We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Chateau ! Don't Make Me Laugh”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Le Bonne Entente
Ranked #32 of 102 Hotels in Quebec City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 28, 2013

Don't let the "Chateau" in the name of this hotel fool you. A Chateau this in not, actually, not even close. It's always about expectations, and in this category, this place was a major disappointment. I'm sure they have a section of the hotel that was upgraded before the Disco era, I just wish someone would have pointed me in that direction. The hallways needed an upgrade no less than a decade ago. If they wait long enough some of the tackiness might make a comeback. The room was what I'll classify as "ok", very ordinary. Comfortable bed, yes. Upgraded washroom, yes. As for the rest of the room, less than inspiring. Do yourself and favor, find a hotel with charm, heart, and a spirit of romanticism. I don't stay at hotel for it's pool or fine restaurant. If you're looking fine restaurants, there's no lack of these in beautiful Quebec. Find a boutique hotel in old Quebec, in walking distance to what will feel like a European experience.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MontrealCampobasso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
paba2010, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Le Bonne Entente, responded to this reviewResponded April 3, 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you for sharing your thoughts on TripAdvisor: we always value guest feedback.

The Bonne Entente hotel is proud to offer an extremely large variety of rooms with rates that can fit all kinds of budgets without compromising the quality of our service and your comfort.

Over the last 3 years, 80% of the rooms and public area have been renovated. The last 20% will be done in the next 2 years before that the tackiness makes a comeback.

Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (674)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Le Bonne Entente
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

199 - 205 of 675 reviews

Reviewed November 7, 2012 via mobile

Great hotel. Staff is just super. Rooms are great. Food at the restaurant is top notch and they understand customer service. Highly recommend it if you are in Quebec City. It is convenient distance to airport but quite a way from downtown. You will ned to rent a car.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Daniel H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
paba2010, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Le Bonne Entente, responded to this reviewResponded November 8, 2012

Dear value guest,
On behalf of the General Manager, Alain April, and the entire team of the Chateau Bonne Entente, we would like to thank you for this wonderful review. Your comments are a source of motivation for us. We look forward to seeing you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2012

Great hotel to have a gateway without kids close to the old-Qc. We had one of the cocooning room with a great and nice whirlpool bath.

We started with a drink at the MC Lounge, very coosy. We ate at the Monte Cristo restaurant, 4 diamonds from CAA-AAA and worth it. Great service, great atmosphere and excellent cuisine from the Chef Marie-Chantal Lepage.

We had the buffet breakfast the next morning, very good!

Will return for sure!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 999Vince
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
paba2010, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Le Bonne Entente, responded to this reviewResponded October 22, 2012

Good afternoon, on behalf of the General Manager, Alain April, and the entire team of the Chateau Bonne Entente, we would like to thank you for your wonderful review. Your comments are a source of motivation for us. We look forward to seeing you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2012

Great lobby, fantastic service, but they do charge for the parking 10$ per day... even if you are out in the burbs!

Great restaurants with great service, but the hallways are old and the deco should be better, the room was poorly decorated with not enough storage for clothes, horrible shower and no flat tv.

They offer a free shuttle service to old Quebec city, but it only runs twice a day (9h30AM and 6h00PM) and you have to reserve early.

Local telephone calls are 0.75$. Nice gym and tepid jacuzzis.

For 200$ a night, you can definitely get much better elsewhere.

We will never go back there.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank LVZubieta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2012

If you visit the website for Chateau Bonne Entente, any view that shows a TV shows a large flat screen. We had a CRT with a smaller screen. The pictures that show a coffee machine show an espresso machine. We had an older, regular coffee machine. The “carpet” in our room was what I can most closely describe as “burlap”—a rugged design that I’d expect to find in any cheap motel, certainly not in a 5-star. There was only one bathrobe in the closet, a “problem” immediately fixed with a phone call. There were no packets of coffee, cream or sugar, near the coffee machine. It turns out they are in the mini bar, as it was explained to us by the lady who services the mini bar but apparently doesn’t work directly for the hotel. She explained that one packet of coffee per day was free but we would have to pay if we wanted any more. The shower was quite an experience as the instructions themselves almost require a degree in geometry or something. I read them carefully but, as one of the earlier reviewers said, “you’re going to get water all over the bathroom”. And I did—a novice can’t really operate this equipment! Next was the alarm clock—one of my pet peeves. Every hotel has a different model with complex instructions. You should be able to ignore the clock if you want to. We did. And the alarm went off three or four times during the night and woke us up. Why isn’t the cleaning staff at a 5-star hotel instructed to insure no alarms are set on the clocks? It’s not difficult, people! Then we ate in the restaurant—the café part—not the fine dining area. The service was terrible and it took us two hours to eat a light meal. At this point, things changed for us and the hotel staff went out of their way to make things right so I give them a great deal of credit for that. Nonetheless, here’s the final word. This is NOT a five-star hotel, even four-stars is being a bit generous in my opinion (unless you pay extra to get into a suite--they are really nice). But one thing you CAN count on—if you have any complaints (I suggest you will) they WILL fix it. And that’s not a bad thing. The hotel would be much more “acceptable” if they’d just voluntarily give up one or more of their stars. Of course, then they’d be WAY overpriced!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank ArtColorado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
paba2010, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Le Bonne Entente, responded to this reviewResponded October 12, 2012

Dear value guest,

We pride ourselves in offering an extremely large variety of rooms with rates that can fit all kinds of budgets without compromising the quality of our 5 stars service.
We are very sorry that the room you originally reserved for your 5 days stay didn’t reach your expectations.
It was a real pleasure to receive you in the Spa Suite, the suite Angelina Jolie chose during her last stay in Quebec city.

Pascale Banville

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2012 via mobile

This 5 star hotel is a must to experience. Very nice atmosphere inside and outside. Was there for business and leisure at the same time. Had a chance to try the Amerispa and the personel were really welcoming. Very great therapeutist. From the reception to the check-out, it was great. Great restaurant, great meeting rooms for convention. Would recommend this hotel. Worth the experience. One recommandation...the regular business rooms would need refresher with renovation. Had higher expectation for an hotel of that reputation. But overall, i'm an happy customer.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Danthemannad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
paba2010, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Le Bonne Entente, responded to this reviewResponded September 24, 2012

Dear Guest,

We sincerely thank you for your great comments. The quality of our staff is what makes the difference between a nice stay and a great experience. They are truly our greatest pride ! We have very high standards and we are thrilled to know that they were met.

Your recommandation regarding the regular business rooms is duly noted and will be taken into consideration. We aim to offer the best everywhere, anytime and will keep working hard to achieve our goals.

Again, thank you and we hope to see you again soon.

Warmest regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2012

This hotel is best for persons with a vehicle and wanting proximity to major highways. Historic Old Québec is a 1/2 hour drive. Our Urbania Suite was clean, comfortable and well appointed. Service from all staff members was excellent. The onsite restaurant has a limited menu - good but without the option for simple fare. We especially appreciate the fact that it is pet friendly

Room Tip: We recommend the Urbania Suites.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hbdingle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
paba2010, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Le Bonne Entente, responded to this reviewResponded September 17, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your wonderful comments! Our greatest pride is without a doubt our staff and the quality of service that we offer. We are thrilled to hear that those standards were met.

Due to a series of road blocks currently occuring throughout the city, the usual 15-minute drive the Old-Québec takes a bit longer. We take good notes for the limited menu and we are presently looking to add a few items.

We sincerely hope to see you again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Quebec City hotels
6.4 mi away
Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac
Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac
#17 of 102 in Quebec City
4,556 reviews
6.6 mi away
Auberge Saint-Antoine
Auberge Saint-Antoine
#4 of 102 in Quebec City
2,150 reviews
1.7 mi away
Best Western Premier Hotel l'Aristocrate
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.0 mi away
Hilton Quebec
Hilton Quebec
#34 of 102 in Quebec City
2,781 reviews
6.2 mi away
Hotel Manoir Victoria
Hotel Manoir Victoria
#21 of 102 in Quebec City
1,373 reviews
8.0 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Quebec Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Le Bonne Entente? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Le Bonne Entente

Address: 3400 Chemin Sainte-Foy, Quebec City, Quebec G1X 1S6, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Quebec > Quebec City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Quebec City
#7 Luxury Hotel in Quebec City
#15 Business Hotel in Quebec City
#20 Romantic Hotel in Quebec City
#22 Family Hotel in Quebec City
Price Range: $150 - $249 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Le Bonne Entente 4.5*
Number of rooms: 160
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Le Bonne Entente, an elegant five-star, four-diamond located in the Business District, allows you to discover Quebec City and major attractions. The hotel will enchant you with its gardens, beautifully landscaped, swimming pool, fitness, jacuzzi open year round and Amerispa. The hotel is only 5 minutes from the airport, near Old Quebec City, and within close proximity to the museum, theatre, golf La Tempête, and skiing. Shuttle service available, reservation is necessary, contact reception for schedule and rates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Le Bonne Entente reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chateau Bonne Entente Hotel Quebec City
Chateau Bonne Entente Sainte Foy
Hotel Le Bonne Entente Quebec/Quebec City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing