We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice but...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Manoir Victoria
Ranked #22 of 102 Hotels in Quebec City
Certificate of Excellence
Gatineau Canada
Level Contributor
51 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
“Nice but...”
Reviewed August 14, 2012

The hotel is well situated. Right around the corner of St-Jean street which is great for shopping. There are loads of restaurants nearby to suit every budget: a sushi shop, an Ashton, a McDo, crêperies (pancakes), Paillard, (best croissants in Québec, pastries, breakfasts, dinners, great ice cream) and higher end restaurants like Le Patriarche. The hotel itself has a high end restaurant called Boréal that serves game but we did not give it a try.

We had two quiet bedrooms with 2 double beds on the third floor facing Hotel Dieu Hospital. Not a very rejoicing view. I couldn't help thinking about the sick and the dying every time we were waiting for the parking valet. The chambermaid was excellent. The rooms were very clean, not fancy but cosy.

The breakfasts were very good. Hot and cold buffets. ( lots of fruit, choice of cereal, cheeze, pancakes, bacon, sausage, ham, eggs,hash browns, muffins, juices etc...)

The staff is pleasant and very polite. The pool and showers, locker rooms are well kept and their is an lifeguard/attendant at all times.

Here is my but... when you get to the hotel after driving for hours there is a nice long staircase waiting for you. This hotel is not for the physically challenged. I'm appaled that they just made renovations and that they managed to have a new restaurant that gives right on St-Jean street , at street level , but that they didn't bother building a corridor or an acces to the hotel for the physically challenged. And they won't even let a poor old man walking with a cane walk through their precious restaurant so that he can avoid the stairs. For this reason, I cannot give the Manoir Victoria a higher note.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank pocoapoco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,266 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    627
    491
    100
    31
    17
See reviews for
424
484
36
78
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (218)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
glasgow
Level Contributor
53 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2012

Stayed here with family for 2 nights. We had a room with 2 double beds with 2 windows at different sides,one overlooking the street which unfortunately was very noisy at 5 am when the steet cleaner starts and the refuse truck arrives. The room next door to us was occupied the 2nd night and we could here everything. It was a lovely small hotel so c'est la vie!
The bathroom was quite tight and the beds very short so curl up! The staff were pleasant and location was ideal, though I would ask for a room not onto the steet if you wanting a longer lie in.
No parking nearby so had to pay expensive valet.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank macpherson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2012

Very nice hotel, excellent service, great location - withing walking distance to all attaractions, a lot of great places to eat and shop, very nice breakfast buffet in the hotel. Quebec city is a joy to visit, it is like a little piece of Europe on American continent! There are many wonderful thing to do and enjoy in the area. We enjoyed city walking tour with the excellent tour guide Joyselyn, we loved boat tour on Ste. Lawrence river. We visited Monmorency waterfalls, Orlean island, Ste. Anne Canyon.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank allenDetroit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doylestown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
42 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2012

We stayed here for three nights. The rooms were clean and the beds were very comfortable. We stayed on the 6th floor which was very quiet. The location was great. Everything in Old Quebec was within walking distance. The pool was nice for the kids. Their only disappointment was that they were not allowed to jump in the pool. (It had a lifeguard and jumping was not allowed.) The staff was nice and very helpful. My 10 year old managed to clog the toilet shortly after we arrived. The front desk sent someone up to fix it within 5 minutes of our call. The only down side was that there are only 2 elevators that moved very slowly so there was sometimes a wait to go up to your room.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pam V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton
Level Contributor
37 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2012

This was my 4th stay at this hotel. Over the years I have booked "regular" rooms, one with a fireplace and the one bedroom suite. All were very spacious. The staff is great and the location is perfect for wandering the old city as well as the areas outside the wall.
Breakfast is a bit pricey but there are numerous restaurants around the corner on rue St. Jean.
The only concern would be the stairs leading up to the lobby if someone had a physical disability.
It's a great hotel.

Room Tip: The suite if you can afford it is great. The rooms with a fireplace are also great especially if you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Herbiesmom55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
grand rapids, michigan
Level Contributor
161 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2012

Our room is overlooking rue St jean, the hotel entrance is around the corner. I feel like we are on bourbon street, classy version...without drunks. The hotel is new inside...big clean rooms. The pool is very nice...river shaped...no hot tub. There's a mini bar fridge that is not full in case you need refrigeration , but no microwave. Free Internet.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank victoryah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2012 via mobile

We stayed for 3 nights in July and were very impressed! The service was great;all the staff were pleasant and helpful! Everyone was bilingual which made communication easy. We had breakfast incl. and we were very happy with this. Our room was clean, modern and reasonably spacious. The beds were very comfortable. Our room had a great view and we could see the Mill View quebec film from our windows.

The hotel is well situated to restaurants, shops, tourist areas. We took the ecolobus for $1.00 to various locations. What a great system! We would definitely return. A caution - the entrance has a tall staircase to the lobby without an elevator. If stairs are a problem, might not be a great option. There are of course elevators to 6 hotel floors.
A real gem!

Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank ObjectiveReviews26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Quebec City hotels
0.4 mi away
Auberge Saint-Antoine
Auberge Saint-Antoine
#3 of 102 in Quebec City
2,023 reviews
0.2 mi away
Le Manoir d'Auteuil
Le Manoir d'Auteuil
#2 of 102 in Quebec City
1,115 reviews
0.3 mi away
Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac
Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac
#15 of 102 in Quebec City
4,114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Palace Royal
Hotel Palace Royal
#32 of 102 in Quebec City
658 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel 71
Hotel 71
#9 of 102 in Quebec City
1,639 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Clarendon
Hotel Clarendon
#39 of 102 in Quebec City
1,388 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Manoir Victoria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Manoir Victoria

Property: Hotel Manoir Victoria
Address: 44 Cote du Palais, Quebec City, Quebec G1R 4H8, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Quebec > Quebec City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Quebec City
#5 Luxury Hotel in Quebec City
#24 Family Hotel in Quebec City
#27 Romantic Hotel in Quebec City
#38 Business Hotel in Quebec City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Manoir Victoria 4*
Number of rooms: 156
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the historic, culturally vibrant and gastronomic activity of Old Quebec, Hotel Manoir Victoria extends a warm and friendly welcome in an inviting decor that was recently renovated and upgraded. With its unique European style, the 4-star hotel offers 156 rooms and suites, some of which are high-luxury units with ambiance fireplace and whirlpool bath, eight meeting and function rooms that can accommodate up to 175 people, two restaurants including the inspired cuisine of "CHEZ BOULAY - BISTROBOREAL", free wireless high-speed Internet access, an indoor pool, a sauna, a fitness centre, an Internet lounge and indoor parking with valet service. In addition, the << Spa du Manoir>> offers a full range of beauty and well-being services which, combined with an expert advice and a relaxing environment, will wonderfully complement your stay: Therapeutic massages, body treatments and esthetics care are provided with first class expertise, effective products and warm human contact. Eight (8) treatment rooms are at your disposal to relax and rejuvenate. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelClick, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelsforEveryone, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Manoir Victoria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Manoir Victoria Hotel Quebec City
Hotel Manoir Victoria Quebec/Quebec City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing