We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Expensive - small not very comfortable rooms”
Review of Hilton Quebec

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hilton Quebec
Ranked #34 of 100 Hotels in Quebec City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 14, 2008

The location is good right on Rene-Levesque, just outside the city walls. It is convenient for walking round the old city and attending events in the Convention centre which is attached to the hotel.

The room was small and not very comfortable for the price. The bathroom was clean but tired. You are obviously paying for location not the facilities. There were additional surcharges for using the telephone (even toll free numbers). Internet access was available but you have to pay extra. There was valet parking at a charge of $25/day, no free parking.

Check in/check out was easy and straightforward, lots of people working in the lobby to carry bags etc..

There was a restaurant but if you go down below the lobby into the convention centre, there was a reasonable foodcourt for a much cheaper and perfectly good breakfast.

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank apq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,856)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,042 - 2,048 of 2,856 reviews

Reviewed November 3, 2008

Great Location. Great Staff.... beautiful year round

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank TravelerMontreal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2008

I stayed in this hotel for three nights during "New France Festival" in August 2008.
The front desk people were very friendly. My room was on 7th floor with view to downtown. Room was pretty large for one person, with desk and king bed with white crispy bedsheets. I noticed that hotel was fully occupied, but my room was quiet and cleaned ontime.
Every morning I enjoyed complimentary Sauna room, Gym and outdoor heated swimming pool.
It was great refreshment to swim each morning before breakfast and stay energised for business meetings throughout the day.

Also. this hotel is walking distance to all major attractions of the city!

The New France Festival was amazing! I would recomend to all families with kids, especially teenagers!

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank KiMAGIC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2008

My husband was booked for a conference in Quebec and asked me to join him over the weekend. We both arrived in the early evening of September 11th and were given a room on the 14th floor overlooking the old city. What a view!! Absolutely beautiful. Even though we do not speak French, we never encountered any problems with staff, whether it was the doorman, the front desk personnel or lounge staff. Everyone was very pleasant, helpful and professional. As I was only there for a few nights, we opted to go to restaurants in the old city rather than eating in our room so I cannot comment on room service or restaurants. The room itself was nicely decorated, the furniture appeared to be new and in good condition, as were the bed and window coverings. The room was also supplied with a coffee maker, blow dryer, fridge, etc., same things you'd expect in any good hotel, but the thing that made the room so special was the view. We left the curtains open and just enjoyed the early morning views or the lights late at night. Very charming. The weather wasn't the best, sort of rainy and drizzly but we just grabbed an umbrella and went walking. Tons of shops and restaurants within very close distance. Never had any difficulties with language while in the old city either, all shop keepers were very pleasant and helpful. I have nothing but good things to say about the entire experience. Would love to go back again and visit more places as we just did not get to enjoy enough of the beautiful city. Would we visit the Hilton again? Definitely!!

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank flaherma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2008

I stayed at the Hilton as part of a conference package and at the end wished I hadn't. I have stayed in a number of Hiltons in various countries and this was the worst, though I wouldn't say it was terrible in the rating just majorly disappointing to the point if I get back to Quebec I won't be staying there again.

At check-in the person I shared a taxi with was greeted by the receptionist as an old friend - "I've put you on the 18th floor with a view of the old city as you are staying for 8 days". I was staying for 8 days too but got a view of the swimming pool from the 5th floor. I was already a member of their Hilton Honors program whereas the other person had to sign up.

I booked in June and requested a King at the time but was told at check in that they only had double doubles available- apparently they can't allocate rooms when they are booked well in advance.

The bed was really comfortable but the floor in the bathroom could have been cleaned as it seemed to stick to your feet as you walked on it. The coffee maker was a safety hazard as at the end of the brew time it actually finished dispensing the water (now hot) by spitting out of the brew basket - if you were standing close or getting the mug out you got covered in hot water. Be really careful of the coffee maker. I asked for a new coffee maker and got one but it did it too.

The fully stocked mini-bar was in fact an empty fridge.

All local calls were $1 for connection with another charge for time over a minute - aren't local calls free in Canada? A definite scam by Hilton.

The business centre charged $30 an hour for the internet! Maybe the Quebec Hilton should talk to Manchester and London Heathrow (England) or Detroit Hiltons as none of them charge anything for access.

I saw on a previous review that people speaking English were not given good service but I spoke French and they all responded in English definitely not what I had wanted.

There was a note in the room saying that if you want to keep towels hang them up on the towel rail. Every time I did that they were replaced. The only time I was left with the towels was when I wrote a note saying to leave them and then it was only for the day I wrote the note.

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank Fia16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2008

I thoroughly enjoyed my stay in this hotel. I was on the 18th floor overlooking the old city and the St. Lawrence seaway. The staff were friendly and pleasant. The hors d'oeuvres served at the executive lounge were good.

If I visit Quebec City again, I would stay in this hotel again.

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank beadyMA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2008

My husband and I stayed for almost a week at the Hilton in Quebec city.

We opted to book a better class room which gave us acess to the executive lounge. It was the best desision we could ever make. We loved the ability (after a day of walking around) to just sit and relax with a glass or two of wine without worrying about a budget (some alcohol, canapes, and breakfast are covered in the lounge.

We loved everything about the hotel including how helpful the staff was when we were locked out of our lougage when we arived.

The view from our room was of all "Old" Quebec. At one point in time we were recommended to go to a restaurant (from a nother couple we met) because of the great view.... we declined an informed them that there could not be a better view then our hotel room.

I do wish that the rooms were more romantic and less business and it would have been nice to have a tub for two on our honeymoon.

Overall, we LOVED staying at the Hilton in Quebec City.

  • Stayed: November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Lulu017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Quebec City hotels
0.2 mi away
Delta Hotels by Marriott Quebec
0.5 mi away
Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac
Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac
#18 of 100 in Quebec City
4,871 reviews
0.1 mi away
Quebec City Marriott Downtown
Quebec City Marriott Downtown
#26 of 100 in Quebec City
1,252 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel PUR, Quebec, A Tribute Portfolio Hotel
0.6 mi away
Best Western Plus City Centre/Centre-Ville
0.3 mi away
Hotel Chateau Laurier
Hotel Chateau Laurier
#38 of 100 in Quebec City
1,564 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Quebec? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Quebec

Address: 1100 Rene Levesque East, Quebec City, Quebec G1R 5V2, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Quebec > Quebec City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Quebec City
#19 Family Hotel in Quebec City
#25 Business Hotel in Quebec City
#38 Romantic Hotel in Quebec City
Price Range: $118 - $461 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Quebec 4*
Number of rooms: 571
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 4-star getaway in the heart of all major events! Choose the Hilton Quebec City and explore the charm of Canada's oldest city. The hotel is just a 20-minute drive from the airport and five minutes from the train station. Located on Parliament Hill, just steps from Old Quebec and the main tourist attractions, the Hilton Québec is renowned for its impeccable service and exceptional location. Each of the 571 rooms offers spectacular views of the city. Executive rooms offer exclusive access to the superb Executive Lounge including complimentary continental breakfast in the morning, hors d'oeuvres and non-alcoholic beverages in the evening. With the heated outdoor swimming pool open all year round, the 24-hour fitness center, the Allegro restaurant and bar or the buffet of local products with panoramic views at Resto Le23, Hilton Québec has it all! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hilton Quebec reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Quebec Hotel Quebec City
Hilton Quebec City
Hilton Hotel Quebec City
Hilton Quebec Quebec City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing