We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value in old Quebec”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Manoir des Remparts
Ranked #32 of 119 Quebec City B&B and Inns
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great value in old Quebec”
Reviewed July 21, 2013 via mobile

The location and value are what makes this place stand out. We received free parking on the weekend. Free continental breakfast. Good sized room for old quebec. Free wireless. But honestly, location was key. The staff are a very nice couple who have Owned the place since 1987. I had gone here in 1983 as a student so it was a fun throwback for me. The owners were very nice. There is a really nice deck on the top floor which is nice at night time or for a drink or coffee. I would highly recommend for someone on a budget who wants to stay in old Quebec.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Abbahammer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

124 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    56
    15
    9
    8
See reviews for
24
57
12
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Geneva, Switzerland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2013

I wholly agree with another review about the old world charm, hospitality and prices. The place is a symphatic mixture of old and some newish stuff. It is something quite squarely opposite to the hospital-like hotel chains mushrooming all over the world.

The hotel is located in the 'end' of the old city of Quebec, rather high up. From the common balcony on the 3rd floow, there is a panoramic view to the sea (or river, however you label it). I highly recommend for those who want to keep the old world in existence - and feel its human atmosphere.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ozmopolite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2012

The hotel has a great location and it's very convenient to walk through the historical town nearby. Staff is nice and the breakfast is OK.
However the building is rather old and there's no elevactor or AC, which might be a little troublesome for the elderly and travellers with large suitcases. Also the water supply seems not to be convenient either.
Overall this hotel is good but better experience in this town can be obtained if budget permits.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank countofmountcristo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paramus, New Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2012

Old World Charm...Old World Hospitality...Old World Prices....three perfect descriptions for the lovely Manoir des Remparts, located in the heart of beautiful Old Quebec City.
This is a marvelous hotel for the seasoned and sophisticated "traveller", people who love to visit beautiful, historic cities of the world, and who wish to lodge in a place where, the minute one enters, you are automatically plunged into the atmosphere of Old Quebec.  Staying in this atmospheric and quaint auberge from the turn of the century/early 20th century made our recent first visit to this part of Canada oh-so special, reminding me of little hidden gems we've stayed in in Paris, London, and Amsterdam.  The breakfast is exemplary, with all-you-can-eat croissants, toast, muffins, fresh fruit, juice, and strong, delicious coffee that's perfect for starting your day, waking one up and giving you strength to walk around this beautiful old city.  The gracious and friendly owners (pay special attention to their adorable Pomeranian "Money"!), go out of their way to make one feel right at home, like you're a returning guest! 
We had a basic room, just fine for us, with a sink, clean bed linens changed daily, and maintained shared toilets and showers, right down the hall.  What was especially appealing was the spacious terrace with stunning views of the St. Lawrence River and the nightly film presentation by Robert Lepage.  Shared by other guests, it was the perfect outdoor place to bring food, vino, relax and chat...all with a marvelous cool breeze and beautiful river views.
We look forward to returning to beautiful Old Quebec City and naturally staying at "our" Manoir des Remparats".

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Von8lou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niedernhausen, Germany
Level Contributor
44 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed May 22, 2012

nice staff, price ok compared to other hotels in the city, great location, you can walk to the old town attractions in 2 minutes.
view of the harbour.
no free parking, parking for one day costs 14 dollars..

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank apiaWiesbaden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2011

I've stayed at Manoir des Remparts twice and both visits were great! The staff is friendly, the rooms are clean and the continental breakfast is a nice bonus. As well, from the hotel's balcony, there's a great view of The Image Mill (Moulin a Images) so you can watch the show without braving the crowds below. I will definitely be back to Manoir des Remparts.

Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
Helpful?
4 Thank Studenttraveller14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 16, 2011

Oh my goodness. I went to this hotel with some family. We didn't actually stay there. The customer service was horrible. The guy there told us that we should go to another hotel. He kept saying that we had to pay for parking and that the other hotel would be better for us, that it would be cheaper. He was advertising the other hotel saying he didn't want to rip us off. What the heeeck!!! We were in shock. We ended up leaving and going to a four star hotel. We were glad though because the room was rather small and the place a bit dingi.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank vacalove79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Quebec City hotels
Hotel Marie Rollet
#61 of 102 in Quebec City
151 reviews
Hotel Terrasse Dufferin
#50 of 102 in Quebec City
171 reviews
L'Hotel Belley
#72 of 102 in Quebec City
95 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chateau Fleur de Lys - L'HOTEL
#7 of 102 in Quebec City
523 reviews
Hotel Le Cavalier du Moulin
#46 of 119 in Quebec City
86 reviews
Downtown Quebec City
Auberge de la Paix
Auberge de la Paix
#7 of 31 in Quebec City
122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Manoir des Remparts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Manoir des Remparts

Property: Hotel Manoir des Remparts
Address: 3 1/2 rue des Remparts, Quebec City, Quebec G1R 3R4, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Quebec > Quebec City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 119 B&Bs / Inns in Quebec City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Manoir des Remparts 2*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Manoir des Remparts reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Manoir Des Remparts Hotel Quebec City
Hotel Manoir Des Remparts Quebec/Quebec City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing