We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“HVQ--Amazing”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel du Vieux-Quebec
Ranked #1 of 101 Hotels in Quebec City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Montreal, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“HVQ--Amazing”
Reviewed September 20, 2012

I usually do not write reviews but I just had to say that this hotel and all of it's surroundings is so beautiful. The staff was attentive without being annoying. The room we had was super clean and accommodated spaciously our family of 4. I liked the design and everything seemed renovated. The little breakfasts were super cute and it lasts a good portion of the day. At night, once we returned from skating down the street, we rented free movies and received complementary popcorn. Anyone looking for an amazing place to stay in the vieux Quebec, should visit l'Hotel du Vieux-Quebec. And don't forget to check out the beautiful mural at the bottom of the side stairwell. Gorgeous!
Thanks everyone at l'Hôtel du Vieux-Québec....I'll be back
Natacha

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank natachajasmine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,541 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,278
    236
    18
    4
    5
See reviews for
384
822
43
48
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (295)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Shaker Heights
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2012 via mobile

This is a jewel of a hotel, combining the best of a b & b atmosphere with all the amenities of a large hotel. the staff is wonderful, the rooms are beautiful with great beds, sitting areas, bar refrigerators, breakfast in a basket delivered to the room and is in the heart of Old Quebec.
There is a beautiful lounge as well & an espresso machine in the lobby. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mygolly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2012

We really enjoyed out stay at this hotel. We were lucky enough to be upgraded to a bigger room-thank you! The room was spotlessly clean. The staff were extremely helpful, could not have asked for nicer staff to deal with. We really enjoyed the use of the free DVD's and popcorn, a great way to end a day sightseeing in the old town. The location was great for our explorations of the old town. Breakfast was amazing! Each morning delivered to your door, it was lovely to enjoy breakfast in our room. Overall a wonderful stay, would stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elyce4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Langley, BC
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2012 via mobile

It gets better and better with L'Hotel du Vieux-Quebec. You step in the door to a small lobby, pass by a very nice lounge, and open the door to what these days is a huge room. The staff is friendly and helpful, there are lots of great places to eat within a couple of blocks, and the neighborhood is safe and quiet.

When we decided to rent a car for the day to see some of the countryside, there was a major rental car agency office just around the corner. I swear the hotel must have seen to it as just one more of the little details they got right.

We'd stay there again in a heartbeat.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank LangleyMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Andover, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2012

This small hotel was in a perfect location on rue St. Jean. There were many restaurants within a short walking distance. It was a short walk up the hill to see all the old city sights and pop out into the main city. The staff was very friendly and so helpful. The rooms were comfy and clean. I would stay here again for sure.

Room Tip: The Superior room with King sized beds are located on an outside wall of the building. There are man...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ayrmid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2012

We read about this hotel on Trip Advisor but didn't know it would turn out to be so perfect. Front desk help was amazing. The rooms were perfectly cleaned, completely updated, and had the most comfortable beds we've ever encountered in a hotel. It was so well located we could easily walk anywhere in the old city. Don't look any further than this hotel when you go to Quebec City.They do not have room service but provide a wonderful breakfast delivered to your door.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Denver_ColoradoPatsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bar Harbor, Maine
Level 6 Contributor
191 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 157 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2012

Last minute trip and nowhere to go with our dog when we found this hotel. Everything was great here from the front desk young man who took alot of time answering our questions, to the convenient parking ($14), to the comfortable room, free wifi, and terrific continental breakfast delivered to our door. A perfect location for exploring the old city but still quiet at night. We will definitely book a room here again whether we bring our pooch or not!

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Lilybdog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Quebec City hotels
0.2 mi away
Le Manoir d'Auteuil
Le Manoir d'Auteuil
#2 of 101 in Quebec City
1,142 reviews
0.3 mi away
Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac
Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac
#17 of 101 in Quebec City
4,238 reviews
0.3 mi away
Auberge Saint-Antoine
Auberge Saint-Antoine
#3 of 101 in Quebec City
2,053 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Auberge Aux Deux Lions
Auberge Aux Deux Lions
#5 of 101 in Quebec City
932 reviews
0.2 mi away
Auberge Place D'Armes
Auberge Place D'Armes
#9 of 101 in Quebec City
1,478 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Manoir Victoria
Hotel Manoir Victoria
#21 of 101 in Quebec City
1,297 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel du Vieux-Quebec? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel du Vieux-Quebec

Property: Hotel du Vieux-Quebec
Address: 1190 rue St. Jean, Quebec City, Quebec G1R 1S6, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Quebec > Quebec City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Quebec City
#2 Family Hotel in Quebec City
#3 Romantic Hotel in Quebec City
#13 Business Hotel in Quebec City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel du Vieux-Quebec 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located in the heart of Old Quebec, this historic 45 roomed hotel is surrounded by cobblestone streets and ancient stone buildings housing cafes, restaurants, galleries and boutiques. Over the past few years, much time and care has been spent in renovating Hotel du Vieux-Quebec. Rooftop gardens, breakfast baskets* hung on your door, relaxing lounge with computers, library, games and fireplace all contribute to the renowned charm and character which has earned this hotel such great reviews. Hotel du Vieux-Quebec provides the type of authentic Quebec experience that can only be found in an independent hotel. Adding to its appeal, the hotel is an officially recognized and award winning leader in the environmental movement. Parking is convienently available across the street. All rooms are accessible by an elevator. *Breakfast is included with direct bookings to the hotel only. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel du Vieux-Quebec reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Du Vieux-Quebec Quebec City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing