We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant surprise, would go back”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Plus City Centre/Centre-Ville
Ranked #37 of 102 Hotels in Quebec City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed August 14, 2013

We booked through Priceline and were initially disappointed when we got this hotel due to the mixed reviews and apparent distance from the main tourist attractions. Like other reviewers, the outside appearance did little to change our minds as we drove up. However, we ended up enjoying our stay very much.

PROS: Awesome service. Front desk staff at check in, upon learning it was our first trip to Quebec, immediately provided a map and some great suggestions on how to spend our first evening without our even having to ask. We also received a room upgrade to an "executive" room, which I think mostly meant we had a giant shower, but this was a pleasant surprise considering many hotels' tendency to give Priceline customers the less desirable rooms. Valet service was always quick even when it looked very busy. Room was immaculate, which is always my primary concern.

Though some of the surrounding streets were a bit deserted, others were quite nice and we liked being a bit away from the throngs of tourists in the Old City. A nearby cafe, the Brulerie St. Roch, was a great spot for a yummy coffee and pain au chocolat to start the day.

CONS: 10-15 minute walk to the major tourist attractions up some serious hills and stairs. We are active so didn't mind the walk in and of itself, but it was a deterrent to going back to the hotel during the day. As long as you plan to be out and about and not spend a lot of time in the room, not a deal breaker. Parking seemed a bit expensive at $22/day. Room decor was a little drab, not exactly romantic, but about what you expect from a Best Western.

Bottom line - we'd go back. Recommended if you're looking for a comfortable, friendly, and reasonably priced "home base" from which to explore Quebec, and don't mind doing some walking or venturing outside the main touristy areas.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank frenchyface
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Genevieve_Hebert, General Manager at Best Western Plus City Centre/Centre-Ville, responded to this reviewResponded August 22, 2013

Dear Guest, thank you for your comments concerning your stay at the Best Western Plus City Centre Quebec. I appreciate that you took the time to post them. I am passing on your comments, knowing that it will serve as an inspiration to our staff to continue their efforts. It is always gratifying to know that our performance was effective and appreciated.. I am glad you enjoyed our Executive rooms with all its exclusive amenities and private location in the hotel. And you are right; the Old Quebec district is located in the upper part of the city. Travelers have to go up the hill to get to this part of the City from the hotel. According to Google Maps, there is actually 1.2 km (0.75 miles) that separates our property from the entrance of the Old City. Depending on traveler’s skills, we always tell our guests that we are located 15 minutes by walk from the Old City as it is uphill to go. And then, to come back, it is about 10 minutes as you go down the hill. Your cab suggestion is very appropriate. Sharing a cab from the hotel to the entrance of the Old Quebec is about 10$. Public transportation is also a great option. Busses pass right beside our hotel so it is easily accessible. It was a true pleasure to have you stay with us and we hope you will visit us again the next time you are in Quebec City. We look forward to it!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,400)
There are newer reviews for Best Western Plus City Centre/Centre-Ville
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

647 - 653 of 1,400 reviews

Reviewed August 12, 2013

stayed here on the last leg of a very long trip. As reviewers before have said it looked a little "sketchy" driving up to it...when I went to check in it was beautiful. Very courteous front desk with a good grasp on english (always helps). Very helpful on where to eat what was going on. Since I was a BW member they gave me a $10 voucher for the bar which came in handy. Our room was 495 a King business room in a card access area only. We were at a cottage for the week so we were looking to clean up and this room made it easy! A 6' X 6' stand up shower with the rain shower head!! Hopefully the rest of the hotel had hot water as my wife daughter then I had the longest showers. Room service was in order and we had steak and lasagna. All were fantastic. Only downside was they automatically put a 15% tip on room service on top of a $4 charge for room service. For us that was an additional $15 on top of our food. Valet was good. A little nervous about where my vehicle was parked (again "sketchy" neighbourhood) but it was ready in 5 minutes after the call. Coffe/Wine bar downstairs had great selection and staff was pleasant.Would recommend this hotel highly.

Room Tip: try to get on business class floor, great showers and large rooms
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cmit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Genevieve_Hebert123, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Plus City Centre/Centre-Ville, responded to this reviewResponded August 15, 2013

Bonjour!

Thank you for your cooperation in taking the time to post your comments following your visit to the Best Western Plus City Centre Quebec. By telling us what you liked about your stay and how we can improve, you are helping us deliver a superior experience for you and other guests in the future. Actually, room 495 is one of our Executive rooms. It indeed provides an extra-large deluxe glass shower with both telephone and umbrella knobs. Don’t worry about hot water! We are equipped with a high efficiency boiler that can provide hot water on demand to provide more than 177 showers simultaneously. Since the installation of that boiler, we never ran out of hot water at the hotel. I am pleased you enjoyed the tasty food of our restaurant Bistro Le 330, even in the comfort of your room! The mandatory 4$ flat charge for room service has been set by the restaurant management for the main reason that instead of offering a limited menu with inflated prices for room service, we have the entire menu deliverable to room, at the same price as if you would order in the dining room. There is a clear indication on the menu that this delivery charge is applicable for room service. And as for the automatically added 15% gratuities, it is not mandatory. It has been set because in many countries we welcome guests from, meal prices include taxes and gratuities. Then, to avoid any confusion, the waiter includes gratuities automatically. Otherwise, we believe it is not fair for the waiter that make all the efforts to provide courteous and prompt service from the dining room to guests rooms, which is even more demanding than regular service. Besides, if you are not 100% satisfied with the service provided by your waiter, there is absolutely no problem to modify the bill to decrease the amount of tip, accordingly to your satisfaction. Following your comments, it has been decided that it will also clearly be indicated on our next restaurant menu so no other guests will be surprised. It is with comments such as yours that we are able to continually improve our services and I sincerely thank you for your contribution. Finally, we hope you will stay with us at the Best Western Plus City Centre Quebec the next time you are in Quebec City on you next visit. We look forward to it!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2013

I suffered some trepidation pulling up to the hotel. It doesn't appear to be a very upscale neighborhood and the entrance is very unpretentious. However starting with our very large bell man who was very friendly and spoke more than adequate English and carrying over to the rest of the staff, we could not have asked for friendlier more accommodating folks. The continental breakfast was delivered promptly to the room, was hot and overwhelming in quantity and quality. The breakfast at the cafe was equally above average. Even the coffee shop was good and their macaroon was superb! We were on the ground floor on an outside room and it was not noisy. The room was adequate, not special or overly large but clean. Overall a good experience.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ibpurpledragon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Genevieve_Hebert123, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Plus City Centre/Centre-Ville, responded to this reviewResponded August 15, 2013

Bonjour!

Thank you for your comments concerning your stay at the Best Western Plus City Centre Quebec. I appreciate that you took the time to post them. I am glad that your initial apprehensions where quickly counteracted by the warm welcome you got from our dedicated valet and front desk staffs and finally had an “overall good experience”. I am also happy to read that you took advantage of our onsite restaurant and coffee shop. Both provide great options for breakfast with delicious food and excellent service. Next time, try our Bistro Le 330 at night! Our new restaurant has a chic and trendy decor, a relaxed atmosphere, an attentive service and serves Americanized comfort food with a few intrusions of classic French bistro items. And indeed it is always a pleasure for our dedicated staff to warmly welcome our guests, suggest activities to do, sites to see, etc. It was a true pleasure to have you stay with us and we hope you will visit us again the next time you are in Quebec City!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2013

This hotel is a very clean hotel. The staff at the front desk are very helpful with anything you need. The hotel is about a 15 min walk from old Quebec City BUT all up hill.... I am a walker and I sometimes found it a challenge. Other then the hills it is a nice hotel. Very small pool, hot tub is murky but rooms are nice and clean.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eagleyes5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Genevieve_Hebert123, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Plus City Centre/Centre-Ville, responded to this reviewResponded August 15, 2013

Bonjour!

Thank you for your comments concerning your stay at the Best Western Plus City Centre Quebec. We appreciate that you took the time to post it. It is a true a pleasure to read that you noticed the passion that animates our staff. When working in service like we do, recognition is as important as the salary! I am also happy you noticed the cleanliness of our property. We understand the importance of a clean and well-maintained hotel has become the number one priority for guests. Concerning the fact that it is up hill to reach the Old City, we often suggest to our guests to take the bus to go (3$/person) or share a taxi cab (about 10$) to reach the entrance of the Old City which is on top of the hill, walk around and come back by walk down the hill. Or even purchase a daily pass for one or two days with unlimited access to public transportation at respectively 7.25$ or 13$ per person if you want to use the bus for multiple commutes. To conclude, it was a true pleasure to have you stay with us and we hope you will visit us again at the Best Western Plus City Centre Quebec for your next stop in Quebec City. We look forward to it!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2013

The hotel is nice, but it is a good hike to Old Quebec, not so much the distance as the up hill all the way. Recommend if you enjoy walking otherwise take a cab to Old Quebec. The hotel did offer a cafe and a restaurant but we spent most of our time in Old Quebec. We had a room with the deluxe shower and it was very nice. City centre would not be my preference on a return trip.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ezytravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Genevieve_Hebert123, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Plus City Centre/Centre-Ville, responded to this reviewResponded August 15, 2013

Bonjour!

Thank you for your comments concerning your stay at the Best Western Plus City Centre Quebec. I appreciate that you took the time to post them. Your feedback is very much appreciated and I can assure that we use this information to do everything possible to create an enjoyable experience for each of our guests. I am glad you enjoyed our Executive rooms with all its exclusive amenities and private location in the hotel. And you are right; the Old Quebec district is located in the upper part of the city. Travelers have to go up the hill to get to this part of the City from the hotel. According to Google Maps, there is actually 1.2 km (0.75 miles) that separates our property from the entrance of the Old City. Depending on traveler’s skills, we always tell our guests that we are located 15 minutes by walk from the Old City as it is uphill to go. And then, to come back, it is about 10 minutes as you go down the hill. Your cab suggestion is very appropriate. Sharing a cab from the hotel to the entrance of the Old Quebec is about 10$. Public transportation is also a great cheap option. Busses pass right beside our hotel so it is easily accessible. Once more, thank you for your contribution. It was a true pleasure to have you stay with us and we hope you will visit us again the next time you are in Quebec City. We look forward to it!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2013

Being a Priceline customer for more than 10 years now, I know what to expect for the star level that I selected in my purchase. Definetely this BW is not a 3 star level hotel ( 2 would be more appropriate). Hotel is located in the outskirts of the old city centre, a good 35/40 minutes walk, in a not so safe area ( expect to pass dark areas with drug dealers if walking at night). Rooms destinated to Priceline customers smell mold, have clogged tubs and noisy air conditioners. After staying in one room in these conditions for the first night , I complained and was moved to a room in their "business level" ( read renovated rooms) for the other night. It was a bit better, no smell, no cloggs, a bit better ammenities. I would not return nor recommend this hotel!

Room Tip: business level ( 4) has better rooms...just dont pay any extra for them.
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank minimini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Genevieve_Hebert123, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Plus City Centre/Centre-Ville, responded to this reviewResponded August 15, 2013

Bonjour!

Thank you for your comments concerning your stay at the Best Western Plus City Centre Quebec. I appreciate that you took the time to post them on tripadvisor and hope you will accept my apologies for any inconvenience you experienced. I am disappointed we failed to live up to your expectations. In fact, according to the Quebec Tourism Office, we are classified a 4 star hotel. And according to the CAA /AAA associations, we are classified 3 diamonds, which is why priceline quotes our property 3 stars. I would also like to specify that Quebec City is one of the safest cities in Canada. There is absolutely no danger wandering in the hotel’s suburb, neither when walking the 15 minutes from our property to the Old City. Regarding the fact that you booked through priceline, I would like to explain a little bit more. Hotels all around the world use opaque third party web sites such as Priceline or Hotwire to sell rooms that would go unsold otherwise. We do the same. I can guarantee you that there aren’t any specific rooms designated for priceline customers. We are sorry to read that the room you first occupied had a problem with the air conditioner which may have caused the mold smell (humidity), as well as the clogged tub. This was an isolated problem and I can assure you that it doesn’t have nothing to do with the fact you booked with priceline. Our maintenance staffs have fixed these as soon as you advised the Front Desk. Besides, our Business Class and Executive rooms can be reserved via the Best Western International official web site, or by calling the property directly for a small extra charge. Otherwise, we may upgrade some of our guests that reserved in advance in these upscale rooms. But in a sold out situation like we are often in the high season, it is unfortunately not always possible and guests who reserved through opaque web sites are most likely to be designated our traditional rooms. The hotel Management will always try to go the extra mile to make sure we meet and exceed our guest expectations. We appreciate your patronage and hope you will stay with us at the Best Western Plus City Centre Quebec the next time you are in Quebec City. I can assure you we will do everything we can to make your stay a comfortable one.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2013 via mobile

Overall, our stay at the Best Western Plus City Centre was okay - nothing more. The rooms are large and comfortable however the mattress was not to my personal taste. The location is good: it is a 15-minute walk to the old Quebec but it is always nice to walk in the streets of Quebec City.

The main downfall for me was the cleanliness of the room. The carpets and bath were dirty which grossed me out. Also, the TV took about 5 minutes to power on every time, the pool was small and they did not fill the products in the bathroom everyday even if they were all used.

For more comfort, the hotel should offer complimentary bathrobes (you currently have to pay to have one) and mini refrigerator in every room.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marie_delaroche
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Genevieve_Hebert123, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Plus City Centre/Centre-Ville, responded to this reviewResponded August 8, 2013

Bonjour!

Thank you for your comments concerning your recent stay at the Best Western Plus City Centre Quebec. I appreciate that you took the time to post them. I am sincerely sorry that the housekeeping didn’t live up to your expectations. Please accept my apologies. I can assure you that every effort is maintained by the hotel staff to provide exceptional, friendly and courteous service. Cleanliness is our priority, equal with service, so when a breakdown occurs, as in your situation, we are very concerned. Be assured that your comments were transmitted to the Housekeeping Manager for a follow up. Concerning your suggestion, bathrobes and mini-fridge are actually available in business class and executive room for free. These rooms can be booked by calling the hotel directly or online on the official Best Western International website, upon availability of course. We appreciate your patronage and hope you will still stay with us at the Best Western Plus City Centre Quebec the next time you are in Québec City. I promise we will do everything we can to make your stay a comfortable and happy one. Best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Quebec City hotels
5.1 mi away
Best Western Premier Hotel l'Aristocrate
0.1 mi away
Hotel PUR, Quebec, A Tribute Portfolio Hotel
0.6 mi away
Hilton Quebec
Hilton Quebec
#34 of 102 in Quebec City
2,779 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Delta Hotels by Marriott Quebec
0.8 mi away
Hotel Chateau Laurier
Hotel Chateau Laurier
#38 of 102 in Quebec City
1,513 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Le Concorde Quebec
Hotel Le Concorde Quebec
#51 of 102 in Quebec City
2,091 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus City Centre/Centre-Ville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus City Centre/Centre-Ville

Address: 330 De la Couronne, Quebec City, Quebec G1K 6E6, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Quebec > Quebec City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Quebec City
#30 Business Hotel in Quebec City
#38 Family Hotel in Quebec City
#45 Romantic Hotel in Quebec City
Price Range: $100 - $255 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Best Western Plus City Centre/Centre-Ville 3.5*
Number of rooms: 177
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy 4-stars accommodation at this Quebec City hotel when visiting this charming and historic city. Located in the heart of the Quebec City business community and easily accessible from main highways, the Best Western Plus City Centre/Centre-Ville is an ideal choice for business or leisure travelers. Located a short distance from the Old City, cruise ship terminal and Plains of Abraham, this Quebec City hotel offers easy access to the Videotron Centre, the Museum of Civilization, the Quebec Convention Center and the Quebec Fine Arts Museum. Guests staying at the hotel will be close to all of the entertainment and major happening of Quebec City. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Best Western, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Plus City Centre/Centre-Ville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus City Centre/Centre-Ville Hotel Quebec City
Best Western Quebec City
Quebec City Best Western
Best Western Plus City Centre/Centre-Ville Quebec/Quebec City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing