We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dirty tanks”
Review of Aquarium du Quebec

Aquarium du Quebec
Ranked #24 of 218 things to do in Quebec City
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Come and experience Parc Aquarium du Quebec! Travel into the ecosystems of the St. Lawrence River and Canadian waters and discover northern plant and animal life. This 16-hectare site is the only one of its kind in Quebec. As you make this amazing journey all the way to the North Pole, you'll have the chance to observe 10,000 fresh- and salt-water fish specimens, reptiles, amphibians, invertebrates, as well as marine mammals, such as Atlantic and Pacific walruses, seals and polar bears. Happy discoveries!
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children
Greenfield, Massachusetts
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Dirty tanks”
Reviewed June 2, 2014

I went to the aquarium this weekend, it was not a good experience.The pools for the outdoor exhibits were not clean and had algae in them. The space provided for the animals seemed inadequate.
The inside tanks were poorly lit and had a brown algae growing inside them so you had trouble seeing the fish.
I have been to many aquariums and this was the worst.
The restaurants were closed and there are not enough bathrooms.
Save your money and do something else.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank buschick2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

808 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    297
    327
    130
    35
    19
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Plattsburgh, New York
Level 6 Contributor
156 reviews
78 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Not so great...”
Reviewed May 19, 2014

Although the jelly fish exhibit is spectacular I can't say anything else positive. Sad polar bears pacing....

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Angela H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pune
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Excellent, time well spent!”
Reviewed May 1, 2014

I went to Quebec on a business trip and had a day spare. It had snowed quite a bit so there weren't many options for us. My colleague was particularly excited about visiting the aquarium and I just joined him along.
Turns out I got more excited than him once we entered!
The jellyfish tanks are incredibly beautiful, the Walrus, Seals and Polar Bears we don't get to see in India, so it was really an exciting 2 hours.
The Aquarium is clean, well organised, help and guidance is available and there is a restaurant as well.
Do visit for sure if you have children, they will be very thrilled!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank AmarTheNomad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, NS, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
179 reviews
45 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“A Nice Afternoon. Recommended, though Better in Summer”
Reviewed April 29, 2014

We spent a very enjoyable couple of hours at the aquarium with our 2 young children (7 & 5 Yrs Old). If they were a bit older, we could likely have spent another hour, as there was a seal show coming up later. The polar bears were a real highlight. One of them only walked alongside the water the whole time, but the other swam right up against the glass for a long period, which was very neat. There was a Polar Bear exhibit while we were there, but there wasn't a whole lot to it. They fed the polar bear by dropping down some fish from up above and talked about the bears, but it was 90% in French so I couldn't understand too much.

The jellyfish display was also very interesting and beautiful.

It is a short ride from downtown. We went just after lunch so that we wouldn't have to buy a meal there (I heard it was quite expensive) and hoping it would be a bit warmer. The weather was acceptable (mid-April), but you can tell there would be more stuff going on in the summer time.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank wsekem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Worth a short drive from Old Quebec”
Reviewed April 19, 2014

We were tourists staying in the center of Quebec, so visiting the Aquarium required a 15-minute taxi ride each way. However, even though some of the outdoor attractions and restaurants were still closed for winter in mid-April, we appreciated what was open to see. The indoor exhibits are well designed and engaging. We also saw the two adorable arctic foxes being fed and caught most of the morning seal show. The polar bears are always a favorite animal and so we were glad to see two of them interacting with their handlers. As other have said, wear warm clothes if you visit in the winter, but it's worth the trip and the admission price is more than fair.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Adam20191
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Aquarium du Quebec also viewed

 

Been to Aquarium du Quebec? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing