We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good for its location. Not much else.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Chateau Laurier
Ranked #34 of 101 Hotels in Quebec City
Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Level Contributor
52 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Good for its location. Not much else.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2013

The rooms are small, the hotel parking is expensive (use the free spots on the street, they're easy to find, in the back streets), I had read about this, so that wasn't such a surprise. What surprised me is the customer service we experienced.

At check-in, we have not seen a smile. When the receptionist saw on the screen that we had booked through Expedia, she looked at us weird and said "well, you booked through Expedia, the room you have is not the best, if you want a better room, you'll have to pay more" - at that point, we had not seen the room and therefore, were not complaining at all. Not sure why this comment was made, if felt cheap.

Don't expect toiletries in the room (toothpaste); the shampoo and shower gel are available through a dispenser - which is weird for a quality hotel.

You may wake up with the sound of the vacuum at 9am. Other than that, sleep was good, location is perfect.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank love_travel_music
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johanne C, Director of Sales at Hotel Chateau Laurier, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
Bonjour, thank you very much for taking the time to comment on our hotel. We value our guest's comments and appreciate finding out what our strong and weak points are, from your point of view. We understand your concern about the way your check-in was handled: our customers are always welcome and the source of the reservation should have no influence on the service provided. Please accept our apologies and we will follow up with the director of service. It is customary to offer an upgrade room type for a minimal investment, upon arrival; this practice had no relation with your preferred reservation supplier. In regards to the soap, shampoo, conditioner dispenser found in our shower/bathtub please note this is one a many ecofriendly procedures, we hope that our customers will appreciate our effort to minimize our imprint on future generations. Furthermore this system offers unlimited usage of the products. It’s true several parking options are available: our indoor parking at 20$ per day, a public outdoor next door at a lower price and plenty of parking meters around, we are confident our guests will find easily something that fit their lifestyle. We wish you will return to Quebec. Johanne Caron director of sales and marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,333 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    515
    483
    223
    74
    38
See reviews for
307
500
35
243
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (208)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Uxbridge, Canada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2013 via mobile

Great hotel and great value. Robes in room salt water indoor pool and amazing sauna. Hot tubs outside a bit difficult to find but very nice once found. Close to great restaurants and Starbucks lobby very inviting with wine dispenser Staff very helpful

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank P G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johanne C, Director of Sales at Hotel Chateau Laurier, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
Bonjour P G, thank you for taking the time to share your satisfaction to us and especially to our future guests. We hope to welcome you again in our lovely city. Johanne Caron director of sales and marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
44 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2013

We stayed at the Chauteau Laurier for the last weekend and have some positive and not so positive comments. Room, service, location were all very good, however were told that underground parking was 20$ but after registration and handing the keys to the valet attendant we were told it was 24$/day if we used the valet parking not including the tip. I felt like I was cheated but it was to late to change the arrangement as the car was already being parked
During the weekend we realized that public parking was available at ground level for only 12$/day. So beside parking and 5$/hr for Internet services this hotel offer a good deal with clean and comfy rooms. I would stay there again but would park I the public parking. As for Internet we used our IPhone personnel setting and were able to connect with our IPad so very little charge except some data charges if our monthly package was exceeded.

Room Tip: Park in the grounding pubIic parking for only 12$/ day and use you IPhone and IPad Internet setting...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eloi_Duguay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johanne C, Director of Sales at Hotel Chateau Laurier, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
Bonjour Eloi Duguay, Thank you very much for taking the time to comment on our hotel. We value our guest's comments and appreciate finding out what our strong and weak points are, from your point of view. In regards to the parking, we are taking note of your remarks since we rather offer all options to our clients. The outdoor public parking is alwys a good alternative. We hope you will visit us again. Johanne Caron director of sales and marketing.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
53 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2013

Wow the location is incredible...its walking distance from all the clubs in Quebec & hip restaurants. Also, very close to the parliament & old Quebec. The rooms were clean,spacious & reasonably priced. The staff was courteous, organized & helpful. The bed was comfy...I slept like a babe! Although, my stay was more of an in/out type of experience I would definitely go back to this hotel.

Room Tip: Parking is free on the street in the evening...check the meters before paying 20$ for overnight park...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sembriaco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johanne C, Director of Sales at Hotel Chateau Laurier, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
Bonjour Sembriaco, our entire staff was certainly pleased to have you as our guest here in the hotel and appreciate the positive comments you provided. We are looking forward to your return. Johanne Caron director of sales and marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2013

This hotel was perfect. The staff were attentive. We stayed in the superior room on FL 5 overlooking the courtyard. It was spacious, the beds and pillows were both comfy. Now, we did stay int he new part. I do know the older part has smaller rooms. I suggest the new side.
There are 2 outdoor jacuzzis/ indoor pool/spa /small workout room. This place is in walking distance of old Quebec but is stationed on the Grand Allee. The bar downstairs has excellent food and decor was very modern. Same with the restaurant.

We walked to the Carnival which was right behind the hotel.

The people here are SO NICE! We also had a wine dispenser on our floor which was fantastic! We go there very early and they held our bags until check-in. Our flight was cancelled due to weather and there was no problem staying in our same room that night.

I suggest staying at this hotel. I don't understand the bad reviews. We are seasoned travellers and this place exceeded our expections. Do not hesitate to book here! We will be back :)

Room Tip: 5th floor newer part of the hotel- superior room - excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank brookeh68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johanne C, Director of Sales at Hotel Chateau Laurier, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Bonjour Brookeh68, On behalf of the General Manager and the entire team of the Hôtel Château Laurier Québec, we would like to thank you for your wonderful review. Your comments are a source of motivation for us. We are looking forward to your next visit. Johanne Caron director of sales and marketing.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

I've stayed there in the past and it was nice, but this time the hotel was booked due to conferences, so I took what they had left, a cheaper express room.
It turned out to be the party section of the hotel, with people screaming and running in the corridor until 4AM. I've called the front desk to complain, but it did not change anything.
They should have kick these kids out instead of letting them ruin the other guest's stays.
This section is also less clean.
Oh, and when you put the breakfast order card on your door for the next morning, it never shows up.
Bad experience from the beginning till the end. Too bad.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank achamp99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johanne C, Director of Sales at Hotel Chateau Laurier, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Bonjour Achamp99, I want to thank you on behalf of the Hôtel Château Laurier Québec staff for taking the time to give the Trip Advisor readers and us some feedback on your stay. Your comments are very valuable to us and will allow us to improve. I want to personally apologize for not delivering a top notch experience. We are very concern that you have been disturbed by young clients, since we have security on site all night to avoid such situation. Furthermore we are careful to keep a good mix of clientele to preserve the quality of the experience. I will share your comment with our housekeeper since the cleanliness of our property is the outmost importance. We hope you will visit us again. Johanne Caron director of sales and marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saskatoon, Saskatchewan
Level Contributor
74 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2013

We stayed at Hotel Chateau Laurier during Carnaval and had an amazing time. We also had our wedding supper there. The hotel is located within walking distance to all Old Quebec attractions and the prices are very reasonable.

Room Tip: May want to ask for a room not facing a air conditioning unit.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JPP566
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johanne C, Director of Sales at Hotel Chateau Laurier, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Bonjour JPP566, THank you. it's so thoughtful when customers take the time to express their gratitude about their stay at our hotel. We hope to welcome you again soon. Johanne Caron Director of sales and marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Quebec City hotels
0.6 mi away
Hotel Clarendon
Hotel Clarendon
#39 of 101 in Quebec City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,353 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Le Concorde Quebec
Hotel Le Concorde Quebec
#50 of 101 in Quebec City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,886 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Manoir Victoria
Hotel Manoir Victoria
#23 of 101 in Quebec City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,226 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Le Champlain Hotel
Le Champlain Hotel
#14 of 101 in Quebec City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,774 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Palace Royal
Hotel Palace Royal
#31 of 101 in Quebec City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 635 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hilton Quebec
Hilton Quebec
#35 of 101 in Quebec City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,554 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Chateau Laurier? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Chateau Laurier

Property: Hotel Chateau Laurier
Address: 1220, Place Georges V Ouest, Quebec City, Quebec G1R 5B8, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Quebec > Quebec City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Quebec City
#18 Business Hotel in Quebec City
#29 Family Hotel in Quebec City
#37 Romantic Hotel in Quebec City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Chateau Laurier 3.5*
Number of rooms: 290
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Chateau Laurier reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chateau Laurier Hotel
Chateau Laurier Quebec City
Hotel Chateau Laurier Quebec/Quebec City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing