We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very pleasant food experience...and reasonably priced”
Review of Restaurant 1640

Restaurant 1640
Reserve with OpenTable
Restaurant 1640 is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #43 of 1,453 Restaurants in Quebec City
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $30 - $30
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Business meetings, Special occasions
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Fort St
Description: Simple and tasteful Be it for breakfast, lunch, happy hours or dinner, you'll discover a tastefull and simple cuisine that longs to be discovered. Pizza, pasta and bistro classics such as steak frites and lamb shanks await you. Or you could also squander time away at our lovely bar section over a glass of Merlot
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Very pleasant food experience...and reasonably priced”
Reviewed January 3, 2014

Near our hotel, however I did not pick up on this restaurant during my reviews for them in the area. But the snowy weather kept us closer than expected to our hotel and wandered in for a late lunch our last full day.
Great food quality and serving portion for the price. The service was inconsistent due to shift change, but very pleasant when they were around.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Chilidogtraveler823
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,088 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    433
    434
    131
    52
    38
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Aussie travelling the world
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great food”
Reviewed January 2, 2014 via mobile

This restaurant was just down the road from our hotel and without wanting to venture too far in the -20C temps we ended up here. The food was delicious and exactly what we wanted - not too heavy like most of the other French Canadian food available in QC. I had the fresh cooked Canadian Salmon with vegetables and my partner had the meatball pasta, both of which we're very tasty! We also had dessert and wine and it was very reasonably priced. The service was a little slow but I would highly recommend this restaurant and would go back again in my next visit to QC.

Helpful?
Thank anaussiegoesworldly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olympia Washington
Level 6 Contributor
138 reviews
93 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“good but limited lunch menu”
Reviewed December 30, 2013

there were only 5 items on the lunch menu. The Caesar salad was really a wedge salad. Great pomme frites!

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank mcmc1953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
albuquerque n.m. 87120
Level 6 Contributor
158 reviews
102 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Sidewalk cafe and bar - amazing!”
Reviewed December 29, 2013

We stopped for coffee and croissants at the outdoor cafe on our visit to Quebec. We had a very nice waitress who spoke English well. The food was very good and the coffee was hot and strong. Later that evening, after dinner, we went back to try the bar. The bartender was both competent and entertaining and we tried both the local beers and some recommended drinks. Nicely heated and beautiful decor.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Marcus4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Temple, Texas
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Fantastic”
Reviewed December 18, 2013 via mobile

We loved this restaurant! My husband and I ate dinner here and both were very happy when we left :)
He got the pork chop w/maple syrup sauce (best pork chop we've ever eaten- so delicious and moist!) and I had the curry seafood dish (also excellent!). Friendly waiter, nice wine, great atmosphere. We enjoyed it so much, we wanted to go back the next night to repeat.....

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sarah M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurant 1640 also viewed

 
Quebec City, Quebec
Quebec City, Quebec
 

Been to Restaurant 1640? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing