We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Convenient to the old city”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Chateau Laurier
Ranked #35 of 101 Hotels in Quebec City
Ridgewood, New Jersey
Level Contributor
62 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Convenient to the old city”
Reviewed August 16, 2014

We had a lovely stay in Quebec City. Hotel Laurier is within walking distance of the walled city, making it really convenient to all we wanted to see. Our hotel room was lovely and comfortable and the halls were very quiet at night. The entrance and lobby were a bit disappointing, like an afterthought, but we truthfully were not there much. Our tour included brunch, which was very good, although the dining room itself was a little like a diner, nothing to write home about. The staff however, were very friendly and the coffee was really good.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jerseygirl46772
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johanne C, Responsable commercial at Hotel Chateau Laurier, responded to this review, August 19, 2014
Bonjour Jerseygirl,
Please accept our sincere thanks for the information you provided regarding your last visit with us. jcaron
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,355 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    524
    493
    225
    75
    38
See reviews for
313
506
36
249
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (213)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
southampton
Level Contributor
71 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2014

This was the last hotel we stayed in recently, during a two week fantastic holiday in Canada. We were here for only one night and when we pulled up we honestly thought we'd saved the best until last. Well sadly this most definitely wasn't the case. The only real problem was our room. I kid you not it was tiny. I think it would have been too small for a toddler let alone two full sized adults. I was so disappointed as the hotel itself seemed lovely. You could not have swung a cat in that room or in fact a hamster!! ( not that i would being an animal lover) The bed took up 90 percent of the room. We stayed in 12 hotels during our stay and this was by far the worst and tiniest. Even the ironing board was minute, although just as well as a full sized one wouldn't have been an option in all honesty. Still dumped cases (one on top of other as no room) and went into lovely quebec. All with in walking distance to the hotel. If we had a better sized room all would have been perfect, but really took the mick the size of ours. Had a lovely swim and sauna in the morning. Place very clean. Enjoyed quebec immensely, just HATED the room. Felt like Harry Potter living in his cupboard under the stairs!!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank nicSouthampton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johanne C, Responsable commercial at Hotel Chateau Laurier, responded to this review, August 19, 2014
BOnjour NicSouthampton,
Sorry you did not like your room, next time you may want to select a Superior room or a de lux with fireplace. Please give us a secon chance...if your travel brings you back to Québec City. JCaron
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hillsborough, New Jersey
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2014

The hotel is right outside the city wall and you can walk to the Frontenac Funicular in about 10 minutes. The Citadelle is 5 minutes away and the hotel is right next to a large park. The rooms aren't large but they're clean and the coffee selection is good. The pool is pleaseant and about 80 degress and the gym has 3 treadmills and a universal weight machine. There are 3 restaurants linked to the hotel and they're good--I would stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank William652
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johanne C, Responsable commercial at Hotel Chateau Laurier, responded to this review, August 8, 2014
Bonjour William652,
Thank you for taking the time to share your satisfaction to us and with our future guests. You will always find here a home away from home! Johanne Caron
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eastampton
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 6, 2014

Nice area lots of restaurants and bars nearby, Walking distance to old Quebec City and attractions. Also if you have a car take some road trips to the Falls at Chute Montmorcy and ST Anne church all on rt 440 north, So go have fun enjoy and relax

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank john k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johanne C, Director of Sales at Hotel Chateau Laurier, responded to this review, August 7, 2014
Bonjour John,
Thank you for your comments. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and took advantage of Québec City country side. Our concierge team are the best to make recommandations in what to see and where to go! Johanne Caron
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2014

Great Location for le Festivale d'ete which takes place d in the park across the street. It would be great for carnivale as well. This is not a grand hotel like the Chateau Frontenac which is inside the walls, but it has character along with windows that open. There is a nice indoor swimming pool and sauna as well. While one side of the hotel overlooks the walls of the city, another side faces Grande Allee, a street full of cute restaurants. During Festivals, the street is packed with people .It's ax fun place to be. You can explore the fortress, relax or go for a run on the plains of Abraham, shop and eat in quaint venues all very close by. Horse drawn carriages clip clop by the hotel as well.

Room Tip: Depending on your preference Rooms overlooking the walls of the fortress facing toward the old town...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CanadaLoulou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johanne C, Director of Sales at Hotel Chateau Laurier, responded to this review, August 7, 2014
Bonjour CanadaLouLou,
Thank you very much for the time and effort you put into writing this detail testimonial on Trip Advisor concerning your visit at our facilities. Your point of view is very important to us. We hope you will visit us again. Johanne Caron
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2014

Room was clean, beds comfy, and location of hotel is phenomenal. I was expecting much more in terms of hotel amenities given the price (no breakfast included, hefty parking fees, limited room service, tiny exercise room). Staff was courteous, but not friendly, a bit of an anonymous feel to the hotel as a whole.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank debsreis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johanne C, Director of Sales at Hotel Chateau Laurier, responded to this review, August 7, 2014
Bonjour Debsreis,
Thank you for you review, for the benefit of the readers, Starting on November 1st the low season provide great value. Also look at our packages they promote a great discounts. Our reservation team is always enthusiastic in helping callers find a great deal; give them a call next time! Johanne Caron
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guelph, Canada
Level Contributor
31 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2014

We spent one night here on our way to New Brunswick. I would have loved to stay longer. The location is phenomenal and it is excellent to have parking provided in the building. We did have some difficulty negotiating the parking ramps with our Flex since we had a bike carrier on the back. The valet instructed us where to park and suggested that he would bring the bikes to our room if necessary. But we managed!

The beds were super comfortable and we all had a good night's sleep.

The location is great - a 5 minute walk to The Plains of Abraham and 2 minute walk to the dining district.

Will definitely return here for a longer stay in the future!!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LeslieB_40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johanne C, Director of Sales at Hotel Chateau Laurier, responded to this review, August 6, 2014
Bonjour LeslieB_40,
We hope you had a great trip to New-Brunswick. Thank you very much for your review. We are also happy to read customers feedback. Look forward to your next visit. JCaron
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Quebec City hotels
0.6 mi away
Hotel Clarendon
Hotel Clarendon
#39 of 101 in Quebec City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,369 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Le Concorde Quebec
Hotel Le Concorde Quebec
#49 of 101 in Quebec City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,922 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Manoir Victoria
Hotel Manoir Victoria
#21 of 101 in Quebec City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,240 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Le Champlain Hotel
Le Champlain Hotel
#14 of 101 in Quebec City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,818 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Palace Royal
Hotel Palace Royal
#32 of 101 in Quebec City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 646 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hilton Quebec
Hilton Quebec
#34 of 101 in Quebec City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,591 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Chateau Laurier? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Chateau Laurier

Property: Hotel Chateau Laurier
Address: 1220, Place Georges V Ouest, Quebec City, Quebec G1R 5B8, Canada
Location: Canada > Quebec > Quebec City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Quebec City
#18 Business Hotel in Quebec City
#29 Family Hotel in Quebec City
#37 Romantic Hotel in Quebec City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Chateau Laurier 3.5*
Number of rooms: 290
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Chateau Laurier reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chateau Laurier Hotel
Chateau Laurier Quebec City
Hotel Chateau Laurier Quebec/Quebec City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing