We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nickel and Dime”
Review of Hilton Quebec

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hilton Quebec
Ranked #34 of 101 Hotels in Quebec City
Certificate of Excellence
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Nickel and Dime”
Reviewed July 13, 2013

High quality, but lacking class. Luggage carts are not available -- they may only be used by luggage porters. $12 a day for internet service. Really?? <ug> Nickel and Dime thinking. This is 2013, not 1994!

Nice pool. Immature staff. Untrained kids. At $300+ per night, I can expect professional behavior. These kids were nice to my face, but guffawed when they figured we were out of earshot.

These things all point to poor training, ie, poor management.

The stay was good, but the nickel and dime treatment is so "Super-8" ... but at Super-8, the Wi-Fi is free.

Room Tip: Go for an upper floor. You pay per view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kaustin6969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DanyThibault, General Manager at Hilton Quebec, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Good morning,

First and foremost, I wish to thank you for sharing your experience. I honestly appreciate your input and sincerely apologize for the poor service you encountered from the pool staff. I completely understand your point of view and much like you, I find this behavior to be inappropriate. It does not reflect our level of service. Rest assured, I have personally advised the owner of the company that manages the pool (subcontracting) in order for him to make the proper follow up with his staff members.

As for the luggage carts, there are specific reasons as to why they may only be used by luggage porters. Firstly, we only have a certain quantity of carts for our 571 rooms. Often, guests that leave with the carts and don’t necessarily bring them back after they’re done or they simply leave them in the hallways without advising. That can cause problems for other guests that need assistance with their luggage. Also, in many cases we have noticed that the carts aren’t used properly and can cause damages in the hallways. Last but not least, the luggage porter is a free service that the hotel provides to accommodate all of our guests.

This being said, I am hoping that you will return to our beautiful city eventually. I apologize once again for what you have encountered at the pool. If ever you are considering coming back to Québec City, please contact me directly and I will personally take care of making your reservations.

Sincerely,
Dany Thibault
General Manager
(dany.thibault@hilton.com)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,593 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    973
    1,013
    414
    133
    60
See reviews for
602
862
99
705
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (515)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2013

We have stayed at this hotel many times over the last 10 years. This was a long overdue return. We have not been for the last 4 years.
We stayed in July for 2 nights.The hotel has had a renovation since our last visit. I feel the public areas are too modern and the charm has been lost.
A mix up at check in had us arriving to the wrong room.
A call to the front desk to resolve the issue took about 15 minutes. We were switched to the room type we booked and had to drag our bags to the new room.
The junior suite was large and clean for the most part, but all surfaces were very dusty, perhaps it had not been occupied in several days.
It has been refreshed with new wallpaper and carpets. But the faucets are unchanged and kitchenette untouched. So not a complete reno.
The view was spectacular and really the best feature of the room. Bed was comfy but air conditioning was very loud.
Breakfast buffet at Allegro was disappointing. Not a good selection. 3 large bowls of canned fruit was surprising. The only fresh fruit was apples, oranges and bananas so spotted and black they should not have been on the buffet.
The usual bacon sausage and potatoes are offered. Limited selection of pastries and breads. No bagels.
Our eggs were ordered and arrived cold. My omelet had no cheese as I ordered.
I ordered french toast as they only had pancakes on the buffet. I was served 2 pancakes. And they were cold. I did enjoy the oatmeal and coffee though.
Not a very good offering for the price.
We had breakfast the next day in the executive lounge and we enjoyed that more even though there was not as many choices.
There are other hotels in the area that I would try before returning to this Hilton. But we would visit again as the location and view are amazing. And the staff is friendly.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dmcb14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
raleigh, nc
Level Contributor
48 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2013

This was our first time to Quebec City and i couldn't be happier with our hotel choice. As soon as we pulled up, the valet nicely gave us the rundown of all the parking options (self-park vs valet) and the costs of each. He even recommended we self park since valet has limited in-and-out and i stated we may be getting the car a few times. This is a nice change from a lot of the joints that try to squeeze every penny out of you.
Front desk at check-in was extremely helpful with food recommendations and set us up with festival passes. The concierge was friendly and helpful with directions on multiple occasions.

The room was average, had a safe and a fridge, decent sized bathroom. The view was fantastic.

The location of the hotel is great. Convenient to old quebec and st. jean street.

I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HotTubJohnny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. John's, Canada
Level Contributor
52 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2013

Location is great!

Very happy that I could get a smoking room.

Room was really clean. Fantastic view of Parliament and fireworks.

The bed and pillows were so comfortable that I didn't want to get out of bed in the morning! I've stayed in a lot of hotels, but this bed has been ths BEST so far!

The pool was inside and outside, but a little on the small side.

The wings at the bar were pretty good. The breakfast could use a bit of improvement.

Overall, it was great and I would stay there again.

Room Tip: I stayed in Room 1522...smoking room...and excellent view! Bed is super comfy!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jeep_girl_00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virgina
Level Contributor
128 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2013

Spent five nights at the Hilton Quebec City. Possibly the best Hilton I've stayed. Good staff, clean rooms. Executive Level offers excellent view and snacks and drinks. Hotel is located on hill overlooking all of Quebec and the St. Lawrence River. Highly recommended. Ask/pay for Executive Level rooms on top floors. Great family hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VETTRAN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sudbury, Massachusetts
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 9, 2013

This place can be a great stay if you are aware of some things. Internet will cost you $10/24hr. The food in the hotel does not look appetizing and $30/night parking is absolute robbery. That said - the River View from floors 10+ (we were on 16th) is worth every penny of the $210/night we paid. Ask for room 10 on any floor above 10 you will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank aleshagerber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2013

Very typical of a Hilton in a major city clean but certainly nothing  to write home about. The rooms can certainly use some updating.  The towels on a daily basis were dingy, housekeeping was really stingy with the soap.  The hotel does not provide slippers or free wifi; I  have come to expect that after a certain price point both slippers and wifi should be included . There was an absence of service / pampering not that the service was poor it was just non existent.

We had a lovely view but the windows were dirty.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NikkiJR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DanyThibault, General Manager at Hilton Quebec, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Good morning,

I wish to thank you for sharing your experience. I apologize for the service you encountered from our cleaning staff. I would truly appreciate if you could give me more details of your stay (date & room number...) in order for me to make the proper follow up with our housekeeping staff. As for slippers and wifi, please know that they are available to every guest upon request and wifi is free in all public areas at the hotel.

Once more, I would like to extend our sincere apologies for the inconveniences you experienced at our hotel during your stay and if ever you plan to come back to Quebec City and you wish to give us another try, please contact me directly.
Sincerely,

Dany Thibault
General Manager
dany.thibault@hilton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Quebec City hotels
0.1 mi away
Quebec City Marriott Downtown
Quebec City Marriott Downtown
#23 of 101 in Quebec City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,146 reviews
0.5 mi away
Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac
Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac
#15 of 101 in Quebec City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,038 reviews
0.2 mi away
Delta Hotels by Marriott Quebec
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Palace Royal
Hotel Palace Royal
#33 of 101 in Quebec City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 647 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Manoir Victoria
Hotel Manoir Victoria
#21 of 101 in Quebec City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,243 reviews
0.6 mi away
Auberge Saint-Antoine
Auberge Saint-Antoine
#3 of 101 in Quebec City
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,974 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Quebec? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Quebec

Property: Hilton Quebec
Address: 1100 Rene Levesque East, Quebec City, Quebec G1R 5V2, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Quebec > Quebec City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Luxury Hotel in Quebec City
#25 Business Hotel in Quebec City
#30 Family Hotel in Quebec City
#38 Romantic Hotel in Quebec City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Quebec 4*
Number of rooms: 571
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Now Offering Free WiFi!Choose the Hilton Quebec and explore the charm of Canada's oldest city. The hotels is just a 20-minute drive to Quebec International Airport and five minutes from the train and bus stations. Located steps from the cities top attractions and festivals. Close to the city's government and business attractions. Visit the Old Town to take in Quebec's culture and historical significance. Retire to a spacious guest room with free WiFi with gorgeous views of the St. Lawrence River and Old Quebec. Executive rooms provide exclusive access to the stunning Executive Lounge with complimentary continental breakfast in the morning and hors d'oeuvres and drinks in the evening. Work out in our modern fitness center, swim laps in the heated outdoor pool or enjoy a meal at the Allegro Restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, HotelsforEveryone, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Priceline, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Hilton Quebec reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Quebec Hotel Quebec City
Hilton Quebec City
Hilton Hotel Quebec City
Hilton Quebec Quebec City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing