We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Extended stay in Old Quebec”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel du Vieux-Quebec
Ranked #1 of 101 Hotels in Quebec City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
New York
Level Contributor
72 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Extended stay in Old Quebec”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2008

Stayed in Old Quebec for the weekend. A blizzard came through and we ended up having to stay another night because the entire airport shut down. The hotel was very nice and very accomidating. The location is great, a very short walk to everything. The breakfast in the morning is a great touch too. They all recommended several restaurants, all of which were very good.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — appearance
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank 3WeeksAYear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,465 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,207
    231
    18
    4
    5
See reviews for
364
776
43
48
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (281)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mattawa, Ontario
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2008

Set in the middle of the walled city. On rue St. Jean about 3 blocks from the St. Jean gate.

Rooms are clean well kept.

Staff is very friendly

A large common area with fireplace, piano, computer with internet.

In the morning, a basket hanging on the room door with Brioche, jam, cheese, juice and fruit cup. Altogether a wonderful experience.

We paid $437 can. including all taxes for 4 nights

Stayed February 2008
Helpful?
1 Thank RibsMattawa_Ontario
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2008

Visited this Hotel in February. It was my second visit and they have made upgrades since my visit last spring. There is a new elevator and a new fireplace in the lounge. I travel on business to Quebec city and was able to get the same room that I had on my previous visit last spring (301 -a standard room type). It is not a very large room but I was very impressed by the quality and comfort. The room had been upgraded with a decent flat screen TV, new bathroom, custom (built -in ) desk, ceramic tile and laminate floor, the stone wall was revealed but refinished and the bedding was a comforter wrapped by three sheets. I particularly like finding this type of bedding in hotels as I believe it is much more hygienic. The room was very quiet.
This hotel offers some extras included in the room price - breakfast basket, internet, movies and local phone calls. It is well situated in the old city. The staff are personable and helpful if you need any arrangements made. From my research online I found this hotel to be very competitive in price considering the quality and location. I recommend this hotel.

  • Liked — Room quality
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank travelsoftenUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toronto
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2008

We stayed at L'Hotel du Vieux Quebec for 4 nights over New Year, and were very pleased with the experience. The location is fantastic - right in the centre of everything - and the hotel is charming.

Our room was larger than I'd expected, complete with a sofa/coffee table seating area and a spacious bathroom. All spotlessly clean. A breakfast basket outside the door each morning was well received. The front desk staff couldn't have been more helpful. All in all, a definite 'will return'!

Also, don't miss the great cafe/bistro on the premises. It isn't owned by the hotel but is a great spot for casual (and very French) lunch or dinner.

  • Liked — A charming hotel in a great location
  • Disliked — No hotel bar
  • Stayed January 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jampling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2008

We stayed at L'Hotel Du Vieux Quebec for 4 days at the beginning of the year.
The hotel was very much what we expected from the prior reviews. It is centrally located in Old Quebec near much of the shopping, restaurants and taverns. We liked this area better than the larger hotel (Grande-Allee Avenue) areas which seemed to cater to American tourists, whereas our hotel seemed to have Canadian tourists on holiday. Our room size was average (2 adults, 1 child) and was in good repair. Bathroom was average size with plenty of towels and toiletries.
The breakfast basket on the door is an excellent touch and really separates this hotel from others. My child loved it.
The front desk personnel were extremely professional/helpful and where always ready to give recommendations and directions.
We would definetly stay here again.
Bruce, Chicago

  • Stayed January 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Brucetrn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2007

My husband and I stayed here for 3 nights and found the hotel great value for money. Everything about our stay was satisfactory but the front desk people were outstanding. Unfortunately the guest-use computer was down the whole time we were there, even though every day a technician was there trying to get it back up. But the front desk was kind enough to allow me to check my email every evening on the front desk computer. That was really exceptionally kind of them, and typical of the friendly atmosphere of this hotel. We would stay there again and recommend it to others.

  • Liked — Staff and location
  • Disliked — no table to use for breakfast served to room
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank TravelernottouristLA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fenelon Falls
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2007

First of all....hello to you guys at the hotel's front desk; I know you're reading this!
I have nothing but good things to say about this lovely, quaint hotel and would highly recommend it to anyone visiting Quebec City. We were made to feel welcome from the very beginning and received very personal service with genuine hospitality. Our room faced the road so yes, there was a bit more noise from traffic than there might have been in another room. Personally I felt it was the trade off we made for having a great view of the street and all the activity going on below us. Our room was comfortable and clean with especially comfortable beds. Each morning a breakfast basket was left by 7 am on the outside of our room as has been mentioned in other reviews. This was a great convenience to us and we appreciated it's arrival being so early as we're early risers. The hotel offers free use of a DVD player so after long mornings of walking we were happy (and grateful) to be able to relax and watch DVD's from the extensive collection of movies. (no extra charge) We decided to take advantage of the two for one dinner special offered by the restaurant next door (Portofino)...booked through the hotel at the front desk. We were so happy we made the decision to dine there as we had a fabulous 3 course meal that both my husband and I thoroughly enjoyed. (grilled vegetable salad to start was awesome!!!) So, all in all, we had a great experience at this hotel and will definitely return....and recommend to others!

  • Liked — everything
  • Disliked — room could have been a bit bigger
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank coronationcats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Quebec City hotels
0.3 mi away
Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac
Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac
#15 of 101 in Quebec City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,960 reviews
0.3 mi away
Auberge Saint-Antoine
Auberge Saint-Antoine
#3 of 101 in Quebec City
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,932 reviews
0.2 mi away
Le Manoir d'Auteuil
Le Manoir d'Auteuil
#2 of 101 in Quebec City
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,061 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Auberge Place D'Armes
Auberge Place D'Armes
#8 of 101 in Quebec City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,397 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Manoir Victoria
Hotel Manoir Victoria
#22 of 101 in Quebec City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,225 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Le Germain Quebec
Hotel Le Germain Quebec
#7 of 101 in Quebec City
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,096 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel du Vieux-Quebec? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel du Vieux-Quebec

Property: Hotel du Vieux-Quebec
Address: 1190 rue St. Jean, Quebec City, Quebec G1R 1S6, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Quebec > Quebec City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Quebec City
#2 Family Hotel in Quebec City
#3 Romantic Hotel in Quebec City
#13 Business Hotel in Quebec City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel du Vieux-Quebec 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located in the heart of Old Quebec, this historic 45 roomed hotel is surrounded by cobblestone streets and ancient stone buildings housing cafes, restaurants, galleries and boutiques. Over the past few years, much time and care has been spent in renovating Hotel du Vieux-Quebec. Rooftop gardens, breakfast baskets* hung on your door, relaxing lounge with computers, library, games and fireplace all contribute to the renowned charm and character which has earned this hotel such great reviews. Hotel du Vieux-Quebec provides the type of authentic Quebec experience that can only be found in an independent hotel. Adding to its appeal, the hotel is an officially recognized and award winning leader in the environmental movement. Parking is convienently available across the street. All rooms are accessible by an elevator. *Breakfast is included with direct bookings to the hotel only. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel du Vieux-Quebec reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Du Vieux-Quebec Quebec City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing