We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“C'est Si Bon Translates to "It's Great!!"”
Review of Auberge du Tresor

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Auberge du Tresor
Ranked #11 of 119 Quebec City B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“C'est Si Bon Translates to "It's Great!!"”
Reviewed May 7, 2013

Auberge du Tresor lets you savor a European flavor without leaving home (Canada)

We have been staying here for over 20 years during our Quebec City visits. Don't speak French? No worries, the staff is friendly, welcoming and always ready to assist in any way possible.
The hotel is now in the process of updating the accommodations. Not only are you in the best location in Old Town, you are now staying in a modern, comfortable renovated room. The Romantique Package is great value and highly recommended. The restaurant on site, 1640 is one of the best in Quebec City whether you choose to be seated inside or out on the terrace as you people watch and enjoy the ambiance of Quebec City.

You will leave with wonderful memories and will be sure to return again and again.

Room Tip: Request a room at the front of the building facing the Fairmont Chateau Frontenac.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynda123261
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

300 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    119
    118
    36
    22
    5
See reviews for
52
171
7
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Canada
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2013 via mobile

The staff at this place are all young students who don't know anything about customer service or welcoming you to their Inn. A big difference from the staff at our Inn in Montreal.
You have to hike your luggage up a big flight of stairs, or in our case 2, with no staff assistance whatsoever.
The bedspread was old and grungy. Bathrooms were small but clean.
The view was nice as we faced the Chateau Frontenac.
Loved old Quebec and all the quaint shops and good restaurants so this helped make up for the small room and poor service.
Will definitely go back to Quebec but won't stay here.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bdj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
connecticut
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed March 2, 2013

This is an older hotel but it is located right in the center of action in "Old Quebec" across the street from the Chateau. It is reasonably priced, clean and the staff is helpful. There is a good restaurant located on the first floor that is affiliated with the hotel. The rates are very affordable and if you don't want the high style of the Chateau it is a great alternative. It was a great location to enjoy Winter Carnival.

Cons: The rooms are on the second and third floors and there is no elevator. Parking is extra and in the Hotel de Ville garage over a block away (but once you are there you don't need the car to explore the area)

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the 2nd floor in the front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ctree31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 7, 2013

We stayed there 2 nights. The first night was in a premium room and the second in a standard room, because we had a gift coupon for a night in a premium room + a super + drinks+ breakfast , and the second night we paid for a regular room.

While being bigger (including queen bed vs a double in std), the premium room was still very outdated. The decor was old.

We were on the first floor of the hotel both nights (just over the restaurant) and it was quite noisy. We could hear the music from the bar and even the other guest coming up the stairs!

However, the view from the rooms was great. Both rooms had windows facing the Chateau Frontenac.

Honestly, I think the only reason to go to that hotel is the location. I've been to several hotels in Quebec city, and in my honest opinion this is one of the best location, because you are very close to the old city but still close to the action on Grande Allée and to the Plaines d'Abraham.

I wouldn't recommend the 13$ breakfast, everything was ordinary. I would rather go to the Cochon Dingue in the old Quebec were I got the equivalent breakfast, but tastier, for 9$.

Room Tip: Rooms on the first floor are quite noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vince122
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westerville, Ohio
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

I went on my honeymoon and stayed at this hotel. This place is excellent. We were there for 7 days, 6 nights. This hotel is situated right by the Chateau Frontenac, with a nice view of the back of the Chateau. It is also right on the street where there are a lot of artists and musicians. Right next door is the Office of Tourism, where you can buy tickets to other things in and around Quebec City. The manager I talked to gave us a sweet deal, and I don't know if it's because we were on our honeymoon, or stayed a long time. The rate we paid was comparable to staying at the Chateau, but we got a lot more - breakfast, dinner, and a parking discount. We also had breakfast every morning at their restaurant, 1640, and three 5 course meals. We were also able to get a discount on parking and parked in an underground lot not far from the hotel. Can I say, this was the best deal and the best location! The room itself was comfortable and recently renovated (including the bathroom). We had free wifi. Our room overlooked the street where people were getting dropped off by tour buses (lots of bustling especially Thur-Sun), and had a view of the Chateau Frontenac. I remember looking out over a man dressed in a clown suit making balloon animals for children.
The food is amazing! Everyone morning we had a delicious breakfast (again, included in the price). The dinners we had at 1640 also were very fancy, and at times, I was embarrased because I wasn't wearing evening wear. If you eat indoors in the fancy part, try not to wear casual. There are 3 sections to the restaurant - outdoors, which we ate every morning, indoors near where the bar/bartender was, and indoors that was more fancy. That is where we ate our dinners - and I ate really well! This was top notch French cuisine. The food was so good, and would definitely recommend even though you aren't staying in the hotel. Our meals were part of our hotel stay, but if you eat there and not stay there, be prepared for the price $$$$.
In addition, the location is ideally situated, right near one of the gates of the walled-in city, so you can easily walk in and out of Old Quebec. Not far of a walk from shopping either! We didn't use our car all week; there was plenty of public transportation for outside old Quebec. And when they down the hill, they literally the hill. There are elevators and stairs to the lower part of Quebec, which was so neat. We loved it here. The people were so nice.
I would definitely recommend this hotel if you are with your friends or as a couple. I would definitely come back! Such charm!

Room Tip: Stayed above the restaurant, 1640, with a view of the street. The street was busy, but we were not b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank wren1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2012

The hotel has plenty of character and charm. We were in room 30 on the third floor. Room was renovated through and through with fancy new rain shower. It was on the smaller side with only double bed, but we had a magnificent view of chateau Frontenac form our window and only came back to room to sleep anyways. One thing to know, there is no elevator and the staircases are narrow, so think about the suitable luggage. This is a pretty old place after all, but we loved it for it. Restaurant downstairs “1604” serves great breakfast. Parking is off-site, but only a minute walk away. You do not need to have car there anyways, everything is within a walking distance. We had a very pleasant experience and would certainly recommend a comfort room in the hotel. Luxury rooms are bigger in size, so look for luxury rooms if you prefer roomier spaces.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vika_M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississauga, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2012

We stayed three nights at this hotel in August. It is one of the original buildings in Old Quebec City so the rooms are small. However the one we stayed in had been updated and had a very modern shower with mega-jets in all directions. Very nice. The room was clean and the bed very comfortable. Compared to other places, the price was very reasonable which is good because you don't spend much time in the room as there is so much to see and do and buy in the city. The staff was polite and accommodating. The best feature of this hotel is the location. It is a stone's throw from the Chateau Frontenac and right at the top of the artists' alley. The restaurant on the ground level does a lovely breakfast which was very handy.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Breaking100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Quebec City hotels
0.1 mi away
Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac
Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac
#17 of 102 in Quebec City
4,366 reviews
0.0 mi away
Auberge Place D'Armes
Auberge Place D'Armes
#10 of 102 in Quebec City
1,508 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Clarendon
Hotel Clarendon
#36 of 102 in Quebec City
1,434 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Le Manoir d'Auteuil
Le Manoir d'Auteuil
#2 of 102 in Quebec City
1,187 reviews
0.2 mi away
Auberge Saint-Antoine
Auberge Saint-Antoine
#5 of 102 in Quebec City
2,095 reviews
0.2 mi away
Chateau Fleur de Lys - L'HOTEL
Chateau Fleur de Lys - L'HOTEL
#7 of 102 in Quebec City
558 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Auberge du Tresor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Auberge du Tresor

Property: Auberge du Tresor
Address: 20, St. Anne St., Quebec City, Quebec G1R 3X2, Canada
Location: Canada > Quebec > Quebec City > Downtown Quebec City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 119 B&Bs / Inns in Quebec City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Auberge du Tresor 3.5*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline and Hotwire so you can book your Auberge du Tresor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Auberge Du Tresor Hotel Quebec City
Auberge Du Tresor Quebec/Quebec City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing