We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Okay Hotel..”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Chateau Laurier
Ranked #37 of 102 Hotels in Quebec City
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Okay Hotel..”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

I've stayed in better hotels within that price range, one would definitely expect more for the price value!
Slightly below average in terms of room and hotel quality
the room was not clean at all and it lacked the very basics of any hotel room
for $250/room, i do expect more than a dirty express room!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ZRS_2K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johanne C, Responsable commercial at Hotel Chateau Laurier, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Bonjour ZRS_2K,
We understand that this client may not be coming to our facilities based on his last experience. We are sorry that our accommodations or service did not meet his / her expectations, especially since we take great pride in our Hotel and our client services 24/7. The express room are small and most appropriate for short visit, they feature de basic equipment. For more sq footage or modern style a superior room may be better suited. Johanne Caron
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,464 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    563
    530
    247
    84
    40
See reviews for
346
550
37
260
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (230)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Canada
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013

The room was wide enough to put the infant bed, it was in the new part of the hotel, with brand new equipment and no noise of the street, very quiet.

We had to ask 2 times for the infant bed, I asked when I booked, when arriving it was not in our room, then we asked again before leaving for a walk, when we came back at 10pm, the bed was still not there, we asked again and a man arrived 5 min later. He smelt alcohol...
Apart from that everybody's been very kind.
The indoor pool with salted water is great, although a bit cold for young kids. The floor around the pool is VERY slippery, my kid fell on her head. They ask to leave the shoes outside, but it's very dangerous.

Also, the only restaurant linked to the hotel is St-Hubert...not the best in town...we had no other choices of Room services, and the breakfast is also in the St-Hubert restaurant....Choose another one in town.

Room Tip: After reading Tips on TripAdvisor, I asked for a room in the new part of the hotel, around the 5th f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RafiCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johanne C, Responsable commercial at Hotel Chateau Laurier, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Bonjour RifiCanada,
Thank you for your comments, the issue has been raised to our General Manager and we make sure we can get things done first time around. Sorry for the inconvinience. Johanne Caron Director of sales and marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2013

Pleasant experience here but would definitely say our room had no frills including no fridge. Room was pretty good but it never really got dark at night between the security light outside and the smoke detector. Hotel staff were friendly and helpful. Did not like having to pay for Internet and found the connection slow. Stayed three nights and found the location very convenient. Kept seeing all these signs for restaurants in the elevator for deals but no one bothered to explain how these deals worked which would have been very helpful. Would probably stay here again. Had dinner in the restaurant which was great but pass on here for breakfast. Terrible value and not much selection.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stacey G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johanne C, Director of Sales at Hotel Chateau Laurier, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Bonjour Stacey G,
Thank you very much for your review. We take all your comments into account in order to improve.We hope you will visit us again soon. Johanne Caron director of sales and marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2013

The hotel is a great location to visit Quebec City. The hotel staff was helpful and spoke good english. The concierge offer great information that Cirque du Soleil had free evening show. Unfortunately, asking us to show up 1 hr early was not sufficient, and the show was full. Asking for extra towel was delivered promptly. The children enjoyed the swimming pool and exercise room(plenty of equipment). I truly enjoyed the hotel, but not the nightlife.

The biggest complaint is the nightlife along Ave. La Grande-Allee. I strongly recommend not having a room facing this street. At 2am in the morning the music was banging out loudly, and the people shouting/screaming with enjoyment(I find out the bar closes at 3am). Finally, I called the front desk who said they will phone the police to lower the sound. As I am not the first person to complain or comment on Tripadvisor about the noise, I hope hotel management will work with the police and the bar owners to lower the music and sound by 12am to be respectful of the hotel guests. It was a Thursday early morning so I presume every night is noisy. As a hotel guest, I would expect some quietness in the room by 1am. Front desk offering ear plugs is not a solution. AVOID ROOMS WITH WINDOWS FACING AVE. LA GRANDE-ALLEE.

If you use the Chateau Laurier parking lot, driving a minivan is difficult to make the corner turns. Swing wide when making the corner turns, so your vehicle will not suffer scratches along the walls which were quite visible.

Room Tip: Repeating another reviewer -Ask for a room facing anywhere but Ave. La Grande-Allee where there is l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kcwong1a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johanne C, Director of Sales at Hotel Chateau Laurier, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Bonjour kcwong1a,
On behalf of the General Manager and the entire team of the Hôtel Château Laurier Québec, we would like to thank you for your wonderful review. Your comments are a source of motivation for us. Some of our clients enjoy the lifestyle that provides Grande Allee, we are happy to feature rooms on the Plains of Abraham, one of Canada largest urban park. Also rooms facing the inner courtyard deliver privacy. We like to think we offer the best of both worlds…entertainment at your doorstep and quiet and peace of mind. Our reservation team can help our future guest make the perfect choice. Once again thank you very much. Johanne Caron director of sales and marketing.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wiltshire, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
201 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2013

Excellent hotel with great facilities and location. Our room, 'standard', consisted of two Queen beds, desk, sofas and a view of the square: perfect. But i gather others were not so lucky so do check and ask for a view.

Room Tip: Ask for a view and check the size
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BJDLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johanne C, Responsable commercial at Hotel Chateau Laurier, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
Bonjour BJDLondon,
Thank you for your comments. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay. It is important to select a room type in regards to your lifestyle you may select between: express, standard, superior, de luxe and suites. Each have unique features, our reservation specialists can help you find the perfect choice for your next visit. Johanne Caron director of sales marketing.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2013

Three couples travelled to Quebec City, I booked three rooms for three nights at $159.00 each per night. Two were fine relatively spacious with Queen size beds, six drawer double dresser, a round table with two chairs, armoires to hang clothes and store luggage. The third room was European- double bed, small desk, one chair, at the end of bed ; there was not a foot of clearance between the desk on one side of the end of the bed and the small dresser and the end of the bed on the other side. The entrance hall ws obstructed by the clothes rack attached to the wall (no close, no armoire). The bathroom door could not swing past the luggage rack which we put in the only possible location. My husband spoke to the desk clerk; her solutions included moving to another floor (not practical because of the labryinth nature of the hotel) or paying $20.00 a night to upgrade. We requested a slight reduction in our bill but she assured him the rooms were in the same category. In the binder about the hotel found in the room, clearly there is a difference between the two types of rooms - European and standard. We have travelled in Europe and are used to small spaces but it rankles to pay more for less!! However, we decided to not upset our travelling companions so we stayed only to find other problems with the room.

The shower had a leak at the junction of the pipe and the shower head that sprayed water over the shower curtain down the mirrior and on to the floor making the ceramic tile very slippery (no bath mat after day one). The television had sometimes good-sometimes bad reception.To be fair on the third night, when we requested assistance, a technician (pleasant and efficient) came quickly and replaced the box and the cable leading to the box. The hair dryer did not work the last morning we were there, I have no idea why.

The housekeeping was inconsistent. The first day, we returned after 4 pm -out sight seeing all day; only one of the three rooms had been cleaned!! the reason given was that they have so many rooms- no apology !! There was a towel type bath mat when we arrived, it was wet and was taken away but not replaced for the duration of our stay. I cannot imagine if the showers are disinfecting between customers why housekeeping had not noticed the spray. We did report those concerns in writing as we checked out.


That being said the concierge service is excellent and most of the staff was pleasant and helpful.

The hotel is very well situated - close to the parliament buildings and Battlefields Park, a five to ten minute walk to the gates into Old Quebec. There are numerous restaurants along the Grand Allee- a range of choices in cuisine and price point.

Room Tip: Check the rates for all four categories of room and make sure that you are getting value for your mo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mst256
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johanne C, Responsable commercial at Hotel Chateau Laurier, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Bonjour mst256,
Thank you very much for all your comments, good and not so good. We need feedback in order to be better. We will share your observations with the Housekeeping managers, the cleanliness of the room is a priority and we agree it is imperative that all appliances must be in perfect working condition. We sincerely apologize for not providing you with the level of service you expected. We are definitely better than what you saw, we would love for you to come back some day and have a true Château Laurier Québec experience. Johanne Caron director of sales and marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York, United States
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed August 21, 2013

This Hotel is directly on Grand Allee, one of the main streets in Old Quebec city, our room was clean, well up kept, and had all of the normal ameneties modern hotels offer. The hotel also has in indoor pool, and underground parking (the cleanest parking i've seen in my life)

The staff recomended nice places to visit and guided us clearly to all the main interest points

Would stay here again

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anna F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johanne C, Director of Sales at Hotel Chateau Laurier, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
Bonjour Anna F,
It is so gratifying to learn that we met your expectations, thank you so much for the good words. Johanne Caron director of sales and marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Quebec City hotels
0.6 mi away
Hotel Manoir Victoria
Hotel Manoir Victoria
#21 of 102 in Quebec City
1,337 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Le Concorde Quebec
Hotel Le Concorde Quebec
#50 of 102 in Quebec City
2,029 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hilton Quebec
Hilton Quebec
#34 of 102 in Quebec City
2,730 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Palace Royal
Hotel Palace Royal
#35 of 102 in Quebec City
718 reviews
0.2 mi away
Delta Hotels by Marriott Quebec
0.4 mi away
Auberge Aux Deux Lions
Auberge Aux Deux Lions
#4 of 102 in Quebec City
949 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Chateau Laurier? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Chateau Laurier

Property: Hotel Chateau Laurier
Address: 1220, Place Georges V Ouest, Quebec City, Quebec G1R 5B8, Canada
Location: Canada > Quebec > Quebec City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Quebec City
#18 Business Hotel in Quebec City
#29 Family Hotel in Quebec City
#37 Romantic Hotel in Quebec City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Chateau Laurier 3.5*
Number of rooms: 282
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cancelon, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Chateau Laurier reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chateau Laurier Hotel
Chateau Laurier Quebec City
Hotel Chateau Laurier Quebec/Quebec City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing