We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A True Gem”
Review of Auberge du Tresor

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Auberge du Tresor
Ranked #11 of 119 Quebec City B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Pottstown, PA
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A True Gem”
Reviewed August 19, 2007

We could not have hoped for a better stay! The hotel was located just across a small park from the Chateau de Frontenac and seemed to be right in the middle of everything else. We could look out our window on the bustling activity all around us but were amazed on how quiet it was in the room itself.

The staff was always gracious and helpful in all our requests and inquiries while taking a personal interest in our needs. We had a very nice breakfast in the hotel's restaurant one morning while our children "slept in" and enjoyed the food and outdoor atmosphere immensely.

The rooms were well maintained, roomy enough, and the prices cannot be beat for what was offered in terms of location and service.

We have already recommended the Auberge du Tresor to a number of our friends and family and look forward to a return visit in the future. This inn is a true gem!

  • Liked — Location and history of Inn itself.
  • Disliked — Parking availabilty for a large vehicle was a 10 minute walk away.
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DAC21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

290 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    113
    115
    36
    21
    5
See reviews for
48
167
7
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rehoboth, MA, USA
Level Contributor
30 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2007

We were quite pleased with Auberge du Tresor with it's basic rooms and superb location. It is directly accross from Chateau Frontenac and the boardwalk, directly beside the tourist office and funnicular, 2 bocks from Rue St. Jean with good relatively reasonable restaurants and a wide variety of shopping. Literally all historic sites in the upper and lower town are walking distance from the hotel. We stayed in 2 different rooms for 2 nights due to availability. The first room was small with 1 full size bed costing $105CAD not including taxes or breakfast. It had a small bathroom with shower only (no bath), water was erratic while showering, alternating scalding to frigid, so BEWARE. TV had cable, no internet or wireless services, but internet cafe around the corner. Room had no AC - overall small, basic and well-maintained. Our second night, we had a larger room with 1 full and 1 twin bed with full bath/tub and AC for $115 CAD. Both rooms faced the front - Chateau Frontenac with small windows and both were quiet. Also BEWARE that staying at this hotel involves climbing stairs, typically 2 flights, as it is above the restaurant and there is no one to help with luggage if that is a problem. Parking is very convenient considering the location, but costs $12/day. Reception staff are all bilingual - French/English and are extremely professional and helpful.

You may want to consider the restaurant package they offer recommended by the previous poster. To include 1 dinner for 2 people, the package is $100 more than the room and that does not include tax or tip. Most entres at their restaurant are in the $25-30 range, so if you plan on eating there, it may be a good value. We decided before booking that we would be searching better values within our budget. Although Quebec is an expensive place to eat, it appears that the Tresor marks up it's food prices for the view alone. Instead we splurged on the wonderful French buffet at Chateau Frontenac for $30 CAD per person and were very pleased.

Overall highly recommended for great value considering location.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Stairs
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank theworldexplorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Brunswick
Level Contributor
77 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed May 25, 2007

What a wonderful treasure in a great location. I have stayed at this hotel twice. The first time I went, I was a bit disappointed with the room, it was on the back side of the hotel so seemed quite dark. the water pressure in the shower wasn't that great. however, the location is fabulous.....we parked the car for the weekend and walked everywhere, as this is directly across from the Chateau Frontenac. What really stands out is the amazing dinner that was a part of our package. A truly gourmet experience. My sister, mother and I returned again this year in the spring and requested a room at the front of the hotel. I loved to stay up at night and watch people from the room. Again, our gourmet meal was incredible. This time, we knew the trick to have a good shower. The owner/managers are wonderful and we always feel so welcome. A fabulous place to stay...

  • Liked — The location is fabulous!! Great food!
  • Disliked — Water pressure...but that was okay.....
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank michr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NORTH SHORE, LAKE ONTARIO
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2006

Quebec City, like most tourist cities eg. San Francisco and New Orleans, are walking cities. Most of your time is spent outdoors viewing the hundreds of historic sites, fine dining for all meals, or just shopping. You only use the hotel for sleeping. If you are a family and the kids have no interest in history, then you'd better stay in a hotel with a pool. Auberge du Tresor sits in the heart of all activity. Everything is within easy walking distance. The rooms are very clean and the staff incredibly helpful and couteous. It's a far better deal than paying 4 times the amount just across the park. The restaurant below Auberge, Le Relais has one of the best, if not the best breakfasts in the city. Their dinner menu is extensive and the food, fabulous. My wife and I stay here every fall for several days at a time, using Auberge as a base, where then we can go on day trips and explore the spectacular scenery Quebec has to offer. Can't wait for next fall.

  • Liked — Price and location
  • Disliked — Nothing to dislike
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank LOVEQUEBEC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2006

We realy enjoyed our stay here. The room was nice, but small, As we spent little time in the room , size was not a problem. We loved the location and the price. I had my 70th birthday dinner in the resturant down below and the food was just wonderful.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Carring suit cases up the stairs
  • Tips/Secrets — Pacl light
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank waterleek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2005

This is the place if you want centrally located accomodation at a great price. The food is french at it's best and the dining room will be full of tourists, like yourself. But most of those tourists are staying at the (5 mins. walk away) Chateau Frontenac at $400 a night not the $100 a night you're paying. Take the romance package and reserve early. The fine staff at Auburge only have 21 rooms and they go FAST.

  • Stayed October 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Michael W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed July 27, 2005

My husband and I have stayed at the Auberge du Tresor every year for the past 4 years and we love it. We were introduced by friends and have come with them every time. The history and ambiance is wonderful in keeping with the atmosphere of Quebec. We stay in a front room facing the Frontenac and its great to watch all the passersby. We are literally less than a minute walking to restaurants, shopping, historic sites and artisans. The rooms are a little small but with all to see in Quebec, we don't stay in the room except to sleep. Good bargain in price. We will be there again this August 2005 and wouldn't stay anywhere else.

  • Stayed August 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Quebec City hotels
0.1 mi away
Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac
Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac
#15 of 102 in Quebec City
4,111 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Clarendon
Hotel Clarendon
#39 of 102 in Quebec City
1,388 reviews
0.0 mi away
Auberge Place D'Armes
Auberge Place D'Armes
#7 of 102 in Quebec City
1,444 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Le Manoir d'Auteuil
Le Manoir d'Auteuil
#2 of 102 in Quebec City
1,113 reviews
0.2 mi away
Auberge Saint-Antoine
Auberge Saint-Antoine
#3 of 102 in Quebec City
2,023 reviews
0.2 mi away
Chateau Fleur de Lys - L'HOTEL
Chateau Fleur de Lys - L'HOTEL
#8 of 102 in Quebec City
520 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Auberge du Tresor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Auberge du Tresor

Property: Auberge du Tresor
Address: 20, St. Anne St., Quebec City, Quebec G1R 3X2, Canada
Location: Canada > Quebec > Quebec City > Downtown Quebec City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 119 B&Bs / Inns in Quebec City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Auberge du Tresor 3.5*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Priceline so you can book your Auberge du Tresor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Auberge Du Tresor Hotel Quebec City
Auberge Du Tresor Quebec/Quebec City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing