We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Clean and quiet” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel ALT Quebec

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel ALT Quebec
Ranked #26 of 108 Hotels in Quebec City
Certificate of Excellence
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
90 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Clean and quiet”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

Very clean hotel in the Ste-Foy burrough of Québec City. Practical room set-up for business travellers. Only downside is location. If you're doing business in Ste-Foy or near the bridges, the location is perfect. But if work brings you to the historic district or the National Assembly, the ALT Québec is a bit out of the way.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Patrick059
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

341 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    177
    139
    18
    4
    3
See reviews for
25
128
16
136
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gatineau, Quebec, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

This hotel has all the ingredients necessary to make your stay enjoyable, whether on business or pleasure. Comfortable beds, convenient location, friendly staff, great price, and much more. I will be back and will consider Alt as a first on my future travels to Quebec.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Denis L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ALTQuebec, Front Office Manager at Hotel ALT Quebec, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
Dear Denis L,

Thank you for taking the time to share you experience.
Your review relates actually quite well to our latest advertising campaing ''We do less'', which is a philosophy dedicated to defining and focusing on the essentials.

It will be a great pleasure to welcome you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

Went to this hotel for a business trip and really liked my experience.
Price was good, room was very well decorated for an entry level one, it was very clean and staff was very polite and courteous.
Would not hesitate to go back again!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Patrick N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

So pleasantly surprised with this hotel. My boyfriend and I stayed here Oct 13th-15th (2 nights). Check-in was smooth, friendly and informative. Upon arriving in the room we were so surprised at how modern it was AND we were greated but soft jazz music that was on the tv - just an nice added touch. The room was very clean with very modern amenities including flat screen tv. The bathroom was my favourite part tho - there was an all glass stand up shower with removable shower head (water pressure was also excellent! The shower leaked a little, but I don't think I've ever been in a stand up shower that didn't) The lighting was great and there was an extra make up mirror. The bed was very comfortable with lots of pillows.
Side note: They had fresh McIntosh apples right by the elevators every day (on the main level) which was great if you were running out and needed a snack for later! (Not sure if this is an all the time thing or not.)

The location is great. You're directly across the street from a gigantic mall and surrounded by lots of restaurants and downtown hot spots. For breakfast, we ate at "Cosmos" just down the street. Great food with fantastic portions. There's also a Starbucks in the same plaza as the hotel - bonus!

Overall, we had a fantastic stay and would definitely recommend this hotel as well as stay here again!

Room Tip: I think we stayed on the 5th floor. It was really quiet, and our view was average.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Emilee S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fredericton, New Brunswick, Canada
Level Contributor
83 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

Loved this hotel! It’s a little gem I found great reviews of here on TripAdvisor and was excited to experience it for myself over a long weekend getaway with my boyfriend. We stayed two nights, and were so pleasantly surprised! The hotel is very modern, clean, and chic, with all the modern amenities. When we arrived in our room, there was music playing quietly and it certainly added a welcoming feel! The room was spotless, and staff were friendly and helpful.

Parking was a bit of a pain at times as it was rather full, but they have access to free underground parking when you get the gate remote from the front desk. The body products (soap, lotion, shampoo) line was fresh and delightful, and the beds were very comfortable!

Location was great! It’s close to many restaurants, shopping mall, and just a short drive from Old Quebec or to the Aquarium. We were able to enjoy a lot on foot. The philosophy of losing the “frills” of many chains and other hotels doesn’t mean that they cut back on any of the essentials! What they do is done right, and I didn’t even miss the ‘extras’ that they forgo for increased value!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Amanda D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ALTQuebec, Front Office Manager at Hotel ALT Quebec, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
Dear Ms Amanda,

This is such a nice review!
I must say I especially liked this part: ''What they do is done right''.
It is one of our guidelines in our everyday work, indeed.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quebec
Level Contributor
56 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

When in Quebec, this is my choice! The place is perfect for business travel or for couples. The rooms are beautifully decorated and the bathroom has this "wow factor". A nice detail: they turn the radio in your room to a soft jazz channel so you're welcomed by music.
You get luxury for a very reasonable price (135 CAD for my room). The location is perfect, near everything from big shopping malls to restaurants.
Le Bistango, the hotel's restaurant, is the place for fine dining and you get a four course meal with a glass of wine for 50 CAD.
Staff is young and friendly.
If I absolutely must say something negative... Well... It would be that the towels could use softener.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank QuebecDeltaLima
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Concord,MA
Level Contributor
126 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 224 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

Nicely done Euro type hotel convenient to the airport and next door to large mall. Sparse but sleek modern decor reminded me of Euro Hotels in Germany and Netherlands. Pleasant staff. On site restaurant serves breakfast starting at 7 am- too late for our early morning meetings but there is a Starbuck in the same building open at 6 am. Bedding is amongst the best- Euro style duvet and great mattress. Nice sleek shower and bathroom.

No health club on site (a must for me) but you can get a pass for a $ 10 daily use at a health club a five minute walk through the mall (large with lots of equipment. At $ 130 CAN a night this hotel is a nice bargain. If you are heading to old City it may not be so convenient especially between 8am-930 am and from 4-6 pm with jammed rush hour traffic. Bus Service but will take you about 45 minutes

Staff is friendly and accommodating. Highly recommended- but may not be the most convenient to old town.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank HPM1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Quebec City hotels
0.9 mi away
Hotel Sepia
Hotel Sepia
#28 of 108 in Quebec City
4.5 of 5 stars 281 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hotel Le Bonne Entente
Hotel Le Bonne Entente
#32 of 108 in Quebec City
4.5 of 5 stars 568 reviews
0.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN PREMIER Hotel l'Aristocrate
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.7 mi away
Auberge du Littoral
Auberge du Littoral
#27 of 108 in Quebec City
4.5 of 5 stars 527 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Classique
Hotel Classique
#47 of 108 in Quebec City
3.5 of 5 stars 284 reviews
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Quebec City (Sainte-Foy)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel ALT Quebec? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel ALT Quebec

Property: Hotel ALT Quebec
Address: 1200 Avenue Germain des Pres - Ste-Foy, Quebec City, Quebec G1V 3M7, Canada (Formerly Germain des Prés)
Location: Canada > Quebec > Quebec City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#16 Business Hotel in Quebec City
#26 Romantic Hotel in Quebec City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel ALT Quebec 3*
Number of rooms: 126
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Being ALTernative means moving in new directionsALT is the balance between modernity, a dynamic and colourful ambience, comfort, and well-thought out location.At ALT, eco-responsability means doing away with room service, valets and doormen: ALT focuses on your needs, on the essential things that bring added value to your stay.Our "service light" approach allows us to offer guests a unique rate: the same price, every day, all year round!When you choose ALT, you are opting for a hotel with centralized free WiFi access and much more!The ALT Hotel banner belongs to Groupe Germain Hospitality, a Canadian family owned company, pioneer of the Hotel-boutique concept, with its headquarters in Quebec City ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel ALT Quebec reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alt Quebec Hotel Quebec City
Alt Quebec City
Alt Hotel Quebec City
Hotel ALT Quebec Quebec City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing