We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“A day to remember!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel de Glace

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel de Glace
Ranked #37 of 108 Hotels in Quebec City
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
78 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“A day to remember!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

Visiting the Hotel de Glace was in my list for a long time. I didn't spend the night there, just made a quick tour before heading to Quebec City's Carnival. But it was worth it! It's amazing what those guys can make just with ice. I hope one day I can go back and spend the night.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Alebasi85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

401 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    230
    119
    29
    9
    14
See reviews for
78
223
13
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (117)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
NJ
Level Contributor
34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2012

We did not stay here but we did visit. I suggest going there when it's less busy (not the weekends).

It's really hard to not get lost and miss a hallway with rooms and suites. If you can follow the map, I suggest you do (we couldn't really follow the map, all the halls looked the same haha).
We did not try the free tour, but maybe we should have.

The theme this year was the Inuit culture. The designs in the rooms, suites, hallways, and sculptures were really beautiful and incorporated the theme very well.

Besides dressing warm in general, if you're going to drink at the bar I suggest wearing gloves. The glasses are made out of ice so your hands get really cold really fast. It's good to not wear jeans and wear snow pants or a material similar to that so you can try the slides. There are two, the North Face one inside and the Giant Slide outside. Both were fun but the Giant Slide was obviously a lot bigger, funner, and faster. We also liked the Maple Taffy at the store outside, it was a fun and very sweet experience. The chapel is very pretty and my friend had her wedding here, it was a great experience.

Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Kaysiah-chan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2012

If you enjoy the concept of sculpture in ice and enjoy some novelty, this is a good activity for a couple of hours. Make sure to wear warm clothes and insulated shoes. Everything in this place is literally ice cold.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
Helpful?
2 Thank TravelerET134
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sudbury, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
120 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2012

We have always wanted to stay in an "ice hotel" so when our family gave us a Groupon for a night at Hotel de Glace, we were thrilled. Despite the unseasonally warm weather and rainy night, we enjoyed ourselves immensely and experienced the best night's sleep we've had in years. No light, no sound, nice and warm = good sleep. The person at the registration desk was incredibly helpful and we were issued a pass that enabled us to move around the hotel at our leisure, enjoy hot chocolate/coffee/tea and snacks in the overnight guests area, take tours, play games and drowse by the fire.

The hotel is amazing - creatively conceived, carved, and crafted. We loved the theme of First Nations that permeates this year's decor and our tour guide was knowledgable and friendly. After dining at a suggested (and very delicious) restaurant - La Traite in Wendake - we returned for orientation on how to use the sleeping bags and stay dry and warm in the 26 degree temperatures, quite a challenge on a rainy night. The lodge is clean, modern and warm - could use more tables and room for us high-maintenance girls who need hairdrying and make up to feel human in the morning.

A tip for anyone staying over - bring nothing into the lodge (they give you lockers) except your clothing on your back, your bathing suit, whatever you are sleeping in - recommend synthetic long johns, underwear, socks and a hat - and your toiletries. Leave everything else in the car. We dragged all of our luggage in and shouldn't have. Too much trouble.

After a warm and wet outdoor hot tub and a hot, dry sauna, we changed in the lodge and settled into our room for a comfy night. Breakfast is rather a cafeteria-style affair - could use a food upgrade. Our passes were good for wandering around the hotel all day, participating in a variety of outdoor activities and communing with the huskies that were on exhibit by a local dog-sled company (that's another experience we recommend).

We loved this one-of-a-kind experience and highly recommend it to people with curiosity and adventuresome spirit!

Room Tip: You can tour the gorgeous themed rooms all day but for sleeping (and that is all you can do in the r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TwoTravelers21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
141 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2012

The hotel represents the best of technology, nature & art. Went for the day & was well worth it. The ice blocks were pure & clear with magnificent carvings. The rooms are one of a kind. Kids loved the indoor slide, the outdoor slide, maze & igloo. The Sugar Shack was generous with the maple taffy which you make on the snow. The entry fee lets you have access all day, so you make come back & see the night lights. Wonderful experience.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JOL69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, New Hampshire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2012

I bought this trip via a groupon and tried to cancel as my spouse is sick. They were not sympathetic, were very unhelpful and pretty much told me "too bad." They offered to allow me to pay $175/pp to come back at another time. So, basically I would have to pay $350 in addition to the $200 I paid for to come back at another time... Rude, rude, rude. Not worth it.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
18 Thank RJ O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
46 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2012

The hotel is really a work of art, the themed suites are amazing. We stayed here with our two children in the Owl suite. It was a great experience. You can go in juring the day but that is when it is open for public viewing, the public leaves at 7:00 pm and you can see your room around 8:00 or 9:00. While you waite there is an information session on how to sleep there, a bar, as well as activities. When you are ready for bed they suggest you have a hot tub then a sauna, both on the premises, then get ready for bed. You sleep in a "mummy" sleeping bag, very warm but very constricting. The only problem I had was that I had a few beers at the bar and woke up having to go, it is a little way to the toilets. My son and I did not last the whole night, he was too hot and I did not go back after my second bathroom run, my wife and daughter had no problems at all. If I had a complaint it would be the powdered egg breakfast they served, for the money you pay it was very disappointing. It was a once in a life time experience, I would not do it again but I am glad I did it!

Room Tip: Get a room near the welcome center, the washrooms are a lot closer. The themed rooms are nice but yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Icebin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Quebec City hotels
0.5 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Quebec Resort
7.1 mi away
Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac
Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac
#18 of 108 in Quebec City
4.5 of 5 stars 3,364 reviews
8.4 mi away
Hotel Le Bonne Entente
Hotel Le Bonne Entente
#32 of 108 in Quebec City
4.5 of 5 stars 568 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.1 mi away
Auberge Saint-Antoine
Auberge Saint-Antoine
#3 of 108 in Quebec City
5.0 of 5 stars 1,743 reviews
7.1 mi away
Hotel Le Clos St-Louis
Hotel Le Clos St-Louis
#20 of 108 in Quebec City
4.5 of 5 stars 471 reviews
6.9 mi away
Hotel Le Germain Quebec
Hotel Le Germain Quebec
#6 of 108 in Quebec City
5.0 of 5 stars 1,025 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel de Glace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de Glace

Property: Hotel de Glace
Address: 9530, rue de la Faune, Quebec City, Quebec G1G 5H9, Canada
Location: Canada > Quebec > Quebec City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Family Hotel in Quebec City
#41 Romantic Hotel in Quebec City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel de Glace 3.5*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located at only 10 minutes from Québec City, the Hotel de Glace is open from January until March. Enter a magical world where snow and ice are transformed into fabulous decors. Come to live a magical night in one of the 36 rooms and suites. Enjoy a cocktail and relax in the exterior hot tubs and sauna. The Hôtel de Glace is a must see attraction to be discovered in family, in couple or between friends this winter! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel de Glace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De Glace Hotel
Ice Hotel Quebec
Ice Canada Hotel
Ice Hotel Canada
Ice Hotel Montreal
Hotel De Glace Quebec/Quebec City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing