We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Loved the whole experience” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel de Glace

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Hotel de Glace
Ranked #37 of 101 Hotels in Quebec City
Certificate of Excellence
St. John's, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Loved the whole experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2014

went with my husband, 2 daughters and their fiancee's. Four of us did the overnight stay in a themed rooms. The other two did a day tour and we all did the dog sledding. Everyone thoroughly enjoyed the dog sledding and would love to go again. Everyone we encountered were very friendly and helpful, communicated very effectively with us in English as we spoke no french. The ice hotel was amazing. The themed rooms were all beautifully done, The chapel was breathtaking. The ice slide was a lot of fun and we had a ball at the ice bar. We went back to the Sheraton for dinner which was included in the package before returning to the ice hotel to sleep. We decided not to do the hot tubs. We followed all the other instructions for dressing for the overnight stay and I fell asleep almost as soon as I got into my sleeping bag and slept comfortably until morning. The Quebec Carnaval was on while we were there as well and we went and saw all the snow sculptures made our own maple syrup pops, had beaver tails for the first time...delicious.All in all it was a fantastic couple of days. So glad we did it.

Room Tip: I know a lot of people say don't bother with the themed rooms but I thought we are doing this on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Loretta R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

456 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    254
    143
    33
    10
    16
See reviews for
94
245
15
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (122)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brooklyn, NY
Level Contributor
91 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2014

This is a once in a lifetime experience. Yes, it's a bit expensive but you're not just getting a room you're getting a full day of entertainment and activities, plus the chance to say you've slept in an ice hotel. If you're going to come here do it right and stay overnight.

We booked the Nordic Escape package. We were a little concerned that we were either going to freeze or be too exhausted to do anything the next day cause we wouldn't be able to sleep. Neither turned out to be true.

We arrived at 4pm in time for the second to last tour in English. It was a quick tour but it gave you a chance to ask questions about the ice hotel and how it was constructed, which was fascinating. After that we spent a few hours wandering around, exploring and taking photos. We left the premises for dinner but then returned just in time to try our hand at ice sculpting in hotel bar, which was really fun. Each visitor gets a voucher for a free drink at the hotel bar. The drinks come in an ice glass, which is awesome but doesn't leave much room for liquid so the drinks are pretty small.

We caught the last training session (in English), which was around 11pm. After learning about how to use our mummy sleeping bags we took advantage of the hot tub and sauna. The hot tun was not very hot but it was still fun to be outside in a hot tub in the middle of winter. The sauna was hot so by the time you had to run back inside the cool air actually felt refreshing.

Getting into the mummy sleeping bags was a bit of a challenge. If you're small you'll have lots of room to wiggly around and get comfy but if you're over 6' 1" you may want to request an oversize sleeping bag otherwise the regular one may be a bit too snug. The bags are very warm. I found myself stripping off layers once I got inside.

In the morning people will come around giving you wake up calls (yelling outside the curtain that is your door) between 8 - 8:30 am. Breakfast is in a warm area but getting out of the warm sleeping bag to run to the warm area is hard to do because it is just that cozy.

Although you need to clean out your locker by 11am you still have access to the grounds after breakfast. We ended up going snow-shoeing and tubing in the late morning/ early afternoon. While snow-shoeing we came across the giant molds they use to create the ice hotel. It was really cool to see. If you're interested in architecture or the construction of the hotel definitely put on some snow shoes and go find this area! They also have a break spot where they leave you cups and hot chocolate, which was an unexpected surprise we happened upon as we were exploring. The Celsius Pavillion (which has lockers, showers and breakfast) also has free hot cocoa, tea and coffee 24 -7 which was a nice bonus to help you warm up at various times throughout your stay and between outdoor activities.

Room Tip: You are only in your room to sleep. if you're on a budget the plain rooms are fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank chins01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2014

We just got back home in NS from spending a night at the Ice Hotel. This was our first time going to Quebec and it was one of those bucket list things that you should absolutely do if you get the chance! I did not stay in one of the "theme rooms" we just got a basic room for a little less money. It was still nice. And the snow walls make it very quiet at night in your room. There are led lights all through the hotel which make it very pretty, especially at night. This is not a place you should stay more than one night. Once you see it all, I can't imagine staying another night. It's a great experience. And I loved our time there.

The staff were all very friendly, and we had no problem speaking English to everyone since we know very little French. After checking in, they take your bags and move them down for you to a building off to the side of the Ice Hotel to be stored in a locker that you can access whenever you need something. The hotel is open to the public until 8:00 so you can view and take photos of all the rooms.

I had a number of questions before our trip that I didn't really find answers to from their website, so I'll try to answer those questions in my review now that I've been there:

- What to do when we get there since you can't go in your room until 9:00? We checked in, looked around the gift shop a bit. At 4:00 we did the English tour around the ice hotel where they give you info on how it was built ect. Grabbed a bite to eat for supper in the dining area. Then we did the mandatory sleep training meeting where they tell you how to use the sleeping bags and what to wear at night. We walked all over the hotel checking out all the rooms, and taking many pictures. Then had a couple drinks in the ice bar, there are benches covered in furs for sitting. Went down the ice slide and looked around in the chapel. Around 7:30 we rented snowshoes and a head lamp and did a 2km trail at night through the woods behind the hotel. As long as we were walking around and moving we stayed pretty warm. We also got in the hot tubs at 9:00 before going to our room. After the hotel closes to visitors, they have some games & ice carving activities in the bar for the over night guests if you want to participate.

- What if you have to pee? Well, there are no washrooms in the ice hotel itself, there is an outdoor porta potty at one end. Which has a little heater in it, so it's warm when you go in, and they smell good. There are real washrooms in a building called the Celsius beside one end of the hotel. This building also has the lockers for your luggage, and a locker room with a couple showers. Either washroom you use, if you have to go in the middle of the night, you're getting out in the cold and putting your boots on the walk there.

- Is there food to eat there? Yes, nothing fancy, but there is a small cafeteria style restaurant in the Celsius building. We got a sandwich and drink after checking in for supper just so we wouldn't have to go find somewhere else to eat in town. They also include breakfast in the morning.

- How can there be fireplaces? They don't give off heat. I'm glad I didn't pay extra to have a room with a fireplace now that I know this. It's more just to make it pretty.

- Are there doors on the rooms? No. They all have a big heavy curtain to pull across.

- Getting in the outdoor hot tubs... It's cold walking to the hot tub! But they have bathrobes and towels you can get from the desk to use. And it's not a far walk from the Celsius bldg where the locker rooms are for changing. Bring sandals/flip flops so it's easier to get your shoes off at the tub. There are 4 hot tubs, and one sauna. The hot water warms up your body temperature, so you heat up your sleeping bag faster when you go to bed. It was great!

- There are switches in all the beds to turn off the led lights at night in the rooms

- Getting OUT of the sleeping bag in the morning is really cold! Put socks blocking the holes in the top of your boots and use the cover with draw string that your sleeping bag was in to put your jacket in on the floor over night. It helps keep your jacket and boots from getting extra cold over night.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank LMCHJP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2014

The Hotel de Glace is a beautiful sight! An experience never to be forgotten. It should be a must on everyone's list. Such a cozy and warm sleep! However the front desk staff should learn to communicate with English speaking patrons a little better. After spending $600.00 to stay a night I can't believe they charged me another $10.00 for a shuttle to the Sheridan! You'd think they would appreciate our business a little more?

Room Tip: We had the 2nd largest room with a fireplace. There's no need to spend the extra money on this...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ann c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
Level Contributor
25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2014 via mobile

A beautiful hotel. But there is nothing to do until 9pm. We checked in at 5 and did the 25 minute tour of the hotel. Then a 10 minute instructional on how to use your sleeping bag. After that there was absolutely nothing to do until 9pm. You can only walk around the ice hotel and take pictures for so long. We spent most of the time sitting in the reception area with a group of other bored guests.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Dab101238
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TORONTO
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2014

I absolutely loved taking a tour of the Hotel de Glace, We had a drink fir for the ice castle in our very own ice shot glass. We were able to see every room, which was neat since they each had their own theme. It was cold but bearable, we did not stay overnight but it was a great atmosphere and definitely a must see if in Quebec.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MELISSA P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
51 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2014

Super easy to check-in and enjoy the sites. 4pm was the perfect time to arrive! Gave us enough time to get checked-in, enjoy a maple taffy stick, go on the 5pm English tour, attend the mandatory meeting for how to sleep comfortably, tour each room/suite on our own, grab our lunch/dinner (part of our tour price), enjoy a few cocktails at the ice bar and be ready to settle in for the night by 9pm.

We forgot our bathing suits so we couldn't enjoy the outdoor hot tubs or the sauna. P.S. Bring sandals with you.

Recommendation 1: Pre-pay for the tour online to save as the tour is only 25 mins long. Worth it to get the lunch with it as we were able to eat right up until 8pm and the posted food prices at the Cafe Express where quite high.

Recommendation 2: One thing they don't mention on the website when preparing to visit is to bring extra socks as you need a dry pair to put on when going to sleep for the night.

All-in-all a great time and a great experience.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Paula B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Quebec City hotels
7.1 mi away
Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac
Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac
#15 of 101 in Quebec City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,912 reviews
0.5 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Quebec Resort
7.1 mi away
Auberge Saint-Antoine
Auberge Saint-Antoine
#3 of 101 in Quebec City
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,907 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.9 mi away
Hilton Quebec
Hilton Quebec
#35 of 101 in Quebec City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,516 reviews
9.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN PREMIER Hotel l'Aristocrate
6.8 mi away
Hotel du Vieux-Quebec
Hotel du Vieux-Quebec
#1 of 101 in Quebec City
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,455 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel de Glace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de Glace

Property: Hotel de Glace
Address: 9530, rue de la Faune, Quebec City, Quebec G1G 5H9, Canada
Location: Canada > Quebec > Quebec City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Family Hotel in Quebec City
#41 Romantic Hotel in Quebec City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel de Glace 3.5*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located at only 10 minutes from Québec City, the Hotel de Glace is open from January until March. Enter a magical world where snow and ice are transformed into fabulous decors. Come to live a magical night in one of the 36 rooms and suites. Enjoy a cocktail and relax in the exterior hot tubs and sauna. The Hôtel de Glace is a must see attraction to be discovered in family, in couple or between friends this winter! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Despegar.com so you can book your Hotel de Glace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De Glace Hotel
Ice Hotel Quebec
Ice Canada Hotel
Ice Hotel Canada
Ice Hotel Montreal
Hotel De Glace Quebec/Quebec City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing