We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Bring your own soap!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Motel Le Chateauguay
Ranked #66 of 101 Hotels in Quebec City
Brampton, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Bring your own soap!”
Reviewed August 21, 2011

We had two rooms, one with two double beds a bathroom and fridge which was fine but the other room was crowded with only one bed in it, no fridge and the sink was in the room rather than in the bathroom. Also like another reviewer stated the bed itself was hard and uncomfortable.
Parking is tight in many spots Speaking of tight I could not believe that there was no soap or shampoo provided. (Oh there is a dispenser of some sort of foam mounted half way up the shower,but, try bathing a child using it!) and although a coffee maker was provided you had to pay $2 for each packet of coffee.! This is the first time I have been asked to pay for coffe in the numerous places of various costs i have stayed over the years.

After leaving we stayed at another motel and for $10 per night more than we paid at the Chateauguay we were provided with coffee (regular & decaf) tea, soap, shampoo, lotion fridge & microwave and a breakfast that offered a selection of pastries, breads, fruits, cereals, juices eggs etc rather than the no name white bread only, part frozen muffins and the orange juice or no juice option we were offered here.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 99Nana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

329 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    88
    128
    53
    34
    26
See reviews for
99
146
13
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Las Palmas de Gran Canaria, Spain
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 31, 2011

We stayed there 2 nights, and we liked very much.
They have been very nice and helpfull with my lost suitcase.
I can fully recommend it.

María Valise

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maria7586
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. John's, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2010

After hours of research into a budget hotel with a pool, I came up with the decision to book one night at this hotel/motel with the sole intention to get a good night sleep and perhaps a swim with the kids after a 10 hour drive from Halifax. BIG MISTAKE!!!! I honestly do NOT know what other reviewers were smoking when they reviewed Hotel Chateauguay.

Upon check-in, we were given a room with a single queen bed (as we figured there would be more room to put up 2 playpens in which the babies were sleeping in). Rather, we got a "closet" with a highway/swamp view. Not kidding..not exaggerating.

The room was tiny, old, and well used. The floor rocked when you walked on it, even the bed would move when the baby rolled over in his playpen!

The bathroom was tiny. No counter, no place to turn around without hitting either the sink or the toilet.

The bed...or, should I say, wood plank with bedding. It was old, sagging and shook when we breathed.

The pool was alright, aside from the teenagers making out in the hot-tub. Not ideal for a family with children.

Overall, we did not get what we paid for. For $99 a night, one would expect a bit more than this. We are now staying in the Loews de Concorde and it is much better....

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Vantol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelchateauguay, Propriétaire at Hotel Motel Le Chateauguay, responded to this review, August 8, 2012
I understand your disappointment, for a family with children would have had to rent a room with two double beds that are 2 times larger than the room with a double bed and a room with not a single bed. We are new owners since 2009 and we are making improvements every year, the mattresses were all changed. I'm sorry that your stay is went wrong is I would have had to come see us at reception and we would have been happy to give you a larger room that would have better matched to your family.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Quebec City hotels

London
Level Contributor
183 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2010

the rooms are ok and clean. the location is very convenient from the main highway. I recommend it for one night when travelling and need a place to stay overnight. if you want to stay for a few nights this is far from Quebec city center and there's nothing around to see. You will need a car. It has free parking in front of the room and free internet. the swimming pool opens at 8am

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fjeron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
39 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2010

Basic hotel/motel, clean room, friendly bilingual staff. Parking is assigned by room number and our car was within view of our window, which was appreciated. The indoor pool was the main selling point for us, and it was well worth it!

This place is a short drive down the road from a grocery store, gas stations, fast food and a bus stop with a large free parking area -- and the bus line has several stops throughout Quebec City and buses come every 15 minutes - definitely convenient if you want to plan a day trip into the city! Easy access to the main highways too. Not exciting or flashy, but clean and comfy and definitely an OK place to stay, especially if you're traveling on a tight budget.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nursenicole329
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2010

If you are looking for a cheap, and clean motel to spend a night in, this place is probably your answer. It is clean like a real hotel, and placed between old Quebec and Montmorency falls, with excellent accessibility to both locations. You should have car to be comfortable in this setting though, as the public transportation does not work in this area at all.
The cheap price, does not leave any place for being cynical about this Motel. You can't count on the breakfast at all, and internet connection is so secure that only a technician at hotel would be able to connect your computer to web (other people there know nothing about these things).
I think these three hints will help you decide about this hotel:
1- If you are someone who travels with a backpack, and enjoys being in a beautiful city like Quebec, pay some more, and get a hotel inside the city, and enjoy being there. This motel is cheap, but has got nothing to do with Quebec city's spirit.
2- If you are planning to be just one night or two in Quebec be advised to stay inside the city to enjoy more, is you are planning to be there longer, this Motel is a good option for you.
3- The hotel motel won't promise a good night's sleep at all. Be prepared with earplugs (as there are two large roads in vicinity, and the walls are terribly thin), and with anti-mosquito solutions (as the environment has got a plethora of them).

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jeffandhisbackpack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martinsburg, West Virginia
2 reviews
Reviewed April 30, 2010

Suprised to find no reservations when I arrived at hotel, although booked room weeks in advance.Breakfeast was not ready on time somedays.Room was not cleaned unless I told manger I wanted it cleaned .Nice pool.Close to Quebec city ,5 minutes with car.Pretty friendly staff.

Stayed April 2010, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank Hbbears1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelchateauguay, Propriétaire at Hotel Motel Le Chateauguay, responded to this review, May 6, 2014
Thank
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Quebec City hotels
0.4 mi away
Auberge du Littoral
Auberge du Littoral
#27 of 101 in Quebec City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 679 reviews
8.2 mi away
Chateau Repotel Henri IV
Chateau Repotel Henri IV
#48 of 101 in Quebec City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 266 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Ambassadeur Quebec
Hotel Ambassadeur Quebec
#79 of 101 in Quebec City
3.0 of 5 bubbles 483 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.4 mi away
Howard Johnson Quebec City
Howard Johnson Quebec City
#74 of 101 in Quebec City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 173 reviews
1.0 mi away
N Hotel Quebec
N Hotel Quebec
#25 of 101 in Quebec City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 287 reviews
8.3 mi away
Hotel Motel Le Gite Inc.
Hotel Motel Le Gite Inc.
#82 of 101 in Quebec City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 46 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Motel Le Chateauguay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Motel Le Chateauguay

Property: Hotel Motel Le Chateauguay
Address: 3842 Boulevard Ste-Anne, Quebec City, Quebec G1E 3M3, Canada (Formerly Thriftlodge Quebec Beauport)
Location: Canada > Quebec > Quebec City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Best Value Hotel in Quebec City
#11 Spa Hotel in Quebec City
#40 Family Hotel in Quebec City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Motel Le Chateauguay 2*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome home! We will be happy to greet you at l'Hotel Motel Le Chateauguay, with its 43 cozy air-conditioned rooms for a well-deserved rest. We are a family business; we're waiting to greet you with a personalised and courteous welcome. Your stay will be calm, you don't have to worry, and we stay on the premises with you 24 hours a day.L'Hotel Motel le Chateauguay, is located at the east entrance of Quebec city and is the door way to the Cote de Beaupre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, HotelsforEveryone, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, HostelWorld, Agoda, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Motel Le Chateauguay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Motel Le Chateauguay Quebec/Quebec City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing