We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Bad experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Motel Le Chateauguay
Ranked #67 of 101 Hotels in Quebec City
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Bad experience”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2013 via mobile

Did not give us correct room service was horrible and refused to correct issue and provide another room had to leave and go to a different hotel. Staff were not friendly or helpful was very rude would not recommend especially if booking online

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Leanne G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

323 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    85
    126
    53
    33
    26
See reviews for
97
142
13
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
devon
Level Contributor
27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2013

We stayed at this motel for 2 days in sep13, the staff were very good, the rooms were comfy and clean. Only snag was the shower didnt work very well, but ok with the bath, Motel is about twenty mins from old Quebec city but in a quiet area. Would stay again if in the area

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank barbsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelchateauguay, Propriétaire at Hotel Motel Le Chateauguay, responded to this review, May 6, 2014
Google Translation
Merci pour le commentaire, la douche à été réparer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saranac Lake, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2013

We stayed here for three nights with our 2 and 5 year old while visiting Quebec. It is located out of the city, but it took less than 10 minutes to drive in on the weekend, and it was extremely easy to find parking. The pool and hot tub were very clean. Nice, simple breakfast available. Clean room. Very polite and friendly staff. We could bike from the motel to a bike path up to the Montmorency Falls in 15 minutes. You could bike into the city in less than an hour. If we ever make it back to Quebec, we would stay here again. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ADKAdventurer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2013

...for small is also the PRICE in comparison to other properties. Owned and ran by local family for past four years. Older single level property in steady upgrades but not upsize if size matters. Appears to be an excellent business model in that owners are making the best of what is there. Indoor pool is clean, gym is adequate and rooms are tidy.
Located about four fast miles west of Old City Quebec on St. Laurence River via 440 for easy on and off. Motel even offers bike rental to trek to the city on a paved bike path if you are up to it. Appeared to be close to full capacity but didn't hear a peep from the other guests. Oddly but surprisingly quiet stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank scott s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
36 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights and were happy to leave again. The rooms were okay except for the bathroom,which was so small that you could not turn around! The Internet wouldn't work and we payed like 100$ per night! Also there were some dodgy people around. I am sure we could have done better...

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kath260686
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
globeseeker007
Level Contributor
1,099 reviews
183 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1,142 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2013

This scumbag motel reminds me of one of those old motels off of Route 66. It's one story and has tiny rooms with an even tinier bathroom. The bed creaked like it was falling apart. The bathroom had soap dispensers at the lavatory with a combination bath and hair gel in the shower. The parking spaces are such that it is difficult to maneuver in and out of one unless you have a VW or a Smart Car. When all motel chains as well as B&Bs are now providing free WIFI, this place still charges for it. The continental breakfast area looks like a lunchroom out of a movie about Eastern Europe or Russia when they were under Communist domination. It's dark and gloomy with loaves off bread, coffee, juice, and no fruit, yoghurt, or anything else except cereal which seemed to be scattered all over the counter with no one around cleaning up. We opted to check out and head for a decent restaurant.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank globeseeker007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Quebec City hotels

Bayeux
Level Contributor
32 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2013 via mobile

We picked this motel because of the price, that was good.However, it went downhill from there.. i was excited to see a Keurig coffee maker in the lobby since I really enjoy my afternoon and morning coffee. I should have known, $2.00 per cup! Really!!
If you need wifi, it is $5.00 per day.. PER DEVICE, and it only worked some of the time. We slept poorly because of the noise from tour buses whose back-up beeping woke us up every morning and sometimes in the middle of the night. There is a coffee maker in the room, however, you only get a coffee pack the very first day. In retrospect, the low price really was not worth the aggravation. The attendant at the front office told us that it would take us 1 1/2 hours to get into the city if we chose to take the bus... Well, we ignored him, drove 5 minutes to the stop in Beauport, purchsed a $7.65 unlimited day pass and proceeded to see the whole city by bus, getting off when we wanted to, ate, and back on the bus. That was far cheaper than paying for all that expensive parking in the city, if you are lucky enough to find a parking spot. Finding a motel in that part of the city is recommended, just find another motel.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Ute A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Quebec City hotels
0.5 mi away
Auberge du Littoral
Auberge du Littoral
#26 of 101 in Quebec City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 662 reviews
8.2 mi away
Chateau Repotel Henri IV
Chateau Repotel Henri IV
#48 of 101 in Quebec City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 262 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Ambassadeur Quebec
Hotel Ambassadeur Quebec
#80 of 101 in Quebec City
3.0 of 5 bubbles 482 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.4 mi away
Howard Johnson Quebec City
Howard Johnson Quebec City
#75 of 101 in Quebec City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 172 reviews
1.0 mi away
N Hotel Quebec
N Hotel Quebec
#23 of 101 in Quebec City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 284 reviews
8.3 mi away
Hotel Motel Le Gite Inc.
Hotel Motel Le Gite Inc.
#79 of 101 in Quebec City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 44 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Motel Le Chateauguay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Motel Le Chateauguay

Property: Hotel Motel Le Chateauguay
Address: 3842 Boulevard Ste-Anne, Quebec City, Quebec G1E 3M3, Canada (Formerly Thriftlodge Quebec Beauport)
Location: Canada > Quebec > Quebec City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Spa Hotel in Quebec City
#40 Family Hotel in Quebec City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Motel Le Chateauguay 2*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome home! We will be happy to greet you at l'Hotel Motel Le Chateauguay, with its 43 cozy air-conditioned rooms for a well-deserved rest. We are a family business; we're waiting to greet you with a personalised and courteous welcome. Your stay will be calm, you don't have to worry, and we stay on the premises with you 24 hours a day.L'Hotel Motel le Chateauguay, is located at the east entrance of Quebec city and is the door way to the Cote de Beaupre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Motel Le Chateauguay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Motel Le Chateauguay Quebec/Quebec City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing