We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Place” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel du Vieux-Quebec

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Hotel du Vieux-Quebec
Ranked #1 of 101 Hotels in Quebec City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Chicago
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2008

We stayed at L'Hotel Du Vieux Quebec for 4 days at the beginning of the year.
The hotel was very much what we expected from the prior reviews. It is centrally located in Old Quebec near much of the shopping, restaurants and taverns. We liked this area better than the larger hotel (Grande-Allee Avenue) areas which seemed to cater to American tourists, whereas our hotel seemed to have Canadian tourists on holiday. Our room size was average (2 adults, 1 child) and was in good repair. Bathroom was average size with plenty of towels and toiletries.
The breakfast basket on the door is an excellent touch and really separates this hotel from others. My child loved it.
The front desk personnel were extremely professional/helpful and where always ready to give recommendations and directions.
We would definetly stay here again.
Bruce, Chicago

  • Stayed January 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Brucetrn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,455 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,199
    230
    17
    4
    5
See reviews for
360
770
43
48
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (279)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2007

My husband and I stayed here for 3 nights and found the hotel great value for money. Everything about our stay was satisfactory but the front desk people were outstanding. Unfortunately the guest-use computer was down the whole time we were there, even though every day a technician was there trying to get it back up. But the front desk was kind enough to allow me to check my email every evening on the front desk computer. That was really exceptionally kind of them, and typical of the friendly atmosphere of this hotel. We would stay there again and recommend it to others.

  • Liked — Staff and location
  • Disliked — no table to use for breakfast served to room
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank TravelernottouristLA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fenelon Falls
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2007

First of all....hello to you guys at the hotel's front desk; I know you're reading this!
I have nothing but good things to say about this lovely, quaint hotel and would highly recommend it to anyone visiting Quebec City. We were made to feel welcome from the very beginning and received very personal service with genuine hospitality. Our room faced the road so yes, there was a bit more noise from traffic than there might have been in another room. Personally I felt it was the trade off we made for having a great view of the street and all the activity going on below us. Our room was comfortable and clean with especially comfortable beds. Each morning a breakfast basket was left by 7 am on the outside of our room as has been mentioned in other reviews. This was a great convenience to us and we appreciated it's arrival being so early as we're early risers. The hotel offers free use of a DVD player so after long mornings of walking we were happy (and grateful) to be able to relax and watch DVD's from the extensive collection of movies. (no extra charge) We decided to take advantage of the two for one dinner special offered by the restaurant next door (Portofino)...booked through the hotel at the front desk. We were so happy we made the decision to dine there as we had a fabulous 3 course meal that both my husband and I thoroughly enjoyed. (grilled vegetable salad to start was awesome!!!) So, all in all, we had a great experience at this hotel and will definitely return....and recommend to others!

  • Liked — everything
  • Disliked — room could have been a bit bigger
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank coronationcats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Cruces
Level Contributor
34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2007

When we arrived at this hotel they did not have the room that we had booked. Although the front desk did make an effort to find us a room in the higher priced rooms, they were not able to find one for us. Therefore, they moved us to the older part of the hotel (the rooms were to cost less there), but did not change our nighly charge. The room was light and airy, however we were surprised at the quality of the room for the money. In addition, the room was SO noisy. You could hear people walking above all night and early into the morning. It did have a nice breakfast and it is in a good location in the lower level of the town.

Nevertheless for our Canada stay of 10 days this was our least favorite hotel.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Room
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Nyeta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami Beach
Level Contributor
27 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2007

We stayed at L’Hotel du Vieux Quebec for three nights in the beginning of September 07. I reserved a standard room and asked if we could have one of the few standard rooms with a small fridge. The room price quoted was $135/night but there is a 10% discount if you present your AAA membership card. When we arrived at the hotel the cordial front desk employees upgraded our room so we could have a fridge, a very generous gesture. Our photos are of a superior room but we paid $140. CAD/night which includes taxes and the 10% discount, the standard room price.

The hotel is located in the center of the upper old city and is within walking distance to all of Quebec’s sights. The exterior presents a quaint stone building, the interior is modern and comfortable. The staff is fluent in English, friendly and helpful. Each morning a popular complimentary tour is offered in English or French throughout old Quebec. There is a DVD in the room and the hotel offers a large selection of complimentary movies. The room was large, modern and comfortable. There is self regulated air and heat, a safe, a small fridge, a writing desk and free WiFi. The elegant and modern bathroom had many features including hair dryer, magnified lighted mirror and space heater. Inside the closet were three extra pillows, a thick blanket, and an ironing board with iron.

Each morning a “picnic basket" was hung on our door. Inside were croissants, jelly, cheese, apple sauce or fruit cup, and orange juice. Crisp linen napkins and silverware was included that added an air of elegance. We made coffee with the in-room coffee maker and set-up. Here is my one disappointment with this hotel. I enjoy the typical breakfast buffet offered in many hotels. It provides a filling meal that sustains the busy tourist throughout the day. It also enables one to skip the costly and time consuming full lunch. This “picnic breakfast” is cute but I found myself getting hungry about 11. Also the in-room coffee was not very good. To be fair, a reasonable coffee vender was offered in the lobby.

This negative does not prevent me from giving this hotel my highest recommendation. The hotel has a great location, inviting interior, friendly staff and a reasonable price. We both loved our stay at the L’Hotel du Vieux and hope to return.

  • Liked — Location, friendly staff, comfortable, great value, modern room, free guided tour.
  • Disliked — Small but cute breakfast basket.
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
9 Thank InMiami
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toledo, Ohio
Level Contributor
16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2007

My husband and I stayed at this hotel for 2 nights in the beginning of September 2007. We had a wonderful stay. The location is great and the room was nice. We had a 2 queen bed room that didn’t really have a “great” view, but at the same time it wasn’t of trash bins or anything boring like that. We did experience some outside noise in the mornings (delivery trucks, etc.). The breakfast on your door is a great touch, especially for us who are not exactly morning people. The room was clean and we never had problems with getting maid service. The front desk staff was happy to help with any requests (and bilingual). The parking was located down the street a bit, but it wasn’t a big deal as you don’t need your car if you plan on just exploring Old Quebec. The location was terrific for shopping and restaurants. The deal we got on their website really couldn’t be beat either. I was nervous going in as we seemed to be saving quite a few $$$ over the Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac (which happened to be completely booked), but it worked out great. We did one bus tour booked through the front desk and it was nice. I wish we would have included a river tour as well. Oh well, perhaps another visit. Overall, we enjoyed our stay at this hotel and would highly recommend it to anyone staying in Old Quebec.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Nothing much - possibly update the bedding
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Alicia710
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan
Level Contributor
90 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2007

It's not de luxe, just a really good value hotel in a great location. You can walk everywhere. Front desk staff were so friendly and helpful in answering any questions, recommending and booking restaurants etc.
We didn't like the room breakfasts much - the bread or croissants were always very fresh and good but not the fruit salad or orange juice. You only got one coffee pod a day and had to pay for more which seemed a bit mean.

The bistro downstairs was always packed with locals and served really tasty and cheerful food. It's not haute cuisine but was consistently better value than more aspirational (and expensive) restaurants elsewhere, so we used it a lot and never had a dud dish.

  • Liked — Value for money
  • Disliked — Room a bit dull
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Malvernman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Quebec City hotels
0.3 mi away
Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac
Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac
#15 of 101 in Quebec City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,912 reviews
0.3 mi away
Auberge Saint-Antoine
Auberge Saint-Antoine
#3 of 101 in Quebec City
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,907 reviews
0.2 mi away
Le Manoir d'Auteuil
Le Manoir d'Auteuil
#2 of 101 in Quebec City
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,050 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Auberge Place D'Armes
Auberge Place D'Armes
#8 of 101 in Quebec City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,372 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Manoir Victoria
Hotel Manoir Victoria
#23 of 101 in Quebec City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,219 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Le Germain Quebec
Hotel Le Germain Quebec
#7 of 101 in Quebec City
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,092 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel du Vieux-Quebec? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel du Vieux-Quebec

Property: Hotel du Vieux-Quebec
Address: 1190 rue St. Jean, Quebec City, Quebec G1R 1S6, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Quebec > Quebec City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Quebec City
#2 Family Hotel in Quebec City
#3 Romantic Hotel in Quebec City
#13 Business Hotel in Quebec City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel du Vieux-Quebec 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located in the heart of Old Quebec, this historic 45 roomed hotel is surrounded by cobblestone streets and ancient stone buildings housing cafes, restaurants, galleries and boutiques. Over the past few years, much time and care has been spent in renovating Hotel du Vieux-Quebec. Rooftop gardens, breakfast baskets* hung on your door, relaxing lounge with computers, library, games and fireplace all contribute to the renowned charm and character which has earned this hotel such great reviews. Hotel du Vieux-Quebec provides the type of authentic Quebec experience that can only be found in an independent hotel. Adding to its appeal, the hotel is an officially recognized and award winning leader in the environmental movement. Parking is convienently available across the street. All rooms are accessible by an elevator. *Breakfast is included with direct bookings to the hotel only. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Despegar.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Hotel du Vieux-Quebec reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Du Vieux-Quebec Quebec City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing