We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice hotel in the heart of old quebec”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Le Priori

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Le Priori
Ranked #6 of 101 Hotels in Quebec City
Certificate of Excellence
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
61 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Nice hotel in the heart of old quebec”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 23, 2012

A nice hotel, surrounded by the lovely pedestrian streets of old quebec. The service was lovely, the rooms were nice although a bit small. The bathrooms were microscopic, and the breakfasts were pretty boring. Its ok, and the prices are fair.

But if you want a hotel with a bit more flair, you might want to look to the Germain-Dominion or 71. Both are situated very closeby. And offer more "bang for the buck".

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bunnyloper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erwan F, General Manager at Hotel Le Priori, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Dear Bunnyloper,

Thank you very much for posting a review on Trip Advisor.

Your very nice comments about our service are very appreciated!

I am sorry to read the size of our standard rooms and bathroom did not meet your expectations. Our hotel has been classified as a historic building and this classification, in addition to 30 inches thick stonewalls, does not allow any modification of the size of our regular and spacious rooms.

However, we were able to optimize the size of our Junior Suites and Suites located in our two other buildings with dimensions up to 1,000 square feet. These rooms have received a very positive feedback since their opening last winter and are also fairly priced.

We would be delighted to welcome you back in our Junior Suites and Suites. I am sure you would love our Junior Suite with spa. It is the only room in Québec City that offers a private spa with an outstanding view on Place Royale and on Saint Lawrence River!

Best Regards,

Erwan Franchet
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,028 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    770
    215
    34
    4
    5
See reviews for
101
701
34
45
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (199)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Auburn, CA
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2012

The hotel, the city , the streets, are living history. As others have praised, the hotel's location in the lower town makes it close to all you need , with a good pair of ( somewhat fashionable) walking shoes. The setting: an interior brick wall, comfy bed, and best of all , latched windows that opened to the courtyard below, where the sound of falling rain mingled with clinking of dishes and wine glasses. The staff was accommodating without being suffocating, the breakfast and coffee yummy, and the shower worth waiting for after the end of a long day of walking , eating, shopping and gazing out over la Citadelle. Ahh, tres agreable.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nrg4all
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erwan F, General Manager at Hotel Le Priori, responded to this review, November 21, 2012
Dear nrg4all,

Thank you very much for reviewing our hotel on Trip Advisor!

Our team is glad to read you enjoyed our ideal location. The Basse Ville is a destination in itself and is the perfect base to discover Québec City! Thank you for your comments about our rooms. We are very proud of our 18th century building. Its history is intimately linked with our great city!

Thank you for your remarks about our breakfast, we want to make sure all our guests start the day the best way possible!

We hope to have the pleasure to welcome you soon!

Best Regards,

Erwan Franchet
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Key West, Florida
Level Contributor
43 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 15, 2012

My partner and I recently stayed 3 days at the Le Priori in Quebec City. Very near to eveyrthing, within walking distance to all of the old section of the city's restaurants and shops. The hotel rooms were spacious, clean, and modern in design and decor (our favorite) even though it is housed in a lovely restored 18th century building and set on a quiet small side street. The staff was courteous, friendly, and helpful in getting reservations at restaurants, etc and giving directions around the city. It even houses its own excellent restaurant, The cost was very reasonable. which even including a very good breakfast. I would stay there again when I am in Quebec. I recommend it without reservation.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KeyWestCharles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erwan F, General Manager at Hotel Le Priori, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Dear KeyWestCharles,

Thank you very much for sharing your experience on Trip Advisor!

We are very happy to read you had a great time with us! Thank you for your nice comments about our rooms. We are very lucky to work in such a beautiful place! Your kind words about our staff are really appreciated as everybody strives to make sure all our guests feel at home!

Your recommendation is the best reward our team can get: merci beaucoup!

We will be very happy to welcome you again when you return to Québec City!

Best Regards,

Erwan Franchet
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Hampshire
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2012

My wife and I just came home from three wonderful nights in Quebec City at Hotel le Priori to celebrate my 40th birthday. The hotel's location in the Old Town was absolutely perfect. With such an ideal home base, everything in Old Quebec was within easy walking distance. The hotel staff was superb from check-in to check-out. We were concerned about the language barrier beforehand, but the staff (and everyone we encountered) was bilingual and made us feel at home. We stayed in a NewTone Suite and loved it! Tons of space in this gorgeous room, along with a fireplace, jetted tub for two, a great shower and an espresso machine that we used regularly. The bed was very, very comfortable and the room was remarkably quiet. The complimentary bottle of champagne for my birthday was a welcome surprise. Dinner at Toast was excellent, surpassed only by the nearby Echaude... Both are not to be missed! All in all, I would wholeheartedly recommend Hotel le Priori. On the way home, we were already plotting our next escape to Quebec City and this outstanding little hotel.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fifteendays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erwan F, General Manager at Hotel Le Priori, responded to this review, November 15, 2012
Dear Fifteendays,

Thank you very much for posting a review on Trip Advisor!

It is always a pleasure to welcome special occasions and we are happy to be associated with good memories for your couple! Thank you for highlighting our ideal location. Walking is the best way to explore Québec City and our location makes all the main attractions easy to reach.

We are glad to read that you have enjoyed your stay at Hotel Le Priori! The Newtone suite is very spacious and ideal for a couple as it has a great king bed and a great living area! We want all our guests to spend a nice time with us and it is very rewarding to read such a positive comment about our hotel, thank you very much!

We will be delighted to welcome you back!

Best Regards,

Erwan Franchet
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
norfolk
Level Contributor
96 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2012

We stayed for two nights here, we had quite a modern suite, we would have preferred something a little more traditional , but it was obviously brand new. reception staff were fine, although we did have a problem with the jacuzzi bath, it kept turning itself on during the night! They told us they were waiting for a label to explain that it cleans itself about twenty mi utes after use!!
Also the car park is a way away, but not too much of a problem. breakfast was included in the price and was OK. I really don't know why people keep saying it is complimentary, it is included in the price!!! All I all a nice stay though rather pricey!!

Room Tip: All the rooms are different and the suites are right at the back of the hotel through the terrace ar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank caroleNorfolk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erwan F, General Manager at Hotel Le Priori, responded to this review, November 15, 2012
Dear caroleNorfolk,

Thank you very much for commenting your stay on Trip Advisor!

I am sorry to read that you did not find our brand new junior suite to your taste. We tried to preserve our beautiful 18th century old stone walls and give to our rooms a cosy touch with wood (maple and cherry). Maybe our Junior Suite #11 would have better suited your taste as it is more traditional. The auto cleaning feature of our Jacuzzi bath ensures optimal hygiene in our bathrooms. Please receive my sincere apologies if it was not explained upon check in. Thank you for your feedback as it helps us to improve our procedures.

As we are exploiting 18th century classified buildings, we can not add floors to our main building. However, this set up allows us to offer a quiet environment to all our guests as our 28 rooms are located in three different buildings.

I am a bit surprised you found our hotel pricy. We do receive a lot of positive feedbacks on the value for the money our guests have. We do work hard to provide competitive rates and our delicious breakfast is offered all year long. There are no room rates without breakfast and when this breakfast formula was created, rates were not adjusted in consequence.

We hope to have the pleasure to welcome you soon.

Best Regards,

Erwan Franchet
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2012

I enjoyed staying in this Hotel. The staff was very friendly . Breakfast was very good, after cruising a week, the coffee and eggs were the best. They even prepared a take out breakfast for the early morning flight we need to catch. The bed was very comfortable, showers and bathtub are just what you need at the end of the day. Location was within walking distance to everything. The museum is one block over and you can catch the electric bus one bock away. If you are lucky to have your ship dock at the port directly in front of the Hotel , you can walk, otherwise, you will need to take a taxi but the cost is not much. I would book again because it is close to everything and i slept well and the coffee was great,Great place to stay for your first visit.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patti D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erwan F, General Manager at Hotel Le Priori, responded to this review, November 15, 2012
Dear pattisplace,

Thank you very much for sharing your experience with us on Trip Advisor!

We are very happy to read that after some days at sea, you had a great time with us on land! Your nice comments about our breakfast are very appreciated and have been passed on to the Toast! restaurant team. Sleep quality is of utmost importance to us. We are glad to read that you have enjoyed our bed and the quietness of our rooms.

Our ideal location makes it easier to visit the main attractions of our lovely city. As we are close to the docks, it is very simple for cruise passengers to visit us.

We will be glad to welcome you again!

Best Regards,

Erwan Franchet
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2012

My husband and I got married in Quebec City on September 22nd, and our whole wedding party stayed at Le Priori. The service was PHENOMENAL. Last minute, I needed to get my wedding dress pressed, and no one would do it. Erwan, the manager, told me not to worry, took my dress, and the next morning it was waiting for me in the room after breakfast. Most of our guests were Americans with little French, and unanimously they said that the hotel staff had been remarkable in their attention, and care. I could not imagine a better place to have stayed; the wedding pictures were taken in the suites and the courtyard, and the décor was magnificent. We got champagne as a congratulations from the hotel, and they even helped us when our car battery died. If you are looking for a great, historical hotel that is well-situated, with old-world hotel manners where the guest really is king, look no further. I recommend this hotel to EVERYONE I know going to Quebec city, and we plan on returning for our first wedding anniversary next year. You won't find any other gem like this in the Old Town!

Room Tip: The suites look onto the courtyard and have a private entrance. REALLY quiet and large.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sarah L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erwan F, General Manager at Hotel Le Priori, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
Dear Sarah L,

Thank you very much for your feedback on Trip Advisor!

We love to welcome newly weds and are proud to be associated with such an important day in a couple’s life. Your very kind words about our service and staff are greatly appreciated and are for us a great reward!
We all remember how courteous and considerate was your family. We are very happy to read they all enjoyed our hospitality!

Thank you for your nice comments about our Newtone suite! It is the perfect room for future weds!

We will be honoured to welcome you to celebrate your first wedding anniversary! I am sure our Junior Suite with Spa will be the perfect accommodation for such a celebration!

Best Regards,

Erwan Franchet
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Quebec City hotels
0.0 mi away
Auberge Saint-Antoine
Auberge Saint-Antoine
#3 of 101 in Quebec City
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,933 reviews
0.4 mi away
Le Manoir d'Auteuil
Le Manoir d'Auteuil
#2 of 101 in Quebec City
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,064 reviews
0.2 mi away
Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac
Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac
#15 of 101 in Quebec City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,962 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Auberge Place D'Armes
Auberge Place D'Armes
#8 of 101 in Quebec City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,398 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel du Vieux-Quebec
Hotel du Vieux-Quebec
#1 of 101 in Quebec City
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,466 reviews
0.3 mi away
Maison du Fort
Maison du Fort
#4 of 101 in Quebec City
5.0 of 5 bubbles 724 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Le Priori? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Le Priori

Property: Hotel Le Priori
Address: 15 rue Sault-au-Matelot, Quebec City, Quebec G1K 3Y7, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Quebec > Quebec City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Quebec City
#6 Family Hotel in Quebec City
#28 Business Hotel in Quebec City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Le Priori 3.5*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the Old-Port of Quebec, our boutique hotel stands proudly on the oldest street of North America in the house of the architect Jean Baillairgé, founder of our ecclesiastic heritage of Québec city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Le Priori reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Priori Quebec City
Le Priori Hotel
Hotel Le Priori Quebec/Quebec City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing