We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location in Québec City”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Chateau Laurier
Ranked #35 of 101 Hotels in Quebec City
Hamburg, Germany
Level Contributor
53 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great location in Québec City”
Reviewed February 23, 2012

The trip in February 2012 was my second stay at this hotel. I booked a special rate online.

The hotel is located on Place George V, which is within walking distance to the city centre and thus, all major attractions in Québec City. It is a really nice place to stay. The room was large enough for me as a single traveller. Even though I arrived at the hotel early, I was offered a room to check in. I was given a choice to check in later in the room two floors higher up, which I did (for the view and I was not in a hurry). I could already park my rental car in the garage (extra charges apply).

The personnel at the concierge desk was very helpful and could answer all the questions I had.

My room was comfortable, furnished with an armchair and a desk large enogh to work on my laptop. Wireless internet is free of charge, but no high speed. It's fast enough to check your email etc., but I needed to download a larger file (testing a programm for the video postprocessing), so I ordered the high speed connection for a night.

Breakfast (extra charge) would be at the adjoining St. Hubert's for those who like it. Otherwise, there are a number of cafés on the street. It's your pick.
As said earlier, the hotel is within walking distance to the city centre, where you are within a few minutes. Great location!

Room Tip: Rooms facing Grande Allée may be a bit noisier during "outdoor-party-season". I have staye...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank thor_74HH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,355 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    524
    493
    225
    75
    38
See reviews for
313
506
36
249
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (213)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
79 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2012

It was my first stay at this hotel. Was there on a business trip. Walking distance from the winter carnival of Quebec. About 15 minutes walk from the great restaurant in Old Quebec. The hotel is very nice, comfortable rooms, great service, well maintain. The St-Hubert resto is really great. The servers are wonderful, pleasant and welcoming.
What impressed me the most...it's the integrity of the cleaning crew. On the morning we left, I forgot to bring my iphone charger and left it in my room. The day after I noticed my charger wasn't in my bag and recall about having forgeting it. So I called the hotel, and they said after asking for it they had found it. They even proposed to send it back to me at no charge. This is worthy to be mention. I was impressed of the willingness to help me in a very professionnal way. Thanks to the team!!!!

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Danthemannad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johanne C, Director of Sales at Hotel Chateau Laurier, responded to this review, February 22, 2012
Bonjour, on behalf of the General Manager and the entire team of the Hôtel Château Laurier Québec, we would like to thank you for your wonderful review. Your comments are a source of motivation for us, we will celebrate with the housekeeping team . We hope to see you soon. Johanne Caron, director of sales and markeitng.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 20, 2012

Since it's close to the bars, expect a lot of noise at 3am if there's a bunch of young drunk kids coming back from the bars. Other than that, pretty good hotel!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jfcromp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johanne C, Director of Sales at Hotel Chateau Laurier, responded to this review, February 22, 2012
Bonjour, thank you very much for taking the time to comment on our hotel. We value our guest's comments and appreciate finding out what our strong and weak points are, from your point of view. We are glad you appreciated our great location. We offer several rooms type and you may want to try different one next time. PLease come back . Johanne Caron director of sales and marketing.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
montreal
Level Contributor
45 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2012

My husband booke dthis hotel for our anniveersary. We arrived at 12:30 and our room wasn't ready. Check-in is said to be at 4PM but with all my travels, I have very rarely gotten to my hotel and not have a room ready for my after noon. So we parked the car and did some visiting. The hotel is situated walking distance from Old Quebec and Grand Allée street, the most common tourist area to visit.
Our room was on the 3rd floor, very clean with all the basic amneties. The bed was very comfy unfortunately the walls and ceiling were very much on the paper thin side. We both jumped when our neighbor upstairs dropped and earring! it was so thin we even knew it was jewerly!

One thing this hotel offers since it only has a St-Hubert rotisserie annexed to it for food and drinks is electronic wine machines. You have about 6 choices of wine you can buy by glass wth a card you charge up at the front desk. Very handy.

We had breakfast the the St-Hubert connected to the hotel which was just ok. The cold food (pastries and fruit) were all fresh, the hot meal was less than ok (greasy bacon and sausage, very runny eggs), the cost was 9.95$/person for the cold and 13.95$ for the hot and cold buffet. Would go elsewhere.

The hotel offers a nice outdoor jacuzz and sea salt swimming pool whxih were both very clean.

All and all a nice experience.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mirabel16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johanne C, Director of Sales at Hotel Chateau Laurier, responded to this review, February 22, 2012
Bonjour, I want to thank you for taking the time to share your comments following your stay at the Hotel Chateau Laurier Quebec. It is certain that our unique location in the heart of the activities may be a little more frenetic at times. We certainly hope to welcome you again and please request a room facing the Plaines of Abraham next time it will be very quiet. Hope to see you soom. Johanne Caron director fo sales and marketing.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 18, 2012

We stayed in Chateau Laurier over the summer with 2 children aged 3 and 11. The welcome was first class from our arrival, check in to check out. The car was parked and returned promptly, the rooms we very comfortable, practical and perfectly cleaned. Breakfast was and excellent Canadian affair with some thing to please everyone!! The pool was a little cold and finding the hot tub a little tricky as it was situated in the courtyard!
The staf were very friendly and helpful and even proposed we changed room on our last night as we might be disturbed but a function that evening.
Location was ideal, just perfect for visiting the centre of Quebec. We were however rather disappointed by the Restaurant as the food din't match the quality of the hotel. However, the hotel is situated next to a street with many restaurants, café and bars and the hotel host a small food shop, so we didn't go hungry.
Would definately return and recommend this hotel to any one visiting Quebec!

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from function rooms and over looking the park or courtyard
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PPS22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johanne C, Director of Sales at Hotel Chateau Laurier, responded to this review, February 20, 2012
Bonjour, we would like to take the time to thank you for reviewing the Hôtel Château Laurier Québec. We are always pleased when people share their experiences and opinions on our hotel.
Hope to welcome you again shortly, Johanne Caron, director of sales and marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sutton, Canada
Level Contributor
42 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed February 16, 2012

This hotel is located walking distance to the National Assembly of québec and the old city. Ist historical history and building are reminiscent of Québec's past. However the hotel is very modern.

Room Tip: Ask for new part of the hotel, rooms are bigger...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rita499380
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salida, Colorado
Level Contributor
393 reviews
111 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 181 helpful votes
Reviewed February 15, 2012

We stayed at the Chateau Laurier during the middle weekend of the Carnivale in a "European" size room. We found the room and bathroom to be very clean and in good condition. It was an ideal location for visiting the Carnivale and enjoying the events on Grand Allee (canoe race trials). Another benefit was the variety of restaurants adjacent to the hotel. We ate breakfast at the nearby Starbucks often and also tried St Hubert, La Vieille Maison du Spaghetti, Restaurant Asia and Cosmos Cafe. I was interested in the hotel's hot tub but was never able to locate it, even after asking staff. (Operator error?) We were traveling with another couple and wanted to play some cards and were directed to an unused suitable area near the north entrance. The rooms were too small for anything but sleeping and the bathroom was even more cramped. One could nearly rest their head on the sink while using the toilet! I would consider a larger room next time (I'm 6'6'' tall) but the per night charge was already eye-watering. Best to bundle up and stay outdoors enjoyng all this charming city has to offer.

Room Tip: The hotel rambles over a large part of the block so not sure what other rooms have to offer, but we...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank climber_in_CH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johanne C, Director of Sales at Hotel Chateau Laurier, responded to this review, February 16, 2012
Bonjour, thank you very much for taking the time to comment on our hotel. We value our guest's observations and appreciate finding out what our strong and weak points are, from your point of view. It is unfortunate you could not experience the hot tub, it is always magical during a cold evening, and we hope you will find them during your next visit. Our location in the heart of Old Quebec, within reach of all activities is truly our claim to fame!
Johanne Caron, director of sales and marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Quebec City hotels
0.6 mi away
Hotel Clarendon
Hotel Clarendon
#39 of 101 in Quebec City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,369 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Le Concorde Quebec
Hotel Le Concorde Quebec
#49 of 101 in Quebec City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,922 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Manoir Victoria
Hotel Manoir Victoria
#21 of 101 in Quebec City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,239 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Le Champlain Hotel
Le Champlain Hotel
#14 of 101 in Quebec City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,818 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Palace Royal
Hotel Palace Royal
#33 of 101 in Quebec City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 646 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hilton Quebec
Hilton Quebec
#34 of 101 in Quebec City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,591 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Chateau Laurier? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Chateau Laurier

Property: Hotel Chateau Laurier
Address: 1220, Place Georges V Ouest, Quebec City, Quebec G1R 5B8, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Quebec > Quebec City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Quebec City
#18 Business Hotel in Quebec City
#29 Family Hotel in Quebec City
#37 Romantic Hotel in Quebec City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Chateau Laurier 3.5*
Number of rooms: 290
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Chateau Laurier reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chateau Laurier Hotel
Chateau Laurier Quebec City
Hotel Chateau Laurier Quebec/Quebec City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing