We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Small Hotel in the Heart of Old Quebec City”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel du Vieux-Quebec
Ranked #1 of 102 Hotels in Quebec City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed August 16, 2013

Our family of nine ranging in age from 6 to 75 recently had the pleasure of renting three rooms for three nights at this wonderful small hotel. In the heart of Old Quebec City and I do mean in the heart of the city. Convenient to everything. Offsite garage parking. Left our cars there the entire time, either walking or taxiing to where ever we were going. The front desk was happy to call a taxi for us whenever we needed it and remarkably we never waited for more than a few minutes for it to show up! Great hotel staff. Very clean rooms. Delicious continental breakfast delivered to your door every morning. Our room faced the very busy street but was so soundproofed, we never heard any outside noise.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank WisteriaWay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,619)
There are newer reviews for Hotel du Vieux-Quebec
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

935 - 941 of 1,620 reviews

Reviewed August 16, 2013 via mobile

Hotel: pretty and clean building with a lovely lounge (stocked with games, books and 2 computers), free wifi and a very basic gym (cross trainer, bike, a few weights and 2 matts.) Excellent location as it's within walking distance of the port, latin quarter, upper and lower town... It rained a lot when we were there so having a DVD player in our room was great!

Rooms: we were in 114 which was really nice - modern fixtures and fittings, comfy bed and big windows looking out onto Rue St.Jean (and you could barely hear the noise from outdoors - fantastic!) There was really nice filter coffee for you to make but I think you're meant to make tea through the same machine...so it tasted of coffee! Also, our room wasn't made up one day - the attendant asked if we wanted it done but we were back in it so we left it. They'd done half of it but not all and we'd been out for hours. Still, not a big deal.

Service: having seen the rave reviews on Tripadvisor I wondered if it could be as good as people said...it was! Every member of staff was so friendly and helpful. As I'm veggie they let me change the ham sandwich in the yummy breakfast basket to a pain au chocolat and the morning we left they gave us what they could despite us leaving at 4.30am. They were so helpful and professional yet friendly too. Fantastic!

QC: we really enjoyed Chez Victor down by the station - fab burgers with a mountain of skin on fries (4 types of veggie burgers!♥)

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jen w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2013

We spent two nights in a deluxe King bed room that had a murphy bed for our two kids (8 and 11). We came to this hotel after spending to good nights at the Marriott up the road (where we used points). Although the Marriott was nice, this hotel was so much better given the location and charm. We think the deluxe room was worth the extra costs too. We were on the third floor and faced the side street, so our room was quiet. The kids loved murphy bed and all of the little touches: cookies in the afternoon, the lounge where they could relax, the breakfast basket in the morning, the friendliness of the staff...Like the other comments before this, this hotel has really earned their great reputation and it was a real pleasure to walk out the front door and into the hustle and energy of the old city! We don't often rave about the hotel we stay at on vacation because we like to be out exploring, but this place really added to our vacation experience and our first impressions of QC.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank smvmd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2013

While the entrance is quite deceiving, very simple and somewhat dated, do not let that fool you. The room was beautiful, with 2 queen size beds, 2 tvs, a coffee/tea machine and enough place for you to open your suitcases. The only negative was the bathroom, which was way too small - really no place to put anything. The breakfast comes in a gorgeous basket which they hang on your door early in the morning (contains croissants, pain au chocolats, youghurt, juice, cheese,ect.) - a very generous feast! The service is excellent, discreet but attentive! To top it all, the location is perfect to visit the old town and take the public transport down to the harbour! GREAT HOTEL!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SwissTiffin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2013

Right in the heart of Old Quebec and within walking distance from everything. We loved our stay here, the rooms are clean and the bed was very comfortable. We loved the breakfast basket that was hung on our door each morning...great way to start the day!
The staff were friendly and helpful and the underground parking was almost directly across the street.
We will return to this place on our next visit:)

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lynn c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2013

Just stayed three nights and can highly recommend this hotel. Centrally located in the old city, it was just perfect for exploring all the quaint sites. The room was very comfortable, parking was just down the street and the hotel employees were just fantastic. We did not sign up for the breakfast but they gave it to us anyway and it was terrific! I'll say it again, the employees were terrific, very nice and quite helpful. We did the walking tour and would definitely recommend it. Lots of nice restaurants in the area, look on trip advisor or ask at the front desk. Some construction going on that started very early, but remember you're in a city! Never took the car out of the garage. Walked everywhere and rented bikes to ride out to the Montmorency Falls. Would definitely recommend this if you have time. Tried to get into the Circ de Soleil, but didn't want to stand in line for over an hour (for free entrance) and didn't look for tickets early enough. Friends stood in line and had a blast! Hope this helps.

Room Tip: We were on the second floor and I would say that is a good way to go, but there is an elevator so I...
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank pjromeo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2013

This is a fantastic little hotel in the heart of Old Quebec City. Walking distance to everything within the city walls. The hotel offers a free walking tour of the city ( $21.95 value for non-guests), which we participated in and found very interesting. The breakfast baskets delivered to the room were wonderful and quite filling. Only wished we knew about the options before our last day. The room was nicely furnished with some old and modern touches and the bathroom was new and very well laid out for a hotel this age. Loved the sunken tub and soap pumps.

The kids enjoyed the lounge with the complimentary apple computers, games, complimentary fruit and teas. It is a great area to relax in the many comfy chairs to read a newspaper or complete a puzzle after a long day of walking.

St. Jean street has several nice restaurants and shops as well as 5 mins walk from Chateau Frontenac. The city offered a free cirque du soleil show down by the wharf which was fantastic and we also saw the fireworks from the boardwalk of the Chateau. Highly recommend this hotel for great value, service, amenities and location.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 4everY0ung
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Quebec City hotels
0.3 mi away
Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac
Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac
#17 of 102 in Quebec City
4,526 reviews
0.2 mi away
Le Manoir d'Auteuil
Le Manoir d'Auteuil
#2 of 102 in Quebec City
1,237 reviews
0.3 mi away
Auberge Saint-Antoine
Auberge Saint-Antoine
#5 of 102 in Quebec City
2,145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Auberge Aux Deux Lions
Auberge Aux Deux Lions
#4 of 102 in Quebec City
971 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel 71
Hotel 71
#11 of 102 in Quebec City
1,706 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Manoir Victoria
Hotel Manoir Victoria
#21 of 102 in Quebec City
1,369 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel du Vieux-Quebec? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel du Vieux-Quebec

Address: 1190 rue St. Jean, Quebec City, Quebec G1R 1S6, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Quebec > Quebec City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Quebec City
#2 Family Hotel in Quebec City
#3 Romantic Hotel in Quebec City
#13 Business Hotel in Quebec City
Price Range: $123 - $289 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel du Vieux-Quebec 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located in the heart of Old Quebec, this historic 45 roomed hotel is surrounded by cobblestone streets and ancient stone buildings housing cafes, restaurants, galleries and boutiques. Over the past few years, much time and care has been spent in renovating Hotel du Vieux-Quebec. Rooftop gardens, breakfast baskets* hung on your door, relaxing lounge with computers, library, games and fireplace all contribute to the renowned charm and character which has earned this hotel such great reviews. Hotel du Vieux-Quebec provides the type of authentic Quebec experience that can only be found in an independent hotel. Adding to its appeal, the hotel is an officially recognized and award winning leader in the environmental movement. Parking is convienently available across the street. All rooms are accessible by an elevator. *Breakfast is included with direct bookings to the hotel only. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel du Vieux-Quebec reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Du Vieux-Quebec Quebec City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing