We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of Our Nicest Hotel Stays Ever”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel du Vieux-Quebec
Ranked #1 of 101 Hotels in Quebec City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Baraboo, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
216 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 147 helpful votes
“One of Our Nicest Hotel Stays Ever”
Reviewed July 17, 2013

My family of 4 stayed here for 2 nights and we all agreed that this was one of our nicest hotel stays ever. What made it so special?
--Friendliness, helpfulness, local knowledge of front desk staff
--Beautifully appointed rooms
--Lovely lounge w/ free computers (both Macs, 1 running windows and 1 running OSX) and printers; books, games and movies to borrow; free fruit, cookies and ice water; ample comfortable seating
--Wonderful location
--Amazing environmental initiatives - probably the most environmentally friendly hotel we have ever stayed at in a city
--Attractive exterior
The only thing we would have changed is the beds were a little soft for our liking, but those who like pillow top mattresses would probably like them.
We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nancy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,477 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,219
    231
    18
    4
    5
See reviews for
366
783
43
48
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (282)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Markham
Level Contributor
33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2013

There is nothing quite like a summer evening in Old Quebec City! The sidewalk crowds are busy but fluid. The atmosphere is a mix of Euro-buzz and Canadien history. There is art for sale, both traditional and avant garde. Of course the smells of delicious food waft at every turn. What a great night to be alive! On your own, with your spouse or the whole family.

You will find the L'Hotel du Vieux-Quebec right in the midst of a all of this joyful frivolity in it's own cozy corner.
There you will be welcomed by very friendly professional bilingual front desk staff and checked in with efficient service. The building itself is quite old and historical. Some of the rooms have beautiful old stone walls. All of the rooms are well appointed and comfortable. Bedding is always crisp and comfortable as well. Breakfast will be delivered to your door in a basket by silent feet before you wake - even if you wake early. The owners take care to provide as many environmentally friendly amenities and services as possible. The hotel is non smoking and pet friendly - but immaculate. I have stayed at L'Hotel du Vieux-Quebec on 10 separate occasions (at least) and would always recommend it to family, friends, colleagues and customers. If you are contemplating staying during the summer time, then book now as they are usually sold out well in advance, especially on weekends. Enjoy!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jonathan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
Reviewed July 16, 2013

We stayed at the Hotel Du Vieux Quebec and we had the best stay ever! First of all I read about this hotel on trip advisor and it comes highly rated with many good reviews. I called the hotel and was glad to be speaking to someone at the front desk rather than getting routed to a call centre. Jeffrey was the young man at the desk the evening we called and right away he put us at ease and was extremely patient , informative,helpful and easy to trust. We booked our rooms immediately because the hotel had everything we were looking for and we felt comfortable that it would be just as described.
When we arrived we found the hotel to be in a perfect location just inside the Old Walls and in the centre of the old city.It is on Rue Saint Jean(one of the main streets), You are close to everything there is to see and do and to our delight it was not too close to some of the musical events that can be noisy.Some of the other hotels are too close to the stages during music fest.Our hotel was perfect.
It was nice to meet Jeffrey in person and check in was very smooth.Parking is off-site but very very close and a breeze to get to.You can go in and out with car all day too which is important.Not all hotels allow this.

The Room was stunning! Ask for room 110.King size bed and beautiful stone on wall ,amazing furnishings,decor and bathroom. This room is facing quite street in back so it was quieter as well.Perfect!

The Hotel is stunning and all new and renovated.It has old world charm yet very modern,new and elegant.

We came to know the staff quickly and easily.Jeffrey,Kim,Pierro and Peggy were so approachable,helpful ,insightful and friendly.They helped to plan our outings,entertainment and dining.We followed up on all of their recommendations and nothing disappointed.The restaurats are amazing.We went to music events,circus and so much more that they made sure we did not miss.Thank you so much to all of you.

The hotel gives you complimentary brealfast of delicious croissants and other stuff in a very quaint picnic basket which is a nice touch.
There is a fantastic lounge on main floor for internet,relaxing and socializing.
The exercise room was small but had what you need.
We plan to go back and have already recommended this hotel to everybody we know.
Hotel du Vieux Quebec!

Room Tip: Rooms at back of building are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kevin J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rock Hill, South Carolina
Level Contributor
467 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 191 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2013

Very convenient! Right in the middle of Old Town and fairly quiet. Parking is across the street ($16/night) in an underground garage. We were in a deluxe king room on the 2nd floor facing the side street. Nice large room w/fireplace, large screen TV, good internet access, great rain shower w/good pressure and lots of hot water. The room had a Keurig coffee maker as well as an electric tea kettle, a mini-refrigerator and a safe. As other reviewers have commented, they hang a fantastic breakfast basket on your door every morning. Since we were here for multiple days, after the first day, we could choose from the traditional breakfast (croissant, muffin, fruit, yogurt) or healthy (yogurt, granola, fruit, hard boiled egg). It was all excellent and each morning we couldn’t wait for what type of croissant or muffin we would get!

Extra: Since we booked directly through the hotel, they gave us a free 1.5 hour walking tour starting at 9:30 that was excellent. We lucked out and were the only ones on that tour. It was very informative about the history of Quebec, the architecture, as well as other tidbits of information.

Cons: No bar soap or lotion. A microwave would have been nice to heat up the muffin (although they were very good at room temp).

The staff was very helpful and there was always someone available to help. I would not hesitate to stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RBonTheLake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed July 15, 2013

We were pleasantly surprised to be upgraded without even asking, the staff was very helpful and the basket hung on your door with breakfast in the morning was the best part- we had a great experience for our entire stay.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jamrunner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, North Carolina
Level Contributor
37 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2013

location (center of Old Quebec), staff (many attend the front desk and always helpful ... even gave me a choice of teas when I used the ones in the room!), amenities ( small touches ... fresh bottled water in the room, quiet lounge [fresh oranges and water dispenser], afternoon cookies) and room ( modern, spotlessly clean and comfortable.) It is amazing how comfortable a small room can be ... and stylish. One of tops!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ABikeTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland
Level Contributor
38 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2013

We stayed in the lower level room and were well satisfied. The desk staff was very responsive and seemed to genuinely want us to be happy. (We were). Everything about the hotel was very nice, but now that I have a better idea of where the attractions in Quebec are located, if we returned to Quebec I would probably stay closer to the Frontenac at the top of the hill. Tip - the hotel is an easy uphill walk from the train station if you are traveling without heavy luggage.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LandLOhio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Quebec City hotels
0.3 mi away
Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac
Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac
#15 of 101 in Quebec City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,030 reviews
0.3 mi away
Auberge Saint-Antoine
Auberge Saint-Antoine
#3 of 101 in Quebec City
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,967 reviews
0.2 mi away
Le Manoir d'Auteuil
Le Manoir d'Auteuil
#2 of 101 in Quebec City
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,083 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Auberge Place D'Armes
Auberge Place D'Armes
#7 of 101 in Quebec City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,420 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Manoir Victoria
Hotel Manoir Victoria
#21 of 101 in Quebec City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,239 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Le Germain Quebec
Hotel Le Germain Quebec
#9 of 101 in Quebec City
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel du Vieux-Quebec? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel du Vieux-Quebec

Property: Hotel du Vieux-Quebec
Address: 1190 rue St. Jean, Quebec City, Quebec G1R 1S6, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Quebec > Quebec City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Quebec City
#2 Family Hotel in Quebec City
#3 Romantic Hotel in Quebec City
#13 Business Hotel in Quebec City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel du Vieux-Quebec 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located in the heart of Old Quebec, this historic 45 roomed hotel is surrounded by cobblestone streets and ancient stone buildings housing cafes, restaurants, galleries and boutiques. Over the past few years, much time and care has been spent in renovating Hotel du Vieux-Quebec. Rooftop gardens, breakfast baskets* hung on your door, relaxing lounge with computers, library, games and fireplace all contribute to the renowned charm and character which has earned this hotel such great reviews. Hotel du Vieux-Quebec provides the type of authentic Quebec experience that can only be found in an independent hotel. Adding to its appeal, the hotel is an officially recognized and award winning leader in the environmental movement. Parking is convienently available across the street. All rooms are accessible by an elevator. *Breakfast is included with direct bookings to the hotel only. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Agoda, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel du Vieux-Quebec reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Du Vieux-Quebec Quebec City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing