We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“disappointed”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
BEST WESTERN PLUS City Centre/Centre-Ville
Ranked #38 of 101 Hotels in Quebec City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Sherbrooke, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“disappointed”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2013

I am very disappointed by this hotel. I am currently staying in the hotel, but and upset enough to take time to write the review while still on vacation. The hotel is nice enough, clean and meets all standard requirements, but the service is awful.
When I booked the hotel (on expedia and over a month ago), I called right away to request joining rooms. We are traveling with 4 children, my 2 kids and 2 friends. I was told over the phone that there was no problem, that the note had been made and that I would have 2 rooms that were joining.
When we arrived it was a different story. We had rooms next to each other, but not joining. This may not seem like a big deal, but it is very inconvenient and my husband and I have to split up so we are each in a room with the kids. Not at all what we had planned for. On top of this, the man at the desk was so rude and dismissive that I will never come back here. He asked if I had paid the guarantee fee of $10. I told him that I had never heard of this but would have. He simply replied "oh well, nothing I can do, my colleague made a mistake" then handed my my room keys and said "next"!!
Later than night, I went ask about getting a taxi for my family and he wrote down a number for me and again was dismissive. I asked if he could call for me, as I am not from Quebec and he directed me to a pay phone by the door. I then saw special taxi phones and asked if I could use that, and his reply was a shrug "I guess." I know this is not a 5 star place, but you would think we could expect a little more. He left me frustrated enough that on our return later that night, I refused to stop at the front desk to ask the questions we had for today.
If I had not already paid for the room and it was non-refundable, I would have left the hotel after my first interaction with the front desk. Luckily we are only here to sleep.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank toadstool74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Genevieve_Hebert123, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS City Centre/Centre-Ville, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Bonjour!

Thank you for your comments concerning your stay at the Best Western Plus City Centre. Please accept our apologies if one of our staff members came across in an unprofessional manner while handling your concerns on your connecting room request. I can assure you that every effort is maintained by the hotel staff to provide exceptional, friendly and courteous service. So when a breakdown occurs, as in your situation, we are very concerned. I would be pleased to discuss further on the cause of your disappointment shall you contact me directly at ghebert@hotelquebec.com.

In fact, we only have a few connecting room options. Therefore, we unfortunately cannot guarantee that type of request. The lodging management always tries their best to fulfill all guests’ requests but, sometimes, it is not possible. This being said, the lack of sympathy and diligence you experienced from this Front Desk Clerk is unacceptable and I hope you will accept my sincere apologies. I am disappointed that we failed to give you the fine service and consideration we strive for with all our guests.

Again, thank you for taking the time to bring this matter to our attention. It is through comments such as yours that we are improving and will carry out the necessary measures to ensure that the problem you experienced never happens again. We appreciate your patronage and hope you will stay with us at the Best Western Plus City Centre Quebec the next time you are in Québec City. I promise we will do everything we can to make your stay a comfortable and happy one. Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,275 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    388
    594
    210
    60
    23
See reviews for
369
482
54
136
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (178)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sainte-Julie, Quebec, Canada
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 1, 2013

Everything about this hotel is great and the price still leaves me speechless.

I came here with a friend and had 3 big dogs with me, it was my first hotel experience with dogs. It cost me 15$ extra per day to have 3 big dogs in the room with me. What seem to be an issue to me at first became a amusing situation with Best Western. They gave my dogs a big box of food and treats, gave us a map with all the dog parks around as well as emergency numbers for them if needed.... i mean, they were soooo caring and helpful, so attentive to every single need I could have.

Not only that, while I left my room to go to a concert, the dogs barked and we got many complaints... the next morning they calmly explained the situation to us and just asked for a cell phone number so we can be reached if such thing happen again. No drama; all they cared about was finding solutions to make all customer happy.

The lobby is wonderful, beds feel like clouds, bathrooms have all the feature a girl need....the valet service is efficient....and the spa and pool area, oh my god; the walls and sealing are covered of nature painting, mountains and a beautiful sky.... I went there there was no one... it was so relaxing!

Parking was a bit expensive, 20$ per day you stay. But I realized that in this area parking is very hard to find and also expensive... so you pay the price but you have a peace of mind.

Try their coffee shop downstairs. It's retro and pretty...and again....the service; I've rarely seen someone serving coffee with that much passion lol!

Really, if good customer service matters to you, this is the place to go.

S & K

Room Tip: As rates are very cheap for what you get I suggest you pay the extra 4 dollars for coffee machine in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Filosofik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Genevieve_Hebert123, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS City Centre/Centre-Ville, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
Bonjour!
Thank you for your comments concerning your stay at the Best Western Plus City Centre Quebec. We appreciate that you took the time to post such a great and positive review. It is a true a pleasure to read that you notice the passion that animates our staff. When working in service like we do, recognition is as important as the salary! Also, as a Pet Friendly Hotel, we are glad that you enjoyed our doggie welcome kit that includes a bottle of water, a bag of kibble food, a biodegradable serving dish, some waste pick-up bags and baked cookie treats! For the benefit of tripadvisor readers, I would like to precise that we accept pet weighing less than 80 pounds / 36 Kilos (excluding exotic animals). There are fees of $15 per night, a maximum of $ 90 per week for cleaning purpose, except service dog, they stay free. And normally, there is a maximum of 2 pets per room. As a pet owner, we consider guests traveling with pet as fully responsible for their pet's behavior. After check-out, we deeply clean the room and shampoo the carpet to refrain allergies. To conclude, it was a true pleasure to have you stay with us and we hope you will visit us again at the Best Western Plus City Centre Quebec for your next stop in Québec City. We look forward to it!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2013

Friendly staff, clean rooms, and exactly what I needed for a quick one day business stop over. Walking distance to most places of interest. Good value. My room faced Couronne and was very quiet. Breakfast was on time, delicious and I was able to get a taxi quickly and walk to a nice dinner destination.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mitch B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Genevieve_Hebert123, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS City Centre/Centre-Ville, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
Bonjour!
Thank you very much for taking the time to post your comments concerning your recent stay with us at the Best Western Plus City Center. Your feedback is very much appreciated! I am glad that you appreciated our staff, our cleanliness, our food and our good value for a business trip. It is true that we have the chance of being located in a neighborhood offering a great choice of restaurants. Most culinary styles can easily be found in the Nouvo St-Roch area and since we are not located in the Old Quebec, a lot of them are very affordable. It will always be a pleasure for our front desk clerks to suggest a restaurant that suit your needs, likes and budget. Again, we appreciate your patronage and we will be pleased to have you stay with us at the Best Western Plus City Centre Quebec the next time you are in Quebec City. I can assure you we will do everything we can to make your stay a comfortable one. Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
53 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2013

My wife, baby, and I stopped by for a night on our way across Quebec. We stayed in an executive suite and were blown away by this hotel! There's free (and fast) wi-fi and the rooms are immaculate. The pool is warm and there's a hot tub, as well as a small but decent exercise room. The staff are courteous and helpful and bilingual. There are numerous places to get a very nice meal around although many of them seemed overly pricey. We ordered room service and had a delicious meal brought up. The mattress was perfect and the room was amazing. Overall the place was fantastic. Things I didn't like were few and included the $20 per night for parking but when space is at a premium I could at least understand it. I would absolutely stay here again! This was my second-best stay at a Best Western ever.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dullege
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWCV-Manager, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS City Centre/Centre-Ville, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
Bonjour!

Thank you for your comments concerning your stay at the Best Western Plus City Centre Quebec. We appreciate that you took the time to post your 5/5 review! Quebec City parking situation is very similar to what is happening in downtown of most of the large cities: there is more demand than parking spaces available. To accommodate our guests, we got as many spaces as possible in the surroundings some of which are located 10 minutes walking from the hotel. Valet service is available for 20.00$ per car, per night, plus taxes and your vehicle will be delivered next to the main entrance of the hotel within 15 minutes. It was a true pleasure to have you stay with us and we hope you will visit us again at the Best Western City Centre Quebec the next time you are in Québec City.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Quebec, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2013

Two things I didn't like: the price of the parking and the cleanliness of the swimming pool.
But if I'll visit Quebec city again, I will definitely consider to stay in the same hotel.

It would be nice though to have the two points above improved.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
2 Thank MTU_MTU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWCV-Manager, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS City Centre/Centre-Ville, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
Bonjour, Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay at the Best Western Plus City Centre Quebec. We appreciate that you took the time to share and post your comments. We use feedback from our guests to do everything possible to create an enjoyable experience for each of our guests. Thank you to bring our attention regarding the pool issue, your comments was transmitted to our Maintenance Director.Quebec City parking situation is very similar to what is happening in downtown of most of the large cities: there is more demand than parking spaces available. To accommodate our guests, we got as many spaces as possible in the surroundings some of which are located 10 minutes walking from the hotel. Valet service is available for 20.00$ per car, per night, plus taxes and your vehicle will be delivered next to the main entrance of the hotel within 15 minutes.It was a true pleasure to have you stay with us and I am sincerely happy to know that you will visit us again with your family the next time you are in Quebec City. We look forward to it!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2013

Stayed 2 days for a lover's week-end booked via Hotwire at a more than reasonable price.
Upon arrival i asked for a room on the upper floor and or corner room and was offered to upgrade for a ''Plus'' room for only 10$ a night, very happy i was.
It was a spacious room, clean and exactly what i was expected.

Pros :

- Staff very competent and nice
- Great location, rue St-Joseph is just around the corner and 1km from Old Québec
- Very reasonable prices
- Clean rooms
- Keurig's coffee machine, big LCD TV, small fridge in the ''Plus'' rooms, good pressure and hot water in shower

Cons :

- In the morning there were loud ''bang'' noises as if we were under the gym, but we never knew what it was (neither did the staff)
- Small windows (and frozen in winter)
- The view from the room on the ''De la Couronne'' corner street is more than ordinary, even on the 5th of 6 floors.

I would have given 4 stars in this review but the noise in the morning disturbed me enough so that i don't think that i will go back soon.
Maybe i was very badlucky and the noise is not always present. I have to mention that i am very picky about silent rooms in hotels, so i would still recommend anyone i know to try it out.

A definitive go for budget minded travelers that are looking for cleanliness and good location in Québec city, and are not waiting for more than a standard hotel room.

Room Tip: Ask for the ''surclassement'', giving you a ''Plus'' room for only 1...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ThomasBL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWCV-Manager, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS City Centre/Centre-Ville, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
Bonjour!

Thank you very much for taking the time to post your comments concerning your recent stay with us at the Best Western Plus City Center. Your feedback is very much appreciated and I can assure you that my staff and I use this information to do everything possible to always improve ourselves and create enjoyable experiences for each of our guests. It is always a pleasure four our front desk clerks to mark down our clients preferences concerning the bedding preference when calling directly at the hotel. We will always do our best to meet the demands of our guests, accordingly to the hotel availability. Again, thank you for your review. It was a true pleasure to have you stay with us and we hope you will visit us again at the Best Western City Plus Centre Quebec the next time you are in Québec City.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port-Daniel, Canada
Level Contributor
24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2013

This was my second stay at this hotel.
When we went to check in right around 3:00, we were informed that our assigned room was not ready yet and were asked to wait about 15 minutes and check back with them (this was being asked of others as well). After about 10 minutes a receptionist called us over and informed us that our room was still not ready, but would give us another room and given that we had to wait would give us a room in a quiet section of the hotel (accessible only by key card). This suited us both well as we were tired.

The room was very clean and the bed very comfortable. Given the room was in a locked section of the hotel it was very quiet. During my previous stay it was a bit louder given the room overlooked the restaurant.

The bathroom had a very large shower.

The spa and pool look much larger and nicer in the photos that the hotel provides. The pool is quite small compared to other hotels - as is the spa. Apart from some obnoxious people there that night - the pool and spa were still enjoyable.

Although the hotel lists parking - note that there is only valet parking available. From walking around a bit and seeing the hotel valet people, it seems that they park the cars wherever they can find a spot. There is indoor parking right across the street, but you must be out by 7 AM.

I do look forward to staying here again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PepsiCola5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWCV-Manager, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS City Centre/Centre-Ville, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
Bonjour, Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay at the Best Western Plus City Centre Quebec. We appreciate that you took the time to share and post your comments. We use feedback from our guests to do everything possible to create an enjoyable experience for each of our guests. We provide traditional rooms, business class rooms and executive rooms. When staying in a business class room, you are guaranteed to be on a higher floor and be provided with a mini-fridge, a Keurig coffee maker, bathrobes and deluxe amenities as well. If you are looking for more luxury, an executive room is for you. These rooms are in a private section of the hotel and offer the same benefits as the business class but the main advantage is the large deluxe glass shower with rain shower head instead of the regular bath with shower. Our heated indoor pool (25 feet long by 16 feet wide and 1.1 meters to 1.2 meters deep) it is surrounded in a hand painted decor of landscapes representing the Quebec region. It is open every day from 7 a.m. to 10 p.m. Valet service is available for 20.00$ per car, per night, plus taxes and your vehicle will be delivered next to the main entrance of the hotel within 15 minutes.
It was a true pleasure to have you stay with us and I am sincerely happy to know that you will visit us again with your family the next time you are in Quebec City. We look forward to it!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Quebec City hotels
5.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN PREMIER Hotel l'Aristocrate
0.6 mi away
Hilton Quebec
Hilton Quebec
#36 of 101 in Quebec City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,555 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Le Concorde Quebec
Hotel Le Concorde Quebec
#50 of 101 in Quebec City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,887 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Palace Royal
Hotel Palace Royal
#31 of 101 in Quebec City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 636 reviews
0.7 mi away
Le Champlain Hotel
Le Champlain Hotel
#14 of 101 in Quebec City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,781 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel PUR Quebec
Hotel PUR Quebec
#46 of 101 in Quebec City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 424 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS City Centre/Centre-Ville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS City Centre/Centre-Ville

Property: BEST WESTERN PLUS City Centre/Centre-Ville
Address: 330 rue de la Couronne, Quebec City, Quebec G1K 6E6, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Quebec > Quebec City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Quebec City
#30 Business Hotel in Quebec City
#38 Family Hotel in Quebec City
#45 Romantic Hotel in Quebec City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS City Centre/Centre-Ville 3.5*
Number of rooms: 177
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy 4-stars accommodation at this Quebec City hotel when visiting this charming and historic city. Located in the heart of the Quebec City business community and easily accessible from main highways, the Best Western Plus City Centre/Centre-Ville is an ideal choice for business or leisure travelers. Located a short distance from the Old City, cruise ship terminal and Plains of Abraham, this Quebec City hotel offers easy access to the Videotron Centre, the Museum of Civilization, the Quebec Convention Center and the Quebec Fine Arts Museum. Guests staying at the hotel will be close to all of the entertainment and major happening of Quebec City. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS City Centre/Centre-Ville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus City Centre/Centre-Ville Hotel Quebec City
Best Western Quebec City
Quebec City Best Western
BEST WESTERN PLUS City Centre/Centre-Ville Quebec/Quebec City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing