We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Hilton Quebec(Quebec City)
$494
$414
Hilton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
L'Hotel Port-Royal(Quebec City)
$235
$195
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$209
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$175
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
Savings alert! 11% below average rates

The price you found is 11% lower than this hotel's average rate of $196/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Hotel 71(Quebec City)
$236
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 11% below average rates

The price you found is 11% lower than this hotel's average rate of $265/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$341
$282
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$116
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 15% below average rates

The price you found is 15% lower than this hotel's average rate of $137/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Hotel Clarendon(Quebec City)
$190
$156
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$387
$362
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$211
getaroom.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (542)
Filter reviews
542 results
Traveler rating
300
165
39
15
23
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
300
165
39
15
23
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssleeping bagice slideice hotelonce in a lifetimeice sculpturesbucket listovernight guestshot tubthemed roomslong underwearsnow tubingice roomwedding chapeltheme suitetraining sessionbody temperatureserved in ice glasses
Filter
Updating list...
393 - 398 of 542 reviews
Reviewed January 30, 2012

I visited the Hotel de Glace on a tour recently with a group of 50.

We took a guided tour, and our group was split into 2 groups of 25 which was good. The tour guides speak both English and French.

The hotel is magnificent, and it's a great experience to be able to hear about how they construct it.

They have a wedding chapel, and we got to have a look inside as a couple had just tied the knot. Amazing to see.

There is a bar where drinks are served in ice glasses, however they are quite pricey as you'd expect (around C$8.50 for a little cocktail).

There is an slide inside the hotel that kids (and big kids) will love.

You are able to look around at all the rooms, as they overnight guests don't arrive until 9pm.

We didn't stay the night, and it's probably not something I'd do, but it looked like a fun adventure for those with the money and the nerves to endure it!

Room Tip: The rooms with the fireplaces are only 1 degree warmer than the rest (-4C as opposed to -5C)! Don't waste your money :)
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
3  Thank madsin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2012

this was a " bucket list " item for my husband and i- reserved via groupon which made upgrading to a beautifully carved "suite" much closer to the rather meagre amenities easier to swallow..the structure is stunning at night with lighting effects- we wore ski underwear and were perfectly toasty..agree with prior reviewer- just follow the written and verbal instructions and you'll be fine.
i would suggest reserving on a weekday; prices are lower and there is less risk of waiting for a hottub ( the staff recommend using it before bedtime, but there are only 2, as well as 1 dry sauna, so it must get pretty crowded at full capacity of up to 100 people! ) be also warned that there are no "ice bathrooms " so if you need to use the facilities in the middle of the night, you have to brave the elements and hike to the one! mens stall or5 womens at one end of the compound...or improvise a chamberpot..
still, happy we did it- would suggest just a visit as a warmer, cheaper alternative to the complete deal- but definitely at night to get the full lighting effect, and maybe have a signature " verglas " cocktail in an ice glass- delish !

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Nimbin59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2012

I took my daughter for her 30th birthday. The experience was more than we dreamed of! We had a backup room in case we could not make it through the night, it was not necessary. The staff was very knowledgable and helpful. The hotel is breathtaking. Our room was basic, but we both slept really well, actually the most comfortable bed we slept in on our trip. Just listen to the staff and don't overdress at night. I was extremely hot! The sleeping bags were a bit constricting, they are mummy bags designed to keep you warm. This was a "bucket" list item, I am glad we did it!!
Diane Sileo

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank dms21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2012

My boyfriend and I decided to do something different and try the ice hotel experience! We used a groupon to stay at the hotel which helped significantly with the cost! We opted to upgrade our room to a suite with a fireplace which I would recommend. The ice carvings were far more extravagant and the room was much larger than the ones without the fireplace. The fireplace did not let off any heat, it was just for "show" but added to the ambiance.

There was unlimited hot chocolate, tea and coffee available for overnight guests. The last part of the hotel was not completed when we were there but we were able to see the rooms that were still being worked on.

The ice carvings and attention to detail was outstanding. Everytime we went into a room we saw something different that we didn't see the time before. I was amazed at the level of insulation the snow provided.

The coldest part was going to and from the hot tub/sauna at night before going to bed! Definitely follow ALL of the instructions for sleeping at night. If you wear cotton you will more than likely sweat, get cold and will not be able to make it through the night. I would recommend taking a wool or fleece zip up sweater to wear to bed. I was a bit on the cool side and believe it would have been helpful and also easy to take off should you become too warm.

The only downsides to the hotel were:

1. there was a small cafe where you could have lunch but it was expensive and there was not a lot of options

2. there were NO activities at the ice hotel. You had to go elsewhere if you wanted to do something other than tour the hotel

3. there was a shuttle but it generally only ran to the Sheraton hotel around the corner or to some restaurants which were also nearby but we were not advised of. It would have been nice if there was a shuttle service to downtown as a cab ride was approximately $25 each way.

It was an adventure and unique experience to sleep in an ice hotel on a bed made of ice! I would recommend it to anyone who wants to do something different in the winter! We also had the benefit of a snowstorm the night we were there which added to the entire experience.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank twentiesgirl26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2012

It was super cold when we were there middle of January, but it was a sight to see! We stayed the night, but you can also go there and just see it and take a tour. The entire thin wasn't quite finished when we were there, but planned to be in full swing for the winter carnival season. If you stay the night you get a VIP behind the scenes tour. There aren't many food options on the grounds, but there is a snack shop. Our stay included breakfast which was fine. Plenty of free hot cocoa and tea for the duration of your stay! Drinking out of an ice glass at the bar was also an experience.

Room Tip: The more you spend on a room the more elaborate the ice carvings and decor. You can get a basic room without the ice carvings decor for the same experience and a little less money. I think they even offer a suite.
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Wendy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews