We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Close to old town”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western Plus City Centre/Centre-Ville
Ranked #37 of 102 Hotels in Quebec City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed December 30, 2012

Hotel is located a walking distance from the old town and this is very convenient . All the staff is friendly, room and bathroom clean. I am not impressed with the room size. The room we got was definitely too small for two people staying for five days. There was only one armchair and one desk chair. After a busy day we wanted to rest in the evening reading or watching tv. One of us had sit on the bed or desk chair. The other disappointment was no fridge in the room. When we asked for it , we were told there is additional charge. The Best Western plus website lists the mini fridge as a standard and still this location wants to charge an extra fee for it.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tess3649
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWCV-Manager, Manager at Best Western Plus City Centre/Centre-Ville, responded to this reviewResponded January 4, 2013

Bonjour, Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay at the Best Western Plus City Centre Quebec. We appreciate that you took the time to share and post your comments. We use feedback from our guests to do everything possible to create an enjoyable experience for each of our guests. As you have mentioned, our property is located close to Historic Old City 15 – 20 minutes walking going uphill. According to Google Maps, our hotel is located 1350 meters (1,3km) from Old Town. Our goals and objective is to continually renew our features to be up with our guests expectations. We understand that fridges become a key amenity in a hotel room. Compact refrigerators are available in our Business Class and Executive rooms. Otherwise, it is totally fair to say that our decor is classic. We invite Trip Advisor Readers to visit our property web site in order to gather information on our various room types and services available within our property. Again, Thank you. It was a pleasure to have you stay with us and hope you will visit us again at the Best Western City Centre Quebec the next time you are in Quebec City.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,442)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

757 - 763 of 1,442 reviews

Reviewed December 30, 2012

Stayed here for a few nights while visiting Quebec. Rooms were clean, but I felt they were outdated. Bathroom was clean, and modern. The hotel itself had a very classy feel to it which I liked. A few things I didn't like were: there was no microwave or fridge in the room, pool was very difficult to find, our room wasn't cleaned when we came back at the end of the day. Overall, okay place to stay.

Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
1  Thank Taylor A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWCV-Manager, Manager at Best Western Plus City Centre/Centre-Ville, responded to this reviewResponded January 4, 2013

Bonjour, Thank you for taking the time to share and post your comments following your recent stay at the Best Western Plus City Centre Quebec City. We would like to take this opportunity to point out our property offers three (3) room types, Traditional / Business Class and Executive. Different amenities (i.e. Fridge available in Business Class and Executive, not available in Traditional) is offered in our room categories. We invite travelers to visit our own property web site, contact our reservation agents or your own travel agent since some of our room types may not be available on all Online Travel Agencies (OTA). We appreciate your patronage and hope you will stay with us at the Best Western Plus City Centre Quebec City next time you are in Quebec City. We can assure you we will do the extra mile to make your stay a comfortable one.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2012

Everything was good apart from:
- had to pay for valet service same price as for local covered parking (~CAD 20) while car appeared to be parked on nearby gravel lot
- window in my room on the first floor where I stayed was locked and there was no central AC. So I woke up in the morning with severe migraine. When I was back to the room after going outside I realized what was the reason: NO fresh air inside.

Room Tip: Check if you can open the window or if there is central AC bringing fresh air from the street
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TG7612
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWCV-Manager, Manager at Best Western Plus City Centre/Centre-Ville, responded to this reviewResponded January 4, 2013

First, we would like to thank you for taking the time to post your comment regarding your past stay at the Best Western Plus City Centre/Centre-ville. We use comments like yours to improve our overall service level to our guests. Parking is an ongoing challenge in City Centre especially if you are not fully aware of the City rules and regulations. We feel our valet service is an alternative if you are driving to Quebec City. We invite Trip Advisor Readers to be well aware of this when conducting and comparing hotels. We suggest to include 20.00$/day plus all applicable taxes parking fee when considering what you are looking to pay for your entire accommodation stay in City Centre Quebec. Our property offers quality accommodation with various room types including rooms that are located on the first floor. Each and every room offers individual AC unit and thermostat. Our reservation, front desk and maintenance services are always available to assist with any issue you may encounter during your stay. Again, we thank you for your comments and patronage.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2012

The hotel and the hotel staff itself was almost perfect. The only two things that are not perfect are the freezing cold bathroom floor ( no heating in the bathroom and ceramic tiles are the perfect recipe for it to happen ) and the very expensive parking fees but I didn't come with a car so it was not a big deal for me.

The thing that bothered me is the price on the reservation site and once there was not the same. I was charged with a different package than booked online and there was very little the reception could do since it was not ''their fault''. They were polite, apologized and I didn't see the point of yelling at them for an error that was not theirs but I would still make sure to print screens when booking online the next time.

Other than that little mishap, the rooms are classic, very nice mattresses/pillows, cleanliness was right on, although I don't drink coffee it was a nice touch to have a Keurig machine in the room, nice in-room safe big enough for my macbook air and camera, I would come back here again.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank doumdoum1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWCV-Manager, Manager at Best Western Plus City Centre/Centre-Ville, responded to this reviewResponded January 4, 2013

First, we would like to thank you for taking the time to share your comments following your recent stay at the Best Western Plus City Centre in Quebec City. We appreciate your comments since we use your feedback in order to improve our overall services. We thank you for pointing out the fact that we provide a room safe in every room. The Keuring coffee machine and fridge are available in our Business and Executive Class Rooms. Online Travel Agencies (OTA) offer booking solution in real time. We invite Trip Advisor Readers to conduct and compare accommodation shopping sessions on various online sites in order to benefit the best possible option at the time of the reservation. Our inventory and rates are subject to fluctuate in order to reflect the rule of supply and demand for specific travel dates. Online Travel Agencies (OTA) as well as property direct can provide a hard or virtual confirmation that can be redeemed at the property level upon arrival. Your confirmation should stipulate at least your arrival, departure date, room type and daily room rate. Again, we thank you for your patronage and comments that have been shared with the entire Management Team and Front Line Personnel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 13, 2012

The hotel provided decent access to the tourist sites of old Quebec and was reasonably priced during the FIS World Cup. The breakfast buffet was excellent, being included in my room package. Internet service was also excellent in room. Staff was friendly and the use of English was never an issue.


  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
1  Thank MARK M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Genevieve_Hebert123, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Plus City Centre/Centre-Ville, responded to this reviewResponded December 19, 2012

Bonjour!

Thank you for your most generous review about your stay at the Best Western Plus City Centre Quebec. I appreciate that you took the time to post it. It is always gratifying to know that our performance was effective and appreciated, especially our great bilingual (some trilingual) staff! We are indeed located near the Old Québec; about 15 minutes’ walk from the site of the Parliament Hill where the FIS World Cup was held for its first time recently. Opting for a package with breakfast included is always a good choice. We actually offer many packages that include full breakfast plus an activity like a visit of the Aquarium of Québec, passes for the Village Vacances Valcartier resort or the Winter Carnival, a visit of various museums, music show tickets or simply a dinner at our restaurant. Is it a good way to save! Our Front Desk team would be happy to inform any travelers on breakfast options as well as packages selections upon reservation. What a great pretext for another visit! It was a true pleasure to have you stay with us and we hope you will visit us again at the Best Western Plus City Centre Quebec the next time you are in Québec City. We look forward to it!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 12, 2012

Stayed here with the family for the World Cup XCountry Spring races (amazing!) in front of the Parliament, and we were very pleased with our stay. Got a great deal thanks to an on-line coupon (which they couldn't find at check out but honoured it just the same). Small but nice pool -- may wish to go easy on the chlorine. Paid for parking at the meter overnight (free from 9pm to 9am) instead of the hotel parking which was the normal competitive rate. Lower city along Blvd Charest has really been revitalized with quaint restaurants and shops. A good uphill hike to the main part of town, but I prefer a good steep walk than the steep hotel costs in the tourist centre.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Seat11A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Genevieve_Hebert123, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Plus City Centre/Centre-Ville, responded to this reviewResponded December 19, 2012

Bonjour!

Thank you for your comments concerning your stay at the Best Western Plus City Centre Quebec. I appreciate that you took the time to post them. It is always gratifying to know that our performance was effective and appreciated. I am happy to know that you liked discovering the revitalized Nouvo St-Roch District, on the occasion of the FIS World Cup event. Since the past 10 years, it has reborn as the center-stage for the city’s artistic events and as a cultural hub. Restaurants of all styles and prices in addition of hosting different boutiques are located on the popular St-Joseph Street; within five minutes walking form our hotel. Althoug you were lucky enough to find street parking, I would like to advise all travelers that free parking in Quebec City is precarious. Parkmeters can be tricky and very expensive if you are not familiar with the local signage. Moreover, during winter, overnight street parking is forbidden during the snow removal operation. Besides, our 20$ per night valet service will provide a simple and secure option for your car with unlimited in an out. Again, thank you very much for taking the time to provide us with your feedback, it was a true pleasure to have you stay with us and we hope you will visit us again at the Best Western Plus City Centre the next time you are in Quebec City. We look forward to it!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2012

I went with my family in november 2012. It was a nice stay. About 15 mins walking distance to downtown. The staffs are very kind and helpful. Everyone speaks english except the cleaning lady. We asked the cleaning lady whether the coffee caps are free. She didn't understand what 'free' means i guess... she brought us +10 coffee capsules! hahaha Nice! The room is clean and cozy... the beddings are clean. They change beddings on the third night. (see my photo)

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HanBi K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Genevieve_Hebert123, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Plus City Centre/Centre-Ville, responded to this reviewResponded December 11, 2012

Bonjour!

Thank you for your comments concerning your stay at the Best Western Plus City Centre Quebec. I appreciate that you took the time to post them. It is always gratifying to know that our performance was effective and appreciated. I am sincerely happy you enjoyed our clean and cozy rooms. Your funny anecdote shows that even if not all of our housekeeping staff members speak English fluently, they are indeed very dedicated to our guests! I would also like to thank you for your pictures as a complement of your great review. As we are concerned about the environment, we do invite guests to help us saving the planet by not changing bed sheets every day for in-house guest. But please note that we are likely to change them whenever a guest asks for it, and of course, every time for new guests! Same thing for towels. It helps us reduce water and detergent usage and hopefully, make a significant and positive impact on the environment. This being said, it was a true pleasure to have you stay with us and hope that you will visit us again the next time you are in Quebec City. We look forward to it!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Quebec City hotels
5.1 mi away
Best Western Premier Hotel l'Aristocrate
0.1 mi away
Hotel PUR, Quebec, A Tribute Portfolio Hotel
0.6 mi away
Hilton Quebec
Hilton Quebec
#34 of 102 in Quebec City
2,840 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hotel Le Concorde Quebec
Hotel Le Concorde Quebec
#52 of 102 in Quebec City
2,149 reviews
2.9 mi away
Hotel & Suites Le Dauphin Quebec
Hotel & Suites Le Dauphin Quebec
#19 of 102 in Quebec City
885 reviews
6.3 mi away
Hotel Cofortel
Hotel Cofortel
#24 of 102 in Quebec City
566 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus City Centre/Centre-Ville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus City Centre/Centre-Ville

Address: 330 De la Couronne, Quebec City, Quebec G1K 6E6, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Quebec > Quebec City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Quebec City
#30 Business Hotel in Quebec City
#38 Family Hotel in Quebec City
#45 Romantic Hotel in Quebec City
Price Range: $78 - $210 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Best Western Plus City Centre/Centre-Ville 3.5*
Number of rooms: 177
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy 4-stars accommodation at this Quebec City hotel when visiting this charming and historic city. Located in the heart of the Quebec City business community and easily accessible from main highways, the Best Western Plus City Centre/Centre-Ville is an ideal choice for business or leisure travelers. Located a short distance from the Old City, cruise ship terminal and Plains of Abraham, this Quebec City hotel offers easy access to the Videotron Centre, the Museum of Civilization, the Quebec Convention Center and the Quebec Fine Arts Museum. Guests staying at the hotel will be close to all of the entertainment and major happening of Quebec City. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Best Western, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Best Western Plus City Centre/Centre-Ville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus City Centre/Centre-Ville Hotel Quebec City
Best Western Quebec City
Quebec City Best Western
Best Western Plus City Centre/Centre-Ville Quebec/Quebec City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing