We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Great place, great location, great staff” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel du Vieux-Quebec

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel du Vieux-Quebec
Ranked #1 of 104 Hotels in Quebec City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Tucson, AZ
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great place, great location, great staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2013

I cannot say enough good things about this place. Quaint charm form the outside located in the walls of the old city/ Staff was friendly and helpful with well thought out recommendations and guides. Their guide to the parking garage less than 1 block away was almost overly thorough!

The rooms are nicely appointed and they have a nice common room with free DVDs and other amenities for rainy day activities. There morning breakfast delivery in a mini wicker basket is a very nice touch.

Would definitely stay here again if in the area.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank El_Terribleeee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,371 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,120
    225
    17
    4
    5
See reviews for
335
732
39
47
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (264)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2013

Once again Tripadvisor have pointed us towards a fantastic hotel. Me and my boyfriend have today finished a three night stay there. Throughout the whole stay the reception staff were exceptional especially Pierott. Initially we were due to stay two nights and return to Montreal for a night before our return flight to the UK but decided to extend and stay the last night in Quebec city, a city which appealed to us more and because the hotel was so great. The hotel is a five minute walk from the Gare du Palais coach station, we walked, its a bit steep but a taxi costs about $7 with a tip and there was plenty outside the bus station. The location is also great for numerous restaurants, there's a choice of whatever you fancy on your doorstep.

We booked a standard queen room through the hotels website which had a great offer of 30% off if staying for two or more nights and a complimentary basket breakfast thrown in. On arrival we were upgraded to a superior queen room which was a lovely bonus. Apparently the same but bigger than the standard, the room was a great size for the two of us. There was complimentary bottled water. The room was very clean and the bed was very comfortable.

The complimentary breakfast basket was brilliant. We couldn't believe our eyes. The first mornings consisted of 2 ham and cheese rolls, 2 croissants, 2 bottles of orange juice, 2 portions of cheese and butter, a pot of jam and a couple of tangerines. An unreal amount of food which kept us really full until lunch. The basket was hung on the door about 7 you could then eat whenever you wanted. A coffee machine was also provided in the room. Other room items included a fridge, hair dryer and an iron and ironing board. In the foyer there was a lovely lounge you could relax in.

If you're travelling from Montreal to Quebec city we found the Orleans Express bus service fantastic, it's 3 hours 15 mins and wifi is included, the trip went really quick, also there is numerous services throughout the day. When we left Quebec city to get to Montreal airport we managed to catch the bus direct from Quebec City to the airport, perfect for my pregnant feet!!!

To summarise, we would 100% recommend this hotel and would return here if we ever return to Quebec City!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bealie1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth Texas
Level Contributor
26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2013

We were a bit worried at first because the lobby was small and looked like a hostel but our diverse and discriminating group really liked the rooms and we would not hesitate recommending this hotel. We hope management realizes what an asset Emily is at the front desk. She's charming and helpful. There was noisy construction next door (unknown when we booked our rooms) so she let us know upon arrival that they were going to give us different rooms than what we booked to avoid the noise. She showed us three rooms (two were same price as we booked and one was cheaper) and everyone was pleased by the choices. The rooms are rather basic in design but they are big, comfortable rooms with good beds and really nice sheets. The wifi was not great the first night but worked perfect all the other nights. The lounge is very nice with two computers. The breakfast baskets are outstanding! We had so much food at breakfast that one day we had a picnic lunch on the ramparts overlooking the river with the extra food that we had accumulated over two days. The hotel parking is a block away but we hardly needed the car with everything so close by. Stop by the city visitor center for guidebooks...the hotel didn't have any that were as comprehensive as the one you can get at the visitor center. Overall, we loved Quebec and our hotel. It was like going to France without the transatlantic flight. The people in Canada are wonderful and I can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank swan325
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Red Deer, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2013

We extended an October business trip in Montreal by taking the train to Quebec City for a few days. The vibrant rare colours this time of year is worth the journey. This small boutique hotel was a pleasant surprise. Check in staff were well trained and incredibly helpful. The rooms are on the smaller side, but well appointed and clean. The breakfast basket hanging on our door of fresh baking, fruit etc was a lovely addition to our morning routine. Restaurants with fresh baking and wonderful espresso are close by, so we opted to join friends and have breakfast out on several occasions.

There is a fantastic common room for guest enjoyment and includes games, tables and chairs, couches, fireplace, etc. We spent part of a rainy afternoon there with friends with fresh bread, great cheese and fruit, and beverages playing Canadian trivial pursuit. The staff actually made me a latte from their own machine that day so I didn't have to go out. The staff concern, care and attention to our questions were always first and foremost for their guests and we could not have been happier with this choice, comfort, location, service, and price point of this hotel.

The location of this hotel is well appointed in the walls of Old Quebec. Easy to walk around and enjoy everything the city has to offer. There is no restaurant with the hotel, but a restaurant is attached through an adjoining entrance. The front desk staffing were never to busy to help guide us through our myriad of tourist questions for walks, recommendations, and locations of highlights within the old city.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank oneworldonerace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Picton, Canada
Level Contributor
32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2013

This is the best hotel to stay in while visiting Old Quebec City! We used to stay at the Hilton until we discovered this gem. From the VERY friendly front desk, to the VERY nice rooms, and to the incredible location within the walls of the Old City itself, this hotel is the PERFECT place to plan your vacation.

The prices are MORE than competitive and you have to pay the extra $5 to get the special breakfast delivered to your room in the morning!

They also have a common room on the main floor with computers and a large fireplace. They told us to treat this as our own living room and as we were travelling with friends, we went to a nearby Depeneur to get some wine and cheese and just chilled ... and met even more people who were sharing a great experience here!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Joe H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moncton New Brunswick
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2013

From the people at the front desk to the nice pillows and comfy bed, we couldn't ask for better service. The staff really go out of their way to add little details to make you feel welcome. We will definitly stay at this charming hotel that is close to everything in old Quebec City.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank chester91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
British Columbia, Canada
Level Contributor
46 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2013

Nespresso capsule machine (fully stocked) in the room, lovely bed and linens, immaculate fine bathroom, great view (and a window that actually opens for fresh air), comfy side chairs and little breakfast table, large quality tv, powerful blow-dryer, electric heater in the washroom, soaker tub with rain-shower head, wonderfully huge but cozy lounge with a variety of seating areas and a fireplace, and very lovely service from the reception staff.

Room Tip: We were on second floor, and enjoyed very good, quiet sleeps. Room 202 looked out over the back of t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank O-Sherry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Quebec City hotels
0.3 mi away
Auberge Saint-Antoine
Auberge Saint-Antoine
#3 of 104 in Quebec City
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,819 reviews
0.3 mi away
Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac
Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac
#17 of 104 in Quebec City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,649 reviews
0.2 mi away
Le Manoir d'Auteuil
Le Manoir d'Auteuil
#2 of 104 in Quebec City
5.0 of 5 bubbles 993 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Auberge Place D'Armes
Auberge Place D'Armes
#10 of 104 in Quebec City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,296 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Le Germain Quebec
Hotel Le Germain Quebec
#6 of 104 in Quebec City
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,063 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel 71
Hotel 71
#7 of 104 in Quebec City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,512 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel du Vieux-Quebec? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel du Vieux-Quebec

Property: Hotel du Vieux-Quebec
Address: 1190 rue St. Jean, Quebec City, Quebec G1R 1S6, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Quebec > Quebec City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Quebec City
#2 Family Hotel in Quebec City
#3 Romantic Hotel in Quebec City
#13 Business Hotel in Quebec City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel du Vieux-Quebec 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located in the heart of Old Quebec, this historic 45 roomed hotel is surrounded by cobblestone streets and ancient stone buildings housing cafes, restaurants, galleries and boutiques. Over the past few years, much time and care has been spent in renovating Hotel du Vieux-Quebec. Rooftop gardens, breakfast baskets hung on your door, relaxing lounge with computers, library, games and fireplace all contribute to the renowned charm and character which has earned this hotel such great reviews. Hotel du Vieux-Quebec provides the type of authentic Quebec experience that can only be found in an independent hotel. Adding to its appeal, the hotel is an officially recognized and award winning leader in the environmental movement. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel du Vieux-Quebec reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Du Vieux-Quebec Quebec City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing