We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Universel Quebec
Nearby Hotels
$373
$315
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$189
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$184
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Le Manoir d'Auteuil(Quebec City)
$180
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
Hotel Palace Royal(Quebec City)
$209
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hotel 71(Quebec City)
$253
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hilton Quebec(Quebec City)
$181
$159
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Auberge Place D'Armes(Quebec City)
$188
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Auberge Aux Deux Lions(Quebec City)(Great Value!)
$149
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
$424
$260
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Reviews (468)
Filter reviews
468 results
Traveler rating
56
127
136
83
66
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
56
127
136
83
66
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe pool spa areahot tubnice hotelnice poolsauna
Filter
Updating list...
197 - 202 of 468 reviews
Reviewed August 23, 2011

I organized a nice short trip with my 5-years old daughter and friends to see the whales in Tadoussac/Baie-Ste-Catherine over the weekend. We slept 2 nights in this hotel. Unfortunately, the standard room we occupied had bedbugs!!!! We got back home on Sunday night, and I realized the problem on Monday morning. After the exterminator came over, I called the hotel for informing about the "problem" - they have not called me back yet ...

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Beluga07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelUniversel, Responsable relations clients at Hotel Universel Quebec, responded to this reviewResponded August 24, 2011

Good day,

We thank for taking your time writing comments about your stay in our hotel.

We have made all the tests and verifications in the room you were in and there were no bedbugs in the room on Monday. We checked the mattress, the sheets and the pillows and no bedbugs were found. The person who checked has a good training and would have seen them if their were some.

We are sorry for the inconvience you had back home, but it does not come from our hotel.

In hoping to see you again in our hotel,

Thank you,

Hotel Universel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2011

After a weekend of mediocre hotels, we decided to splurge and get a decent hotel somewhere wherewe can experience something different... The Info centre refered us here, called the hotel, and told us the parking, internet, and breakfast was free and had plenty of nice rooms still available

Upon arrival we decided to get a poolside "balcony" room with two queen beds for $249... a bit steep for a non-suite room at this star rating... but we wanted to spare no expense for the best experience we could ge there, the only thing different from the rate we were quoted was that the breakfast was no included (unfortunant but we decided to ignore this little issue).

When we first entered we were impressed on the size, the remodeled bathroom, and the nice beds. But we noticed the room wall was bare, the design of the bath was actually bad (faucets hit the base of tub and water ran on the floor), there was no fridge (we had to pay an extra $10 for one per night) and the worst part... we did NOT have a balcony (only a walkout to the pool/spa area).

Im sorry but when you pay $249 for a balconied room, you would expect a balcony not an entrance straight in the pool area (we even had someone knocking on our door looking for someone :( )... and having to pay another $10 for a fridge... in a $249 room... come on stop penny pinching give the guys paying the big bucks a fridge... even the Trump hotels I stayed at didnt try to gauge customers that way. People mentioned in the reviews that they got robes... well our $249 rooms did not :(... dont know why some people who paid $99 for a room got them but not us but... anyways

On the plus side... we really like the pool/spa, the beds were comfortable, rooms are really clean, service was fine. The experience was great.... its still a good place to go experience something different... The only thing is I would not recommend taking anything but their cheapest rooms... just not worth it (hence my ranking on value)

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Silverton2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelUniversel, Responsable relations clients at Hotel Universel Quebec, responded to this reviewResponded August 2, 2011

Good day,

We thank you for taking the time to share your comments about your experience in our hotel. With all the details you gave, we will be able to make the room check and make some changes in the room the improve the guest's experience and to make is as perfect as possible.

It is very important for our team to have satisfied guests and we take very seriously all the comments shared. We are proud to know take your liked the room, that the beds were comfortable and enjoyed the pool and spa area

We hope your will come back to experience all our services and and take a relaxing moment in Quebec City.

We thank you again for your comments

Thank you

Hotel Universel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2011

At 11.30pm I contacted the front desk about the unbearable noise drifting up from the function room below.
I was informed that there was a wedding party below and the noise would continue until 1am.
I was soon joined by other guests demanding that something be done about the noise. After a great deal of shouting and arguing the desk clerk went down to the function room and had them turn the music down. The music stayed at a tolerable level for about thirty minutes after which it was cranked up to its previous level.
There was also a lot of noise from guests on our floor who were having an extremely noisy party with their doors open and had alsopropped open the fire escape door to extend their party.
After numerous calls to the front desk and a visit from the police most of the noise was gone by 1.15am. We were again woken by more noise at 4.15am. Thankfully this noise did not last long but it had done its job of waking us.
To top it all off the sheets on the bed were torn.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank upset6603
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelUniversel, Responsable relations clients at Hotel Universel Quebec, responded to this reviewResponded August 1, 2011

Good day,

We thank you for taking the time to share your experience and comments about your stay with us.

It is unfortunate that you had to sleep with all that noise from the weeding and from the groups around you. We will do our best to improve this point because we want to take care of our guests abd we want them to have a nice and relaxing stay.

Thank you,

Hotel Universel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2011

This hotel is quite adequate for staying near Laval University.Getting to the old city takes about twenty minutes by bus
.In all a the rooms are motel standard.Depending on the room location the noise level can be an issue
This is created by the large groups of noisy student and tourist groups that frequent this hotel.Also the rooms near the spa would be even noisier, as well as rooms situated near the bar that is situated on the side of the
Overall staff were helpful and room servicing was good
if you want motel standard accommodation this would suit your needs

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wien
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelUniversel, Responsable relations clients at Hotel Universel Quebec, responded to this reviewResponded August 1, 2011

Good day,

We thank you for taking some time to share your experience and comments about your stay in our hotel.

We appreciate that you liked your stay and we take all your comments in order to improve our services.

Thank you,

Hotel Universel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2011

I booked this hotel on Hotwire, and got a fabulous rate. The front desk staff, although French, were extremely friendly and helpful with me an Anglophone. I left my credit card at the front desk, and they promply called me. The young manager spotted me looking for the room (the numbers weren't all that obvious) and kindly asked if I needed help. The fact she was a sweety didn't hurt either! Now, if I had been paying full fare for the room, I may have complained about the room...it was right next to the front desk, and on the main path to the elevator, and other rooms. Noise was my fear; however, it never materialized. The bathroom was a bit odd however; it's as if it was added as an after thought. It was very small, and the loo & bathtub were raised, apparently for the plumbing which obviously was added as a renovation/addition. The sink was a bowl type, with absolutely no room for a shaving kit! Now, I seriously doubt there were any other rooms such as this, and most likely this was their "Hotwire" room. As I had to come off the TC and enter into Sillery, it was a bit inconvenient if you're travelling through to Toronto/Montreal. From the Hotwire map it looked as if the hotel was along the highway. However, if you are visting Laval University, this place is perfect...Laval is across the street. We didn't eat at the restaurant, which is along side a great looking spa area, but it did look very inviting. Perhaps next time.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BlomidonBud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelUniversel, Responsable relations clients at Hotel Universel Quebec, responded to this reviewResponded June 14, 2011

Good day,

We thank you for your comments about our hotel. We appreciate the time you took to write about your stay with us.

We take all comments seriously in order to improve all aspects of our services. We always assign the best room we can to the guests, no matter how they reserved their room, but the high occupancy rate was the reason why we anly had a few rooms left.

It will be a pleasure to welcome you again in our hotel.

Thank you for your understanding.

Hotel Universel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews