We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great for Travellers”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Le Bonne Entente
Ranked #32 of 101 Hotels in Quebec City
Certificate of Excellence
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great for Travellers”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2012

This hotel is best for persons with a vehicle and wanting proximity to major highways. Historic Old Québec is a 1/2 hour drive. Our Urbania Suite was clean, comfortable and well appointed. Service from all staff members was excellent. The onsite restaurant has a limited menu - good but without the option for simple fare. We especially appreciate the fact that it is pet friendly

Room Tip: We recommend the Urbania Suites.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hbdingle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
paba2010, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Le Bonne Entente, responded to this review, September 17, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your wonderful comments! Our greatest pride is without a doubt our staff and the quality of service that we offer. We are thrilled to hear that those standards were met.

Due to a series of road blocks currently occuring throughout the city, the usual 15-minute drive the Old-Québec takes a bit longer. We take good notes for the limited menu and we are presently looking to add a few items.

We sincerely hope to see you again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

620 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    389
    113
    76
    26
    16
See reviews for
128
284
9
114
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
263 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2012

Overall, the room was very nice. I am not sure if I can say this is a 5 star hotel. The hallways were quite dark however the customer service was great. The only disappointment is there shuttle service. They say they have shuttle service daily however it has very odd hours. We were there on the Labour Day weekend and it was a busy time. Sunday drive did not begin until 10 a.m. and on Monday it was 1 p.m.

The pool was small but very nice. The hot tub was very large and lots of space. We enjoyed our time in this location.

Room Tip: The bus route is next door and it takes you right down in Old Quebec.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mdecker17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
paba2010, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Le Bonne Entente, responded to this review, September 24, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your thoughts on TripAdvisor: we always value guest feedback. We are glad to hear you appreciated our overall installations and that the service offered by our staff member was up to our very high standards.

Regarding the shuttle service, we do offer daily service starting at 10 am till 8:30 pm, from June 24th till Labor Day Weekend in September, which this year was pretty early. On Monday September 3rd, our schedule returned to its "Corporate hours". However, your comment will be taken into consideration while preparing next year Summer Schedule.

Thank you and we sincerely hope to see you again.

Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Terrebonne, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2012

Installations are great.
Personnal very courtious and pleasant.
The problem is the overall attitude of " now that we have you, you'll pay."
They put 100$ pending on your credit card.
They charge 10$ for parking: Come on, you guys are in the suburbs.
The room is setted up like a convenience store; Not even a free bottle of water.
Then they charge you 3$ for a cheap bottle of water you can get for 0.75$ at the convenience store.
And the Fiji is 7$
Felt abused.
Never again.

Room Tip: Go elsewhere. This is a pseudo 5 star hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Yves R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
paba2010, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Le Bonne Entente, responded to this review, September 5, 2012
Bonjour Yves R.,

We first want to thank you for your review: we are glad to hear that you appreciated our overall installations and that the service you received was up to our very high standards.

In regards to the amount that was put on hold on your credit card, just like most hotels we do a pre-authorisation upon check-in, which holds a certain amount for a short period of time acting as a deposit should you wish to charge any restaurant bills to your room, for example. This amount is afterwards released by your bank within a few business days.

As for your experience in regards to the items composing the mini-bar in your room, we are glad to offer a very large selection of snacks and beverages to satisfy any last minute craving. Those items are obviously only billed according to consumption.

We sincerely hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2012

Nothing makes it a five star hotel at all. We Paid 359$/night and got the "romantic suite",which was very standard except for the payable condoms in the basket.
Room was very dusty. Called the reception to tell them this is not what we signed up for,and asked for another room. Receptionist said thats the only room available and wasn't able to accommodate us. Next morning we packed everything up and booked at Pur hotel downtown. Room was way smaller than Bonne Entente but we were actually more comfortable than ever. Room was very clean and new,and the service was just on point.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JoeSamMar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
paba2010, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Le Bonne Entente, responded to this review, September 5, 2012
Dear Guest,

thank you for sharing your thoughts on TripAdvisor: we always value guest feedback. We are sorry to hear that your stay did not live up to your expectations.

We do offer many different types of rooms for different tastes: maybe the romantic suite was not the most appropriate for you. If you like more modern decors, our Terzo section offers beautiful rooms with feather-top king size beds, wooden floors and steam-sauna showers. The night you spent at the hotel was a very busy one, which is why the receptionnist was not able to offer you a different type of room. I am convinced our staff did everything in their power to make your stay most enjoyable.

Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
39 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2012

Chateau bonne entente is 5 minutes driving from our head office.

I was at the hotel around 10 p.m. with my familly witout reservation. We got a regular room with a sofa bed for my son. The sofa bed itself and some furniture really dating. I visited this hotel in the 80s with my parents. And some furniture like chairs and desk are still the same! Few improvements could be done! Also, the sofa bed was so old then REALLY not confortable. The sofa bed frame are missing a lot of part and the bed just fall on the floor (my son have 4 years-old, I could not imagine hot this bed could fit for an adult!)
The renovated bathroom (very nice and well furnish) was not correctly clean and the toilet was dirty. We got back to reception where they are very sorry and gave us a new room similar to first one (except more clean.... and old sofa more secure for my son.... but stil totally unconfortable). We received candy the day after to say sorry for the inconvenients.

The service at the hotel is very good.

The restaurant breakfeast is nice and clear. The price for the continental buffet : 17$ is really over price! The hot and on order menu a la carte is more valuable. Benedicticine eggs are really great! But options still pricy.

You must pay for parking 10$/day... (no valet....)

Pools area and garden are nice.

In my opinion standard room ; stairway; hallway need refurbishing. Hotel who wants to get a 4.5* or 5 * status must be perfect! Also, even if the hotel ground are really great, the hotel is not an historic building and don't have the + then Auberge Saint-Antoine have (to be directly in old Quebec area). Ste Foy is only a suburb of Quebec city and really not exciting (no great resto near). You need to get a car to visit this hotel.

All suites : Urbania, Terrazo look great. But prices are not affordable at all for those options.

For the same price, I will strongly recommand Auberge Saint-Antoine for a truly amazing and 5* experience.

Room Tip: Don't choose a room with sofa bed.... Sofa bed definitely have to be change!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sunshinesea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
paba2010, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Le Bonne Entente, responded to this review, August 28, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write this review: we always welcome guest feedback as it helps us improve the service and product we offer. We are glad to hear that you appreciated the customer service you received during your stay as well as our breakfast menu.

The room that you stayed in is indeed in a section of the hotel that was not recently renovated. Our Terzo section offers a great alternative: very modern rooms, which were renovated recently, at a very reasonable price (a few dollars more than the room you occupied). The Terzo section offers rooms with either one King size bed or two Double size beds, which are perfect for small families.

Valet parking is always available 24 hours a day at the very same rate as self-parking (10.00$).

Finally, we are indeed located a short car ride from the old city, but we offer a free shuttle service which runs all day during the summer, and twice a day during the rest of the year.

We truly hope to see you again on your next trip to our beautiful city!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dartmouth, Nova Scotia
Level Contributor
90 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 271 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2012

My husband and I stayed here for 4 nights in August. We had a business room at first, as our son was with us for 2 evenings, and we needed a king and a pull out bed, but then changed to what is called a cocooning room when our son was no longer staying with us. The business room (first room) was on the side by the parking lot on the main level, and the room was very very dated with the stand up air conditioner right in the room. The bathroom was extremely dated in this particular room.
The next room, was like a bed and breakfast room, but upgraded from most &B's you would stay at. So, I will talk about the cocooning room. This room is located upstairs in the older section. It was cozy...yes a bit small, but with a wonderful king bed, which was comfortable. The sheets were amazing. You can purchase them in the little gift shop. the bathroom was large enough, although again dated and we had two robes hanging in the closet. We had an older TV, but large, and great for watching late night movies. We chose to stay in this room, due to its' pricing compared to the newer section, which by the way is beautiful, but pricey.
The service is what sets this hotel apart from others. The front desk was wonderful. We enjoyed the service from two different persons here during our stay, helping us with our questions. The concierge was also very friendly, and took time to answer other questions. Even the door man went out of his way to help us one day, and wore a smile the entire time we were there.
The pool area is very pretty, it can use some sprucing up. The pool was smaller then I thought but it was a nice break from the heat:). The stair-way leading to the washrooms, and leading up to the outside veranda was needing a coat of paint and general updating/brightening up.
We enjoyed the brunch one morning, with terrific service, and loved the french onion soup we had at dinner one evening. All of the wait staff was very accommodating.
We had lunch by the pool one afternoon, and had the friendliest server. She was very sweet, and continued to check on us by the pool now and again, to see if we needed anything else. We speak very little french, and we found everyone to be either bilingual, or tried very hard to understand what little french we had.
We did find the food to be rather expensive, as were the drinks around the pool. We choose to eat out most of the time because of this.
We were staying in this area of town, because our son is playing hockey here now. We did venture into the old town and in Saint Foy to eat as well. Everything is close enough if you have a vehicle. There is a daily charge for parking.
We would definitely come back to this property. I have points with 3 other hotel properties that I could use, and a discounted rate for one in particular in the old town, but will return to this property when visiting our son, as the service is just that special:)

Room Tip: If your budget allows, splurge for the newer wing:)
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank trip-together
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
paba2010, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Le Bonne Entente, responded to this review, August 24, 2012
Bonjour,

Thank you so much for your wonderful comments! Our greatest pride is without a doubt our staff and the quality of service that we offer. We are thrilled to hear that those standards were met.

We do offer many different types of rooms, some of which were recently renovated and some of which are a little older. The Cocooning room absolutely has a romantic and cozy feel to it: it is very much appreciated by travelling couples with it's large king size bed and therapeutic bathtub!
The Terzo section might also be a good option for you: a very modern decor and a just a few dollars more than the Cocooning section. We will be glad to show you one on your next stay with us.

We look forward to welcoming you again, GO REMPARTS! :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2012

The security deposit is extremely high! The hotel wouldn't work with my and my boyfriend on payments because they couldn't split the payments on different cards. We drove 6 hours from the USA to turn around and drive all the way home because they wouldn't help us out one bit. The receptionist had no idea about what she was doing. She was telling us one thing and the manager was telling us another. It was pure chaos! I would never return back to this hotel! I felt like I was getting looked down on because i didn't look ritzy like all the other guests staying at this hotel. They couldn't even tell us options. Instead they were telling us to rush to figure things out because they had "fancier guests" waiting for our room! HOW RUDE! This hotel is terrible in my book and i will make sure to tell my friends it was a terrible place to be and they made me feel super uncomfortable and looked down upon!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank bri14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
paba2010, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Le Bonne Entente, responded to this review, August 21, 2012
Dear bri14,

As most hotels, we require a credit card upon check-in on which we can perform a full pre-authorization for the stay. For our guests that do not have a credit card, we request payment of the room upfront as well as a deposit, which covers our non-smoking policy. This deposit is obviously fully refundable upon check-out once it’s been confirmed that our non-smoking policy was honoured. As for our clientele, we pride ourselves in offering an extremely large variety of rooms with rates that can fit all kinds of budgets without compromising the quality of our service, which is warm and welcoming. We certainly would never discriminate based on looks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Quebec City hotels
6.2 mi away
Hotel Manoir Victoria
Hotel Manoir Victoria
#21 of 101 in Quebec City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,228 reviews
6.6 mi away
Auberge Saint-Antoine
Auberge Saint-Antoine
#2 of 101 in Quebec City
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,934 reviews
6.4 mi away
Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac
Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac
#15 of 101 in Quebec City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,962 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.6 mi away
Hotel Le Germain Quebec
Hotel Le Germain Quebec
#7 of 101 in Quebec City
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,097 reviews
6.0 mi away
Hotel Palace Royal
Hotel Palace Royal
#31 of 101 in Quebec City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 635 reviews
6.0 mi away
Hilton Quebec
Hilton Quebec
#36 of 101 in Quebec City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,555 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Le Bonne Entente? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Le Bonne Entente

Property: Hotel Le Bonne Entente
Address: 3400 Chemin Sainte-Foy, Quebec City, Quebec G1X 1S6, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Quebec > Quebec City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Quebec City
#8 Luxury Hotel in Quebec City
#15 Business Hotel in Quebec City
#20 Romantic Hotel in Quebec City
#22 Family Hotel in Quebec City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Le Bonne Entente 4.5*
Number of rooms: 160
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Le Bonne Entente, an elegant five-star, four-diamond located in the Business District, allows you to discover Quebec City and major attractions. The hotel will enchant you with its gardens, beautifully landscaped, swimming pool, fitness, jacuzzi open year round and Amerispa. The hotel is only 5 minutes from the airport, near Old Quebec City, and within close proximity to the museum, theatre, golf La Tempête, and skiing. Shuttle service available, reservation is necessary, contact reception for schedule and rates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TravelClick, Hotwire, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Le Bonne Entente reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chateau Bonne Entente Hotel Quebec City
Chateau Bonne Entente Sainte Foy
Hotel Le Bonne Entente Quebec/Quebec City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing