We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (551)
Filter reviews
551 results
Traveler rating
62
138
156
102
93
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
62
138
156
102
93
See what travelers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 551 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed here for two nights on our tour of eastern Canada and didn't realise how far it was from the centre. Breakfast was ok and room was quite large and the room was cleaned each day. They also had a small swimming pool situated just off the lobby.

Date of stay: September 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
1  Thank charlesj305
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneviève M, Responsable des relations clients at Hotel Universel Quebec, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hello Charles, thank you for taking a few minutes to share your feedback on TripAdvisor. Although it is clearly indicated on our website we understand that you were disappointed with our location. However we are happy to know that you did appreciate our hotel and installations. Best regards, Monique T.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2019

Would not recommend this hotel. What has it got going for it ? In it is Quebec. The room needs renovating, room we had was not at Acceptable standard of cleanliness. Plumbing was falling apart. Long way from the centre.

Room tip: Book another hotel
Date of stay: July 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Grumpyscrooge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneviève M, Responsable des relations clients at Hotel Universel Quebec, responded to this reviewResponded July 20, 2019

Thank you for taking a few minutes to share your feedback on Google. We are disappointed that your stay did not meet your expectations. When an aspect of your room does not satisfy you, we invite you to communicate with the reception staff, who will do everything in their power to make your stay a success. We apologize for the inconvenience and be assured that a follow-up of your comments will be ensured with the concerned teams. Sincerely, Monique T.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2019

This hotel is situated a fair distance from the tourist sights, they are reachable via a bus journey, the bus stop is just outside the hotel on the opposite side of the road.

From the outside this hotel (and on the pictures) looks very nice as it has a pool a Jacuzzi and a pizza restaurant attached and accessed through the Sports bar.

We were allocated Room 126 which we think had been upgraded recently as we had laminate flooring (others in our party did not). This room is on the lower floor and it does feel rather like you are descending into a dungeon. The ice maker is right outside the door and you are separated from the downstairs "lounge" area by a corridor door and 1 room. Outside the window you have a view of the fire escape (which is used as a cigarette congregation area) and the car park. We keep our curtains closed all the time we were there (2 nights).
The room itself was furnished with old battered furniture which had seen better days. The bathroom had black mold in the opposite corner to the shower/tap end, but otherwise looked like it had some newish fitments.

I was a little nervous of the trailing electrical extensions which were used to plug most things into and that appeared to be connected to a socket which was not completely secured to the wall.

When I tried to make a cup of coffee in the coffee maker, it did not work. The jug for the maker had clearly not been washed properly as when I wiped it round with a tissue, it came away brown. Then when I switched it on, it would not work. On phoning the Reception, the kind lady brought us two replacement machines which did not connect to the extensions, and found a third which did work, and produced a reasonable coffee before bed.

On our first morning, breakfast was provided for our coach party in the pizza restaurant and this was a comfortable roomy environment. The second morning however it was in the Sports bar. The seating (high stools and tables) was not particularly comfortable for the more senior of the party, and the self serve area was chaotic at best, although the staff did try to keep up with the enormous influx of people. So I think, also space them out in 30 min gaps next time.

The staff on the front desk were very helpful and polite and were happy to repeat for guest after guest where the bus was, what number and where to get off. Well done ladies.

Despite this I would not stay here again the decor was dark, dated and dismal.

Room tip: Do not have room 126
Date of stay: May 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank toddlerpants
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneviève M, Responsable des relations clients at Hotel Universel Quebec, responded to this reviewResponded July 17, 2019

Thank you for taking a few minutes to share your feedback on Google. We are disappointed that your stay did not meet your expectations. When an aspect of your room does not satisfy you, we invite you to communicate with the reception staff, who will do everything in their power to make your stay a success. We apologize for the inconvenience and be assured that a follow-up of your comments will be ensured with the concerned teams. Sincerely, Monique T.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2019 via mobile

We stayed for 2 nights as a part of a tour with my family.
The hotel is well located with a Mall 2 blocks from there. It’s not a new venue but rooms are clean and have a good size. Air conditioning is excellent.

The breakfast was not good, even though we were in the tour group, other hotels gave us much better breakfast.

The internet was bad, it kept disconnecting every 15 minutes and have to wait or reconnect to use it. Very unpleasant to watch a movie on my tablet.

Also wake up call didn’t work.

Acceptable hotel if you want to stay passing by.

Date of stay: July 2019
Trip type: Traveled with family
Thank bustos_daniel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneviève M, Responsable des relations clients at Hotel Universel Quebec, responded to this reviewResponded July 15, 2019

Thank you for taking a few minutes to share your feedback on TripAdvisor. We are disappointed that your stay did not meet your expectations. When an aspect of your room does not satisfy you, we invite you to communicate with the reception staff, who will do everything in their power to make your stay a success. We apologize for the inconvenience and be assured that a follow-up of your comments will be ensured with the concerned teams. Sincerely, Monique T.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2019

I was really happy with the room I was allocated considering I was checking in solo. It had two big double beds, a self-contained kitchen/dining area, a decent size closet/storage space and all the amenities you would want. The pool area is quite lovely as is the lobby. It's nowhere near 5 star but more than satisfactory for a short stay.

Room tip: ask for a room with balcony overlooking the indoor pool area, it's quite pretty.
Date of stay: May 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maria M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneviève M, Responsable des relations clients at Hotel Universel Quebec, responded to this reviewResponded July 1, 2019

Hello, First of all, thank you for taking the time to leave us an opinion on your experience in our hotel. We are pleased to note that all aspects that we consider most valuable have met your expectations. Looking forward to welcoming you again soon, Monique T.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews