We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Le Grande-Allee Hotel and Suites

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Le Grande-Allee Hotel and Suites
Ranked #72 of 101 Hotels in Quebec City
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great location.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2012

Stayed here by myself on business. Great location to explore old Quebec. No problems except that the free wifi was spotty at best.

Only stair access to the second and third floor rooms. I liked the cozy atmosphere, but take note if stair climbing is an issue for you.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MoistOwlet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Director of Sales at Le Grande-Allee Hotel and Suites, responded to this review, June 26, 2012
Dear guest,
Thank you for sharing your comment about our hotel. We're pleased to see that you enjoyed your stay. We would be happy to welcome you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

289 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    60
    111
    64
    34
    20
See reviews for
59
130
14
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
toronto
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2012

Stayed for 2 nights.

Pros: Reception was nice, and hotel is beautiful. Amazing suite, with beautiful furnishings. Decent price. Breakfast included in price and is decent. Access to the hot tub at Hotel Acadia (sister hotel). Great location - food and bars on the same block, 2 blocks away from Plains of Abraham, 5-10 minute stroll to the walls.

Cons: Parking is a little annoying - you have to park behind the hotel in a cramped alley and then you gotta give reception your keys in case they need to move your car. There isn't an elevator - being on the third floor that was annoying, especially after a long day touring around Old Quebec. If you can request it, get a room away from the stairs - I was woken up one morning by some idiot going up and down the stairs.

At the end of the day, I would stay here again.

Room Tip: If you can request it, get a room away from the stairs
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank j b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
frankbeo, Director of Sales at Le Grande-Allee Hotel and Suites, responded to this review, May 23, 2012
Dear guest,
We're pleased to see that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel and would stay here again. We're happy that our hotel has met your expectations. We work hard to give an excellent service to our guests. We're sorry to read that your sleep was disturbed by someone and we would recommend telling us next time so we can fix this problem as quickly as possible. Thank you for taking the time to share your comments on our hotel. We would be pleased to welcome you again on your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
21 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2012

I've been there for a weekend 3 years ago. Got a good price on the internet; +/-120$/night. At the beginning they gave us the room beside the lobby, which was a little noisy, but they accepted to change it. We got a bigger room, renovated, quiet, clean with private bathroom. We had a TV, DVD player and we could rent a movie to the hotel. Nice location, short walk to the Old Quebec/Carré d'Youville. Lot of shops, bars and restaurants near. Good sewrvice.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JMichel_07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
frankbeo, Director of Sales at Le Grande-Allee Hotel and Suites, responded to this review, May 23, 2012
Dear guest,
We're pleased to see that you had a nice stay at our hotel three years ago. Thank you for taking the time to share your comments on our hotel. We would be happy to welcome you again on your next visit to Quebec city!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton, Vermont, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2012

Nice, clean, small and quaint. If you're looking to get away from all the commercialism at hotesl then this is the place to stay.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Denise T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
frankbeo, Director of Sales at Le Grande-Allee Hotel and Suites, responded to this review, March 23, 2012
Dear guest,
We are pleased to see that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel. We would be really happy to welcome you again on your next visit. Hope you enjoyed Quebec city!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gilmanton, New Hampshire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2012

We stayed at Le Grande-Allee Hotel and Suites for 2 nights during Winter Carnival and loved the hotel. We booked the standard rooms but were upgraded to beautiful rooms with a fireplace and whirlpool tubs. We usually book the standard rooms planning to spend most of our time outside during the carnival, we loved coming back to the fireplace room every night! The rooms are all a little different which adds to the appeal. We have been to Quebec a number of times and usually stay at the Loews just a block up the street. We decided to try a new place this year and have found a NEW LOVE!! The staff was so welcoming, very helpful we didn't have to ask for anything they were asking us what they could help us with. We did not have a chance to have dinner at the hotel but the hot and cold breakfast was a good start to the day. We didn't miss the hustle and bustle of the larger hotel or the long wait for the elevator, with all the great food in the city we needed the extra steps to the 2nd floor each day! The hotel is in a great location to the carnival festivities too! Will be booking our next group with them for next year and quite possibly a fall stay too!

Room Tip: Fireplace rooms with whirlpool great choice for the winter!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jabnh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
frankbeo, Director of Sales at Le Grande-Allee Hotel and Suites, responded to this review, March 23, 2012
Dear guest,
Thank you for taking some of your time to share your comments about our hotel. We do have a great location near the carnaval and summer festivities. We're pleased to see that you enjoyed your stay and our commodities. We would be really happy to welcome you again on your next visit! Quebec is a beautiful city to visit, we hope you had a wonderful trip!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2012

Small but stylishly appointed bedroom (huge bathroom!). Period building, but clean and well-maintained (like most in Quebec). Somewhat dated but perfectly functional amenities (e.g., tv, shower). A very busy street, brimming with night life, but inside was soothing, like a good bottle of red wine. Speaking of wine... make sure you pick up a good bottle at an SAQ before you get there because the choices at the local depanneur (90 second walk) are pretty slim... although the hotel concierge was quite happy to lend us a corkscrew! Also, be aware that this is an old city, short on parking-- be prepared to pay for it.
Overall I would recommend the hotel!

Room Tip: Rooms NOT on street side would be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marcusiologist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
frankbeo, Director of Sales at Le Grande-Allee Hotel and Suites, responded to this review, January 26, 2012
Dear guest,
We're really pleased that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel Le Grande-Allée Hôtel & Suites. Thank you for taking some of your time to review our hotel. We are looking forward to welcome you again on your next visit to Quebec city!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sherbrooke, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 23, 2011

This hotel is beautiful and the location is perfect for a getaway in Quebec City. La Grande Allée street is outstanding during the winter, especially during the Christmas period.

The hotel staff was very friendly and the rates were acceptable. We appreciated the European feel that the ‘’Le Rivoli’’ restaurant offers because of the age and conservation of the building.

You need to know that this hotel is located between two of Quebec’s hot clubs ‘’Chez Dagobert’’ and ‘’ Bar Chez Maurice’’. The location is perfect if you intend to go clubbing, but if you plan on a relaxing getaway, do not go there because it will be noisy until 4h in the morning.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PC_SHE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
frankbeo, Director of Sales at Le Grande-Allee Hotel and Suites, responded to this review, January 3, 2012
Dear guest, thank you for your comment about our hotel. It is true that Le Grande-Allée benefits of a prime location on one of the most animated street of Quebec City and we are happy that this location helped enjoying your stay. We will be very happy to welcome you again in our hotel on your next visit in Quebec City.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Quebec City hotels
Downtown Quebec City
Hotel Acadia
Hotel Acadia
#55 of 101 in Quebec City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 651 reviews
Manoir De La Tour
#61 of 101 in Quebec City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 115 reviews
Hotel Chateau Laurier
#36 of 101 in Quebec City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,308 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Le Concorde Quebec
#47 of 101 in Quebec City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,856 reviews
Hotel Chateau Bellevue
#31 of 101 in Quebec City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 924 reviews
Hotel Louisbourg
#75 of 101 in Quebec City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Grande-Allee Hotel and Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Grande-Allee Hotel and Suites

Property: Le Grande-Allee Hotel and Suites
Address: 601 Grande-Allee Est | (Near Lachevrotière), Quebec City, Quebec G1R 2K4, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Quebec > Quebec City > Downtown Quebec City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#43 Business Hotel in Quebec City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Le Grande-Allee Hotel and Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Le Grande-Allee Hotel and Suites is built in a patrimonial Victorian building and combines historic charm with modern comfort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Choice Hotels, Travelocity and Orbitz so you can book your Le Grande-Allee Hotel and Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Grande-Allee Hotel Quebec City
Chateau Grande Allee
Le Grande-Allee Hotel And Suites Quebec/Quebec City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing