We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Stay here if you come to Quebec City” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel ALT Quebec

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel ALT Quebec
Ranked #27 of 101 Hotels in Quebec City
Certificate of Excellence
White Plains, New York
Level Contributor
131 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Stay here if you come to Quebec City”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2013

We spent ten glorious days and nights in Quebec City and our base of operations was the Alt. From the moment we arrived until the minute we left Monday morning, we were treated royally.

This is a hotel designed to be enjoyed but at the same time mindful of the environment, and that made my wife and I happy. Carbon footprint and all. When we arrived at the hotel on July 12, we were greeted warmly by the staff, including Catherine, with whom I spoken on the phone and in emails before coming up there. The enthusiasm of the front desk never waned during our stay.

The room, which was one of the largest ones, was sparsely but well appointed and there was attention to every detail save one. Room darkening material would have been great, because in July sunrise in Quebec City is 5:15 am. But the king-size bed was perfect, the bedding was high quality and we were more than pleasantly surprised by a welcome note and some delicious chocolate left on the bed to greet us upon arrival. If the hotel would like to send us a set of those sheets we will gracefully accept them.

The bathroom was sparklingly clean and everything worked well. The water pressure and the amount of water available was limited to conserve the precious resource. By the way, Quebec City water is great, better even than ours in New York.

The towels were soft and absorbent and the soaps, conditioners and shampoo were wonderful. The hotel was quiet and filled with mostly middle-aged people, very respectful of fellow travelers.

The parking lot, one of the few free in QC, isn't large but we always found a space.

Back to the staff. They were great, making reservations when we needed them, getting us directions both for car and bus. Gave great suggestions for restaurants and sightseeing. They were all terrific and choosing to highlight one over the others would be insulting to everyone else. There may be no concierge desk, but every staffer at the Alt acts as one. If they don't know something, they investigate and get back to you. They NEVER give you wrong information.

I hope we go back to QC in the future and would only stay at the ALT if we do. While the neighborhood is not within walking distance to the downtown, buses are plentiful and daily, two-day and weekly bus passes are pretty reasonable.

So Catherine, Marie and the rest of the people working the front desk, the secret is now out and you need to continue this high level of service. I know you will!!

Room Tip: Maybe choose a room not facing the sun in the morning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nyredhawk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SylvieDionne, General Manager at Hotel ALT Quebec, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
WOW! We are always pleased to get great comments but it definitely has ad added value from guests who stayed for such a long stay.

I am also glad you noticed and appreciate our intentions and gestures towards a greener planet.

You liked our bed sheets... you are not the only one so we sell them and they can be shipped to your home, even in the U.S. Go online to Collection ALT. Sleep well and come back soon.

Sylvie Dionne
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

363 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    190
    148
    18
    4
    3
See reviews for
26
139
17
142
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013

I try to stay at this hotel every chance I get, but unfortunately they are almost always booked when I try to reserve last minute. If you're looking for a great hotel with shopping and restaurants around, you can't go wrong here.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Henry S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SylvieD492, General Manager at Hotel ALT Quebec, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Dear Henry,
Thank you very much for this great comment. Hopefully this has been offered to you before... we have a waitlist everytime it is needed and we deal with it carefully. This waitlist is not available on-line but by calling the hotel, it is always available. Do not hesitate, we cannot guarantee it works each time but we have lots of happy guests and it is always a treat to confirm a reservation to someone who wants to stay with us. We hope to greet you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quebec City, Canada
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2013

We stayed at the ALT hotel in Quebec with our 3 children. We had a very large room with king sized bed to ourselves and the kids had the room next door with 2 double beds. There was a door between rooms on the inside which made everyone feel safe and allowed for some privacy. The rooms have very comfy beds and high end linens. Our room had a view of the main street, Bd. Laurier, where many restaurants and malls are. The saff is very friendly.
I would stay there again for sure!
You can leave your car there and hop on one of the express buses accross the street that take yo directly to the Old City. Great location as it's right off the bridge when you drive into Quebec.

Room Tip: connecting rooms for larger families, they only have a few ask to be one the highest floor possible...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank natalypr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laval, Canada
Level Contributor
131 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2013

My daughter and I spent a night at the Alt hotel when she was here on business. The reception we received was excellent and very informative. The young man was very polite and helpful. We will be returning here in the future.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bubbabares
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa
Level Contributor
64 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 4, 2013

I was put up at this hotel while on a business trip. It is nice and clean and the rooms sleek. I especially appreciated the good size desk and to be able to open a window (although admittedly the view not so scenic as it looked over one of the largest malls in Eastern Canada! but if I craned my neck I could see St. Laurence River to the east and hills to the northwest). I may not have been paying attention when I checked in but there was no coffee in room (a Krug and I guess the individual servings were to be picked up at front desk?). I like to make my own little coffee in the AM. The croissant with the reasonalbe continental breakfast excellent. Why is it that one has to go to Quebec to get a decent croissant in North America!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RenataOttawa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2013

When I travel to Quebec City for business, this is my go to hotel.
Rooms are a bit small but for 1 or 2 people traveling this place is very good.
Rooms are very modern and VERY comfortable, the beds are to die for. very quiet so you are sure to get a great night sleep.
It is not downtown but very close to some great restaurants and great shopping. They pay attention to some small details that makes it a great stay.
My only criticism is that they do not have allot of rooms so it is fully booked allot of times so a reservation is a must.
Good job Germain group - we need more hotels like this!

Room Tip: All rooms are great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank icon5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamme, Belgium
Level Contributor
248 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2013

Very nice (design) hotel, excellent service, very relaxing rooms, valet parking...near mega shopping center, restaurants and university. But as a tourist you might prefer accomodation near old Québec - Taxi takes you there in about 15'.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Geert-Hilde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Quebec City hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Classique
Hotel Classique
#53 of 101 in Quebec City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 301 reviews
0.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN PREMIER Hotel l'Aristocrate
0.1 mi away
Lindbergh Hotel
Lindbergh Hotel
#65 of 101 in Quebec City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hotel Sepia
Hotel Sepia
#30 of 101 in Quebec City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 375 reviews
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Quebec City (Sainte-Foy)
1.8 mi away
Hotel Le Bonne Entente
Hotel Le Bonne Entente
#32 of 101 in Quebec City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 615 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel ALT Quebec? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel ALT Quebec

Property: Hotel ALT Quebec
Address: 1200 Avenue Germain des Pres - Ste-Foy, Quebec City, Quebec G1V 3M7, Canada (Formerly Germain des Prés)
Location: Canada > Quebec > Quebec City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#16 Business Hotel in Quebec City
#26 Romantic Hotel in Quebec City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel ALT Quebec 3.5*
Number of rooms: 126
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Being ALTernative means moving in new directionsALT is the balance between modernity, a dynamic and colourful ambience, comfort, and well-thought out location.At ALT, eco-responsability means doing away with room service, valets and doormen: ALT focuses on your needs, on the essential things that bring added value to your stay.Our "service light" approach allows us to offer guests a unique rate: the same price, every day, all year round!When you choose ALT, you are opting for a hotel with centralized free WiFi access and much more!The ALT Hotel banner belongs to Groupe Germain Hospitality, a Canadian family owned company, pioneer of the Hotel-boutique concept, with its headquarters in Quebec City ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel ALT Quebec reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alt Quebec Hotel Quebec City
Alt Quebec City
Alt Hotel Quebec City
Hotel ALT Quebec Quebec City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing