We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Plus City Centre/Centre-Ville
Ranked #38 of 101 Hotels in Quebec City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel”
Reviewed September 1, 2013

My wife and I and our 2-year old stayed at this hotel in mid August 2013. This hotel was excellent for us because (1) the price was reasonable (2) it is close to many nice eateries (3) inexpensive parking garages nearby.

The hotel staff were friendly, helpful and professional. The room was big, clean and very comfortable. The bathroom is impressive with a deluxe shower.

It is true that the hotel is not close to the old city area. But we really enjoyed staying there because we were able to walk past neighborhoods with interesting architecture even when we had to push a stroller uphill.

The croissants in the nearby bakeries are divine. The best I have had.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bowser321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Genevieve_Hebert123, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Plus City Centre/Centre-Ville, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Bonjour!

Thank you for your comments concerning your stay at the Best Western Plus City Centre Quebec. Your feedback is very much appreciated and I can assure you that we use this information to do everything possible to create an enjoyable experience for each of our guests. I am glad you appreciated most of our facilities, our staffs and the executive room that provides the deluxe bathroom with extra-large glass shower. I am also happy that you took advantage of our location and neighborhood. In fact, we are located downtown Quebec City, in the Nouvo St-Roch district to be more precise. The Nouvo St-Roch is a new tourist destination born in dynamic sector of the capital, on the sidelines of Old Quebec. According to Google Maps, there is actually 1.2 km (0.75 miles) that separates our property from the entrance of the Old City which is approximately 15 minutes by walk. Again, thanks for taking the time, it was a true pleasure to have you stay with us and we hope you will visit us again at the Best Western City Centre Quebec the next time you are in Quebec City.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,294 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    393
    607
    211
    60
    23
See reviews for
379
486
54
138
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (180)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 1, 2013

The hotel was very clean throughout, with a very large spacious room, very clean with a safe and free WiFi provided.
The staff very very friendly end extremely helpful.
The breakfast was a buffet with plenty to choose from and well cooked and presented.
The hotel is situated about five minutes by bus or twenty minutes on foot from the old walled Quebec City.
Can't find any fault with the hotel at all, but the walk up the hill into the old city is a tough one if you are not fit but there are some great little shops on the way.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Spoons123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Genevieve_Hebert123, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Plus City Centre/Centre-Ville, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Bonjour!

Thank you for your comments concerning your stay at the Best Western Plus City Centre Quebec. I appreciate that you took the time to post them. I am passing on your comments, knowing that it will encourage our staff to continue their daily efforts. It is always gratifying to know that our performance was effective and our biggest reward is certainly having guests telling us we were able to exceed their expectation like you did. I am glad you had an “excellent experience” with us and I am happy to read you enjoyed your very clean and large spacious room as well our great staff and the American buffet breakfast at our Bistro Le 330. I would add that our property will also be very appropriate for people who would like to truly live Quebec City since, even if we are less than 1 kilometer from the main touristic area, our neighborhood the Nouvo St-Roch is the old working class neighborhood now reborn as center-stage for the city’s artistic events and as a cultural hub. Again, thank you for a most generous review. It was a true pleasure to have you stay with us and we hope you will stay with us the next time you are in Quebec City. We look forward to it!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medford, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
65 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2013

As other reviewers say, this hotel is a good 3/4 mile walk from the historic district, and it's uphill all the way. If you don't want to make the trip, though, there a lot of fun places to eat and shop in the neighborhood, and the hotel staff was quick to make recommendations.

The hotel itself is lovely, although our room was somewhat lacking. It smelled incredibly musty. In hindsight, we should have asked to change, because it never "aired out" during our four night stay. The beds were memory foam, but so broken in that it was hard to even roll over while sleeping on the nightstand side. Our friends room had a refrigerator- ours didn't, but it did have a Keurig coffee maker which was great.

Valet service was a $22/day fee, but worked easily every time we came and went. There were no other parking options.

The best part of the hotel was the small coffee shop and bar, with the most pleasant server who humored all of our questions about the city and local beverages. A stop there was the perfect end to long days walking around the city.

Room Tip: Ask to change if you don't like what you get. It won't improve while you're there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Juli_journeys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Genevieve_Hebert123, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Plus City Centre/Centre-Ville, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Bonjour!

Thank you for your comments concerning your stay at the Best Western Plus City Centre Quebec. I appreciate that you took the time to post them. Your feedback is very much appreciated and I can assure that we use this information to do everything possible to create an enjoyable experience for each of our guests. Glad you liked our location and that you took advantage of the hotel’s neighbourhood. I am also happy you liked our Café In Coffee Shop and Wine Bar. Besides, it is sad that your room smelled musty. There must have been a problem with your air conditioning unit because it is not normal. You are right, whether it is here or at another hotel, a guest should always tell the Front Desk if something is wrong or could be better. We prone proactive customer service so I am disappointed we could not make it up to you in regard of the smell in your room. Also, our top quality natural memory foam Essentia mattresses are of the firmest category, with a top bed for plush comfort. Most of our guests appreciated them, but we understand that comfort often depends on personal taste. Regarding your parking comment, our valet parking at 22$ is indeed our only parking option. However, I would like to precise that our valet parking is absolutely optional, not mandatory. If you prefer self-parking, you may choose from one of the many public parking surrounding our hotel. Price may vary from one to another and may involve a few minutes’ walk to get the car each time you need it. Once more, thank you for your contribution. It was a true pleasure to have you stay with us and we hope you will visit us again the next time you are in Quebec City. Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abbotsford, Canada
Level Contributor
249 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2013 via mobile

Pleasant stay in downtown Quebec. Short healthy hike uphill to rue st Jean, grande Allee or old city. Comfortable beds, clean spacious room, efficient checkin with loot bags, a pleasant surprise. Valet parking convenient but a little pricey. Coffee maker and bar fridge in room. Bed and Breakfast package includes full American buffet or a la carte at le 330 bistro which was satisfying. Shopping including supermarket, and restaurants are nearby.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lowa88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Genevieve_Hebert123, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Plus City Centre/Centre-Ville, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Bonjour!

Thank you for your review about your stay at the BEST WESTERN PLUS City Centre Quebec. I appreciate that you took the time to post it. We are indeed “walkable to Old City” but also to many other places of interests like Old Quebec (1.2 km), Convention Center (1.1 km), Old Port & Cruise Terminal (2 km), famous Château Frontenac (2.0 km), Pepsi Coliseum & Expocité Exhibition Center (3 km) to name only a few. We are very proud of our privileged location in the city making almost all of Quebec sight and attractions easy to reach for our guests by walk, or a short bus or cab ride quickly arranged with one of our staff. I am glad you benefited of our included breakfast which is now offered when booking the “breakfast rate” on the Best Western International website. When booking this specific rate, you don’t pay more than the regular rate and you are provided with a complimentary full American breakfast for one or two people, which value up to 15$ per person plus taxes! And if you are AAA/CAA member on top, you may also benefit of the "3A Breakfast Rate" that gives you a 10% discount off the regular rate and still includes a complimentary full American breakfast for one or two people. These two rates are the only room rates that offer complimentary full breakfast included. Once again, thank you for the time you took to let us know of your satisfaction. It was a true pleasure to have you stay with us and we hope you will visit us again the next time you are in Quebec City!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2013

The hotel is located in the St Roche part of Quebec City and is a good 20 to 25 minute walk , uphill, alongside a busy road into the old town. The first time we walked this it was enjoyable, but after three days, twice a day, if you returned to change for dinner, it became very tedious and tiring. We resorted to a taxi ride back to the centre in the evening which cost around 8 dollars for four of us, a much pleasanter and speedier option and cheaper than travelling by bus.
Quebec City is a beautiful city to visit and we thoroughly enjoyed our time there, however, the hotel was the worst one that we stayed at during our tour of Quebec and yet it was the most expensive.

PROS :
Huge comfortable bed
Hot shower
Clean

CONS:
Small, very dark room on the second floor ( to be avoided)
Dated, drab decor,dismal
Small window overlooking huge air con extractor vents approx three feet away
Very noisy air conditioner unit which made it impossible to sleep at night. When we complained we were told to switch it off; not ideal during a very hot, humid August.
Coffee maker did not work, despite informing the hotel of this, nothing was done

Overall, a disappointing experience. From reading other reviews it seems the hotel does offer rooms better than the one we had, make sure you ask for one unless you like small, dark, cave like spaces in need of a refurb.

Room Tip: Ask for a higher floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 8Carrie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Genevieve_Hebert123, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Plus City Centre/Centre-Ville, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Bonjour!

Thank you for your comments concerning your stay at the Best Western Plus City Centre Quebec. I appreciate that you took the time to post them on TripAdvisor and hope you will accept my apologies for any inconvenience you experienced. I am disappointed we failed to give you the fine accommodations and services that you were expecting. I am actually very surprised that no follow up has been done by our normally diligent staff about the air conditioning and the coffee maker. Please be assured that your comments are taken very seriously and were transmitted to the management in order to prevent recurrence. Also, it is true that a taxi cab ride from our hotel to the entrance of the Old City cost about less than 10$ because the ride is 3-5 minutes long to make the 1.2 km (0.75 mile) that separates us from the Old CIty. It is even more interesting when you are sharing it. However, the public bus (RTC) is also a good option as it passes right in front of the hotel and costs only 3$ per adults and free for children under 5 years old. Also, on weekends, children under 11 years old travel for free when accompanied by an adult. And when you plan multiple commutes on a same day, a daily bus pass can be purchased at 7.25$ per person with unlimited access throughout the same day! So depending on guests needs, both taxi cab and public bus transportation are cheap solutions if you prefer not to walk. Finally, concerning your comments on our decor, I would like to specify that even if we continually renew our decor, facilities and services, our style is rather conservative and classic. Travelers who are looking for a specific hotel class and/or hotel brand will be glad to learn that Best Western hotels in North America has been divided in 3 different banners to better suit guests expectations. “Best Western” properties are those with amenities and characteristics for guests seeking more than satisfaction of basic travel needs, “Best Western Plus” are those providing guests with a more upscale experience emphasizing consistency of concept throughout and “Best Western Premier” are the properties possessing a conspicuous atmosphere of refinement and style. Here’s one last tip: looking at as many pictures as you can prior booking a hotel is a good way to see ahead the general feel of one property. We have many photos available on several websites. To conclude, it was a true pleasure to have you stay with us and we hope you will visit us again at the Best Western Plus City Centre Quebec the next time you are in Quebec City. Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Encinitas, California
Level Contributor
53 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2013

It was expensive for what it was, but it was a very busy time in Quebec. The beds were comfortable. The room average size. Our room smelled musty. It was a further walk to Old Town attractions then we were expecting -20-25 minutes, but it is doable. The pool is small and smelled strongly of chemicals. We did not eat at the restaurant. We were able to find free street parking at night and on the weekend. Just make sure to fully read the signs. Front desk staff was very helpful with directions.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dg_in_ca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Genevieve_Hebert123, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Plus City Centre/Centre-Ville, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Bonjour!

Thank you for your comments concerning your stay at the Best Western Plus City Centre Quebec. I appreciate that you took the post them. Your feedback is very much appreciated and I can assure that we use this information to do everything possible to create an enjoyable experience for each of our guests. Indeed, July, August and September are the busiest period of the year. Since we are located near the Cruise Terminal, as well as the Train and Bus Station, we welcome a lot of travelers from all around the world wanting to discover Quebec City by walk form their hotel. I am glad you benefit of free street parking. Like you said, free street parking may be available in a few spots around the hotel but travelers must be very cautious when using street parking. Reading the sign very carefully and respecting these very precisely is essential to avoid getting a pricy ticket or even worse, getting towed. Once more, thank you for your contribution. It was a true pleasure to have you stay with us and we hope you will visit us again the next time you are in Quebec City. Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
56 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2013

I recently stayed at the Best Western Plus - City Centre in Quebec City. From the helpfulness of the valet staff, to the front desk agent's professionalism, to the server at the cafe - all the staff were very helpful, spoke clear English and were very professional. Our room was in the quiet executive area of the hotel. It was indeed very quiet, had a huge comfortable bed and the room was very clean and well taken care of. I would stay at this property again and I would recommend it to others. There are many restaurants & pubs within a very close proximity of the hotel that makes wandering into Quebec City very easy.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rob C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Genevieve_Hebert123, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Plus City Centre/Centre-Ville, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Bonjour!

Thank you for your most generous comments concerning your stay at the Best Western Plus City Centre Quebec. I appreciate that you took the time to post them. I am glad that you enjoyed our location and our Executive rooms. There is no doubt you made the right choice in choosing our hotel. I am especially happy to hear that you appreciated our dedicated, efficient and multilingual staff members. We strive to ensure that our staff always takes time to interact with guests by suggesting activities, recommending restaurants, showing directions, etc. I am proudly passing on your comments to the entire team knowing that it will serve as an inspiration to continue our constant efforts. It was a true pleasure to have you stay with us and we hope you will visit us again the next time you are in Quebec City!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Quebec City hotels
5.1 mi away
Best Western Premier Hotel l'Aristocrate
0.6 mi away
Hilton Quebec
Hilton Quebec
#34 of 101 in Quebec City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,601 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Le Concorde Quebec
Hotel Le Concorde Quebec
#50 of 101 in Quebec City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,930 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Palace Royal
Hotel Palace Royal
#32 of 101 in Quebec City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 648 reviews
0.7 mi away
Le Champlain Hotel
Le Champlain Hotel
#14 of 101 in Quebec City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,828 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel PUR Quebec
Hotel PUR Quebec
#45 of 101 in Quebec City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 433 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus City Centre/Centre-Ville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus City Centre/Centre-Ville

Property: Best Western Plus City Centre/Centre-Ville
Address: 330 De la Couronne, Quebec City, Quebec G1K 6E6, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Quebec > Quebec City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Quebec City
#30 Business Hotel in Quebec City
#38 Family Hotel in Quebec City
#45 Romantic Hotel in Quebec City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Best Western Plus City Centre/Centre-Ville 3.5*
Number of rooms: 177
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy 4-stars accommodation at this Quebec City hotel when visiting this charming and historic city. Located in the heart of the Quebec City business community and easily accessible from main highways, the Best Western Plus City Centre/Centre-Ville is an ideal choice for business or leisure travelers. Located a short distance from the Old City, cruise ship terminal and Plains of Abraham, this Quebec City hotel offers easy access to the Videotron Centre, the Museum of Civilization, the Quebec Convention Center and the Quebec Fine Arts Museum. Guests staying at the hotel will be close to all of the entertainment and major happening of Quebec City. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Booking.com, Best Western, Priceline, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Plus City Centre/Centre-Ville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus City Centre/Centre-Ville Hotel Quebec City
Best Western Quebec City
Quebec City Best Western
Best Western Plus City Centre/Centre-Ville Quebec/Quebec City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing