We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really no choice”

Tours Vieux Quebec / Old Quebec Tours
Book In Advance
More Info
$31.81*
and up
Quebec City Hop-On Hop-Off Tour
Ranked #9 of 46 Tours in Quebec City
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Our Best Tour; The double decker tour. Come aboard the Bus Rouge to discover Quebec from a new perspective. Old Quebec Tours offers up to 18 packages in and around Quebec City. The "Rendez-vous" with history is your chance to visit history first hand. This is the perfect tour for an introduction to the city. The Country tour will make you travel back in time to rural Quebec and enjoy the view!
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
37 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Really no choice”
Reviewed September 25, 2013

Unfortunately in order to get St Anne de Beaupre from Quebec City, aside from renting a car, an organized bus tour is the only option! And unfortunately this means going to a copper museum, old fashioned bakery, falls and chocolate factory. As a result only an inadequate 45 mins is spent a St Anne- time just to light a candle and do a quick walk through- even though the chocolate factory visit was cancelled due to traffic!! Additionally the driver handed out the plans and information about the church after the visit! This tour was completely disorganized to start- took over half hour to sort the names and passengers. Bus was also late to arrive. Marie's bakery was novel, and food good. Coffee so so and bathroom facilties especial sink, needing a good scrub. There is no excuse for this as they were notified a bus full was on the way. Copper museum just ok. I cannot imagine dragging each bus here is justifiable for the anount of sales they may aquire in return, but I could be wrong. Despite all of this the church is lovely, and it was a complete shame we could not have stayed 1.5 hours to enjoy, obtain holy water, buy a medal and walk in the garden along the stations of the cross.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank pickymoms07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

484 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    230
    138
    54
    37
    25
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
annapolis, md
Level Contributor
350 reviews
53 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 189 helpful votes
“Strategic planning can eliminate some hassles”
Reviewed September 25, 2013

Hop on Hop off tours can be difficult regardless of what city these tours operate in. I know in our neck of the woods, when we have taken visitors to DC, we have experienced the common complaints associated with these tours: long waits due to crowded buses, bad audio etc.

When we took the "rouge line" tour, I think every other passenger had the same plan as we did... to stay on the bus until the whole tour was over. It's not the best plan however if you are unable to walk and want to see some of the last attractions on the tour. I doubt you would want to sit through another hour on the bus repeating the route just to get to the final sites. Had we had more time, we would have walked back to the last areas the bus took us to. But all we wanted was just a nice overview of the city and this tour provided us with that. The guide was friendly, knowledgeable and the information he provided was easily heard even though we sat on the upper deck of the bus.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank llpupa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern California
Level Contributor
236 reviews
84 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
“Good tour, not great”
Reviewed September 24, 2013

We took the city tour (not the M. Falls/Ile d'Orléans part). Driver who also delivered the commentary was very good, expectedly knowledgeable and very friendly. One stop on the Plains of Abraham-fine. Understood that you don't/can't go through the narrow streets of the Lower Town-also fine, you walk those yourself. I think the tour lasted about 1.5 hours but now here's my caveat on this one. The bus started out at the Museum of Civilization where it was completely filled except for two seats. However the center for this company is really up above in front of the Château Frontenac/Information Center. Thus the bus then went there where an almost comical charade of exchanging passengers, drivers, bus company employees running back and forth between buses and so on went on for 30 minutes. We sat on the bus and did nothing but watch this. Only two more passengers came on the bus. The bus driver and one small group had a (friendly) fight over which tour the group was really supposed on and so forth. However to spend 30 minutes (not an exaggeration...30) sitting around in the Upper Town like that was exceedingly annoying. I'm thus not certain that I can recommend this city tour. On the other hand I don't know if there are alternatives and in any case we enormously enjoyed our time in Québec (5 days)!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank nurealam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Good tour of city when time is limited”
Reviewed September 21, 2013 via mobile

We didn't have too much time to tour Quebec, so the bus tour seemed the best choice. Our guide was very informative and friendly. I would recommend the tour to see where places are located before setting off on foot to other sites.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Ian D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fraser, Michigan
Level Contributor
504 reviews
135 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
Reviewed September 9, 2013

Just getting to the city this was a nice way to get to know a little about the city and the history of some of the historical places. Our tour guide was very good and entertaining but not over the top. This gave us a good lay of the land and led us for further exploring on our own later in the week.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Rose C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gstcyr, Propriétaire at Tours Vieux Quebec / Old Quebec Tours, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Thank you very much for your kind words.
We will transfer them to our team..
Yours
Georges
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tours Vieux Quebec / Old Quebec Tours also viewed

 

Been to Tours Vieux Quebec / Old Quebec Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing