We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel in Lower Town”
Review of Hotel Le Priori

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Le Priori
Ranked #6 of 102 Hotels in Quebec City
Certificate of Excellence
St. Petersburg, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great Hotel in Lower Town”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

We stayed at Hotel Le Priori for two nights after arriving on NCL Dawn, ending a lovely late season fall foliage cruise. The hotel was cute and quaint and a narrow street. The rooms were well appointed and quiet. I highly recommend this hotel and hope to return for another visit. The adjacent Toast! is a great option with an interesting and tasty small plate menu.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank paolo4918
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erwan F, General Manager at Hotel Le Priori, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Dear paolo4918,

Thank you very much for posting a review on Trip Advisor!

We are very happy to read you have enjoyed your stay at Le Priori! Thank you for your kind comments about our rooms and the quietness of our hotel. We want to offer a peaceful environment for our guests.

Your recommendation is a great reward for all the team and we will be delighted to welcome you again!

Best Regards,

Erwan Franchet
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,119 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    849
    226
    35
    4
    5
See reviews for
113
767
35
46
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (216)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oconomowoc, Wisconsin
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2012

Great location, ambiance, amenities - in the lower city near the waterfront. The building dates from the 18th century. The room and public areas are quite modern - with historic accents, such as tall casement windows, exposed brick walls. Parking is available two short blocks away - at a modest fee (available when you make your reservation). Our room charge was $129.00 plus tax - very reasonable. A nice breakfast buffet is included.

Room Tip: It's a small hotel. Upper floors (3,4 or 5) are probably better, since there is a restaurant on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ron53066
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erwan F, General Manager at Hotel Le Priori, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
Dear Ron53066,

Thank you very much for reviewing our hotel on Trip Advisor!

All the team is glad to read you had a nice stay with us! We are lucky to work in a Historic building and we do our best to maintain it so all our guests can enjoy its unique character. Thank you for your positive comments about our room rates and our breakfast. We want to offer the best value to our guests and it is always encouraging to read this kind of feedback.

We will be delighted to welcome you back if you return to Québec City!

Best Regards,

Erwan Franchet
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2012

We walked to this hotel from the cruise terminal, about 400 m. Every one of the four staff members we met on reception during our stay was friendly and helpful. The hotel opens off the prettiest street in the 'old port', although up three formidable steps for a suitcase. It is surrounded by galleries, restaurants, chic shops and boutique hotels. Our spacious room was directly over the front door with a view down rue St Antoine to the harbour (or the ship we just got off, in fact) from two large windows, but we were able to enjoy the life in the street and still sleep undisturbed by any noise from outside. Only a heavy-footed wandering insomniac in the room above intruded on our last night. The highly-regarded restaurant, 'Toast', opens off the hotel and several other good "restos", bistros and cafés are close by. This was a perfect base from which to explore the old city.

Room Tip: No problems with noise from street, corridor or adjacent rooms, but this is a conversion of a histor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank grumpywanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erwan F, General Manager at Hotel Le Priori, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
Dear grumpywanderer,

Thank you very much for posting a review on Trip Advisor!

All the team is very happy to read you have enjoyed your stay with us! The Old Port is definitely the best location to discover Québec City as is it close to all the main attractions of the city and very convenient when going on/off cruise ships! Your nice comment about our staff is very appreciated: it is important all our guests enjoy great hospitality.

We hope to have the pleasure to welcome you soon!

Best Regards,

Erwan Franchet
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2012

2-storey William Suite, overlooking a quiet courtyard, for two nights on one of the first few Oct weekends. Paid roughly $280 (pre-taxes) each night.

The good:
- Good location in the beautiful world heritage site of Old Quebec. It is situated on the Lower Town, steps away from Place Royale, and a few mins walk up a steep hill to the Upper Town and Chateu Frontenac (or take the funicular for a small fee). The hotel is located on a quiet street, and we never experienced any problems with noise levels either from the street, or from the Toast! restaurant located in the hotel.
- Complimentary buffet breakfast in the restaurant Toast!. Though the breakfast was rather limited in selection it was of a good quality. Ask for the latte!
- Suite was spacious and generally well-appointed - we also loved the two big umbrellas which came in handy since it rained quite heavily the 2nd night we were there. Also slippers were a nice touch; we travel extensively and find that we often have to ask for them. The suite also came with a working fireplace (1 piece of solid fuel free each night) and Gilchrist & Soames toiletries.
- All members of the staff we encountered were fluent in English and competent (though we did not have many requests). The lady who was at the reception on Saturday night was especially pleasant and helped us with setting up our fireplace.
- Early check-in was available.

Small blotches on an otherwise very good stay:
- Bed was too way soft for my preference - my other half enjoyed it though so it really is subjective.
- Jacuzzi started working twice for no apparent reason in the night. No problems turning it off.
- Card keys stopped working for a short while on the 2nd morning after breakfast, but we were able to gain access to our room using the staff key.

Other tips:
- Book well in advance for more competitive rates - ours was a bit on the steep side because we booked rather late.
- Petrol station nearby from which we bought water for our trip.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank two_hermits
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erwan F, General Manager at Hotel Le Priori, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
Dear two_hermits,

Thank you very much for sharing your experience with us on Trip Advisor!

Your detailed review is very much appreciated! We are glad to read you have enjoyed our location and the quietness of our hotel. It is important to us that all our guests relax in a peaceful environment. Thank you for your nice comments about the little touches we try to put in our suites! Slippers, umbrellas and logs are especially appreciated during fall and winter!

Thank you for your feedback about the Jacuzzi, we are going to make sure this does not happen for our future guests! The issue you experienced with the key cards has been addressed after you mentioned it to the front desk!

We hope to have the pleasure to welcome you back at Hotel Le Priori!

Best Regards,

Erwan Franchet
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2012

We stayed at Le Priori for 4 nights and had a wonderful experience! We bought the "Romance Package" which included one night stay, parking for one day and dinner for two at "Toast", the hotel restaurant. Our dinner at "Toast" was the best dinner we had in Quebec city!! It was amazing!! Our room on the 5th floor over-looked the street in the front of the hotel. The room was very nicely decorated and very clean. This was the quietest hotel we have ever stayed in!!! We found the bed to be very comfortable and, in fact, I LOVED the duvet so much I asked the woman at the front desk for info about it. I'd love to be able to purchase one like it. All of the staff at Le Priori, including the restaurant, were top notch!! We loved Quebec City and will definitely come back at stay at this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank becky b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erwan F, General Manager at Hotel Le Priori, responded to this review, October 26, 2012
Dear becky b,

Thank you very much for your review on Trip Advisor!

It is our pleasure to read that your romantic gateway with us will be remembered! Toast! restaurant is definitely a must do while in Québec City! Thank you for your positive comment about the cleanliness of our rooms: our housekeeping department gives it best everyday to ensure all our guests feel at home!

I would be glad to give you more details about our duvets. Please send me an email at erwan.franchet@hotellepriori.com with your contact information.

We will be very happy to welcome you back when you return to Québec City!

Best Regards,

Erwan Franchet
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level 3 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed October 25, 2012

We loved our stay. Staff very friendly and very helpful in every way from helping with baggage to making bookings. Restaurant excellent but book ahead. Location absolutely perfect to walk to everything. Parking close and easy but is $15 a day. Rooms very quaint and historic. Very clean

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank egranny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erwan F, General Manager at Hotel Le Priori, responded to this review, October 26, 2012
Dear egranny,

Thank you very much for sharing your experience with us on Trip Advisor!

We are very happy to read you had a great time with us. We want all our guests to enjoy as much our city as we do and it is always a pleasure for us to help in planning.
Thank you very much for your nice comments about our rooms. We wanted to preserve as much as possible our beautiful walls from the 18th century!

We hope to have the pleasure to welcome you soon!

Best Regards,

Erwan Franchet
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dayton, Tennessee
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2012

We arrived very late due to our flight delays. The desk attendant was very helpful in getting us checked in and to our room for a wonderful night's sleep. Our room looked down onto a small courtyard below and the surrounding buildings were as well kept as our hotel. The next morning the complimentary breakfast at the cafe adjoining the hotel was wonderful. All items were freshly prepared on the buffet. Our location was fantastic! So close to all attractions in the old city with such beautiful streets and very close to out cruise ship. The morning staff was just as helpful and courteous. They stored our luggage until late afternoon while we toured the city and countryside. Highly recommend this hotel for location, value and service. We will stay here again when we return to Quebec for a more extended visit.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank scubakeys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erwan F, General Manager at Hotel Le Priori, responded to this review, October 24, 2012
Dear scubakeys,

Thank you very much for posting a review on Trip Advisor!

Your very nice comments about our staff are very appreciated! It is vital to us that every guest experiences great hospitality. We are glad to read you have enjoyed your stay with us and our ideal location: close to the ship terminal and right in the heart of the Old Port!

Thank you for the positive comment about our delicious breakfast; we want our guests to start the day with a cheerful buffet! We work hard to offer the best value possible to our customers and it is always nice to receive feedback encouraging us in this way.

Your recommendation is very valuable to us, we will be definitely happy to welcome you again for a nice holiday in our lovely city!

Best Regards,

Erwan Franchet
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Quebec City hotels
0.1 mi away
Auberge Saint-Antoine
Auberge Saint-Antoine
#5 of 102 in Quebec City
2,095 reviews
0.2 mi away
Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac
Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac
#17 of 102 in Quebec City
4,365 reviews
0.4 mi away
Le Manoir d'Auteuil
Le Manoir d'Auteuil
#2 of 102 in Quebec City
1,187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel 71
Hotel 71
#8 of 102 in Quebec City
1,678 reviews
0.2 mi away
Auberge Place D'Armes
Auberge Place D'Armes
#10 of 102 in Quebec City
1,508 reviews
0.3 mi away
Chateau Fleur de Lys - L'HOTEL
Chateau Fleur de Lys - L'HOTEL
#7 of 102 in Quebec City
558 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Le Priori? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Le Priori

Property: Hotel Le Priori
Address: 15 rue Sault-au-Matelot, Quebec City, Quebec G1K 3Y7, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Quebec > Quebec City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Quebec City
#6 Family Hotel in Quebec City
#10 Best Value Hotel in Quebec City
#28 Business Hotel in Quebec City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Le Priori 3.5*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the Old-Port of Quebec, our boutique hotel stands proudly on the oldest street of North America in the house of the architect Jean Baillairgé, founder of our ecclesiastic heritage of Québec city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Le Priori reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Priori Quebec City
Le Priori Hotel
Hotel Le Priori Quebec/Quebec City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing