We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Exceeded Expectations” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS City Centre/Centre-Ville

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
BEST WESTERN PLUS City Centre/Centre-Ville
Ranked #38 of 101 Hotels in Quebec City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Thunder Bay, Canada
Level Contributor
138 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Exceeded Expectations”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2011

Got this on a blind Hotwire last minute deal. Described as 3* but seems 4* to us in quality. 2 great queen beds, spacious room, super new and clean. Quiet, luxurious. Very pleasant and helpful staff. Close enough to old city attractions. Great restaurant! Keurig coffee machine. Super TV!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Reg J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWCV-Manager, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS City Centre/Centre-Ville, responded to this review, October 5, 2011
Bonjour,
Thank you for your comments concerning your stay at the BEST WESTERN PLUS City Centre Quebec. I appreciate that you took the time to post them. I am passing on your comments, knowing that it will serve as an inspiration to our staff to continue their efforts. It is always gratifying to know that our performance was effective and appreciated. I am grateful that you let us know of your satisfaction. I am happy to read that you appreciated our Business Class Rooms! Keurig coffee makers are also available in our Executive Rooms with Deluxe Shower. It is also a pleasure to see that you enjoy our in house restaurant the Settimo Cielo! The dinner menu offers a wide variety of pastas and pizzas to please all of our guests. Thanks to its unique mural, as well as to the soft Italian music, you can experience and indoor terrace all year long while having a delicious meal. Again thank you for your comments, it was a true pleasure to have you stay with us and we hope you will visit us again at the Best Western City Centre Quebec the next time you are in Québec City. We look forward to it!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,251 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    378
    586
    204
    60
    23
See reviews for
359
474
53
135
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (177)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Hamburg, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2011

Our family stayed at the Best Western Plus for two nights en route to Nova Scotia this summer. The hotel is a 15-20 minute walk to the walled city of Old Quebec, so upon arrival you do not get the feeling of visiting the charming area associated with this tourist destination. However, if you are physically able it is not an unreasonable distance to travel by foot. There are many dining options located nearby, along with a convenience store and pharmacy.

We had to use valet parking as the three parking lots available are not on-site. However, our vehicle was delivered to us in a timely fashion upon request when we ventured out.

Upon check-in we were given a very small room that had not been properly cleaned. There were crumbs all over the carpet from previous guests. However, when we alerted the front desk we were given a much bigger and cleaner room with little delay. The rooms of this hotel have views either of the neighbouring restaurants and apartments or of the indoor courtyard which contains the restaurant.

The indoor pool is very small and highly chlorinated. There were a number of bandages floating about during our first visit to the pool which did not make for a very positive impression.

During our second day, we had the unfortunate experience of being stuck in one of the two existing elevators for approximately 20 minutes. Three members of the hotel staff were in the elevator with us because they had been working on trying to repair the other elevator that was out of service. There were no signs posted in the elevator indicating maximum number of people or weight allowed. While it is understandable that these sort of malfunctions do occur, our daughters were very distraught and refused to step into the elevators for the rest of our stay. When we explained to the concierge that we had been among the 11 people stranded in the elevator we were not offered an apology, only an explanation that the elevators were being examined. Sadly, this will probably be our daughters most memorable moment of visiting Quebec City.

Overall, I would not recommend this hotel based on my experience. There are many other options for accommodation within the city.

Paulette West
New Hamburg, Ontario

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank paulettewest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWCV-Manager, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS City Centre/Centre-Ville, responded to this review, September 30, 2011
Dear Mrs. West,
Thank you for your comments concerning your stay at the Best Western City Centre Quebec. I appreciate that you took the time to post them and hope you will accept my apologies for any inconvenience you experienced. I am disappointed we failed to give you the fine accommodations and services that you were expecting. Obviously, the incident of the elevator is very unusual and I sincerely understand it could have affected your trip. If it is possible for you to contact me via e-mail at oleblond@hotelquebec.com, I would like to provide you with a Best Western Travel Card. Again, we apologize for any inconvenience you experienced. I can guaranty you that every comment you gave me as been noted and I will take steps to ensure that the problems you experienced do not happen again.

Sincerely yours,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2011

Stayed at this hotel for 2 nights; booked through Hotwire.com. Like any place you stay and any class of hotel, there are pros and cons. To address the cons first: you run the potential of getting an inside room with locked and sealed windown looking into the internal courtyard. Noise from the resturant below is very minimal (this is good) however the room will feel dark and contained at all times of the day. The only other thing is the fitness room has no good air movement nor does it have any cleaning supplies for when you are done with the machines. A short 30min run on the treadmil resulted in a very stuffy room. May I suggest placing a fan in this room and some cleaning spray for gym equipment?

The Pros:
#1, staying in very close proximity to all the main sights in Quebec City for under $100.00/night. This is a huge bonus and out weighs my previous mentioned cons. #2, very cool neighbourhood to walk around in and discover places like Bistro Les Bossus. #3, Very friendly staff make you feel welcome in their city and hotel. #4, Close to the free Cirque du Soliel show.

When I return to this city, I will consider staying at this hotel again with hopes of getting an outside-facing room.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the inside of the atrium feel confined and are dark at all times of the day. Be advised...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Levek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWCV-Manager, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS City Centre/Centre-Ville, responded to this review, September 30, 2011
Bonjour,
Thank you for your comments concerning your stay at the Best Western City Centre Quebec. I appreciate that you took the time to post them. Your suggestion concerning the fitness room was transmitted to the administration and we will take the necessary measures to ensure that our services are adjusted. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed our neighborbood! It is called the Nouvo St-Roch and is located 15 minutes, walking distance, from Old Quebec. It has developed its touristic facet over the last decade, continues to grow its nightlife and already offers a large choice of restaurants and shops. Concerning interior rooms overlooking on the atrium and on the in-house Settimo Cielo! restaurant, there are only 24 of them on our 180 rooms. Otherwise, we invite Trip Advisor riders to note that it is always a pleasure four our front desk clerks to mark down our clients preferences concerning the view of the room upon reservation, check in or even upon check out in the offing of a future stay. We will always do our best to meet the demands of our guests. Again, it was a true pleasure to have you stay with us and we hope you will visit us again at the Best Western City Centre Quebec the next time you are in Québec City. We look forward to it!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
43 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2011

we loved the room, big, with a sofa couch ! pool and fitness facilities were great. The Italian restaurant had a great menu and we enjoyed the matching wine color coded menu!
Parking is a problem if you don't want to pay the $20 valet fee.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DRTraveller81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWCV-Manager, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS City Centre/Centre-Ville, responded to this review, September 29, 2011
Bonjour,
Thank you for your comments concerning your stay at the Best Western Plus City Centre Quebec. I appreciate that you took the post them. It is always gratifying to know that our performance was effective and appreciated. I am grateful that you let us know of your satisfaction. It is also a pleasure for to know you appreciated our newly renovated exercise room. It is small but offers all the necessary equipment to stay in shape during your stay. The fitness facility includes a treadmill, an elliptical, a stationary bike, a stepper and a multi station for muscle training. The renovations also were the perfect occasion to add two 40 inches HDTV flat screens with high definition signal. Again, we appreciate your patronage and we will be pleased to have you stay with us at the Best Western City Centre Quebec the next time you are in Québec City. I can assure you we will do everything we can to make your stay a comfortable one.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Ontario
Level Contributor
51 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2011

Stayed for 2 nights, August 12-14. Reserved two rooms with Priceline at the nightly rate of $130 USD.

Even though the street address is on rue de la Couronne, the actual entrance is on rue du Roi, which is a one-way street. We had to circle the block in order to pull up to the front entrance. Across the entrance is a bus loop, so the only place to stop is in front of the hotel.

We were given two interior rooms on the ground floor of the hotel. Because of this, each room had a view of the Settimo Cielo restaurant down below us. This made for a claustrophobic time whenever we were inside our rooms since we kept the curtains shut. One room was an accessible room with two queen beds and a sofa bed, while the other room had two queen beds facing each other, foot to foot.

The television in each room was high-definition and for once, there was actual high-definition reception in the hotel. There was a good selection of French and English HD channels, and I was impressed that they even had Golf Channel HD.

Wireless Internet access in the hotel was free, and there were three free Internet terminals in the lobby. Also on the ground floor is a vending machine, a pay coffee vending machine (even though coffee makers are available in the rooms) and an exercise and pool room that was always busy whenever we passed by.

The hotel is in the Nouvo Saint-Roch district, which seems to be a refurbished area of the downtown core. (There are a few run-down stores and a closed-down cinema nearby.) The immediate area is quite distressed, but there are some good restaurants and shops a few blocks away. Of note is the Mountain Equipment Co-op store (405, rue Saint-Joseph est) for outdoor gear.

We were particularly interested in visiting the Parliament Buildings and Old Quebec, so the most direct route was to head south and climb the stairs to the upper levels of the city. However, we learned on the second day that we could avoid the stairs by heading east and then walking to the port and Lower Town. Also, heading south directly on de la Couronne leads to the Faubourg elevator that can be used (for free) to avoid the steps.

Valet parking is right at the front entrance and available for $20/day with in-and-out privileges. Since we were planning on walking throughout the city, we dropped off our car on the first day and picked it up after check-out. You need to phone 15-30 minutes in advance to get your car, but ours was ready in 10 minutes.

For the price we paid, we were expecting something more than a Best Western. However, it was a good hotel with great service. I would have preferred to stay closer to the major tourist attractions, but I can recommend staying here if you want to be in the downtown area and don't mind a neighbourhood that is a bit rough around the edges.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank smokedmeat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWCV-Manager, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS City Centre/Centre-Ville, responded to this review, September 29, 2011
Bonjour,
Thank you very much for taking the time to post your comments concerning your recent stay with us at the Best Western City Center. Your feedback is very much appreciated and I can assure you that my staff and I use this information to do everything possible to create an enjoyable experience for each of our guests. I appreciate that you also took the time to post some pictures of the hotel. Concerning interior rooms overlooking on the atrium and on the in-house Settimo Cielo! restaurant, there are only 24 of them on our 180 rooms. Otherwise, we invite Trip Advisor riders to note that it is always a pleasure four our front desk clerks to mark down our clients preferences concerning the view of the room upon reservation, check in or even upon check out in the offing of a future stay. We will always do our best to meet the demands of our guests. Again, thank you for a most complete review. It was a true pleasure to have you stay with us and we hope you will visit us again at the Best Western City Centre Quebec the next time you are in Québec City.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2011

You never know what you get when booking Hotwire....we went out on a limb and were happy with our room. King bed was VERY comfortable, room had a large flat screen TV and an easy chair. Our room, 333 faced the back so it was very quiet.
Valet parking is expensive. We parked on the street after hours (car must be moved between 9am-5pm. Pool is pretty but did not use. Neighborhood had some fun places for a night-cap or bite to eat. Bfast place across the main drag. Did not eat here. Struck me as a place to sleep and not hang-out.
Wi-Fi in room worked well.

Cirque du Soleil is in walkable distance....Free show June-Sept 3, under the highway and in easy walkable distance.
Eat in Old Town, walk down to show, drink at bar/pub and walk home .... :)
No complaints here.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank c w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWCV-Manager, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS City Centre/Centre-Ville, responded to this review, September 29, 2011
Bonjour,
Thank you for your comments concerning your stay at the BEST WESTERN PLUS City Centre Quebec. I appreciate that you took the time to post them. I am glad you appreciated our Essentia mattresses, which are now available in all of our 180 guest rooms. Memory foam sleep system from our these mattresses are designed so that each layer of foam and latex within the mattress work together harmoniously to create a unified surface that interacts intrinsically with the human body ensuring the best possible sleep surface. The 40 inches HDTV flat screens with high definition signal were also recently added to all the rooms to allow our guest to enjoy the best of them. Again, we appreciate your patronage and hope you will stay with us at the Best Western City Centre Quebec the next time you are in Québec City. I can assure you we will do everything we can to make your stay a comfortable one.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
R
Level Contributor
93 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2011

The four of us have got a spacious room on the top (6th) floor. It was clean and spacious, but we were badly lacking a wardrobe. A small wall closet with 4 hangers and no shelves was simply not enough.
We managed to get great prices from the Best Western site, which became event better as we e-mailed the hotel directly. Unfortunately, they did not include breakfast, which was expensive if purchased separately. Good Internet connection.
Parking is not cheap, but the valets are doing a great job. We were asked to call for a car 15 min in advance, and the car was always ready as we came down.
Think twice before you decide to walk to the old city, especially with kids. We drove there and parked in a huge and reasonably priced parking under the city hall, it was just great.

Room Tip: Contact the hotel directly for better prices
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank G9508
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWCV-Manager, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS City Centre/Centre-Ville, responded to this review, August 31, 2011
Bonjour,
Thank you for your comments concerning your stay at the BEST WESTERN PLUS City Centre Quebec. I appreciate that you took the time to post them. By telling us what you liked about your stay and how we can improve, you are helping us deliver a superior experience for you and other guests in the future. We invite Trip Advisor readers to note that several factors might impact hotel rates. Location, global offer and demand in the market, conventions and international trends in travel are among the key factors to impact our rates in the market. We always invite our clients and guests to conduct shopping session in order to compare various booking methods to fit their accommodations needs and budget to make sure to obtain the best available offer based on their exact travel dates. It was a true pleasure to have you stay with us and we hope you will visit us again at the Best Western City Centre Quebec the next time you are in Québec City. We look forward to it!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Quebec City hotels
5.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN PREMIER Hotel l'Aristocrate
0.8 mi away
Hotel Le Concorde Quebec
Hotel Le Concorde Quebec
#47 of 101 in Quebec City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,859 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hilton Quebec
Hilton Quebec
#35 of 101 in Quebec City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,516 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel PUR Quebec
Hotel PUR Quebec
#44 of 101 in Quebec City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 419 reviews
0.7 mi away
Le Champlain Hotel
Le Champlain Hotel
#14 of 101 in Quebec City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,734 reviews
3.4 mi away
Auberge du Littoral
Auberge du Littoral
#26 of 101 in Quebec City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 639 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS City Centre/Centre-Ville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS City Centre/Centre-Ville

Property: BEST WESTERN PLUS City Centre/Centre-Ville
Address: 330 rue de la Couronne, Quebec City, Quebec G1K 6E6, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Quebec > Quebec City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Quebec City
#30 Business Hotel in Quebec City
#38 Family Hotel in Quebec City
#45 Romantic Hotel in Quebec City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS City Centre/Centre-Ville 3.5*
Number of rooms: 177
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy 4-stars accommodation at this Quebec City hotel when visiting this charming and historic city. Located in the heart of the Quebec City business community and easily accessible from main highways, the Best Western Plus City Centre/Centre-Ville is an ideal choice for business or leisure travelers. Located a short distance from the Old City, cruise ship terminal and Plains of Abraham, this Quebec City hotel offers easy access to the Videotron Centre, the Museum of Civilization, the Quebec Convention Center and the Quebec Fine Arts Museum. Guests staying at the hotel will be close to all of the entertainment and major happening of Quebec City. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS City Centre/Centre-Ville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus City Centre/Centre-Ville Hotel Quebec City
Best Western Quebec City
Quebec City Best Western
BEST WESTERN PLUS City Centre/Centre-Ville Quebec/Quebec City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing