We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“It was ok for what we needed” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Universel Quebec

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Hotel Universel Quebec
Ranked #84 of 101 Hotels in Quebec City
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“It was ok for what we needed”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2012

We booked this hotel via expedia and got a very good "last minute" rate (same as hotwire.com). For the price we paid, I would say it was ok but if we had paid the regular price, I would have been very disappointed. One thing that stood out was the pool/spa area. It was extremely clean... Too bad we didn’t have a chance to try. The room was ok. Beds weren’t that comfortable and bathroom was small. Staff were courteous and helpful. Overall, I'd recommend this hotel for less than $80/night... more than that, it's not worth it.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank danyka006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Responsable relations clients at Hotel Universel Quebec, responded to this review, July 4, 2012
Good day,

We thank you for your comment about our hotel. Comments are important to us to be able to improve our services and the guest's experience.

We take good note of all your comments to keep improving our facilities and we are glad you liked the spa area (even if you didn't have time to try it).

In hoping to welcome you again.

Thank you

Hotel Universel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

369 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    48
    106
    110
    53
    52
See reviews for
131
108
20
54
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2012

This hotel is great if you want a Cheap 4 Star hotel in St Foy, this is the place to go. However, Do NOT leave anything in your room that they can mistake as theirs. I have had my towel for 6 years so it has sentimental value and I left it on top of the coat hangers to dry off. However, Housekeeping took it and now I do not have my towel.Only I can hope that they can resolve this problem. Also, first impressions when arriving, The hotel was newly renovated, however they used cheap materials. Also, I was in a standard room and it has no couch. Next, the push-down thing at the hotel was chipped. The television has about 30 channels and only about 10 are English. Tip: If you want more channels, scan for them in the settings by clicking Menu in the Remote. There are a lot of groups in this hotel so it can be a bit loud in the hotel. Overall it is an OK hotel and I would rate it 3 stars but them taking my towel really ruined my experience.

Room Tip: Do not get 1st floor because a lot of student groups and 2nd floor has a lot of regular travel group...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Austin Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelUniversel, Responsable relations clients at Hotel Universel Quebec, responded to this review, June 18, 2012
Good day,

We thank you for your comment about our hotel. We take all comments in order to improve our services and facilities.

We are veru sorry about your lost towel. The team did everything they could to find your towel and give it back to you as soon as possible. We worked hard with the housekeeping team to figure out where it was and we are still looking for it.

We take good note of the comments about the rooms, we'll use them to improve our rooms. Television has only 10 channels in English because we are in en french province, but there are a variety of english channels (sports, news, show, etc.)

It is true that we have groups but we always try to isolate them as much as possible to reduce the noise they make.

In hoping to welcome you again in our hotel.

Thank you

Hotel Universel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Quebec City hotels

Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
52 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2012

The hotel smells old furniture and carpets, though they renovated the hotel, they obviously used very low quality materials and unprofessional contractors. Bathrooms are uncomfortably small. The pool aria is surrounded with plastic trees and grass.
The rooms are ok, beds are comfortable.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MontrealIkra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelUniversel, Responsable relations clients at Hotel Universel Quebec, responded to this review, May 28, 2012
Good day,

We thank you for your comment about our hotel: they are important to help us improve our services.

It is true that the hotel has been renovated three years ago, but a lot a work is done each week to keep the hotel in a great shape.

We are also happy to know that your room was comfortable, and we take really good note of all other comments so we will use them to give our guests the best experience possible.

In hoping to welcome you again.

Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kalamazoo
Level Contributor
31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2012

If you're participating or attending a sporting event at Laval University be advised that this hotel is right across the street.
Our room was good, not spotless but clean. Others in our group had complaints - one person said his room had NO windows, another said he had only a tiny clothes rack - but ours, on the 3rd floor, was entirely adequate. Others on the 3rd floor seemed to be similar to ours and so that's the floor I'd recommend. There is an elevator.
The front desk staff is VERY helpful and fluent in both French and English. Missing light bulbs in our bathroom were replaced within 30 minutes. Some of the maids speak only French which makes asking them for things problematic if that's not your language.
The pool is extremely inviting and was used by many of us.
The restaurant was uneven. My spaghetti was very good, my wifes lasagna less so. Service can be very slow and the restaurant does not serve alcohol but does allow you to bring your own.
Be advised that on many evenings as many as 5 or 6 tour buses pulled up and unloaded their passengers for dinner in dining rooms downstairs. This does not take place in the restaurant but it must put a strain on the kitchen staff and may explain the wait.
I did send a pair of pants out to be cleaned and they came back promptly the next day.
All in all, we didn't see the kind of mess described in other reviews but the hotel is not new and therefore doesn't shine the way some more recent buildings might.
I found it to be a fair value for the price we paid and, as I say, some of that price is for the location.

Room Tip: As I say, rooms on the 3rd floor were good as far as I could see.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank reedmantennis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelUniversel, Responsable relations clients at Hotel Universel Quebec, responded to this review, May 25, 2012
Hello,

We thank you for your comments about your recent in our hotel. We really appreciate all the comments, because they help us improve our services.

We are very happy to know you enjoyed the services of the hotel: staff, pool area, etc. We are always happy to know that our staff is doing a good job in helping our guests during their stay. Our frontdesk staff has to speak both French and English to give an excellent service to all guests at all times.

It is nice to know that you enjoyed your room. We would also like to know more about the other rooms you heard about, so that we could fix each one of them. Of course, we have different types of rooms, but they all have the same basic facilities.

I hoping to welcome you again

Thank you

Hotel Universel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Level Contributor
38 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2012

Oh dear... where to start? First impressions of this hotel were not favourable and sadly our stay confirmed this. I would not recommend this hotel to anyone.

On arrival, coming into the reception area, the floors were very dirty and there were lots of cups and glasses left everywhere. Adjoining this area is their famed Nordic Spa (more later) but it's very off-putting to be greeted by elderly men in mini speedos lolling around on the sofas sopping wet, letting it all hang out. There doesn't seem to be any decency policy applied by the hotel, so for those travelling with young kids, it's a bit of an eye opener.

When you get to the rooms, you heart sinks further. The concept of hoovering is alien and if you move the bed or chairs even slightly, endless horrors lurk beneath. The skirting boards in themselves were thick with dust. Also - safety doesn't seem to be their strong point. In the bathroom the hairdryer is wall mounted right by the basin and whatever way you position it, the extra long flex ends up in the basin. This is very worrying when the flex is worn and the wires can be seen. Also, for some reason the rooms don't have central lights, rather, they rely on two or three occasional lights which are next to useless. When I went in search of a powerpoint to charge my phone, none were to be found as the few powerpoints were all overloaded to power the lights, tv, coffee machine and on further looking, underneath all the tables were a mass of cables - a trip hazard that again surely can't be safe. I've also got to say that the AC / heater wasn't reliable and kept breaking down. Not what you want in -20C. Despite several pleas during my stay this was never looked at. Another problem was that every time I returned to my room the keycard never worked - I got really fed up walking back from the opposite end of the hotel to reception to continually get this reactivated. Their observation was that the card deactivated if I put it anywhere near my mobile phone / other cards etc. This doesn't happen in other hotels!

With reference to the Nordic Spa - this is a triumph of marketing over practicality. The look might have been lovely mid 70's when plastic flowers a-go-go were all the rage, but now it is tired and smells heavily of chlorine. Everything was dusty, damaged and shabby. When walking around the lobbies, there are also bare electic wires dangling down - another safety hazard. I really get the feeling this hotel struggles.

I must also mention Il or El Greco the restaurant attached to the hotel who, despite being a separate business, have the contract for breakfasts, meals etc with the hotel. We had vegetarians in our party which they knew about in advance. For three nights all they got was plain boiled sphagetti or a greek salad - this was not acceptable. Sadly, service went downhill badly and got to such a farcical level that after three nights we cancelled our contract with them and chose to eat elsewhere. Staff had been pared back to below a bare minimum and they just couldn't cope.

In total, therefore, I cannot recommend this hotel, which is really sad as it is in a great spot for the University and local amenities.

Room Tip: Don't!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank termon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelUniversel, Responsable relations clients at Hotel Universel Quebec, responded to this review, March 16, 2012
Dear client,

Your comments about your stay with us last February are most valuable to us. They help our team on improving our services and most important guest’s experiences, which we value greatly.

In response to your comments, we wish to add a few details to your group experience.

Regarding safety hazards and your comment of ‘’lack of power points’’, we feel it is very important to have sufficient power points to help our guests in achieving their daily tasks. We don’t have enough to put in every rooms but we have several of them at our customer service desk to hand out if any of our reusts are in need of one as it was the case for room 200 (your group) during the period your were visiting us.

The air conditioning machine requires a level of maintenance and we have no record of any machine breaking down during your stay. When a situation like yours occurs, we hope the customer will notify the problem he or she is having to our attention, so that we can quickly resolve the situation.

The Atrium (Nordic spa and pool), city regulation obligates us to maintain PH and chlorine to a certain level in order prevent any bacterial growth that may be harmful to humans. The smell of chlorine is present.

For the Greco Restaurant, the 7 breakfasts and 7 dinners scheduled. What we were told is that for each dinner: there were 3 options for vegetarians: noodles, salad or spanakopita. Those were the choices since it is a Greek restaurant and they mostly have meat and sea food. Also, they did many changes in your breakfast, menu even if it wasn’t included. The added the buffet table, they also bought chocolate milk especially for your group as it was asked. They have done a lot to meet your expectations. At the end, we never got real reasons why you wanted to cancel the last three days, and even without reasons, you got a 750$ credit for the meals that were cancelled.

The Hotel Universel goal is to give our guests the best experience possible in our hotel.

Thank you

Hôtel Universel Québec
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laval, Canada
Level Contributor
59 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2012

Seems that when you rent a room after Quebec 's Carnival it is possible that your room may be dirty... well this shouldn't be a trend. Someone forgot to clean my room the bed was done but too bad for me i found out the next morning by opening the window shades. Blood stain on bed sheet, kleenex behind sofa, plastic glasses near drawer and bathroom counter greasy look. The only good thing is that i was able to get 60% off my bill on checkout. Beware open the shades when entering your hotel room. One practical thing is that the hotel is just across the Laval University and PEPS .

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank G0lfGr0up
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelUniversel, Responsable relations clients at Hotel Universel Quebec, responded to this review, February 13, 2012
Goo day,

I want to thank you on behalf of the Hotel Universel Quebec staff for taking the time to give some feedback on your stay. Your comments are very valuable to us and will allow us to improve every aspect of our hotel.

We also want to apologize for not delivering our promise of exceeding all your guest expectations on this past stay.

In hoping of welcoming you again.

Thank you

Hotel Universel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
188 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2012

Buisness trip ..this hotel has very comfortable rooms with an awesome pool atrium..great if you have kids. Restaurant is very good and well priced.Service was exceptional overall great stay

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Paolo1005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelUniversel, Responsable relations clients at Hotel Universel Quebec, responded to this review, January 10, 2012
Good day,

We thank you for the comment you posted about our hotel. We really appreciate is and we take good note of all the comments in order to keep improving our services.


We are happy to know that the services and the facilties met your expectations. Plus, we are happy to know that you enjoyed the spa area and that you took some time to yourself.

In hoping to welcome you again,

Thank you

Hotel Universel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Quebec City hotels
6.0 mi away
Hotel Ambassadeur Quebec
Hotel Ambassadeur Quebec
#80 of 101 in Quebec City
3.0 of 5 bubbles 482 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hotel Plaza Quebec
Hotel Plaza Quebec
#53 of 101 in Quebec City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 294 reviews
2.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN PREMIER Hotel l'Aristocrate
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Hotel Classique
Hotel Classique
#54 of 101 in Quebec City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 301 reviews
3.9 mi away
Hotel Quebec Inn
Hotel Quebec Inn
#70 of 101 in Quebec City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 183 reviews
2.0 mi away
Clarion Hotel
Clarion Hotel
#89 of 101 in Quebec City
3.0 of 5 bubbles 391 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Universel Quebec? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Universel Quebec

Property: Hotel Universel Quebec
Address: 2300 Chemin Ste-foy, Quebec City, Quebec G1V 1S5, Canada
Location: Canada > Quebec > Quebec City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Spa Hotel in Quebec City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Universel Quebec 3*
Number of rooms: 160
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Universel is located in front of the Laval University, aproximately a 15 minute drive to Old Quebec. For a warm and very relaxing getaway in Quebec, Hotel Universel offers you the best with its exotic Atrium and Scandinavian Spa. Our 160 stylish rooms and suites will please both business people and tourists alike, in their quest for commodity, comfort and leisure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Universel Quebec reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Universel Quebec Quebec City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing