We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Chateau Grand Allee a nice hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Le Grande-Allee Hotel and Suites
Ranked #77 of 102 Hotels in Quebec City
Reviewed September 10, 2007

I stayed for 3 nights in this hotel for a good price of 99 dollars plus tax. I traveled by train from Toronto and it was nice and easy. Scenery beautiful and the train station close to the hotel. It's right at the centre of things, Rue Grand Allee, restaurants everywhere. The hotel offers you continental breakfast for 7 dollars a person but no need, Cosmos Cafe just 2 doors to the left offers incredible breakfasts and service for just a little bit more. And the coffee conaisseur that I am, that was wonderful as well. They just kept filling my cup over and over! Dinner to the right of the hotel at the opposite corner, Le Grand Cafe, pasta was very good. Rivoli Bistro right next door to the left also very good, but a little expensive. Quebec City is known for the food so indulge!

The old city just down the street, lots of walking involved, take your running shoes, up and down hills. Parliament buildings right there as well as the Frontenac right behind. I did not find any reason to take bus tours etc. Everything was right there.

Hotel itself was charming and cute, front desk was ever so polite and helpful. The room was painted an orange/red/gray so kind of Parisian. The bathroom big and clean, lots of room! Free internet service was handy. They spoke excellent English. I think it was an old bachelor apartment building turned hotel.

Others as well reverted to English. It was nice to hear French all around me though as it gave me the chance to brush up on my own. And Quebec City residents wonderful people!

Quebec City was beautiful, and the Chateau Grand Allee a nice temporary home. I will post pictures soon.

Debby/Toronto

  • Stayed: September 2007, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
5  Thank Debby/Toronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (315)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

155 - 161 of 315 reviews

Reviewed July 5, 2007

A pretty hotel in a great location, on a beautiful street, in walking
distance to the Old Town. Very clean. Parking in back, reasonable charge. Very helpful staff. Lots of restaurants nearby and the desk has a book with restaurants by type, including a section of bring your own wine restaurants. The breakfast is not great. For breakfast,
walk to the outdoor/indoor crepe restaurant on Rue St-Louis, which is
a continuation of Rue Grande Allee, walking toward the Old Town (on the right side of the street). The crepes are fantastic, as are all breakfast choices.

  • Stayed: June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank Cjwirth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2005

we are a couple in our 20s from the UK, we found our stay at this hotel more than pleasing. we chose the economy room at £99 dolars plus taxes, buy uk standards it was excellent for the money, a tidy clean room with a good en-suite. but the best bit was the location! the hotel backs right on to the battlefields park, and the front opens up onto Grand Alle Est. Giving you direct access to great restuarants, bars and night life. great hotel! PS would recommend Caza Calzone restuaurant!!! (2/3 doors down from hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank CharlieDogUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Toronto, Ontario
13
Reviewed August 1, 2005

I must say that my stay did not get off to a great start by any means. I was there with a tour group going to Ste-Anne and when we first arrived most of us were disappointed that there were no elevators (most in the group were well into their 60s). Secondly, the person at the front desk did not mention to me that there were 2 sections to the hotel so I wasted 20 minutes trying to find my room only to be informed afterwards that I was looking for it in the wrong wing. Arghh! Anyway, after getting past this hurdle, I found the rooms to be small, yes, but very clean and I had quite a nice bathroom. Well insulated against noise. Everyone in the tour group liked the continental breakfast very much. You are just steps away from the old city (literally a 20-minute walk - and a pleasant one at that). Many restaurants just outside the hotel - and I highly recommend the "Table d'Hote" at all restaurants. It's the best deal for the money. Just ask for it at any restaurant. Front desk staff arranged for my wake-up call and were quite accomodating all around. It was a pleasant time.

  • Stayed: July 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Ancaster, ON
12
Reviewed June 20, 2004

I stayed with a group from school, and each room was very unique, and had a different style. They ranged from Victorian, to Modern

2  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Mumbai, India
13
Reviewed June 5, 2004

i was most displeased with the hotel. it stank of pee and was not at all nice. i was very unsastified with the hotel staff...one spit on me. as for my room i am fairly sure there was moss developing on the underside of my bed.

3  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Fredericton, New Brunswick
18
Reviewed March 10, 2003

This Inn is nestled in a row of ornate stone buildings just outside the gates of Old Quebec-very convenient and you can forget your car as you can walk everywhere. Rooms were average in size with minimalist furnishing decor. Great 12 foot ceilings-huge bath and charming ambiance. Continental breakfast was dreadful-not worth the $5.00. Staff very friendly, helpful and all spoke English as well as French. Reasonable rates. I would consider it again.

8  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Quebec City hotels
Downtown Quebec City
Hotel Acadia
Hotel Acadia
#60 of 102 in Quebec City
726 reviews
Hotel Le Concorde Quebec
#53 of 102 in Quebec City
2,151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Chateau Laurier
#38 of 102 in Quebec City
1,555 reviews
Hotel Cofortel
#23 of 102 in Quebec City
567 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Grande-Allee Hotel and Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Grande-Allee Hotel and Suites

Address: 601 Grande-Allee Est | (Near Lachevrotière), Quebec City, Quebec G1R 2K4, Canada
Location: Canada > Quebec > Quebec City > Downtown Quebec City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#43 Business Hotel in Quebec City
Price Range: $79 - $182 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Le Grande-Allee Hotel and Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Le Grande-Allee Hotel and Suites is built in a patrimonial Victorian building and combines historic charm with modern comfort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your Le Grande-Allee Hotel and Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Grande-Allee Hotel Quebec City
Chateau Grande Allee
Le Grande-Allee Hotel And Suites Quebec/Quebec City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing