We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Full of tourists, but the food is good”
Review of Restaurant 1640

Restaurant 1640
Reserve with OpenTable
Restaurant 1640 is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #41 of 1,467 Restaurants in Quebec City
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $30 - $30
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Families with children, Business meetings
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Fort St
Description: Simple and tasteful Be it for breakfast, lunch, happy hours or dinner, you'll discover a tastefull and simple cuisine that longs to be discovered. Pizza, pasta and bistro classics such as steak frites and lamb shanks await you. Or you could also squander time away at our lovely bar section over a glass of Merlot
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Full of tourists, but the food is good”
Reviewed October 6, 2012

1640 is on tourist bus square opposite the Frontenac so it’s going to be crowded.
We had an excellent breakfast there before the tourists had got off the cruise ships, so we decided that the wait for a table in the evening was probably worth it.
I ordered Veal Parmesan with pasta and she who must be obeyed chose Shrimps and Scallops. Both dishes were well presented. Mine was a substantial amount of food and I wasn’t expecting a ragu on the pasta. The volume defeated me, but it tasted very good.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Richard S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,121 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    451
    446
    133
    52
    39
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ontario Canada
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Best Breakfast ever”
Reviewed October 1, 2012

2 couples from Ontario visited this restaurant in Sept. Right in the heart of the action of the Old City the breakfast menu encompasses just about everything you would want. The omlettes are light and fluffy, The fruit cup fresh and filled with all types of fruit. The service is friendly without being overbearing. I would give the 1640 a 10 out of ten

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank hillc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
“Best Creme Brule ever.”
Reviewed September 30, 2012 via mobile

My family and I went there in the late evening. The fries were good and I had a hamburger. The Creme Brule was my favorite ever though. And I've had a lot of Creme brules. If I am ever in Canada or Quebec again, I'll definitely be coming by.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Fleebob434
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bendigo Victoria
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Fantastic food and location”
Reviewed September 29, 2012

We had dinner here in December (winter and naturally a low season). There was hardly anyone else about in town and only a couple of other dinners in the place, the staff were very friendly and both the food and service excellent.

Quebec City is known for excellent restaurants, driven by its French heritage. During the low season most restaurants offer a two or three course prix fixe menu at reasonable prices, so we took advantage of that and ate at a lot of excellent, usually very expensive places and didnt have a bad meal anywhere.

  • Visited December 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Ads_and_Wennie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level 6 Contributor
94 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Most tasty dishes.”
Reviewed September 29, 2012 via mobile

Best location in town with perfect atmosphere. We sampled 2 snacks: wings and pan-fried scallops & shrimps.....both were extremely tasty, done just right. Both scallops and shrimps were fresh and cooked just perfect. Just expect the price will be equal to BEST location and BEST atmosphere!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank apain_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurant 1640 also viewed

 
Quebec City, Quebec
Quebec City, Quebec
 

Been to Restaurant 1640? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing