We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charm and class abound”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Le Grande-Allee Hotel and Suites
Ranked #78 of 101 Hotels in Quebec City
Reviewed January 3, 2012

Small but stylishly appointed bedroom (huge bathroom!). Period building, but clean and well-maintained (like most in Quebec). Somewhat dated but perfectly functional amenities (e.g., tv, shower). A very busy street, brimming with night life, but inside was soothing, like a good bottle of red wine. Speaking of wine... make sure you pick up a good bottle at an SAQ before you get there because the choices at the local depanneur (90 second walk) are pretty slim... although the hotel concierge was quite happy to lend us a corkscrew! Also, be aware that this is an old city, short on parking-- be prepared to pay for it.
Overall I would recommend the hotel!

Room Tip: Rooms NOT on street side would be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marcusiologist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
frankbeo, Director of Sales at Le Grande-Allee Hotel and Suites, responded to this reviewResponded January 26, 2012

Dear guest,
We're really pleased that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel Le Grande-Allée Hôtel & Suites. Thank you for taking some of your time to review our hotel. We are looking forward to welcome you again on your next visit to Quebec city!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (319)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

126 - 132 of 319 reviews

Reviewed December 23, 2011

This hotel is beautiful and the location is perfect for a getaway in Quebec City. La Grande Allée street is outstanding during the winter, especially during the Christmas period.

The hotel staff was very friendly and the rates were acceptable. We appreciated the European feel that the ‘’Le Rivoli’’ restaurant offers because of the age and conservation of the building.

You need to know that this hotel is located between two of Quebec’s hot clubs ‘’Chez Dagobert’’ and ‘’ Bar Chez Maurice’’. The location is perfect if you intend to go clubbing, but if you plan on a relaxing getaway, do not go there because it will be noisy until 4h in the morning.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PC_SHE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
frankbeo, Director of Sales at Le Grande-Allee Hotel and Suites, responded to this reviewResponded January 3, 2012

Dear guest, thank you for your comment about our hotel. It is true that Le Grande-Allée benefits of a prime location on one of the most animated street of Quebec City and we are happy that this location helped enjoying your stay. We will be very happy to welcome you again in our hotel on your next visit in Quebec City.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2011

This hotel has OK location. It is behind the quebec city parliament building and surrounding with nice restaurants, but it's outside of the old town, about 10-15 minutes walk from the old town center. Our room was very small - no closet. It was face to dumpster alley with no sun light. The staff who check us in was very rude. We asked for better room and she said to us "Well, you get what you paid..." I will not recommend anyone to stay there. You could get nicer and better location hotel inside of the old town.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hsunami1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
frankbeo, Director of Sales at Le Grande-Allee Hotel and Suites, responded to this reviewResponded August 24, 2011

Dear guest, we are very sorry that the room you booked was not up to your expectations. Due to the fact that our building is almost 200 years old, we have a significant difference between our different room types and we make a lot of effort to commercialise these different room types as clearly as possible on our website. Also, performing a perfect service to our guest is one of our main priority and we are making the appropriate actions with all our team to make sure that every guest is treated in that manner.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2011

This hotel was beautiful. The rooms are decorated nicely and felt like a home rather than a hotel. The only drawback was a nightclub that is directly across the street. The music started around 4pm and kept going until after 2am. Everything else was excellent.

  • Stayed: June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Heatherlou23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
frankbeo, Director of Sales at Le Grande-Allee Hotel and Suites, responded to this reviewResponded July 22, 2011

Dear guest, thank you for taking the time to write your comment on TripAdvisor. We are happy to see that your experience in our hotel was great. The location of the hotel, as we mention on our website, is right in the action as it is directly located on the famous and fashionable Grande-Allée street. On your next stay at Le Grande-Allee Hotel and Suites in Quebec City, ask a room situated in the back section of the hotel for a more quiet night. We are looking forward to welcome you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2011

This property is located right on the party strip and allows easy walking to everything that Quebec has to offer. For the location, we had a great rate.
The room was quaint with that old Quebec feeling, it had high ceilings & exposed brick. The walls are paper thin but that's typical at this style of hotel. There was a lot of furniture jammed into the room and it made it look poorly put together. However the bathroom was large and roomy. I did take a look at one of the jacuzzi rooms and they looked really great.
Check-in was slow (could have been the language barrier) and there was no help with the luggage. However, the check-out was very pleasant and the front desk staff was super helpful with restaurant and shopping recommendations! The free continental breakfast needs some work maybe just better presentation...

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kvan75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
frankbeo, Director of Sales at Le Grande-Allee Hotel and Suites, responded to this reviewResponded June 8, 2011

Dear guest, thank you for your comments, we take them very seriously. We will make sure that these points are improved for the benefit of our future guests. Again, thank you for these notifications, we hope to see you again on your next visit in Quebec City.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2011

Stayed here for $89 during a big conference.

Hotel has a PERFECT location on teh Grande-Allee and is right next to Maurice night club.

It is in a historic building, thus it has no elevators. That is the only drawback. The roomos are amazing. I had a suite with a large jacuzzi tub, and it has original brick walls from the original construction. It has an esperesso machine in the room, fridge, etc.

Breakfast is included, was only ok, but adequate enough.

I will book this hotel again.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Feyenoorder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
frankbeo, Director of Sales at Le Grande-Allee Hotel and Suites, responded to this reviewResponded November 19, 2012

Dear guest,
thank you for reviewing our hotel! We're glad to see that you enjoyed your stay and that our hotel has met your expectations. We would be happy to welcome you again on your next visit to Quebec city!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2011

This hotel is absolutely amazing! The rooms are spacious (De Luxe category) and ours had a very nice restored brick wall, fireplace, flat screen tv and the bed was very comfortable. The front desk staff was also very welcoming and helpful. The location is absolutely perfect. The hotel is located directly on Grande-Allee street where you can find many restaurants and clubs, perfect for an urban ambiance. The hotel is about a 5 minutes walk from the fortifications of the old district. For the price, this hotel is absolutely perfect as they include a very complete breakfast is you book directly from their website. I recommand it to everyone.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank davidboutch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
frankbeo, Director of Sales at Le Grande-Allee Hotel and Suites, responded to this reviewResponded May 18, 2011

Dear guest, thank you for taking the time to share your appreciation publicly with thousands of Trip Advisor users. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay and are hoping to welcome you again in our hotel very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Quebec City hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Chateau Laurier
Hotel Chateau Laurier
#37 of 101 in Quebec City
1,604 reviews
0 mi away
Hotel Le Concorde Quebec
Hotel Le Concorde Quebec
#54 of 101 in Quebec City
2,200 reviews
0.7 mi away
Best Western Plus City Centre/Centre-Ville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Acadia
Hotel Acadia
#51 of 101 in Quebec City
989 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Jardin Ste-Anne
Hotel Jardin Ste-Anne
#69 of 101 in Quebec City
256 reviews
0.4 mi away
Auberge Aux Deux Lions
Auberge Aux Deux Lions
#4 of 101 in Quebec City
1,018 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Grande-Allee Hotel and Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Grande-Allee Hotel and Suites

Address: 601 Grande-Allee Est | (Near Lachevrotière), Quebec City, Quebec G1R 2K4, Canada
Location: Canada > Quebec > Quebec City > Downtown Quebec City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#43 Business Hotel in Quebec City
Price Range: $74 - $213 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Le Grande-Allee Hotel and Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Le Grande-Allee Hotel and Suites is built in a patrimonial Victorian building and combines historic charm with modern comfort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Priceline, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Le Grande-Allee Hotel and Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Grande-Allee Hotel Quebec City
Chateau Grande Allee
Le Grande-Allee Hotel And Suites Quebec/Quebec City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing