We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very nice hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel du Vieux-Quebec
Ranked #1 of 101 Hotels in Quebec City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Very nice hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2012

We stayed at the hotel in October and thought it was a great place to stay. The room was spacious and nicely decorated and had tea and coffee facilities and a place to put your suitcase. Also provided was a safe which we always find necessary to use when travelling with computer equipment etc. There was also a small table with two comfortable chairs where you could eat your breakfast. The breakfast was delivered in a basket and hung on your door each morning. We found this really good, it consisted of nice croissants, sometimes chocolate or apricot as well as yoghurt orange juice and fruit. It was more than enough for us to start the day, enjoyable and relaxing to eat in your room when you felt like eating.
The bathroom was also very good with a hairdryer and magnifying mirror. The shower was good and the water hot which was wonderful as the weather was very cold when we were there. It was raining too and we were given a hotel umbrella to use as we only had one between us.
There is a lovely lounge or guest area on the ground floor that has a fire burning. It was a very comfortable room and visually inviting with good seating and a computer for guests to use as well as coffee making facilities and a vending machine for other foods.
All in all we had a very good stay at this hotel and would definitely recommend it to others.
The street the hotel is in also has some very nice little shops around it that you can stroll around and go into, what better way to relax. We also tried out a couple of restaurants nearby and found them to be good. The little Italian restaurant on the same side as the hotel was excellent.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Aussie_Travellers10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,466 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,208
    231
    18
    4
    5
See reviews for
365
776
43
48
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (281)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Albany, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 15, 2012

Very nice place to use as home base for a lovely visit to Quebec. Great rooms, great location, right next to ecolobus stops in both directions, great food in immediate vicinity, great shopping in immediate vicinity too. They are very environmentally friendly, and offer a wonderful breakfast basket that just helps get your day started right.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Michael S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Encinitas, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2012

Perfect location. Very close to Notre Dame, the funiculaire, etc. staff is wonderful. DVDs available for rent. Great lounge with a fireplace to relax in front of. Rooms are large. Room 312 has a great view of Rue St. Jean.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sam0790
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vermont
Level Contributor
71 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2012

We found this hotel on-line. From first calling for a reservation until check-out, every staff person was warm, welcoming, knowledgeable, friendly and helpful. Every suggestion they gave was "right-on" from places to go to restaurants to eat in. The room was spotless and comfortable. The bathroom was modern. The breakfast basket was fresh and delicious. Would definitely stay here again when in Quebec City!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank El_Retiro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide Australia
Level Contributor
139 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2012

This hotel has a wonderfully convenient location, but the friendly service and warm atmosphere tops that. I was upgraded to a larger room because I was staying 4 nights, and the room was quiet, the bed very comfortable, and the breakfast baskets mentioned by others so fresh and welcoming. It has a good lift. The restaurant under the same roof provided a tasty dinner for me each night - again helpful to a sole traveler who also didn't want to go out into the cold again after a day's sightseeing! I was offered chamomile tea by the receptionist because I looked tired! I will certainly return there, if I manage to get back to Canada!

Room Tip: Windows are double glazed, but inward looking might be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank CarolynScout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orillia, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2012

Loved staying at this hotel, and it made the vacation a fantastic experience. Did not take advantage of all the hotel had to offer but the greeting staff were incredibly informative of local things to do. They would greet you cheerily in the local French language but all of them were more than capable of speaking in English as well. Added immensely to the charm of the place. Staff went above and beyond by booking a tour for us and even offering to take a picture of the both of us so we had a picture with both of us in it.

Rooms were neat and tidy, and the choice of the lounge to get movies to watch up in your room or relax and play a table game was a great idea. As many people have mentioned the breakfast basket each morning was great. Food was from a local bakery (went there as well to purchase some things to bring back from the trip) and helped get the morning started.

Everything in old town Quebec seemed to be within walking distance. You can easily get to a few dozen restaurants of varying specialties within a 5 minute walk. Everything from an upper class eatery to the local McDonalds depending on your budget. We stayed for 3 nights and were genuinely sad to be leaving and plan to return again as we really felt this hotel is what made the experience so memorable.

My wife and I tend to stay up late (real late) and while our internal clocks adjusted during our vacation there was a lot of night and hustle and bustle in the morning. Mostly due to the demand to get the hotel cleaned for the guests. While this did not really detract from our experience, it is worth noting if you do tend to be disturbed by noises are not usually up and about by 9am you may hear some noise as the staff clean the adjacent rooms. Having said that, if you are the type to stay up late there is certainly things to do with the free movies and the lounge downstairs. Noise does not seem to carry through the rooms as we did not hear any other guests during our stay in the nights or mornings.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chris W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Myers, Florida
Level Contributor
54 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2012

We had stayed at this hotel once previously about 15 years ago. Some of the staff were still employed there. The staff, especially Pierre, (one of the long term employees) were knowledgeable and accomodating. They offered to help with restaurant selections, directions to restaurants and also would make reservations for you. They would also arrange for horse drawn carriage service picking you up at the hotel. True concierge services.The location affords convenient access to Old Quebec both upper and lower towns. Restaurants, Chateau Frontenac, shopping, and historical sites are all within a short walking distance.We did not take advantage of the hotel provided free walking tour. The renovated hotel has been much improved since our last stay there. The rooms are still quite small but the space has been used exceptionally well and the rooms are very very clean. They have over 600 DVD's available no charge for guests. There is a nice lounge with fireplace, free newspapers, free computer with printer access, and comfy furniture. Wifi is also avaiable to guests at no additional charge. It is a very relaxing room. Free popcorn is also provided and as the popcorn smell waifs through the lobby you get a feeling of the comforts of home. Our room was equiped with a small refrigerator.The baskets attached to your door each morning were another wonderful touch. They contained both fruit and juice, sweet pasteries, croisants, cheese, butter, jam, and yogurt. Coffee, tea, and hot chocolat were also available in our room. On our departure day, the basket also included ham & cheese sandwiches on croisants. It seems management here has thought of everything to make your stay comfortable. We loved our stay and would return in a minute!

Room Tip: Take the funicular to lower town $2 per person each way. Or. to save some money walk down to lower t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Allen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Quebec City hotels
0.3 mi away
Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac
Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac
#15 of 101 in Quebec City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,962 reviews
0.3 mi away
Auberge Saint-Antoine
Auberge Saint-Antoine
#3 of 101 in Quebec City
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,933 reviews
0.2 mi away
Le Manoir d'Auteuil
Le Manoir d'Auteuil
#2 of 101 in Quebec City
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,064 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Auberge Place D'Armes
Auberge Place D'Armes
#8 of 101 in Quebec City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,398 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Manoir Victoria
Hotel Manoir Victoria
#22 of 101 in Quebec City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,228 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Le Germain Quebec
Hotel Le Germain Quebec
#7 of 101 in Quebec City
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,097 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel du Vieux-Quebec? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel du Vieux-Quebec

Property: Hotel du Vieux-Quebec
Address: 1190 rue St. Jean, Quebec City, Quebec G1R 1S6, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Quebec > Quebec City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Quebec City
#2 Family Hotel in Quebec City
#3 Romantic Hotel in Quebec City
#13 Business Hotel in Quebec City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel du Vieux-Quebec 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located in the heart of Old Quebec, this historic 45 roomed hotel is surrounded by cobblestone streets and ancient stone buildings housing cafes, restaurants, galleries and boutiques. Over the past few years, much time and care has been spent in renovating Hotel du Vieux-Quebec. Rooftop gardens, breakfast baskets* hung on your door, relaxing lounge with computers, library, games and fireplace all contribute to the renowned charm and character which has earned this hotel such great reviews. Hotel du Vieux-Quebec provides the type of authentic Quebec experience that can only be found in an independent hotel. Adding to its appeal, the hotel is an officially recognized and award winning leader in the environmental movement. Parking is convienently available across the street. All rooms are accessible by an elevator. *Breakfast is included with direct bookings to the hotel only. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel du Vieux-Quebec reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Du Vieux-Quebec Quebec City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing