was for many hours later. She was our "hotel angel" and saved the day!

Room Tip: You can't go wrong with suite 302
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Virginie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erwan F, General Manager at Hotel Le Priori, responded to this reviewResponded February 20, 2013

Dear gigihd,

Thank you very much for reviewing us on Trip Advisor!

All our team is thrilled to read you have enjoyed your stay with us! The Old Port is such a nice location, right in the action but in a quiet neighbourhood. It is nice for us to get a feedback on our Junior Suites! As we opened them in April, it is great to read about their first winter season!

Thank you for your nice comments about our breakfast, we want to make sure all our guests start the day the best way possible!

Your very nice words have been passed on to Tania our concierge! All the team gives its best everyday to ensure all our guests enjoy a memorable stay.

We hope to have the pleasure to welcome soon!

Best Regards,

Erwan Franchet
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 1, 2013

I only stayed one night; I found my room very clean and the bed very comfortable! I would definitely go back.

The buffet style breakfast was excellent. Keep up the excellent work; you made me feel very welcomed!! Free wifi was a bonus!

Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
3  Thank Hole_Hole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erwan F, General Manager at Hotel Le Priori, responded to this reviewResponded February 2, 2013

Dear Hole_Hole,

Thank you very much for taking the time to review us on Trip Advisor!

We are very happy to read you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for your positive input about our complimentary buffet. We want to make sure every guest enjoys a great hot and cold breakfast to start the day!

We are very happy to read you liked our hospitality: we want all our guests to feel home at Le Priori!

Your recommendation is the best reward we can get: merci beaucoup!

We will be happy to welcome you back!

Best Regards,

Erwan Franchet
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2013

This was a fantastic place to stay. We had a beautiful suite, with fireplace, and it was modern, comfy, and the staff were nice to deal with! So nice, that we cancelled our prior fancy restaurant reservations, and opted to stay in with take-out and a movie. Great location within walking distance to nice shops, galleries and restaurants.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank redstella2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erwan F, General Manager at Hotel Le Priori, responded to this reviewResponded January 29, 2013

Dear redstella2,

Thank you for sharing your experience with us on Trip Advisor!

It is a great pleasure for us to read you had great stay with us! It is always rewarding when our guests want to spend more time in their rooms because they feel home and comfy!

Your nice comments about our staff and location are highly appreciated, thank you very much!

We hope to have the pleasure to welcome you soon!

Best Regards,

Erwan Franchet
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 25, 2013

This is a fantastic place to stay to for a taste of 'Old Quebec City' with a bit of luxury!

The room was large and immaculate with a beautiful soaking tub to warm up in.

All of the hotel staff were friendly and very helpful. The restaurant 'Toast' was a lovely find with some beautiful modern French cuisine.

The location is amazing and the perfect starting point to explore Old Quebec City.

We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Karen N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erwan F, General Manager at Hotel Le Priori, responded to this reviewResponded January 29, 2013

Dear Karen N,

Thank you very much for reviewing us on Trip Advisor!

We sincerely appreciate your feedback and are glad to read you enjoyed your stay. I would like to thank you for your very kind words about our staff. All the team gives its best everyday to ensure that all our guests enjoy a memorable stay.

We are very proud of our ideal location: we are close to the main attractions of our lovely city but in a quiet neighbourhood.

We will be more than happy to welcome you back!

Best Regards,

Erwan Franchet
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2013

First of all I have to say that Quebec is extremely artistic and vibrant city. Every shop has it's own character/charm and not the two of them look alike. I was simply enchanted by timeless atmosphere that was present in every store - and also the artists who were more than willing to tell you the stories of their products. My husband and I were there in January and the city was marvelously decorated and still felt very Christmasy and festive. Lots of snow added the real winter-wonderland feeling...

As for the hotel; it was one of the most charming hotels where things were just perfect. Even when some strange smell could be scent nearby the hotel, we received a bottle of local sparkling wine with an apology. How attentive! When we arrived at the reception we were greeted by Ms. Tanya, who was so kind and attentive. She explained absolutely everything about the city and its' attractions. She showed us to our junior suite, which was very clean (jet we actually never noticed the cleaning lady, but the suite was immaculately attended!), spacious with a huge mirror :-) and a big cosy king-size bed. The breakfast was simple in choice but fresh. In the afternoon the breakfast area changed into a full scale gastronomic restaurant which was absolutely wonderful (The Toast). They had a great selection of vines and very interesting menu with few small dishes, where you can choose two or three different things and that way taste many different tastes. Our favorite dessert was the cheese plate with sweet wine and Port. We loved the waiters there; they really knew their food as well as how the match it with wine.

It was really more than we expected.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank helena_greenwald
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erwan F, General Manager at Hotel Le Priori, responded to this reviewResponded January 25, 2013

Dear helena_greenwald,

Thank you very much for commenting your stay on Trip Advisor!

Your exhaustive review is very appreciated; it pictures well the vibe of our city during Christmas!

We are very glad to read your stay at Le Priori exceeded your expectations. We want all our guests feel at home and it is always a pleasure for us to share information about Quebec City.

Thank you for your positive comment about the cleanliness of our rooms. Our housekeeping department gives its best everyday to ensure all our guests feel at home! Your glowing review of Toast! restaurant will be passed on to their team and I am sure they will be very happy to receive such compliments!

We will be delighted to welcome you back if you plan another trip to our beautiful city!

Best Regards,

Erwan Franchet
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2013

This hotel is amazing, so beautiful, clean amazing service and incredibly designed rooms. We stayed in the junior suite with spa, it was incredible. Real fire place, amazing view and hot tub, as well as 3D television which we could rent movies from the front. Toast restaurant was great. The hotel staff really catered to us.
-The Manna's

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Manna6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erwan F, General Manager at Hotel Le Priori, responded to this reviewResponded February 13, 2013

Dear Manna6,

Thank you very much for sharing your feedback on Trip Advisor!

We are delighted to read that your stay in our Junior suite with spa #401 will be remembered. We put a lot of effort and passion in our mission and it is very encouraging for our entire staff to read such a review!

The Junior Suite with Spa is definitely a great experience! Its spa is working all year long and the balcony offers an incredible view on Place Royale!

We hope to have the pleasure to welcome you back!

Best Regards,

Erwan Franchet
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Quebec City hotels
0.1 mi away
Auberge Saint-Antoine
Auberge Saint-Antoine
#5 of 100 in Quebec City
2,249 reviews
0.2 mi away
Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac
Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac
#18 of 100 in Quebec City
5,000 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel du Vieux-Quebec
Hotel du Vieux-Quebec
#1 of 100 in Quebec City
1,726 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Le Manoir d'Auteuil
Le Manoir d'Auteuil
#3 of 100 in Quebec City
1,350 reviews
0.2 mi away
Auberge Place D'Armes
Auberge Place D'Armes
#9 of 100 in Quebec City
1,646 reviews
1.2 mi away
Auberge Aux Deux Lions
Auberge Aux Deux Lions
#4 of 100 in Quebec City
1,014 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Le Priori? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Le Priori

Address: 15 rue Sault-au-Matelot, Quebec City, Quebec G1K 3Y7, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Quebec > Quebec City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Quebec City
#28 Business Hotel in Quebec City
Price Range: $130 - $284 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Le Priori 3.5*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the Old-Port of Quebec, our boutique hotel stands proudly on the oldest street of North America in the house of the architect Jean Baillairgé, founder of our ecclesiastic heritage of Québec city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Le Priori reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Priori Quebec City
Le Priori Hotel
Hotel Le Priori Quebec/Quebec City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing