We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay, friendly staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel ALT Quebec

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel ALT Quebec
Ranked #32 of 107 Hotels in Quebec City
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great stay, friendly staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Originally booked because we were planning to travel with our dog but at the last minute found a sitter. The hotel was a bit further away from the historic sights than we would have liked (hence the 4 not 5 star rating) but still conveniently located near bus routes. More than anything, the staff were super friendly and the rooms was very stylish and well maintained. Great visit. Would definitely stay again!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Valerie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

315 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    164
    126
    18
    4
    3
See reviews for
25
114
12
130
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

A very friendly staff. Clean and crisp. Well connected to the public transport system to go to the old city. Easy commute. Breakfast is very good though a bit on the costly side. Virtually across the street from a prestigious mall. Reasonably convenient parking arrangement.
There are plenty of restaurants within walking range. Overall it was a pleasant stay. Toiletries were good but not wasteful.
The concierge helped us to plan our trip with proper maps and identifying places of interest. They were very helpful and friendly and most of them speaks English.
We loved the trip.

Room Tip: we requested a room with outer view and they did the rest.We were in the sixth floor and had a decen...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DipuandApuinToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
78 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

As usual a great stay, the bed is very comfortable, the pillows are wonderfully fluffy, well located and easy to travel and commute to various locations in and around Quebec City.

As usual the staff is friendly and if you are a repeat guest checking in and out is a breeze.

Room Tip: The Bistango restaurant is great and offers a special for hotel guests.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tino R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ocala, Florida
Level Contributor
70 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

This hotel was very tastefully renovated. Quiet environment. Very pleasant staff. We were there for one evening after being at Monte St Anne for the World Cup mountain bike races. Close enough to the Old City area by a short drive. It was a well decorated room, nice bedding with the best sheets and pillows, elegant bathroom with make up mirror, little refrigerator, Bose radio. Only could be improved by adding an Ipod dock and a little microwave. No AC noise; thermostatically controlled. Would definitely choose to return. Best value for price, location and amenities.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dianne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

Stayed there for 3 nights to attend a conference at Laval University, which is at a convenient walking distance (through huge shopping malls if you prefer!). Friendly staff with a smile, always ready to help with any question or concern. For example, they lent me an ambrella in my last day of stay because of the rain (obviously!). I also tried dinner at the hotel's restaurant "Le Bistango", which was not bad, but a bit pricey (even with a 20% discount that you get if you are staying at the hotel). The reason why I am not giving 5 stars is because in one day I left my room at around 3:15 pm in the afternoon (I was working all morning on my presentation) with a sign to make the room on the door; however, when coming back in the evening I found the room was not made up. I guess may be it was too late, but, I remember seeing the housekeepers on the same floor near the elevator when leaving my room, and obviously they saw me (we even say "bon jour"!).
Will I stay here again? Yes, if I visit Laval University again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ES_Nomad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
20 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

LOCATION about 7km from downtown, many malls nearby, easy access from highways. There's a starbucks next door. Public transport will take you downtown in half an hour, the bus stop is just half a block from the hotel.

ROOMS are new, stylish, well appointed and clean. The standard rooms, called concept rooms, are unfortunately pretty small. The so-called design plus rooms offer quite a bit more space, but, paradoxically, don't look as nice as the standard rooms. But that is in the eye of the beholder anyhow. Unfortunately there are no rooms with two beds, so it becomes a bit expensive for a family.

FRONT DESK staff are friendly, quick and helpful.

ROOM SERVICE brought us a decent meal, no complaints at all.

CONCLUSION if you don't want/need to be downtown, this place is highly recommended.

Room Tip: If you are staying for more than one night, it's worth paying up for a larger room as the concep...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GloballySwiss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laval, Canada
Level Contributor
42 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

Really love the place, Quiet, new hotel, staff very friendly. Close to many malls on Boul. Laurier. We brought our food in the room, with 2 young kids, to enjoy the room and relax with them. A place to discover ! Very small parking lot if you are driving....thanks again

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank aeroben61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Quebec City hotels
0.9 mi away
Hotel Sepia
Hotel Sepia
#26 of 107 in Quebec City
4.5 of 5 stars 226 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hotel Le Bonne Entente
Hotel Le Bonne Entente
#29 of 107 in Quebec City
4.5 of 5 stars 515 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Classique
Hotel Classique
#49 of 107 in Quebec City
3.5 of 5 stars 258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN PREMIER Hotel l'Aristocrate
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Quebec City (Sainte-Foy)
3.5 mi away
Hotel Cofortel
Hotel Cofortel
#20 of 107 in Quebec City
4.5 of 5 stars 365 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel ALT Quebec? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel ALT Quebec

Property: Hotel ALT Quebec
Address: 1200 Avenue Germain des Pres - Ste-Foy, Quebec City, Quebec G1V 3M7, Canada (Formerly Germain des Prés)
Location: Canada > Quebec > Quebec City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#16 Business Hotel in Quebec City
#26 Romantic Hotel in Quebec City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel ALT Quebec 3*
Number of rooms: 126
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Being ALTernative means moving in new directionsALT is the balance between modernity, a dynamic and colourful ambience, comfort, and well-thought out location.At ALT, eco-responsability means doing away with room service, valets and doormen: ALT focuses on your needs, on the essential things that bring added value to your stay.Our "service light" approach allows us to offer guests a unique rate: the same price, every day, all year round!When you choose ALT, you are opting for a hotel with centralized free WiFi access and much more!The ALT Hotel banner belongs to Groupe Germain Hospitality, a Canadian family owned company, pioneer of the Hotel-boutique concept, with its headquarters in Quebec City ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotwire, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Hotel ALT Quebec reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alt Quebec Hotel Quebec City
Alt Quebec City
Alt Hotel Quebec City
Hotel ALT Quebec Quebec City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing