We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outdated”
Review of Clarion Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Clarion Hotel
Ranked #89 of 101 Hotels in Quebec City
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Outdated”
Reviewed August 18, 2013

Just like everyone else, this hotel may have been a nice place to stay in the 60's or 70's. This place needs some serious renovations. The shower did not work, some of the lights did not work, and the card scanner on the room door did not work 99% of the time. I would personally not stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Aspi E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sebastien B, Front Office Manager at Clarion Hotel, responded to this review, August 24, 2013
Dear Guest,

I would like to thank you for taking the time to share your comments concerning your most recent at hotel Clarion Quebec. Needless to say I was disappointed to acknowledge that we have not succeeded to provide you a full satisfaction during your stay.

Our hotel have 231 rooms on three categories where most of them have been fully renovated recently and we plan to address our standard rooms (100 rooms) by the end of the year.

Whe hope to have the privilege to give you a superior hotel experience during your futur stay in Quebec City.

Sincerly,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

398 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    51
    106
    112
    71
    58
See reviews for
126
132
17
44
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
Reviewed August 12, 2013

Stayed on the executive floor, the rooms were slightly more updated compared to the rooms that have yet to undergo renovation and were very dated. The air conditioning did not work and we continually had service people in and out of our room in an attempt to fix it, however received a 10% discount. Cleaning service was poor as toilet paper was never stocked and the floors were never swept in the bathroom. Found myself very itchy each night which must suggest something regarding cleanliness of the bed linens. The beds were also extremely uncomfortable and this is coming from a person who can pass out anywhere. Rooms were decent looking but definitely not a four star hotel!

Room Tip: For a slightly more updated room select the executive rooms because they have undergone some renovat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ahpukas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sebastien B, Front Office Manager at Clarion Hotel, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Dear guestm

Thank you for taking the time to share with us your appreciation regarding your recent stay with us.

On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for failing to exceed your expectations. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you provided to make improvements to ensure we offer an exceptional experience for our guests in the future.

I hope that you will consider staying with us again so that we can have another chance to provide you with a superior experience.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint John
Level Contributor
120 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2013

Hotel staff very friendly and helpful. The hotel needs updating. The rooms are OK but could use sprucing up. Our room was very clean however the bath towels were worn and a couple had rips in them (they were clean).

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SaihtJohnliftman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sebastien B, Front Office Manager at Clarion Hotel, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to complete our online survey regarding your recent stay at our hotel.

Your feedback is very important to us and we can assure you that we will use this information to do everything possible to create an enjoyable experience for each of our guests.

Whe hope to have the privilege to welcome you next year as we a are planning renovation of our room inventory in a few months.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2013

Booked 2 joined rooms for a family stay with our 4 kids. The outside of the hotel looks OK, but upon opening the room door you find yourself in a flashback to the 70's when the hotel must have been much nicer. Funky old bedspreads, with the carpeting and decor to go with them. Beds not really comfy. What's there was clean and working, it just doesn't look all that good. It's a room to sleep in, not one you look forward to coming back to at the end of the day. Glad we only stayed for 2 nights. The location is far from old Quebec city so it might not be a good choice if you plan on not using your car during your stay, although this wasn't an issue for us. For the price, I think one can do better in a city with so many family-oriented hotels.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank glaj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sebastien B, Front Office Manager at Clarion Hotel, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share with us your appreciation regarding your recent stay with us.

On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for failing to exceed your expectations. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you provided to make improvements to ensure we offer an exceptional experience for our guests in the future.

The hotel has 231 rooms where most of them have been renovated in the pas few years. We are planing to remain the rest of our inventory by the end of the year.

I hope that you will consider staying with us again so that we can have another chance to provide you with a superior experience.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Quebec City hotels

Edmundston, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2013

We stayed there on July 10th and 11th. On the last night, a fire alarm woke us @ 1:30 in the morning. We spent over an hour outside in our car. Yes, there was indeed a fire, caused by a blown fuse in the fuse box. At our checkout, no apologies were offered, nor a rebate. I was excited of having a hotel greatly situated, but very disappointed in the end. We didn't request a newer renovated room, but the dust in the bathroom fan was about 1 inch thick. It was nor renovated nor cleaned. I will not be staying there again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cathy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviewed July 21, 2013 via mobile

The Hotel is supposedly a 4-stars officially but I'd say it's only a 2... Everything is pretty old, full of carpets, smells bad. The air conditioning has "click" sounds on anything but low. We can't comment much on the service as we just checked in and out. The pool was old, small and the room was not very clean. There was even water dripping from the ceiling. But aside from all this, everything was perfect :P by the way, we had a standard 2 double beds room on the 3rd floor.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nicolas_bernier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sebastien B, Front Office Manager at Clarion Hotel, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments regarding your recent stay with us.

On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for failing to exceed your expectations. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you provided to make improvements to ensure we offer an exceptional experience for our guests in the future.

Our hotel 231 rooms divided into three categories (standard, superior and executive) and most of them have been fully renovated recently and we plan to address the remaining inventory in a near future.

I hope that you will consider staying with us again so that we can have another chance to provide you with a superior experience.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
188 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2013 via mobile

As others have noted, this Clarion (at least the room we had) is aging, but it was OK. Couldn't expect to receive a complimentary breakfast for the relatively low price we paid. We were pleased to be on the first floor with our parking space just outside the entrance to our wing. We also enjoyed the close proximity to the very nice enclosed mall which provided a diversion from touring the old city.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Conmassey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sebastien B, Front Office Manager at Clarion Hotel, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Dear guest,

We would like to thank you for taking the time to share with us your impressions regarding your recent stay with us. Feedback from our guests is very important to us and your input helps with our continuing efforts to provide excellent service and a great stay.

We are happy to learn that you enjoyed the location of our hotel. The Clarion Hotel is ideally located at the entrance of the city, near the bridges and highways. Our guest have an easy access to the bus to visit the Old Quebec and go shopping.

Thank you so much for your business and we look forward to seeing you in the future.

Sincerly,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Quebec City hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel Quartier
Hotel Quartier
#81 of 101 in Quebec City
3.0 of 5 bubbles 117 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Classique
Hotel Classique
#54 of 101 in Quebec City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 312 reviews
0.7 mi away
Lindbergh Hotel
Lindbergh Hotel
#65 of 101 in Quebec City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Best Western Premier Hotel l'Aristocrate
7.9 mi away
Hotel Ambassadeur Quebec
Hotel Ambassadeur Quebec
#79 of 101 in Quebec City
3.0 of 5 bubbles 483 reviews
2.0 mi away
Hotel Universel Quebec
Hotel Universel Quebec
#86 of 101 in Quebec City
3.0 of 5 bubbles 379 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clarion Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Hotel

Property: Clarion Hotel
Address: 3125 Hochelaga Boulevard | Sainte-Foy, Quebec City, Quebec G1W 2P9, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Quebec > Quebec City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Spa Hotel in Quebec City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Clarion Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 231
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located at the doorstep of Quebec City, the Clarion Hotel in Quebec, offers the well-appointed accommodations and generous amenities that make your stay cozy and enjoyable. Our ideal location allows for quick and easy access to the region's highway network and puts you steps from the area's most celebrated Quebec attractions and the best shopping and Quebec dining destinations. There are so many things to do in Quebec - this is just another reason why we are preferred among Quebec City hotels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Choice Hotels, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Clarion Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Hotel Sainte Foy
Clarion Sainte Foy
Sainte Foy Clarion
Clarion Hotel Quebec/Quebec City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing